135 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

cj7lee
post Mar 13 2015, 05:36 AM

66 posts

Went to BR last Monday, was told no Banker's Cheque, only IBG available.

This post has been edited by cj7lee: Mar 13 2015, 05:36 AM
jo3456
post Mar 13 2015, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(cklimm @ Mar 12 2015, 12:05 PM)
both, 1st signup at ringgitplus, then walk into ocbc
hi,

just done the OCBC FD 30k promo placement today, how to know if ringgitplus will send or post over the luggage?
any sifu can advice on this?
cklimm
post Mar 13 2015, 10:32 AM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(jo3456 @ Mar 13 2015, 10:11 AM)
hi,

just done the OCBC FD 30k promo placement today, how to know if ringgitplus will send or post over the luggage?
any sifu can advice on this?
you will receive an SMS if you are entitled
Mansamune
post Mar 13 2015, 06:47 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(munnie @ Mar 11 2015, 03:47 PM)
I just went to OCBC Cheras branch to place the 4.2%/12m fd. Haha indeed many lengluis work in OCBC. I show them the ringgitplus message about the free luggage upon doing the fd. Then I ask the leng lui personal banker, can I entitle for both the luggage and the angpows. Unfortunately she said they will only pick either one. So if you receive the luggage bag you will not win the angpaos. doh.gif
I think she may have made a mistake.

My OCBC representative said you are entitled for both! Gave RinggitPlus a call just in case and they said the same lol.

https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/OC...tive-Treat.html
cybpsych
post Mar 13 2015, 07:08 PM

---------------------
65,286 posts

Maybank FD "DOUBLE 6 (6+6)"
25 February 2015 - 25 March 2015

Tenure*Promotional Rates (% p.a.)Effective Rates (% p.a.)Prevailing Board Rate
1st 6 Months3.604.103.25
Next 6 Months4.604.103.25
Note: The placements are applicable over the counter only at any Maybank Branch in Malaysia.
*Should there be any Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) change; the offer rates may be revised.

More info: Maybank | T&Cs
:XO
post Mar 13 2015, 11:18 PM

96 posts

Today gowanna put ringgitplus promo.
30k for 3 months 3.85%

1. they told me NO MORE RINGGITPLUS TROLLEY BAG mad.gif
2. I still wanna put the fund. BUT they told me NO, YOU CANT PUT 3MONTHS FOR 3.85% even got fresh fund. MIN 6 MONTHS vmad.gif
3. they really like to talk bout the saving plans sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by :XO: Mar 13 2015, 11:19 PM
nitehawk
post Mar 14 2015, 08:35 AM

699 posts

Which bank offers the highest 3- and 6- month interest rate now?

Thank you.
myr.medinsurance
post Mar 14 2015, 09:49 AM

25 posts

New to lowyat here. Has anybody have any experience with Affin Bank Fixed Deposit Plus where they peg your interest rate to KLIBOR (the rate bank lend to each other??)?

http://www.affinbank.com.my/Consumer-Banki...FFINFDPLUS.aspx

The current KLIBOR rate for 12 months is 3.93%

http://asianbondsonline.adb.org/malaysia/d..._interest_rates

Seems attractive to me since I want FD rate that is consistently higher without going through hassle of musical chairs between banks when there is competition for deposits or putting precious money in banks without PIDM.

The strange thing about this product is that there is a floor, the interest rate pegged to KLIBOR will not be lower than for Affin's conventional fixed deposit.

Unless there is a catch, you will always come out ahead of conventional fixed deposit (unless there is promotion rate).

My gut instinct tells me that there is no such thing as a free lunch and there must be some gotcha clause lurking in the background (like JAWS).

Much appreciation to anybody who can enlighten me on this.

T231H
post Mar 14 2015, 10:14 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Mar 14 2015, 09:49 AM)
New to lowyat here. Has anybody have any experience with Affin Bank Fixed Deposit Plus where they peg your interest rate to KLIBOR (the rate bank lend to each other??)?

Seems attractive to me since I want FD rate that is consistently higher without going through hassle of musical chairs between banks when there is competition for deposits or putting precious money in banks without PIDM.

The strange thing about this product is that there is a floor, the interest rate pegged to KLIBOR will not be lower than for Affin's conventional fixed deposit.

Unless there is a catch, you will always come out ahead of conventional fixed deposit (unless there is promotion rate).

My gut instinct tells me that there is no such thing as a free lunch and there must be some gotcha clause lurking in the background (like JAWS). 

hmm.gif maybe this is the catch....10% of that deposited amount will have to be deposited into affinplus / casa?
maybe??

