81 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide

sniper69
post Mar 16 2007, 01:32 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Mar 16 2007, 12:16 AM)
i still can't. doh.gif just tried just now. i've checked the "Ignore GSB/PCI" check box and then proceeded to reboot my pc.

changed it to 250mhz, can't even past memory test.. doh.gif

left it there for almost 2 hours and no progress..

how? sad.gif
at this point, i really no idea, because, normally, when overclocking, i used to test one by one, it's CPU, Motherboard and RAM, first thing i'm going to do is, finding max CPU clock, by using lowest memory divider (DDR200), i can pump all the way to max possible without worrying bout my RAM hit the stock clock (DDR400), after that, finding max RAM clock - this use either 1:1 or CPU multiplier set to lower than stock. try squeeze the RAM from tightest timing to loosest timing - this RAM tweak actually pretty take a while smile.gif, in theory, the loossest timing, provide more headroom in overclocking smile.gif, after that, max CPU FSB can go, this is interesting, as all CPU and RAM goes to lowest as possible. at this point, i use DDR200 with CPU multiplier 4x, from there, increase the CPU FSB until hit to max, IIANM, i've got 440x5 thumbup.gif...
so that's my overclocking experience, and normally without having problem to load it to windows...perhaps your RAM already it's ceiling? unsure.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 16 2007, 10:22 AM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 16 2007, 01:32 AM)
at this point, i really no idea, because, normally, when overclocking, i used to test one by one, it's CPU, Motherboard and RAM, first thing i'm going to do is, finding max CPU clock, by using lowest memory divider (DDR200), i can pump all the way to max possible without worrying bout my RAM hit the stock clock (DDR400), after that, finding max RAM clock - this use either 1:1 or CPU multiplier set to lower than stock. try squeeze the RAM from tightest timing to loosest timing - this RAM tweak actually pretty take a while smile.gif, in theory, the loossest timing, provide more headroom in overclocking smile.gif, after that, max CPU FSB can go, this is interesting, as all CPU and RAM goes to lowest as possible. at this point, i use DDR200 with CPU multiplier 4x, from there, increase the CPU FSB until hit to max, IIANM, i've got 440x5 thumbup.gif...
so that's my overclocking experience, and normally without having problem to load it to windows...perhaps your RAM already it's ceiling? unsure.gif

laugh.gif lol. now that's why your OC-ing techniques are so familiar. read it off a OC guide for K8 proc's.. tongue.gif

the funny thing is.. this mobo that i'm using.. doesn't actually allow me to chane the RAM divider. blink.gif werid huh? my friend's MSI can actually do it but mine just can't. it's Auto i guess. sad.gif

but it can't be.. D-43 chips run max at 235mhz? shocking.gif rolleyes.gif sad.gif
sniper69
post Mar 16 2007, 12:32 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Mar 16 2007, 10:22 AM)
laugh.gif lol. now that's why your OC-ing techniques are so familiar. read it off a OC guide for K8 proc's.. tongue.gif

the funny thing is.. this mobo that i'm using.. doesn't actually allow me to chane the RAM divider. blink.gif werid huh? my friend's MSI can actually do it but mine just can't. it's Auto i guess. sad.gif

but it can't be.. D-43 chips run max at 235mhz? shocking.gif rolleyes.gif sad.gif
doh.gif, yeah...this forum is good right thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
regarding memory divider, did you update BIOS? aiyoh, D-43 runs at 235MHz is a waste...tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 16 2007, 01:50 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 16 2007, 12:32 PM)
doh.gif, yeah...this forum is good right thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
regarding memory divider, did you update BIOS? aiyoh, D-43 runs at 235MHz is a waste...tongue.gif

of course.. thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

i did it once, but didn't dare to do it again.. exactly my point, D-43 running at 235mhx. waste aje.. doh.gif my friend who sold them to me said he could reach 250mhz ealisy with his DFI board.. but mine's MSI.. so.. sweat.gif

any solutions around this? hmm.gif
sniper69
post Mar 16 2007, 06:20 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Mar 16 2007, 01:50 PM)
of course.. thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

i did it once, but didn't dare to do it again.. exactly my point, D-43 running at 235mhx. waste aje.. doh.gif my friend who sold them to me said he could reach 250mhz ealisy with his DFI board.. but mine's MSI.. so.. sweat.gif

any solutions around this? hmm.gif
have you tried the RAM module into DFI's mobo? (or other mobo), if can go higher than 239MHz, then it's mobo la...also, get other RAM and fix into your MSI mobo, and if they can go like D-43 or not smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 17 2007, 12:36 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 16 2007, 06:20 PM)
have you tried the RAM module into DFI's mobo? (or other mobo), if can go higher than 239MHz, then it's mobo la...also, get other RAM and fix into your MSI mobo, and if they can go like D-43 or not smile.gif

the problem is, i do not have a DFI mobo. or rather, i do not know of anyone who has a DFI mobo who is actually willing to let me lend their rig for a test tun. doh.gif

i'm sure that D-43's can run faster than this. no way that this is the ceiling for them. and that's the main reason why i bought these RAM's. doh.gif and now, tak jalan. doh.gif

you got a DFI board? whistling.gif
sniper69
post Mar 17 2007, 12:50 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Mar 17 2007, 12:36 AM)
the problem is, i do not have a DFI mobo. or rather, i do not know of anyone who has a DFI mobo who is actually willing to let me lend their rig for a test tun. doh.gif

i'm sure that D-43's can run faster than this. no way that this is the ceiling for them. and that's the main reason why i bought these RAM's. doh.gif and now, tak jalan. doh.gif

you got a DFI board? whistling.gif
yeah, as my siggy said...tongue.gif, the only system i had smile.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 17 2007, 12:59 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 17 2007, 12:50 AM)
yeah, as my siggy said...tongue.gif, the only system i had smile.gif

so where you from? can pinjam your board? whistling.gif
Faint
post Mar 20 2007, 10:24 AM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

