81 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

sniper69
post Mar 10 2007, 02:05 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Mar 10 2007, 01:25 PM)
someone reply me pls. tongue.gif

@sniper, you said something about the PCI bus. what's up with that? tongue.gif
owh that...
normally, when overclocking in windows (not sure in BIOS though - but my PCI locked), increasing FSB, might as well increasing PCI bus, not too sure why's that, but it happens, so, by using ClockGen, uncheck "Ignore GSB/PCI", and you should be able overclock without worrying about PCI bus anymore...

if i'm not mistaken, that your problem, you can't go beyond 239MHz right, and from what my bro XP, just like i said previous post, just set it to 250 or watever you can get, (sure it won't boot), just hard reboot, hold "Insert" key while pressing power on button, this will bring you into boot-safe option, but still your BIOS is at 250 now, just hit F1 "Continue Anyway" and you should be able to run Windows...

This post has been edited by sniper69: Mar 10 2007, 02:05 PM
suicideroach
post Mar 10 2007, 03:00 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

Is anyone using mobo asus A8R-MVP here?

i've got problem when i oc wit this board...

This post has been edited by suicideroach: Mar 11 2007, 08:42 PM
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 12 2007, 11:18 AM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 10 2007, 02:05 PM)
owh that...
normally, when overclocking in windows (not sure in BIOS though - but my PCI locked), increasing FSB, might as well increasing PCI bus, not too sure why's that, but it happens, so, by using ClockGen, uncheck "Ignore GSB/PCI", and you should be able overclock without worrying about PCI bus anymore...

if i'm not mistaken, that your problem, you can't go beyond 239MHz right, and from what my bro XP, just like i said previous post, just set it to 250 or watever you can get, (sure it won't boot), just hard reboot, hold "Insert" key while pressing power on button, this will bring you into boot-safe option, but still your BIOS is at 250 now, just hit F1 "Continue Anyway" and you should be able to run Windows...

well.. i tried both hard and soft rebooting when you last told me to and it still didn't work. Windows just refused to boot up. sad.gif

anyway, downloaded the latest version of ClockGen. i've already checked the GSB/PCI tick-box.. so will try it out later to see if it actually works.. tongue.gif
footie
post Mar 13 2007, 08:33 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Mar 10 2007, 03:00 PM)
Is anyone using mobo asus A8R-MVP here?

i've got problem when i oc wit this board...
why not tell us ya problem & list out details of ya rig here? smile.gif

in general, d board is known to have voltage fluctuation & 1t issue for some modules... wink.gif

have some read here:
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=53841
woopypooky
post Mar 13 2007, 03:49 PM

1,292 posts

what is hypertransport voltage?
i just manage to OC my amd 3000+ from 1.8 to 2.0Ghz only (9x X 221)

on the BIOS screen, i can see hypertransport voltage (2%,4%,6%)
default is 0%, can i up it a bit? ...like 2% or 4%?
and i go up the clock again?
suicideroach
post Mar 13 2007, 04:09 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

Added on March 13, 2007, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(footie @ Mar 13 2007, 08:33 AM)
why not tell us ya problem & list out details of ya rig here?  smile.gif

in general, d board is known to have voltage fluctuation & 1t issue for some modules... wink.gif

have some read here:
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=53841
no wonder la...after i read from others site review and forums, it seems that this mobo can't support to OC dual core processor.. I'm using X2 +3800 on this board, and whenever i try to OC a bit, even to 2.2Ghz, after 5 minutes it will restart again and reset.. cry.gif

has anybody using this mobo also? how to solve this prob? icon_question.gif
i would like to flash the bios, but afraid to damage my rig...

This post has been edited by suicideroach: Mar 13 2007, 08:38 PM
akachester
post Mar 13 2007, 09:17 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wanted to know, is it we can determine how good a processor in OC by what stepping it use?