"AffinFDPLUS the 1st KLIBOR pegged Fixed Deposit product with HIGH Interest rate returns.
Start enjoying attractive FD interest when you place a minimum of RM10,000 in Affin FD Plus for 1, 3, 6, 9 & 12 months and RM1,000 in your AFFINPLUS or Current/Savings Accounts.

AffinFDPLUS Benefits:
•Only RM10,000.00 to start
•Deposit for 1, 3, 6, 9 & 12 Months
•Free Debit Card for convenient retail purchases with 0.5% cash transaction rebate

Kaka23
post Mar 14 2015, 12:52 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kyenli @ Mar 10 2015, 07:37 PM)
I've just signed up for SCB 4.5% 15M FD. However, they told me that interest will only be credit upon maturity ie at the end of 15th month. Two branches said the same thing.
Also, apparently the requirement is to open a Justone savings account but I was having a basic savings account. Approval is needed for me to proceed with only a basic savings account.

How about you guys?
My understanding is the interest will be deposit into your savings account ever few months (cant remember how many months already)
nexona88
post Mar 14 2015, 12:55 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Mar 14 2015, 08:35 AM)
Which bank offers the highest 3- and 6- month interest rate now?

Thank you.
1st page icon_rolleyes.gif
Kaka23
post Mar 14 2015, 12:59 PM

8,259 posts

The Ringgitplus promo for OCBC :

1) When this promo will ends?
2) Is it a samsonite luggage bag? tongue.gif
3) Worth it if comparing to put into SCB FD which is 4.5%pa for 15 months?
myr.medinsurance
post Mar 14 2015, 01:05 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 14 2015, 10:14 AM)
hmm.gif  maybe this is the catch....10% of that deposited amount will have to be deposited into affinplus / casa?
maybe??

"AffinFDPLUS the 1st KLIBOR pegged Fixed Deposit product with HIGH Interest rate returns.
Start enjoying attractive FD interest when you place a minimum of RM10,000 in Affin FD Plus for 1, 3, 6, 9 & 12 months and RM1,000 in your AFFINPLUS or Current/Savings Accounts.

AffinFDPLUS Benefits:
•Only RM10,000.00 to start
•Deposit for 1, 3, 6, 9 & 12 Months
•Free Debit Card for convenient retail purchases with 0.5% cash transaction rebate
I see. Thank you. thumbup.gif

10% in casa kills things off unless you have lots of money e.g. RM100,000 in Affin FD Plus + RM 1,000 to give lip service to requirement. Though need to confirm if minimum is RM1,000 as stated or 10% of FD amount.

I already have too many bank accounts so I will pass on this.

Probably just put money into conventional Affin Fixed Deposit, 3.7% for 12 months. No need to worry about CASA, PIDM or play another round of FD musical chairs.

Thank you again T231H!
bbgoat
post Mar 14 2015, 01:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 10 2015, 07:30 PM)
The FD cert indicate 6 mthly. The PB centre leng lui further confirmed interest is every 6 mth.

Yes, you can open a JustOne acct which is a combination of SA and CA. But no need a single cent there.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 14 2015, 12:52 PM)
My understanding is the interest will be deposit into your savings account ever few months (cant remember how many months already)
See reply above. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Mar 14 2015, 01:16 PM

6,614 posts

Deleted. Double posting.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Mar 14 2015, 01:17 PM
Kaka23
post Mar 14 2015, 01:17 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 14 2015, 02:09 PM)
See reply above.  biggrin.gif
cool.. thanks for the clarification!
aeiou228
post Mar 14 2015, 01:42 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Mar 14 2015, 09:49 AM)

Indeed no free lunch.
IMO 3.93% is 0.57% lesser then 4.5% current top promo rate from the musical chairs market. 0.57% is 14.5% additional interest on top of 3.93% interest earned. Quite significant I would say.
I guess depositor with large bank balances may not like this option and prefer playing musical chairs.

aeiou228
post Mar 14 2015, 02:00 PM

5,867 posts

Sorry, double posted due to slow 3G.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 14 2015, 02:01 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 15 2015, 09:35 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Hi guys, I am back in KL and as usual the first thing I do is update my Fixed Deposit Page. I am happy to note that many banks are still offering interest rates above 4% for their 12 Months FD and UOB 12 months FD Promo rate is even better than last month.

Click here to my Fixed Deposit Page to see current FD Promos.

Like I said above, UOB is now offering better interest rate for their 6 and 12 months FD Promo compared to their Christmas and CNY FD Promos; but, this higher interest rates are scheduled to be expired on 21 March 2015.

Also Maybank latest Step Up 12 Months nFD is scheduled to end on 25 March 2015.
ftan
post Mar 15 2015, 10:28 AM

2,532 posts

Alliance bank 12 months 4.15% fresh funds 10k. Bank officer told me.

135 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:00 PM