87 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Health The Weight Loss Thread v4, New year, new you :)

avrilmae
post Sep 8 2016, 10:24 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(renyyz @ Aug 23 2016, 05:59 PM)
Problem is I always eat outside. So dunno about the calories of food
Since I only do jog, so how frequently is recommended to me? Before this I do jog 4 times a week (satur, Mon,Wed,Fri) but no change. So now I only do 1 times a week
Now I rarely takes sweet drink. Only plain water. I takes sweet drink around 1 times a week or 2 weeks
When eating out, try to avoid
Food that's deep fried, battered, breaded
Anything w santan
Sauce, gravy, mayo, salad dressing

Go for baked, roasted, grilled, broiled
Load up on the veggies
Cut done on white rice, white bread

Exercise: at leat 3 times a week

Good luck and don't give up bro!
knuckles04
post Sep 8 2016, 11:36 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(renyyz @ Aug 23 2016, 12:21 AM)
Guys, I am 172cm with 92kg. I plan to get ideal weight (around 65kg) but dunno how to start. Anyone can help me? I try eat less and jog but after 1 month and half, nothing change
Dont just jog!! Lift some weights, especially for your legs!
renyyz
post Sep 12 2016, 04:06 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(avrilmae @ Sep 8 2016, 10:24 AM)
When eating out, try to avoid
Food that's deep fried, battered, breaded
Anything w santan
Sauce, gravy, mayo, salad dressing

Go for baked, roasted, grilled, broiled
Load up on the veggies
Cut done on white rice, white bread

Exercise:  at leat 3 times a week

Good luck and don't give up bro!
deep fried and santan is popular food in malaysia. haha i would try follow ur guide. thanks

QUOTE(knuckles04 @ Sep 8 2016, 11:36 AM)
Dont just jog!! Lift some weights, especially for your legs!
how to do weight on leg? i tot jog is enough

QUOTE(OKB @ Sep 12 2016, 01:39 AM)
how do you jog? and how long is the duration?

i think u jog wrongly. looking at your weight now, i dont think u feel comfortable jogging.

get a heart rate monitor (cheapest one with chest strap around rm100 is enough)and go cycling. maintain between 60% -70% of max heart rate. do this at least one hour every day.

u will enjoy it more and not torturing yourself anymore.
cycling need to buy bike, which is need too much budget.. huhu
btw, now i do jog for 5-10km. 5 km for 1 hour. normally first 2.5km is jog, then walk awhile, then i changing from jog to walk as far as i can.
knuckles04
post Sep 13 2016, 09:32 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(renyyz @ Sep 12 2016, 04:06 PM)

how to do weight on leg? i tot jog is enough

Do squats! weighted squats or high rep squats.
High rep squat will leave u heart pumping and breathless, just like a sprint, but u burn more.
renyyz
post Sep 13 2016, 01:05 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(knuckles04 @ Sep 13 2016, 09:32 AM)
High rep squat will leave u heart pumping and breathless, just like a sprint, but u burn more.
Thanks. I would try doing this at night
MasBoleh!
post Sep 18 2016, 03:30 AM

3,599 posts

I am sorry, may I know if i wanna do exercise in the morning as in go gym to do some treadmill running or cycling and perhaps some weight training.

What shall I eat before I go for exercise? And how many hours i shall eat before I exercise? hmm.gif

Is it ok if I eat wholemeal bread with this snow brand butter? or this butter is too fattening and not good for health?

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Sep 18 2016, 03:30 AM
spoon2272
post Sep 21 2016, 06:28 PM

1,117 posts

Guy's need your opininon here.I'm 31 1=with 175cm tall and 74kg.My upper body and arm is just in right size but got FAT on chest and the most hated part the belly.I seldomly exercise but i also did'nt eat much (breakfast - bread n egg, lunch - rice, dinner - a bit of rice or bread = around 1500kcal) but the vicious stubborn fat still wont go away.Somebody told me that i have a very slow metabolisme and can someone suggest me anything here?thanks a lot
bafukie
post Sep 21 2016, 10:03 PM

1,406 posts

QUOTE(spoon2272 @ Sep 21 2016, 06:28 PM)
Guy's need your opininon here.I'm 31 1=with 175cm tall and 74kg.My upper body and arm is just in right size but got FAT on chest and the most hated part the belly.I seldomly exercise but i also did'nt eat much (breakfast - bread n egg, lunch - rice, dinner - a bit of rice or bread = around 1500kcal) but the vicious stubborn fat still wont go away.Somebody told me that i have a very slow metabolisme and can someone suggest me anything here?thanks a lot
Ermmm start exercising?
ripplezone
post Sep 27 2016, 01:22 PM

275 posts

Why “Skinny Fat” Can Be Worse than Obesity
http://drhyman.com/blog/2015/07/16/why-ski...e-than-obesity/
keenie
post Oct 1 2016, 05:52 PM

64 posts

Hi all, I'm new over here. Would like to share some of my experience and to get some answers of my doubts.