I have an Athlon64 3000 lying around and maybe use it to learn how to OC with it. The stepping is LBBWE and E6 Venice.Around how much it can be OCed?
DaRkSyThE
post Mar 13 2007, 09:32 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 13 2007, 09:17 PM)
Just wanted to know, is it we can determine how good a processor in OC by what stepping it use?

I have an Athlon64 3000 lying around and maybe use it to learn how to OC with it. The stepping is LBBWE and E6 Venice.Around how much it can be OCed?
this has been said many times, ocing cannot be determined by anything except ur luck. no1 can ever tell u how much u can oc and all that
ktek
post Mar 13 2007, 09:39 PM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 13 2007, 03:49 PM)
what is hypertransport voltage?
i just manage to OC my amd 3000+ from 1.8 to 2.0Ghz only (9x X 221)
on the BIOS screen, i can see hypertransport voltage (2%,4%,6%)
default is 0%, can i up it a bit? ...like 2% or 4%?
and i go up the clock again?

up voltage only when instable occurs
remember to lower HTT multiplier to 4X / 3X icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(akachester @ Mar 13 2007, 09:17 PM)

i hate this kind of question actually shakehead.gif
http://www.amdgeeks.net/steppings/ADA3000DAA4BW
google yourself
woopypooky
post Mar 14 2007, 11:30 AM

1,292 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 13 2007, 09:39 PM)
up voltage only when instable occurs
remember to lower HTT multiplier to 4X / 3X icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm, if i lower HTT multiplier to 4X, then i must do the clock from 200 to 500 right? in order to get 2GHz.

default for my proc is 200 and 9x=1.8Ghz

i can only do it to 220 and 9x which makes up to 2Ghz
last night i tried to lower it to 8x and increase the clock to 250 to get same result of 2Ghz but the system hang at boots up. so i need to reset the CMOS.
sniper69
post Mar 14 2007, 11:48 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 11:30 AM)
hmm, if i lower HTT multiplier to 4X, then i must do the clock from 200 to 500 right? in order to get 2GHz.

last night i tried to lower it to 8x and increase the clock to 250 to get same result of 2Ghz but the system hang at boots up. so i need to reset the CMOS.
i use HTT x1 tongue.gif, even at stock, HTT Multiplier set at 1x doh.gif, no harm done anyway...
woopypooky
post Mar 14 2007, 03:19 PM

1,292 posts

i dun understand....
u use 1x? then how much is ur processor speed? how much is ur clock?

i mean i lower the HTT, then why i cant get 2Ghz and better?
sniper69
post Mar 14 2007, 07:16 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 03:19 PM)
i dun understand....

from the pix i uploaded, i use HTT 2x instead of 1x, IMO, there's no slight improvement nor instability issue if use 1x or 4x, it's just make sure, you're not exceeding 2000MHz barrier...reason - not too sure... smile.gif

woopypooky
post Mar 14 2007, 09:11 PM

1,292 posts

[DFI LanParty nForce4 SLI-DR @323x9] + [AMD64 Athlon 3000+ @2.9GHz]

gosh how did u manage that?
u use special fan or stock fan?
u got adjust ram timmings?

umm.BTW did u use window vista? if u do, how much is ur score?

This post has been edited by woopypooky: Mar 14 2007, 09:12 PM
sniper69
post Mar 14 2007, 10:21 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 09:11 PM)
[DFI LanParty nForce4 SLI-DR @323x9] + [AMD64 Athlon 3000+ @2.9GHz]

gosh how did u manage that?
u use special fan or stock fan?
u got adjust ram timmings?
umm.BTW did u use window vista? if u do, how much is ur score?
i used to have 2x512MB Team Extreme DDR600, and i use 1:1, the RAM can go all the way DDR666 without BSOD while booting up, but failed on every stress test doh.gif, however, i primed >8hrs with DDR640 with 1:1 @3-4-4-8 @2.87vDIMM, that's for RAM, and for CPU, yeah...my CPU capable to do 3.0GHz @stock vCORE, successfully boot to windows, but failed on every stress too though...primed stable at 2.9GHz also at stock vCORE, i did increase the vCORE see what happen, same...it won't help doh.gif, for cooling solution, i use ThermalTake Big Typhoon (idle @26C while; load @38C)
i'm not that pro in finding good timings, so i only set it to loose timing for more headroom or tight timing tongue.gif.

the mobo capable to do 440FSB (that's the highest FSB it can go)...of course, when finding mobo highest FSB la...so, short word...

