magika
post Apr 30 2015, 01:07 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(engtat @ Apr 30 2015, 12:57 PM)
Talking about fresh fund,

Scenario 1:
I have normal Saving account & e-FD in Maybank and
would like to transfer fund to their latest step-up campaign, does it consider fresh fund?

Scenario 2:
I have Saving account in Maybank and
would like to take UOB FD fresh fund promotion campaign, do I allow to open the FD account first and IBG to it?

Any tips on generating the "fresh fund" besides transfer one bank to another bank?
Scenario 1. Not considered fresh fund. However maybe can cash out first, then redeposit at different counter to try luck.
Scenario 2. Cant open FD account to Ibg across.

engtat
post Apr 30 2015, 01:31 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Apr 30 2015, 01:07 PM)
Scenario 1. Not considered fresh fund. However maybe can cash out first, then redeposit at different counter to try luck.
Scenario 2. Cant open FD account to Ibg across.
Thanks for your reply.

Scenario 1:
Anyone has experience before? If I cash out, do I need to wait 1 day or 1 month to join the campaign? Or depend luck?

Scenario 2:
Seems like the only way is to bring cash. Wondering those requires RM30K fresh fund, do people really bring cash to bank?
bbgoat
post Apr 30 2015, 01:54 PM

6,614 posts

In Alliance Bank this morning. Their FD promo extended till end of May:

FD Gold 12 mth 4.2% with monthly interest for those >40 years old, min 30k
FD Islaminic 12 mth 4.1%, min 10k

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 30 2015, 01:54 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 30 2015, 02:07 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(engtat @ Apr 30 2015, 01:31 PM)
Scenario 2:
Seems like the only way is to bring cash. Wondering those requires RM30K fresh fund, do people really bring cash to bank?
Can use personal cheque, banker's cheque rather than cash. biggrin.gif
okuribito
post Apr 30 2015, 03:41 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 30 2015, 01:54 PM)
In Alliance Bank this morning. Their FD promo extended till end of May:

FD Gold 12 mth 4.2% with monthly interest for those >40 years old, min 30k
FD Islaminic 12 mth 4.1%, min 10k
hahaha me long time absent from thread! I think last was page 30+ now pg 98 oredi!!!

saw GenX's community service alert about maybank's treatpoints yesterday - today last day for 250pts=RM1, wef 1/5 400pts=RM1 rclxub.gif ... so this morning went to menara maybank to redeem all my points! Busybody lah ... went to FD dept ask about promo. Until 21/5 they hv a triple-three 9mth straight FD deal with effective rate of 4.15%

I thot that was good but found out frm boom's post#2 BR offering 4.25 for 9 mths brows.gif Frankly that's better but with Alliance's monthly interest for 12mth/4.2% coming into the fray, that's the best imho.

So looks like US not gonna hike rates, huh?

And did I hear someone say BNM gonna cut OPR?

ooooooooooooooo blush.gif
nexona88
post Apr 30 2015, 04:24 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,489 posts

Scenario 2:
u would be surprise how "small" is 30k for some people who normally do cash transaction in banks rolleyes.gif

p/s: not me, but I saw few of them smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Apr 30 2015, 04:25 PM
dEviLs
post Apr 30 2015, 04:55 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

got my trolley before the long break rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 30 2015, 05:20 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Apr 30 2015, 04:55 PM)
got my trolley before the long break  rclxms.gif
Congratulation ! rclxms.gif

I have missed out on the air filter and the trolley. Next time have to chase after these ! tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 30 2015, 05:27 PM

24,378 posts

Say, if one get the trolley bag/air filter, one can remove the fd from the bank and put in another place right?

After all, bag/air filter is much more expensive than the loss interest right?
[="@k£LwIN@"=]
post Apr 30 2015, 06:29 PM

93 posts

Regarding Public Bank promo islamic FD rate 3.98% 4.28% 4.38% the interest will be paid 4-monthly.no penalty if withdraw after each 4-month matures, FD accepted on the same date as cheque

This post has been edited by [="@k£LwIN@"=]: Apr 30 2015, 08:21 PM
kit2
post Apr 30 2015, 08:12 PM

2,288 posts

Thanks for your reply.

