135 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

bbgoat
post Apr 24 2015, 12:17 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:13 PM)
hmm.gif 
Let's wait until the 1st of May to see if any back date interest will credit to
saving account or not..?

I calculated and I guess RM 9.43 is the 9 days interest for my saving account..
What do you mean..?
I mean the RM9.43 is the add'l interest because they gave you late for the FD interest due on 19/3 ?

Or it is a separate interest for money in the JustOne SA ? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 24 2015, 12:28 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 24 2015, 12:17 PM)
I mean the RM9.43 is the add'l interest because they gave you late for the FD interest due on 19/3 ?

Or it is a separate interest for money in the JustOne SA ?  hmm.gif
I received my FD interest correctly based on 6 month interest.

I guess this RM 9.43 is the back date 9 days SA interest from the FD interest in between
23 March to 31 March. (But I placed my FD on 19 Sept 2014)

My Value Date shown on my SCB Online Banking is 23/3/2015, so I guess this RM 9.43 interest
is 9 days saving account interest.

I remember my Service Manager promised me to chase for the SA interest..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 24 2015, 12:49 PM
bbgoat
post Apr 24 2015, 12:38 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:28 PM)
I received my FD interest correctly based on 6 month interest.

I guess this RM 9.43 is the back date 9 days SA interest for the FD interest in between
23 March to 31 March. (But I placed my FD on 19 Sept 2014)

My Value Date shown on my SCB Online Banking is 23/3/2015, so I guess this RM 9.43 interest
is 9 days saving account interest (1%).

I remember my Service Manager promised me to chase for the SA interest..
Wow, the FD interest or the FD must be a very high amount to earn RM9.43 over 9 days ! brows.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 24 2015, 12:38 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 24 2015, 12:41 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 24 2015, 12:38 PM)
Wow, the FD interest or the FD must be a very high amount to earn RM9.43 over 9 days !  brows.gif  notworthy.gif
hmm.gif No lah..... I think my calculation should be wrong..

As long as I can receive the 6 months interest.. I am happy already.. sad.gif
nexona88
post Apr 24 2015, 12:44 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,533 posts

Bank Negara expected to cut OPR in second half - BofAML
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1393061
BoomChaCha
post Apr 24 2015, 12:47 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 24 2015, 12:44 PM)
Bank Negara expected to cut OPR in second half - BofAML
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1393061
So, it is better to go for the higher rate with maximum deposit now, long tenure
also never mind... sweat.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 24 2015, 12:48 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:41 PM)
hmm.gif  No lah..... I think my calculation should be wrong..

As long as I can receive the 6 months interest.. I am happy already.. sad.gif
Haha, pulling your legs. For me, happy that finally SCB interest crediting issue is over. So can plan for more FD there already. Except trying not to put too many eggs in one place. biggrin.gif
nexona88
post Apr 24 2015, 12:50 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,533 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:47 PM)
So, it is better to go for the higher rate with maximum deposit now, long tenure
also never mind...  sweat.gif
2yr or 5yr FD should be good option tongue.gif
BoomChaCha
post Apr 24 2015, 12:58 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 24 2015, 12:48 PM)
Haha, pulling your legs. For me, happy that finally SCB interest crediting issue is over. So can plan for more FD there already. Except trying not to put too many eggs in one place.  biggrin.gif
Gary has not received his interest, so SCB is still in the middle of crediting
interest manually to depositor accounts.

This is true not to put too many eggs in one basket.. sweat.gif
For example, I already put in RHB at 4.21% intead of SCB at 4.5% Islamic ma..

Ah Sir, but this time I want to shoot to the maximum now..

I missed the Am Bank 4.5% for 3 years.. sad.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 24 2015, 12:50 PM)
2yr or 5yr FD should be good option  tongue.gif
Can recommend which options..? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Apr 25 2015, 07:51 AM
nexona88
post Apr 24 2015, 01:03 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,533 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:58 PM)
Can recommend which options..?  hmm.gif
for me I would take the 2yr FD..

but it's depend on u now.. will u want to "lock" your money for 5yr FD icon_rolleyes.gif
bbgoat
post Apr 24 2015, 01:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 12:58 PM)
Gary still does not receive his interest, so SCB is still in the middle of crediting
interest manually to depositor accounts.

This is true not to put too many eggs in one basket..  sweat.gif
For example, I already put in RHB at 4.21% intead of SCB at 4.5% Islamic ma..

Ah Sir, but this time I want to shoot to the maximum now..

I missed the Am Bank 4.5% for 3 years..  sad.gif

I remember there are some who said NOT to put in for 3 years as the rate is going up. Anyway the point is it is always good to put in some amt at progressively high FD rates.

