Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

twotwopig
post Mar 3 2015, 02:10 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 3 2015, 01:12 PM)
How they tax those who got posted overseas for a very long period, say 5 years, but still under employment of SG registered company?
I know of Malaysian who is PR and working from home for a period of time in Malaysia but still under SG employment.
I believe is paying tax resident rate. This is 2 - 3 years back, whether rules changed or not, don't know.

But this applies to PR, for EP I still haven't encountered that someone yet. Anybody can shed light on the EP?

This post has been edited by twotwopig: Mar 3 2015, 02:13 PM
LiangZhuge
post Mar 3 2015, 10:15 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(twotwopig @ Mar 3 2015, 02:10 PM)
I know of Malaysian who is PR and working from home for a period of time in Malaysia but still under SG employment.
I believe is paying tax resident rate. This is 2 - 3 years back, whether rules changed or not, don't know.

But this applies to PR, for EP I still haven't encountered that someone yet. Anybody can shed light on the EP?
EP is taxed as non resident rate, as my friend previously was sent overseas on project by Singapore company. He was on and off away from Singapore for 2 years +, so for the 2 years he got the flat rate tax without the $1000 relief reduction.

Now that he is now back here and working in SG for more that a couple of years, he is claiming back some of the tax (there is a calculation of total days in Singapore for an assessment year over a period of years as a tax resident.)

Malaysia have something similar in which I was still considered a tax resident (even without the 180+ days in Malaysia) when I came over here but I was considered a tax resident in Malaysia as I was a tax resident for the last x number of years smile.gif

If you are here for at least 183 days straddling two years

Under the two-year administrative concession, you will be regarded as a tax resident for the two years if you stay or work in Singapore for a continuous period of at least 183 days. The number of days in Singapore includes weekends and public holidays.
Example:

You have stayed or worked in Singapore from 3 Nov 2013 to 7 May 2014 (186 days). You will be taxed as a resident for the YA 2014 and YA 2015.
YA  Period of stay (inclusive of work) in Singapore  Resident Status
2014  3 Nov 2013 to 31 Dec 2013 (59 days)  Resident
2015  1 Jan 2014 to 7 May 2014 (127 days)  Resident

If you are here for three consecutive years

Under the three-year administrative concession, if you stay or work in Singapore continuously for three consecutive years, you will be regarded as a tax resident for all the three years even though the number of days you are in Singapore is less than 183 days in the first and third year.
Example:

You have stayed or worked in Singapore from 3 Nov 2012 to 7 May 2014. You will be taxed as a resident for the YA 2013 and YA 2015.
YA  Period of stay (inclusive of work) in Singapore  Resident Status
2013  3 Nov 2012 to 31 Dec 2012 (59 days)  Resident
2014  1 Jan 2013 to 31 Dec 2013 (366 days)  Resident
2015  1 Jan 2014 to 7 May 2014 (127 days)  Resident
https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/page.aspx?id=9860
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 09:55 AM

252 posts

Hi guys, I have issue with rental and lease agreement in singapore. Seeking for advice from anyone experienced the same or have knowledge in this aspect.

I first sub-leased a common room from a couple under a Sub-lease Agreement. After 6 months, this couple left the country and before they left, they sub-lease their room to another couple and got their deposit back from the landlord.

Since then, the landlord is the one in charge but we did not have any new agreement to 'transfer' my sub-lease to main lease. All the terms in my sub-lease agreement are directly towards the Primary Tenant.

So now I decided to move out due to the Landlord wants to increase my rent $100 starting march (our lease ends in May). And I have found someone to replace my tenancy. Question is, what kind of lease agreement should this new tenant sign? a sub-lease with me as primary tenant (landlord registered me as Main tenant) or a lease directly between landlord and the new tenant?

This post has been edited by jungyu: Mar 4 2015, 10:02 AM
crazy25kid
post Mar 4 2015, 10:12 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 09:55 AM)
Hi guys, I have issue with rental and lease agreement in singapore. Seeking for advice from anyone experienced the same or have knowledge in this aspect.
I first sub-leased a common room from a couple under a Sub-lease Agreement. After 6 months, this couple left the country and before they left, they sub-lease their room to another couple and got their deposit back from the landlord.

