Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

magika
post Jan 5 2015, 03:21 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM)
Ah Goat Sir, monthly interest is for 50 years old and above..  brows.gif

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Now got all confused already which bank has the higher rate hmm.gif
Got FD maturing middle of the month, yet still not decided on the remainder amount ex EPF portion. rclxub.gif

If BNM raised rates, i better moved my monies overseas, as all hell will break loose considering public debt so high.

This post has been edited by magika: Jan 5 2015, 03:23 PM
magika
post Jan 5 2015, 03:47 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 5 2015, 03:31 PM)
Just went to UOB. No new promo yet.
Is the Christmas promo still available ?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2015, 03:35 PM)
Have you read my reply to Ah Boom on young grandfather ?  hmm.gif  brows.gif

Oh, thank you for your reminder ! Forgot about EPF, need to move some bullets to there.  thumbup.gif

Wow, such a drastic action of moving funds out ?  brows.gif
sweat.gif

magika
post Jan 5 2015, 04:24 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 5 2015, 04:21 PM)
Yup, both the CNY and Christmas promo are still available
Thanks. notworthy.gif
So since 4.20% for 12 months is the highest, then will deposit it there.

magika
post Jan 5 2015, 04:35 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2015, 04:29 PM)
You lucky soul, I was thinking that the 4.2% not available. Will put some bullets there soon !  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
vmad.gif
Called UOB Christmas FD promo extended until 11 January 2015. Mine maturity date only middle of the month.

magika
post Jan 5 2015, 10:39 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(FDInvestor @ Jan 5 2015, 05:51 PM)
How should I protect my FD if something unexpected happen to me ?
Write a will ? hmm.gif

Joint FD either to sign only, can be cashed out in any unexpected event.

magika
post Jan 6 2015, 10:50 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 6 2015, 10:05 AM)
for banks like UOB and OCBC, you only need to register your details once. Depending on how you term it, just a single person can do the upliftment, else it beats the purpose of having a joint FD if something happen to any of the holder.
Most banks only need to register details once. However joint FD need either to sign clause only eligible for single person for the upliftment.

magika
post Jan 6 2015, 06:18 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 2 2015, 05:52 PM)
This afternoon when to HLB. Have a FD maturing on the 29/1. But I won't be in malaysia on 29/1. Ask can I transfer money to my mother's account upon maturity so she can put affin 4.38 for me as we have a joint account. HLB said cannot. Then asked how much if I were to remove the FD, they are going to only give me say 3 months interest despite the FD have been put for almost 11 months already. This FD, the interest is credited monthly into my SA. So what happen is they are deducting 8 months of interest from the principal if I withdraw today.

Asked the officer in charge (behind the desk, not counter workers), apparently you can write a letter of authorization and upon maturity, the money will follow your instructions. So in this case, I can transfer the principle upon maturity to my mother's SA despite not being in Malaysia at that time.

By writing a letter of authorization, I won't forfeit my 11 months of interest and still able to uplift it upon maturity even though I am not in Malaysia

Just want to report the above incident. Could be useful for some.
There could be complicating factors regarding such an instruction. Forgotten the case that happened to me in OCBC but the gist is that upon maturity, if the officer concerned insist on contacting the owner of the fd, failing which the standing instruction letter will not be acted upon. Memory failed me nowadays. Frankly i am sceptical that such an instruction can be implemented across different account owner, though i may be proven wrong.Dont flame as as giving my opinion only. shakehead.gif

magika
post Jan 6 2015, 06:20 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(twl04046 @ Jan 6 2015, 05:53 PM)
can i transfer other bank funds to open another local bank fd account? [non cheque]

how it work?
You cant .

magika
post Jan 6 2015, 10:08 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 6 2015, 06:56 PM)
Actually can if you have a saving or current account there, but will not be eligible for fresh fund FD promo  tongue.gif
Ha..ha he say transfer to FD account not CASA so say cannot leh..

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2015, 08:21 PM)
Well they told me can. Need to use my IC and scan my thumbprint like normal withdraw. After that, they take the cert
Like that, then possible . Your previous statement a bit confusing, if authorisation letter only then confirm cannot, but if authorise and keyin the system plus scan thumbprint then its posssible.

I remember MBB took all my certs when I changed SI . That also after I complain to their HQ about not allowing me to changed SI.