Scenario 1:
Anyone has experience before? If I cash out, do I need to wait 1 day or 1 month to join the campaign? Or depend luck?

Scenario 2:
go ask the bank what is their definition of *fresh*. some banks consider funds that arrived on the day itself as fresh. if i remember a poster correctly, at least hsbc works this way.

This post has been edited by kit2: Apr 30 2015, 08:13 PM
Bonescythe
post May 1 2015, 01:12 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Hsbc gov allowance up to 7 days for fund considered as fresh
gsc
post May 1 2015, 03:23 AM

1,624 posts

Thanks for your reply.

Scenario 1:

My personal experience
UOB
Took out as cash and went for lunch. My friend said why dont you place it back and may be bank will consider fresh fund. Tried and counter staff took it as fresh. Different counter staff

Took out as cash and add on some cash and the counter staff took it as fresh. My original intention was to place it with other bank.

Public
Guess I was lucky, told the counter staff, I want to place a FD with existing fund (about 1 month old), she checked with the officer who said okay and considered it as fresh fund.

Ocbc has a clear policy on fresh fund definition but cant remember is it a week or ?
bbgoat
post May 1 2015, 08:56 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 1 2015, 03:23 AM)
My personal experience
UOB
Took out as cash and went for lunch.  My friend said why dont you place it back and may be bank will consider fresh fund. Tried and counter staff took it as fresh. Different counter staff

Took out as cash and add on some cash and the counter staff took it as fresh. My original intention was to place it with other bank.
UOB:
Once RENTAS out and issue personal cheque from another bank and placed FD as "fresh fund". At the same teller, they seem to know the "trick" that customer is doing.
Second instance the teller asked me to top up 10k to the matured FD and placed new FD under promo rate. No need to RENTAS out. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 1 2015, 08:57 AM
Ramjade
post May 1 2015, 09:58 AM

24,378 posts

Say, if one get the trolley bag/air filter, one can remove the fd from the bank and put in another place right?

nexona88
post May 1 2015, 12:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,489 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 1 2015, 09:58 AM)

u mean already got the trolley bag/air filter in your hand? then cancel FD & move elsewhere? No problem I think icon_rolleyes.gif
Ramjade
post May 1 2015, 12:41 PM

24,378 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 1 2015, 12:21 PM)
u mean already got the trolley bag/air filter in your hand? then cancel FD & move elsewhere? No problem I think  icon_rolleyes.gif

Yup that is what I meant. Say move to affin 4.38. If I am not mistaken the ocbc was 3.9% right?

Bag/air filter definitely worth more than the interest given.

By moving to say affin or uob, one can get the best world. Bag/air filter + high interest.

Am I right here? Correct me if I am wrong
gsc
post May 1 2015, 05:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 1 2015, 12:41 PM)
Yup that is what I meant. Say move to affin 4.38.  If I am not mistaken the ocbc was 3.9% right?

Bag/air filter definitely worth more than the interest given.

By moving to say affin or uob,  one can get the best world. Bag/air filter + high interest. 

Am I right here? Correct me if I am wrong
If ethics can talk, he will say it is wrong
sandkoh
post May 1 2015, 05:19 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 1 2015, 05:02 PM)
If ethics can talk, he will say it is wrong
nod.gif thumbup.gif

why can't people distinguish what is right/wrong? doing this type of things is kind of doh.gif some more want to highlight or ask more pipu to follow? vmad.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by sandkoh: May 1 2015, 05:26 PM
Ramjade
post May 1 2015, 06:13 PM

24,378 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ May 1 2015, 05:19 PM)
nod.gif  thumbup.gif

why can't people distinguish what is right/wrong? doing this type of things is kind of  doh.gif some more want to highlight or ask more pipu to follow?  vmad.gif  doh.gif
First, I don't even did that seeing that I have no FD with them. This was just a random question which pop into my mind to maximise profits from banks since banks like to maximise profits from us.

135 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:23 PM