Around March 2016, I was weighted about 86kg, 170cm. A big fat guy who doesn't admit he is fat. Haha. After seeing some tutorials and information thru Youtube, I had decided to get lean. As taught from videos, first thing to do is to lean down before bulking. Yes, you may increase muscle mass while getting lean, but the process is a slow one.

Getting lean, 70% from meal dieting, 30% from cardio exercises. As mentioned by many, getting lean is all about calorie deficit.

At first, I cut my meal portion to achieve low calorie intake, all day, all meals. By doing this, yes, weight was getting down real quick. But then I was easy to get tired, low energy, brain slowing down, low sex drive, body function is not efficient.

After that, I tried to eat clean, not extremely clean, normal portion, normal foods without adding extra. Allow me to share roughly my meals throughout the days as below:

Morning option1:
HL Milk 1 cup about 300ml - To get protein
Kopi O Kosong
Wantan mee Soup
Half boiled eggs x 2 (Sometimes)

Breakfast option2:
HL Milk 1 cup about 300ml - To get protein
Meehoon soup/ Tofu with fish paste/ Fishballs (I do not pick heavily stuff when I do not have a choice)
Kopi O kosong
Half boiled eggs x 2 (Sometimes)

Lunch option1:
Chicken rice small with chicken breast/ Chicken breast for 2 persons without rice
Kopi O kosong

Lunch option2:
Mixed rice small with lean meats such as chicken and a vege
Kopi O kosong

Lunch option3:
Meehoon/ Mee soup Tofu with fish paste/ Fishballs (I do not pick heavily stuff when I do not have a choice)

Dinner option1:
Full egg x 2
Egg without yolk x 3 (Sometimes 4)
Chicken breast about 150g by grilled or boiled with salt, pepper, olive oil, garlic, onion sometimes
Mixture of potato/ broccoli
Coke Zero 1 can

Dinner option2:
Subway sandwiches
Coke zero

Dinner option3:
McDonald's burgers
Coke zero

Cheat meal:
McDonald's burgers without fries without drinks, I bring my own Coke Zero
KFC original 2 pieces with mashed potato only, no drinks

My meals as above, something like that, sometimes might differs. Calculate my meals' calories by using MyFitnessPal iOS app, easy to use and easy to monitor. After certain of period, you do not have to rely on it anymore because you have your regular meals and you know their calories already. Occasionally I have maintenance calorie intake.

Main objective of my meals:
1. Plan my meals calories thru out the day - Calorie deficit
2. Roughly plan my meal's protein - To maintain or increase my muscle mass
3. Do not forget carbs and fat as well, they are important!
4. Not taking sugar - I do not like sugary stuff
5. Quitting soda drinks speed up a lot and soda drinks contain quite a number of calories
6. Less alcohol (Only for social) - Alcohol is having high calories as well as comparing to sodas
7. Enough food portion to fuel up your day
8. When you do not have a choice for clean food, go as clean as possible from your options
9. Occasionally having huge food, or over calorie intake. Hey its life!
10. Unable to think of all the reasons yet. Heheee

Not much to share about exercises as I do not have great knowledge on them. I do hill hiking roughly 1 to 2 times per week, going uphill and reaching downhill takes about 45 to 50 minutes, about 3.5km, heart rate peak about 170bpm, average at about 115bpm for fat burning. Heart rate tracked using fitness tracker. After some studies, HIIT is great for fat burning, you may Google for that.

Gym? No, I do not go to the gym. I do some body weight workouts at home with my yoga mat. Exercises I do are like push up, plank, mountain climbing, bicycle crunch, high knees, leg raise, dynamic plank, etc. Purpose of these home workouts at home is mainly for fat burning. For home workouts, you may search for Jordan Yeoh on Youtube, some fitness suggestion by searching Radu Antoniu on Youtube as well.

In the end, fat loss is all about calorie deficit. Its about how you plan, how you blend your plan into your lifestyle, making yourself enjoyable in the process. In the case of you do not like the new food lifestyle, you are unable to sustain it for a long period, resulted in failing. Therefore, you need to seek a food lifestyle that suits you well. It relies on one word "Consistency" as advised by Jordan Yeoh.