We can never wait to get the highest rates. The rates may go up or down. Just put FD to those that we think we are comfortable with and which is the highest and best at that time.

Anyway time may prove me wrong. But life is that way. We can never be sure of everything ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 24 2015, 01:05 PM
BoomChaCha
post Apr 24 2015, 01:14 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 24 2015, 01:03 PM)
for me I would take the 2yr FD..

but it's depend on u now.. will u want to "lock" your money for 5yr FD  icon_rolleyes.gif
Whether to "lock" for 5 years, this depends on my health condition lah..
My next medical check-up will help me to decide.. sweat.gif

When you become old one day, then you will understand what I am talking about.. sad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 24 2015, 01:03 PM)
I remember there are some who said NOT to put in for 3 years as the rate is going up. Anyway the point is it is always good to put in some amt at progressively high FD rates.

We can never wait to get the highest rates. The rates may go up or down. Just put FD to those that we think we are comfortable with and which is the highest and best at that time.

Anyway time may prove me wrong. But life is that way. We can never be sure of everything !  biggrin.gif
You are correct, Ah Sir..
It is still hard to say next OPR will cut down or not..

But I still think MBSB 5 Years & BR 5 Years are the best so far... biggrin.gif
Just put in 5 years and not need to chase for Musical Chair anymore....

gchowyh
post Apr 25 2015, 01:27 AM

860 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Apr 24 2015, 10:58 AM)
doesnt your FD cert talk about interrest payable every 6 months? how to make up stories when its clearly stated in writing?  rclxub.gif

btw, for uptown SCB PB, you can claim back your parking for the first hour.
Nowadays this younger generation always think they are right & they also blame it on the system limitation.

Oh thanks for the tip, any black & white to claim the parking fee else they may insist that there is no such thing.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 24 2015, 11:17 AM)
I think it was a peak hour when I went there, I could not find any parking including
the basement parking.

Thanks for the parking info info.
Ya loh, initially I wanted to go to SCB in PJ, but the road blocked because of road construction,
so I had to go to Damansara Uptown which was the nearest.

I think this small road next to Public bank is purposely set up as a trap by MBPJ.

The MBPJ officer also told me they have 3 tow trucks, each tow truck has daily quota,
each tow truck has to tow at least 10 vehicles per day.

I think this is a good business...  hmm.gif
3 tow trucks x 10 vehicles = 30 vehicles x RM 300 = RM 9000 income per day.
RM 9000 x 26 working days = RM 23,4000.00 per month, and some more no need to pay
income tax...

MBPJ's overhead in Damansara Perdana, a small simple office with 3 officers (one female cashier and 2 male public relationship managers, their jobs are to social and talk nicely to the angry vehicle owners who got towed) , plus one more big size bouncer/gangster type security guard with toothless is watching all towed vehicles in the yard. This security guard told me his salary is RM 2 thousand plus per month.

Well, have to be careful at Uptown as I do see tow trucks there quite often. I have seen them towing cars parked on the yellow line next to 7-eleven & near UOB bank too. I even heard of cars being towed away at Cyberjaya where roads there are so wide! shakehead.gif so ya, is a good business.
Nauts
post Apr 25 2015, 07:07 AM

340 posts

Bank Negara governor signals no need for rate cut in near future

KUALA LUMPUR, April 24 — Malaysian central bank Governor Zeti Akhtar Aziz signalled she sees no need for an interest-rate cut in the near future, barring the threat of a “fundamental” downturn in the economy.

“We are on a steady growth path,” Zeti said in an interview in Kuala Lumpur Thursday, when asked if she was suggesting Malaysia wouldn’t change rates in the near term. “If there was a fundamental economic slowdown, the risk to that going forward, on the horizon, then it would prompt a downward adjustment.”

With above-5 per cent growth and inflation near the slowest since 2009, Bank Negara Malaysia has held borrowing costs steady for four straight meetings even as dozens of central banks eased monetary policy this year. While the economy unexpectedly quickened in the final quarter of 2014 on private consumption and investment, the government has trimmed its forecast for this year as it cuts spending amid less revenue from oil.

The ringgit was Asia’s worst performer last quarter as the drop in crude hurt government finances and dented investor confidence. It has since swung to become the region’s best amid a rebound in oil. The currency rose 1.3 per cent as of 3.45pm in Kuala Lumpur Friday, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

There is a lack of recognition that Malaysia has a “highly-diverse economic structure,” and isn’t just an oil producer, Zeti said. About 80 per cent of the Malaysian economy isn’t linked to oil and gas, she said.

Consumer-price gains may be at the lower end of a 2 per cent to 3 per cent range in 2015, and inflation isn’t a concern at this point in time, Zeti said.