This post has been edited by magika: Jan 6 2015, 10:10 PM
magika
post Jan 6 2015, 10:14 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2015, 08:43 PM)
Gen-X RM5.15/cheque
FD upliftment at a few banks that i know off need a bit of insistence only then its free. Its also provided amount upliftment is unchanged even for a few cents difference.
I even managed to RENTAS free a few times recently.

magika
post Jan 8 2015, 03:56 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(kykit @ Jan 8 2015, 03:51 PM)
just opened HLB Junior FD 24 mths 4.28% for my daughter and son using existing fund. Their SA's interest is 3.05% (equivalent 1mth FD board rate)but max RM50k.

For RM100k & above got a Trolly Case per child on 1st come 1st serve basis but must b fresh fund.
RM100k deposit in SA or FD ? If SA not worth it.

magika
post Jan 8 2015, 04:51 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(kykit @ Jan 8 2015, 04:01 PM)
RM100k for fresh fund Junior FD got Trolley Case

fund in Junior's SA interest is 3.05% p.a. but must not exceed RM50k
Noted, thanks

magika
post Jan 9 2015, 04:01 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2015, 02:51 PM)
Passing by BR. Went in and was given a calendar, backpack and eco bag.

Was told that for Pg, with BR Exclusive Card no need to queue up. Also nego rate is available now. 50k may be able to get nego rate but 100k is better.

Looks like BR adjusting their strategy to retain customers.
Thanks. Call BR and wait for confirmation on nego rates. Closest should be Public Bank on 12 months rate.

magika
post Jan 10 2015, 01:19 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 10 2015, 10:04 AM)
captain, OCBC FD is statement-based but also issue cert as well.
It is FD receipt, does not need it for upliftment.

magika
post Jan 14 2015, 02:40 PM

2,605 posts

BR from 2014 has given an attitude of take it or leave it for FD depositors. So from later half of 2014 forward, i have been uplifting FDs thats has reach maturity to other banks. Looking back BR rates was not bad.

bbgoat has since triggered me that rates are open for nego again so feeling a bit lazy nowadays, called the ABM and was later given nego rate of 4.20% for 12 months. Went there today, since was late, IBG my annual EPF contribution to Maybank for later placement and was charged RM2. The remainder portion was placed on 12 months FD and was not offered any gift.

Feeling unhappy, called OCBC ( courtesy of tips from gen-xbbgoat) and was notified of 4.20% for 12 month placement. Logon to my Premier Banking and it is still active even though all CASA has been closed previously. Open new Saving Account. Went back to BR and IBG over to OCBC.

magika
post Jan 24 2015, 02:28 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 24 2015, 02:25 PM)
Alright thanks. Getting jittery with BR and with other banks giving higher rates, so will be doing this to 50% of my BR FD this year.
Good info. Thanks
Majority of my deposit has been withdrawn, left only 1 cert. However in the long term, most probably will move it back after all promo finished.

magika
post Jan 27 2015, 09:35 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 27 2015, 08:54 PM)
Boss  tongue.gif , my phone's camera not that good. Was thinking of scanning to get better/clearer T & C. Anyway please see attached.  biggrin.gif
Rich fag all are miser. Never buy anything expensive. tongue.gif

magika
post Jan 28 2015, 10:26 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 27 2015, 10:45 PM)
Hey Big Magician, are you sure you used the right word "fag" ??!!  vmad.gif  "fag" is offensive !!  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
My apologies if unintentionally offended. notworthy.gif

My England education initially meant Rich Fag Poor Fag to be Rich Man Poor Man which then makes it to be gender sensitive. Rich Fag in England education is meant to be slang for person but with the Gay movement in America for want of a better word they use Fag. Need to brush up on American English Gay modules. biggrin.gif

SC promotion on 15 months 4.5% came too late for me as commited to OCBC 4.2%. Next deposit will be around May so hoping got further promo.

This post has been edited by magika: Jan 28 2015, 10:28 AM
magika
post Feb 6 2015, 10:19 PM

2,605 posts

Congrats bbgoatboomchachamgm EPF to declare dividend at 6.75% for 2014.

magika
post Feb 8 2015, 02:45 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Feb 8 2015, 12:44 PM)
No idea on that. But the form we fill up for the deposit I don't think there is option to specify that. Likely cannot specify that.  hmm.gif

@magika, what do you think ?  smile.gif
Nope cant do that, its not a bank or commercial investment house. Long term average 6% i will be happy.

0.0551sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:03 PM