CPU @2.9GHz; 1.376vCORE; 323x9 (primed stable)
Mobo @323MHz FSB
RAM @DDR640; 3-4-4-8; 2.87vDIMM (Team Extreme Hermes DDR600 PC4800)

Overclocking with 2x1GB Aeneon PC3200 DDR400
i've got myself this RAM module, after doing some "research" bout this RAM and i found this RAM is good i must say...FYI, i'm running on DDR533 (stable) @3-4-4-8; 2.87vDIMM, the post @other thread, i posted that i managed to get DDR550, but failed sad.gif. anyway...now running in 9:11 divider)
ktek
post Mar 14 2007, 11:41 PM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 11:30 AM)
QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 14 2007, 03:19 PM)
i dun understand....
you miss-understood , a lot doh.gif

ok , HTT multiplier is got nothing to do with processor speed .
HTT multiplier (1X to 5X) is different from processor multiplier ( for A64 3000+ , 1X to 9X )
as far as i know , HTT is the internal connection between chipset components and the processor

example :
your HTT speed can be as low as 300MHz when CPU speed at 2700MHz
( HTT : 300 X 1 ) / ( CPU : 300 X 9 )
woopypooky
post Mar 15 2007, 12:22 AM

1,292 posts

oic, u get it right.
yeah stupid me, i tot HTT = processor multiplier
my processor multiplier is 9x, and i dun have to drop it any lower right?

so right now, it is 220 X 9x = 2Ghz
i cant get it any higher etc. 225 X 9x becos the system boot will hang.

so i need to adjust the HTT higher or lower? BTW i got up the vcore 1 notch already.
sniper69
post Mar 15 2007, 12:25 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 15 2007, 12:22 AM)
oic, u get it right.
yeah stupid me, i tot HTT = processor multiplier
my processor multiplier is 9x, and i dun have to drop it any lower right?

so right now, it is 220 X 9x = 2Ghz
i cant get it any higher etc. 225 X 9x becos the system boot will hang.

so i need to adjust the HTT higher or lower? BTW i got up the vcore 1 notch already.
okeh...if you want to test how far your CPU can go, it's easy, lower your CPU multiplier say 4x and try increase your CPU FSB (200MHz by default right)...
ah_khoo
post Mar 15 2007, 07:52 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Mar 13 2007, 04:09 PM)

Added on March 13, 2007, 4:10 pm
no wonder la...after i read from others site review and forums, it seems that this mobo can't support to OC dual core processor.. I'm using X2 +3800 on this board, and whenever i try to OC a bit, even to 2.2Ghz, after 5 minutes it will restart again and reset..  cry.gif

has anybody using this mobo also? how to solve this prob?  icon_question.gif
i would like to flash the bios, but afraid to damage my rig...
proper way of bios flashin wun harm ya pc, so stop worryin it will kill ya board. one of d way to test d max speed of ya chip is to disable cpc for ya ram, since d board have 1t issue with sum modules. btw, wats d steppin of ya dually? my 0614wpmw is doin quite well, but of course i did it on dfi. smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 16 2007, 12:16 AM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 10 2007, 02:05 PM)
owh that...

i still can't. doh.gif just tried just now. i've checked the "Ignore GSB/PCI" check box and then proceeded to reboot my pc.

changed it to 250mhz, can't even past memory test.. doh.gif

left it there for almost 2 hours and no progress..

how? sad.gif

This post has been edited by -vip3rleon9-: Mar 16 2007, 12:17 AM

81 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:19 PM