On hold

Bank Negara kept the overnight policy rate at 3.25 per cent in March. The next decision will be on May 7. The central bank will hold its key rate for the rest of the year, according to 16 of 20 economists surveyed by Bloomberg in February.

“The ringgit has not been taken into consideration in our interest-rate policy,” Zeti said, when asked if the currency’s weakness keeps the central bank from joining counterparts in easing. “We look at the risks to inflation and the risks to growth. And we also look at the risks of destabilising financial imbalances.”

The Malaysian government, which forecasts growth to be between 4.5 per cent and 5.5 per cent this year, implemented a new consumption tax of 6 per cent in April. While the experience in other countries showed a moderation in consumer spending in the first year of such a tax, the decline in oil prices may be a buffer to an expected easing in consumption, Zeti said.

It’s too soon to tell if spending slowed in Malaysia after the goods and service tax started, Malayan Banking Bhd Chief Financial Officer Rafique Merican Wahiduddin said yesterday.

Attractive asset

Asked about what China needs to do to make the yuan as attractive a reserves asset as the dollar for central banks, Zeti said it is already an attractive one.

Malaysia began diversifying its reserves in 2003, when it adjusted its composition into currencies such as the euro and those of emerging markets, which include China, she said. Zeti said she couldn’t disclose the central bank’s future strategy or composition of reserves, when asked if there is a plan to hold more yuan.

“We already have a highly-diversified portfolio structure and we are happy with the composition that we have now,” she said. “It’s highly-diversified in the major advanced economies and also emerging economies. Emerging economies in Asia, and even in Latin America.”

Zeti is one of the region’s longest-serving governors who helped oversee Malaysia’s monetary and currency responses to the Asian financial crisis more than a decade ago. She took the helm at Bank Negara in May 2000 and her current five-year term will end next year.

“At this point in time, I don’t look beyond that,” she said when asked if she plans to stay on. “We have succession five levels down. And we have done organisational transformation three times during my term in office. So I would leave it as a solid institution to continue.” — Bloomberg

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/money/ar...-in-near-future
bbgoat
post Apr 25 2015, 08:15 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 23 2015, 11:22 PM)
So I lost RM 307.00 just to place my FD with SCB in Damansara Uptown...  cry.gif
Next time I will never go to Damansara Uptown anymore...
Just saw news that Penang has lowered towing charge from RM150 to RM100. Reason is local council is allowed maximum fine of RM100 for towing. So Penang is following that local city council guideline which is supposed to be for whole of Malaysia. biggrin.gif

So, Ah Boom, go and appeal ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Apr 25 2015, 09:42 AM
giko
post Apr 25 2015, 09:39 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Apr 25 2015, 01:27 AM)
Well, have to be careful at Uptown as I do see tow trucks there quite often. I have seen them towing cars parked on the yellow line next to 7-eleven & near UOB bank too. I even heard of cars being towed away at Cyberjaya where roads there are so wide!  shakehead.gif so ya, is a good business.
can alway come to SCB, TTDI, Jln Burhannuddin Helmi where there's no towing unless your car don't have road tax!

only summons at yellow line but can also park at housing areas opposite or at the back of the bank.

cheers biggrin.gif

wil-i-am
post Apr 25 2015, 11:29 AM

10,001 posts

Placed RM10k with Maybank yesterday under their promotion 3+3+3 with effective interest rate of 4.15% pa
matow
post Apr 25 2015, 11:34 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 23 2015, 10:49 PM)
At first, you can talk to your RM, if your RM is not around or not answering to your call; then
you can talk to Service Relationship Manager or Service Manager (Service Relationship Manager reports to Service Manager), then the next option is to talk to the Branch Manager.

Write to Bank Negara to complain?  hmm.gif
I think not necessary lah....I think you will receive your interest very soon...
Hi BoomChaCha sir, thank you very much for your advice.
Is there any difference in terms of FD policy between normal SCB and Islamic SCB? I received a call from the bank (one of the service officers) and she told me that there is.
Anyway, my deposit was on 18.09.2014 and I just saw on the slip that it says Renewal Instructions : 1 (renew principal with profit) - the service officer says because it is option 1, the profits will not be credited every 6 months.
I pop in the bank on Monday (same building with my office) to try to argue my case.
gsc
post Apr 25 2015, 11:38 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Apr 24 2015, 10:19 AM)
Not all branch will ask on source of money.
May be earlier they were not that strict. . Same UOB branch but some tellers did not ask the source. Which UOB branch?
Nauts
post Apr 25 2015, 12:43 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 25 2015, 11:38 AM)
May be earlier they were  not that strict. . Same UOB branch but some tellers did not ask the source. Which UOB branch?
uob cheras didnt ask my source of money.

135 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:46 PM