Since then, the landlord is the one in charge but we did not have any new agreement to 'transfer' my sub-lease to main lease. All the terms in my sub-lease agreement are directly towards the Primary Tenant.

So now I decided to move out due to the Landlord wants to increase my rent $100 starting march (our lease ends in May). And I have found someone to replace my tenancy. Question is, what kind of lease agreement should this new tenant sign? a sub-lease with me as primary tenant (landlord registered me as Main tenant) or a lease directly between landlord and the new tenant?

sorry for my dumb question
why do u need to find a replacement tenant?
isn't serving notice enough?
avengers88
post Mar 4 2015, 10:33 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 09:55 AM)

Hi Jungyu, how can the landlord suddenly raise the rent? The whole point of signing the tenancy agreement is to protect yourself also from the landlord, it's like u agreed to 6 months contract for $500, and then the second month the landlord suddenly say he wants you to pay $600. Don't think that's right. Most to most just negotiate with the landlord and see whether he can wait till May, or tell her that u already found a new tenant for him, but i thought all accommodation rental needs to go through agent ? LOL, This is confusing, let the experts reply then.
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 10:44 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 4 2015, 10:12 AM)
sorry for my dumb question
why do u need to find a replacement tenant?
isn't serving notice enough?
we have a year lease contract. so i need to find replacement to continue.
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 10:54 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Mar 4 2015, 10:33 AM)
Hi Jungyu, how can the landlord suddenly raise the rent? The whole point of signing the tenancy agreement is to protect yourself also from the landlord, it's like u  agreed to 6 months contract for $500, and then the second month the landlord suddenly say he wants you to pay $600. Don't think that's right. Most to most just negotiate with the landlord and see whether he can wait till May, or tell her that u already found a new tenant for him, but i thought all accommodation rental needs to go through agent ? LOL, This is confusing, let the experts reply then.
She said she is the landlord, she can do watever she wants. If I got problem I can refer to her lawyer.
She requested me to pay for the increased rental or moved out. If I moved out I must find replacement as per contract stated otherwise I have to pay the rent for the rest of the lease period.
I know she has no right to raise the rent but tbh in Singapore tenancy agreement never protects the tenant and authorities are always on Landlord's side. I am a foreigner and I don't want to take risk if i can just move out and find replacement.
crazy25kid
post Mar 4 2015, 11:12 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 10:54 AM)
She said she is the landlord, she can do watever she wants. If I got problem I can refer to her lawyer.
She requested me to pay for the increased rental or moved out. If I moved out I must find replacement as per contract stated otherwise I have to pay the rent for the rest of the lease period.
I know she has no right to raise the rent but tbh in Singapore tenancy agreement never protects the tenant and authorities are always on Landlord's side. I am a foreigner and I don't want to take risk if i can just move out and find replacement.

erm...if she can hold the contract valid to ask u to find a replacement, why can't u do the same to prevent the increase in rental until may and move out then?
u do not have an agent on ur side? engage them, u paid them commission to help u when shyt like this happens.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 4 2015, 11:13 AM
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 11:31 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 4 2015, 11:12 AM)
erm...if she can hold the contract valid to ask u to find a replacement, why can't u do the same to prevent the increase in rental until may and move out then?
u do not have an agent on ur side? engage them, u paid them commission to help u when shyt like this happens.
no agent. The couple and I went to easyroommate and they promised me I did not have to deal with landlord.

The reason i have to move out, the landlord has the keys to all the doors including my room. When that couple moved out, she came and changed the main gate lock without informing me and just past me the new keys thats all. She most likely will do that again if i dont pay the rental she wants.

and yeah, i cant afford a lawyer

This post has been edited by jungyu: Mar 4 2015, 11:32 AM
Fiona Chin
post Mar 4 2015, 11:55 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 11:31 AM)
no agent. The couple and I went to easyroommate and they promised me I did not have to deal with landlord.