End of sharing! Now my question as below:
Currently I'm weighted at 62.5kg, 170cm. Overall, I look lean. Just having those stubborn belly fat. Any person could advise me further one this? Really need some help over here. Question asked because I would like to get my 6 pack abs visible. From my understanding, body fat need to be low at 10-12%. Previously when I was 68kg, body fat was 17%. Not having my body fat checked recently. Now the main goal is to get rid of my stubborn belly fat. From above, you may refer to my meals intake. Is it really necessary to eat very clean in order to eliminate my fat right now? Please advise. Thank you.
bafukie
post Oct 3 2016, 08:33 AM

1,406 posts

2 advice : cook yr meal n hiit cardio
keenie
post Oct 3 2016, 04:41 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Oct 3 2016, 08:33 AM)
2 advice : cook yr meal n hiit cardio
Okay, noted well. Thank you.
lingleeyen
post Oct 3 2016, 04:48 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(knuckles04 @ Sep 13 2016, 09:32 AM)
Always squat heavy. If you think heavy squats with low reps doesnt build endurance you are wrong. Try getting used to squat at 180kg for 3 reps. After a month, you will feel that you can squat 100kg with no burden no sweating no rasa. The heavy weight gives you good carry over when you are doing lighter weight stuff in real life daily activities. Who go squat 180 in real life right? But imagine this, if you are used to 180kg, pulling up 4 bags of rice from the ground with your legs drive, will be a very easy job.

And yeah. 180kg squats make you out of breathe with only 3 reps.
lingleeyen
post Oct 3 2016, 04:51 PM

1,376 posts

Keep your metabolisme high with exercise. Any kind of it. If you do not have any target besides loosing fats, then calorie in < calorie out is the ONLY way. You can eat vege only and get fat. I eat KFC I loose fats.
lingleeyen
post Oct 3 2016, 05:27 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Wira Hikari @ May 16 2016, 10:29 PM)
Can it be judged based on my current weight with my height (167 - 168 cm) according to the BMI chart or i really have to check it all on the machine?

Also, will my current weight maintains if I cut down/remove my cardio and fully focus on weights/liftings to tone my muscles now that I have drop a significant amount of weight?

Thanks again
The biggest problem is because you do not know how much you are eating. With you knowing how much you eat, you will be able to adjust everything from your activity level, food level, food type, rest, etc.
knuckles04
post Oct 3 2016, 11:19 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Oct 3 2016, 04:48 PM)
Always squat heavy. If you think heavy squats with low reps doesnt build endurance you are wrong. Try getting used to squat at 180kg for 3 reps. After a month, you will feel that you can squat 100kg with no burden no sweating no rasa. The heavy weight gives you good carry over when you are doing lighter weight stuff in real life daily activities. Who go squat 180 in real life right? But imagine this, if you are used to 180kg, pulling up 4 bags of rice from the ground with your legs drive, will be a very easy job.

And yeah. 180kg squats make you out of breathe with only 3 reps.
^
Bump this one
Yamma
post Oct 4 2016, 12:11 PM

736 posts

hi, is it true that running at night (up to individual limit) before sleep is not good for health?

is calorie computation (intake and usage) is really that straightforward? losing 1kg weight for every 7700 deficit of calories.

is it really dangerous to take really low calories (let say 700-1000cl) per day while use about 2500-3000cl on the same day? I've been doing it for the last couple of days. It wont be for long, I plan to practice it for 1-2 weeks if possible. Is it doable?
samydavis
post Oct 4 2016, 01:30 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(Yamma @ Oct 4 2016, 12:11 PM)
hi, is it true that running at night (up to individual limit) before sleep is not good for health?

is calorie computation (intake and usage) is really that straightforward? losing 1kg weight for every 7700 deficit of calories.

is it really dangerous to take really low calories (let say 700-1000cl) per day while use about 2500-3000cl on the same day? I've been doing it for the last couple of days. It wont be for long, I plan to practice it for 1-2 weeks if possible. Is it doable?
1/ no true.However if you run or do any strenuous exercise before bedtime will make you hyperactive,hence your sleep time will be affected.

2/ yes,it's really that straight forward,however the type of calories do make a difference on your performance.

3/ If you intend to lose 1000cal a day,it would be advisable to loose 500cal from your diet and 500cal from exercise.
As a rule of thumb,cal intake should not be below 1000 cal.
To get a better idea of the amount of calories that you need a day to lose weight,check out the app Fitness Pal.Have fun thumbsup.gif
mrg220t
post Oct 4 2016, 01:37 PM

177 posts

Hi, how many of you use myfitnesspal?
I find it hard to log calories when you eat outside over here. Most of the stuff not available in mfp and I don't know how to judge the calories of the food.
Example, go roadside stall eat noodle soup, nasi kandar, etc. etc
How you all handle those meals?
samydavis
post Oct 4 2016, 01:49 PM

Like H2O....
711 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Oct 4 2016, 01:37 PM)
Hi, how many of you use myfitnesspal?
I find it hard to log calories when you eat outside over here. Most of the stuff not available in mfp and I don't know how to judge the calories of the food.
Example, go roadside stall eat noodle soup, nasi kandar, etc. etc
How you all handle those meals?
I use it regularly.
It has most of our local hawker food.You just need to know how to type in the key word.

87 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:41 AM