My spec is as below
AMD 64 3000+ 1.8ghz
abit kn8-ultra
HIS x1600pro
corsair 512mb

When i overclock my processor to 2.19ghz, i can't boot up my pc ady. Can anyone help me? I heard someone said b4 this processor and overclock to 2.8ghz
Zicron
post Mar 20 2007, 10:34 AM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

Actually u hv to check the ram's chip, last time i used hynix d43 can't even clock abit..bt now change to sum Corsair double sided ram, can get 250mhz no hazzle
sniper69
post Mar 20 2007, 10:37 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 20 2007, 10:24 AM)
My spec is as below
AMD 64 3000+ 1.8ghz
abit kn8-ultra
HIS x1600pro
corsair 512mb

When i overclock my  processor to 2.19ghz, i can't boot up my pc ady. Can anyone help me? I heard someone said b4 this processor and overclock to 2.8ghz
before you do, did you read fundementals of overclocking? did you read this thread before? smile.gif...anyway, when you jack up your CPU FSB to certain speed, and reboot - hang/can't reboot, it's due to reach to its limit...it might be not your processor, but it's your RAM...try use memory divider, and find the max your CPU can go...

not all A64 3000+ can go 2.8GHz, it depends on revision/batch, skills, cooling, luck...
Faint
post Mar 20 2007, 03:34 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Mar 20 2007, 10:37 AM)
before you do, did you read fundementals of overclocking? did you read this thread before? smile.gif...anyway, when you jack up your CPU FSB to certain speed, and reboot - hang/can't reboot, it's due to reach to its limit...it might be not your processor, but it's your RAM...try use memory divider, and find the max your CPU can go...

not all A64 3000+ can go 2.8GHz, it depends on revision/batch, skills, cooling, luck...
Sry, i din read the fundemental. But i know the basic knowledge of overclock. I have check my processor temperature, when i go to 2.19, temperature is 35
sniper69
post Mar 20 2007, 04:00 PM

7,173 posts

it's not about temperature, yours 35C is consider ok already...1st thing in overclocking, try with small increment, say 5MHz~10MHz at a time, reboot...make sure successfully loaded up to windows, and run SuperPI 32M or at least SuperPI 8M for quick stability test before finalizing job. you stated that, you system won't boot after hit 2.19GHz, i'm suggesting, reset your BIOS and overclock just like you did, only this time, use memory divider...this is what i did when overclock my processor (same like yours).

first thing is, i'm finding how far my processor can go, in order to get this, use lowest memory divider (DDR200), stock CPU multiplier...and then increase small increment 5MHz~10MHz like i told you...
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 20 2007, 11:34 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Mar 20 2007, 10:34 AM)
Actually u hv to check the ram's chip, last time i used hynix d43 can't even clock abit..bt now change to sum Corsair double sided ram, can get 250mhz no hazzle

you were on D-43's with this system? unsure.gif
xixo_12
post Mar 27 2007, 01:18 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

anyone have experience oc amd 3600+, with msi k9nu neo, corsair 1gb 667 value ram?

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Apr 1 2007, 01:05 PM
ktek
post Mar 27 2007, 09:16 PM

小喇叭
13,206 posts

one of my friend says ALL "Venice"s boot into windows very fast .
i was like sweat.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

anyone can proof this is true (if compare to other fresh format system) ?
sniper69
post Mar 28 2007, 01:06 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 27 2007, 09:16 PM)
one of my friend says ALL "Venice"s boot into windows very fast .
i was like sweat.gif  shakehead.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif

anyone can proof this is true (if compare to other fresh format system) ?
lucky you said one of my friend; if all of my friends...i was like ohmy.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif...

IMO, there's nothing to do with Venice; Toledo; Manchester; Denmark or watsoever codename is, really depending on how fast your HDD, program loaded and to be loaded...etc...
phas3r
post Mar 29 2007, 06:45 AM

1,206 posts

got the same prob with Faint...amd athlon 3000+ venice S939...GA k8nf-9 mobo..value ram corsair 400 1gbx2...but won't get past 1.9ghz(211 fsb)..so.. my next step is changing RAM multiplier? elaborate a bit? i need to OC to match my gfx i can say icon_question.gif
or my mobo and ram not suitable for ocing?

This post has been edited by phas3r: Mar 29 2007, 06:55 AM
ktek
post Mar 29 2007, 10:20 AM

小喇叭
13,206 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Mar 29 2007, 06:45 AM)
got the same prob with Faint...amd athlon 3000+ venice S939...GA k8nf-9 mobo..value ram corsair 400 1gbx2...but won't get past 1.9ghz(211 fsb)..so.. my next step is changing RAM multiplier? elaborate a bit? i need to OC to match my gfx i can say icon_question.gif
or my mobo and ram not suitable for ocing?
read read read Fundamentals of Overclocking shakehead.gif
your mobo use NF4-4X chip , maximum HTT value is 1600 instead of 2000 for NF4 standard and onwards .
however , it should be good in clocking ( personal opinion hmm.gif ) because when doing OC , normally HTT-multiplier is lowered for stability and low HTT doesn't affect system much .
1GB stick RAM normally don't go high frrequency with tight timing , loose it up .

phas3r
post Mar 31 2007, 05:31 PM

1,206 posts

ok ok..now i lowered ram ratio n lower htt speed from 4x to 3x..got 2.23 and still counting..thanks anyway..u mean 1600 ..ht link 800 eh?
so to get high bus speed i just need to make sure HTT and ram frequency below 800 and 200 respectively then?
so both ram ratio and ht mutiplier needs to lower until all the way down?

81 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:08 AM