the plant beside the rock? its Alternanthera reineckii
owh nice. hope to see they thrive with velvety red bushes icon_rolleyes.gif

anyway, its competition time again:

artsyfarty
post Aug 21 2015, 08:31 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 21 2015, 12:07 AM)
Hey nice scape there, wondering if you are going to do the dsm or just submerge it?
I actually planning to do DSM for a few days just let the plants hold a lil stronger before I flood it, but the plants I got are already submerged, so I think it's no good to plant submerged plants with DSM?

It will be submerged, can't wait for the weekend!
jenniferjen
post Aug 21 2015, 08:32 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 21 2015, 08:31 AM)
I actually planning to do DSM for a few days just let the plants hold a lil stronger before I flood it, but the plants I got are already submerged, so I think it's no good to plant submerged plants with DSM?

It will be submerged, can't wait for the weekend!
Any foreground plant you using?
artsyfarty
post Aug 21 2015, 08:48 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 21 2015, 08:32 AM)
Any foreground plant you using?
I ordered 3 different species of rotala stem plants. - Blood red, red and green. Hopefully will get a nice shade of red to yellowish green.
jenniferjen
post Aug 21 2015, 11:19 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 21 2015, 08:48 AM)
I ordered 3 different species of rotala stem plants. - Blood red, red and green. Hopefully will get a nice shade of red to yellowish green.
Ic.... how bout carpeting plant? Lol... i tot foreground plant are those carpeting plant....
artsyfarty
post Aug 21 2015, 11:29 AM

125 posts

Ah... oops, sorry. Mixed up with foreground and background.

Background is Rotala, foreground is monte carlo, maybe mixed with HC.

Some people actually use rotala in foreground to achieve depth of field. Eg. creating nature landscape. You'd see them put carpeting plant like HC, monte, java moss in background and some background plants moved to foreground. You can see that in recent years ADA competition.
jenniferjen
post Aug 21 2015, 12:01 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 21 2015, 11:29 AM)
Ah... oops, sorry. Mixed up with foreground and background.

Background is Rotala, foreground is monte carlo, maybe mixed with HC.

Some people actually use rotala in foreground to achieve depth of field. Eg. creating nature landscape. You'd see them put carpeting plant like HC, monte, java moss in background and some background plants moved to foreground. You can see that in recent years ADA competition.
Ic... how bout you? Planning any HC or MC?
I am planning on a mini Iwagumi style tank.... everything ready, just havent scape yet... plan to do it this weekend....
See if you do any carpeting, then we can share experience... smile.gif
artsyfarty
post Aug 21 2015, 12:05 PM

125 posts

Nice, initially i wanted to Iwagumi too, but I like the colourful plants and natural look, so decided to add in more plants to colour things up.

I'll be planting MC and HC altogether. So far, most LFS are selling Wasakubi, so I might need to separate them and plant one by one. I'll post photos.
jenniferjen
post Aug 21 2015, 12:16 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 21 2015, 12:05 PM)
Nice, initially i wanted to Iwagumi too, but I like the colourful plants and natural look, so decided to add in more plants to colour things up.

I'll be planting MC and HC altogether. So far, most LFS are selling Wasakubi, so I might need to separate them and plant one by one. I'll post photos.
Great... my taste, as simple as possible, kind dislike colorful... too patchy for my taste, but is all depend on individual....
Will look forward for your photo... i will try post mine too when ready with the scaping work smile.gif
artsyfarty
post Aug 21 2015, 07:06 PM

125 posts

Anyone has a good and reasonable priced co2 glass diffuser to recommend?
jenniferjen
post Aug 21 2015, 09:55 PM

410 posts

Hey, i tried some hc dsm, today sone of the leaves turn dark, any idea why? Using aquasoil ada. Tq
okhui26
post Aug 22 2015, 12:36 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Aug 20 2015, 05:14 PM)
Nice one  thumbup.gif

I too starting a high tech 60x30x36 planted tank, here's the layout at the moment.

I'll fill the back with 3 species of rotala from blood red, red to green, hm in the middle and monte carlo/HC as carpet plant. That's the plan, I hope it executes alright. Getting them this saturday.
Wow, Nice....
okhui26
post Aug 22 2015, 09:31 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 21 2015, 09:55 PM)
Hey, i tried some hc dsm, today sone of the leaves turn dark, any idea why? Using aquasoil ada. Tq
maybe water temp.
jenniferjen
post Aug 22 2015, 02:21 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Aug 22 2015, 09:31 AM)
maybe water temp.
Dsm also need maintain water temp?
jenniferjen
post Aug 22 2015, 02:56 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 22 2015, 02:21 PM)
Dsm also need maintain water temp?
And my multi million question, for mc, dsm or submerge technique?
artsyfarty
post Aug 23 2015, 04:43 PM

125 posts

MC can be done with DSM or submerge. There's a popular post created by George Farmer, called one pot challenge. Basically, using only one pot of MC to plant the whole carpet.

http://scapefu.com/aquascape-analysis-of-g...ne-pot-iwagumi/

The MC he used was emerged plant.
jenniferjen
post Aug 24 2015, 01:42 PM

410 posts

Yea, saw that journal.
Problem is, too much speculation on the actual technique, especially tropical country against 4 season countries.

Macam kurang yakin with dsm je
calvin_ng
post Aug 24 2015, 01:45 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Yesterday found a Awesome beach (In Selangor) to hunt for awesome root type drift wood...

Got a car boot full of it yesterday...

fookie
post Aug 24 2015, 10:40 PM

What?
622 posts

Any idea what are those white spots?

Marimo Hut
post Aug 25 2015, 03:28 PM

Just sharing my newly set up dry start Iwagumi tank. I'm actually a newbie to planted tanks so suggestions are welcomed! rclxms.gif I bought about 5 patches of Monte Carlo from the fish shop which cost me about rm55. hmm.gif Do you think I need more? Cuz after I seperated the patches it suddenly turned out to become so little. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Marimo Hut: Aug 25 2015, 03:29 PM

214 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:05 PM