The reason i have to move out, the landlord has the keys to all the doors including my room. When that couple moved out, she came and changed the main gate lock without informing me and just past me the new keys thats all. She most likely will do that again if i dont pay the rental she wants.

and yeah, i cant afford a lawyer
You sub-rented from our good friend dontknowwhat88 above? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

1. You did a sub lease with the main tenant who had left.
2. You have no contract between the landlord. You can be considered trespasser. Owner can report police if she is nasty.
3. Raising your rent not breaking any contract since you don't have one between you and owner. You should have enter a new black white contract with owner after the main tenant left. Its ok to say u take suka u keluar now.
4. You no need to find a new tenant, because of point no.2 above.
5. Residential renting seldom involve lawyer even owner has one standing by. More like a threat.
6. Since you are leaving, why you still want be primary tenant? Just let the new tenant deal directly with the owner. Subletting very troublesome, even its done in a legal way.
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 01:00 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 4 2015, 11:55 AM)
You sub-rented from our good friend dontknowwhat88 above?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

1. You did a sub lease with the main tenant who had left.
2. You have no contract between the landlord. You can be considered trespasser. Owner can report police if she is nasty.
3. Raising your rent not breaking any contract since you don't have one between you and owner. You should have enter a new black white contract with owner after the main tenant left. Its ok to say u take suka u keluar now.
4. You no need to find a new tenant, because of point no.2 above.
5. Residential renting seldom involve lawyer even owner has one standing by. More like a threat.
6. Since you are leaving, why you still want be primary tenant? Just let the new tenant deal directly with the owner. Subletting very troublesome, even its done in a legal way.
Thanks for the valuable advices. I wish that would be the case but I am not sure if they apply to my situation here :-
I have a sublease contract which stated:-
1) I have to find someone to replace the tenancy if i am to move out but the candidate has to be approved by landlord and main tenant
2) The sub-lease is subject to original lease agreement which is between that couple and the landlord
3) the Sub-lease has landlord's endorsement
4) I did not ask to be main tenant but the landlord just registered me as main tenant when the couple left.

And I have never seen the original lease not when I first signed the sublease nor after the couple left so I have no idea what is the content.

Any authorities I can look for if the landlord rejected my new tenant and I move out? (100% i will move out cuz i cant afford that 100 raise). It is desperate singapore has no where for tenants to seek for help.
Fiona Chin
post Mar 4 2015, 01:56 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 01:00 PM)
Thanks for the valuable advices. I wish that would be the case but I am not sure if they apply to my situation here :-
I have a sublease contract which stated:-
1) I have to find someone to replace the tenancy if i am to move out but the candidate has to be approved by landlord and main tenant
2) The sub-lease is subject to original lease agreement which is between that couple and the landlord
3) the Sub-lease has landlord's endorsement
4) I did not ask to be main tenant but the landlord just registered me as main tenant when the couple left.

And I have never seen the original lease not when I first signed the sublease nor after the couple left so I have no idea what is the content.

Any authorities I can look for if the landlord rejected my new tenant and I move out? (100% i will move out cuz i cant afford that 100 raise). It is desperate singapore has no where for tenants to seek for help.
What you asking again ah? If you leaving, then owner should not put you as main tenant anymore. Let new tenant deal direct. The new tenant your friend? Better tell him the owner behaviour first or you might lose this friend. Remember to take back your deposit though.

Learn your lesson and just move on. Stomp the owner if you want.

For small dispute like this, got one don't know what Mediation Center, gahmen one, go ask google. Very cheap fee.
jungyu
post Mar 4 2015, 04:15 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Mar 4 2015, 01:56 PM)
What you asking again ah? If you leaving, then owner should not put you as main tenant anymore. Let new tenant deal direct. The new tenant your friend? Better tell him the owner behaviour first or you might lose this friend. Remember to take back your deposit though.

Learn your lesson and just move on. Stomp the owner if you want.

For small dispute like this, got one don't know what Mediation Center, gahmen one, go ask google. Very cheap fee.
Thanks. Actually I have no idea what should I do now. The new tenant is pending landlord's approval. If okay then I can move out safe and get my deposit back. If no, then I am screwed.
Fiona Chin
post Mar 4 2015, 05:51 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 3 2015, 01:12 PM)
O different one, I thought same.

Say, the SG company outsources its work to me in Malaysia, in full time basis, and the working hours is night shift.

How they tax those who got posted overseas for a very long period, say 5 years, but still under employment of SG registered company?
O its 15%, can save 5%.
Its 20% for you. There are many ways around it. Consult your company secretary for more info thanks.
IwanAGP
post Mar 4 2015, 10:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Mar 4 2015, 10:44 AM)
we have a year lease contract. so i need to find replacement to continue.
But your lease not with the landlord pun. Btw... I thought tenant cannot sublet their rented house? hmm.gif
LiangZhuge
post Mar 6 2015, 10:35 PM

451 posts

For those of you guys and girls wondering about transferring money from CIMB SG --> MY, I tested this just now and the transfer is instantaneous and it's free. Rates might be a bit lower.

(as of 6.3.2015)
Google (1sgd=?Myr) exchange rate - 2.66
Arcade website exchange rate - 2.645
CIMB SG listed exchange rate - 2.6388

I tried transfer $10 from CIMB SG to 3rd party CIMB(MY) as I didn't link both my CIMB SG and CIMB MY accounts. CIMB MY account received RM 26.39

Another venue to transfer rather than moving cash through the border smile.gif.
Didn't try RM to SGD which defeats the purpose smile.gif

Anyone tried Maybank ? inputs welcome.

===
Prerequisite

1. CIMB MY account to receive the RM funds (note CIMB MY charge RM15 yearly for debit / ATM card sad.gif, other charges may apply )
2. CIMB SG account to send the SGD funds (only 2 CIMB in SG - Raffles & Orchard - ATM machine is virtually non existence except for the 2 bank location )
3. $$$$ to transfer.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 6 2015, 10:56 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 6 2015, 10:35 PM)
For those of you guys and girls wondering about transferring money from CIMB SG --> MY, I tested this just now and the transfer is instantaneous and it's free. Rates might be a bit lower.

(as of 6.3.2015)

I tried transfer $10 from CIMB SG to 3rd party CIMB(MY) as I didn't link both my CIMB SG and CIMB MY accounts. CIMB MY account received RM 26.39 

===
Prerequisite

1. CIMB MY account to receive the RM funds (note CIMB MY charge RM15 yearly for debit / ATM card sad.gif, other charges may apply )
2. CIMB SG account to send the SGD funds (only 2 CIMB in SG - Raffles & Orchard - ATM machine is virtually non existence except for the 2 bank location )
3. $$$$ to transfer.
I got a maybank, regionlink account

Charges $15, and takes about 2 BD to clear. So seems like CIMB is alot better.
IwanAGP
post Mar 7 2015, 12:14 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 6 2015, 10:35 PM)

(as of 6.3.2015)

===
Prerequisite

3. $$$$ to transfer.
hmm.gif Their speedsend rate after consider that $5 service charge should be about the same too. RM15 small money la for you all rolleyes.gif Per year lagi. How much risk have you prevented by not taking cash into MY icon_rolleyes.gif

I haven't open any CIMB account though doh.gif

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 6 2015, 10:56 PM)
I got a maybank, regionlink account

Charges $15, and takes about 2 BD to clear. So seems like CIMB is alot better.
This year regionlink to MY macam is free. Go check. Promotion IINM.
fcuk90
post Mar 7 2015, 02:02 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

Any futsal kaki here I can join on weekend?
LiangZhuge
post Mar 7 2015, 11:05 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 7 2015, 12:14 AM)
hmm.gif Their speedsend rate after consider that $5 service charge should be about the same too. RM15 small money la for you allĀ  rolleyes.gif Per year lagi. How much risk have you prevented by not taking cash into MY icon_rolleyes.gif
I no shiok CIMB charging this and that, when I told them I want basic savings without any debit card and other crap, but they diam diam set everything and I kena charge sad.gif. Later GST lagi 6% jadi RM15.90

I haven't open any CIMB account though doh.gif
This year regionlink to MY macam is free. Go check. Promotion IINM.
Currently promotion but according to the fine print I read a while ago, they deduct $15 when you do the transaction and reimbursed you back $15 at the end of the month provided you have $5k or something balance. Can't find that link anymore.

This post has been edited by LiangZhuge: Mar 7 2015, 11:07 PM

196 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:05 AM