Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

etigge
post Jan 21 2015, 04:09 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(full @ Jan 21 2015, 12:23 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Erm, another issue that I would like to know more, 16" and 20" punya pros and cons. Is that riding for long distance and long time, 16" will not be comfortable and not that efficient which include slight hilly area?

Thank you.
Regards,
full
There are pros and cons. 16 incher is easier to ride uphill but quite twitchy when rolling downhill fast. You need to get use to it. The fold is obviously more compact than the regular 20 inch. Another cons of 16 inch is the limited tire choice. We were on a ride over 2 days once and included in our group was a 16 incher , an FNHon which I assembled and the rider is an elderly lady and she covered 214km with us. So, 16 or 20, it depends on your preference.

Bear in mind also the 16 inch mentioned is also 20 speed so it can be upgraded too just as the 20 inch. The 20 inch on the other hand, is a more stable ride and parts and spares are more easily available. Still I feel you should go for the regular 20 inch if storage and fold compactness is not the main criteria. Just like folding speed, it is never an important reason to choose over which foodie for me because I don't mind taking 10 minutes to fold a bike.
full
post Jan 21 2015, 04:30 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 21 2015, 04:09 PM)
There are pros and cons. 16 incher is easier to ride uphill but quite twitchy when rolling downhill fast. You need to get use to it. The fold is obviously more compact than the regular 20 inch. Another cons of 16 inch is the limited tire choice. We were on a ride over 2 days once and included in our group was a 16 incher , an FNHon which I assembled and the rider is an elderly lady and she covered 214km with us. So, 16 or 20, it depends on your preference.

Bear in mind also the 16 inch mentioned is also 20 speed so it can be upgraded too just as the 20 inch. The 20 inch on the other hand, is a more stable ride and parts and spares are more easily available. Still I feel you should go for the regular 20 inch if storage and fold compactness is not the main criteria. Just like folding speed, it is never an important reason to choose over which foodie for me because I don't mind taking 10 minutes to fold a bike.
Yes, folding speed is not my concern as well. Currently I'll be eyeing on Vybe, as the top of the list.. Anyway, how do you think on the XDS FA16? Or any other 16" which is good to go with?

Thank you.

Regards,
full
handsomedog
post Jan 21 2015, 07:28 PM

I ride the vybe before, only thing is when daiki bukit its a little susah. 7 speed kinda limited tbh
desastar
post Jan 21 2015, 08:49 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Jan 21 2015, 07:28 PM)
I ride the vybe before, only thing is when daiki bukit its a little susah. 7 speed kinda limited tbh
Yes if you are likely to be riding in very hilly areas all the time, then don't bother with a 7 speed with a view to upgrading......it may not be easy and costly. You'd be better off spending more money as that will be cheaper in the long run. In any case riding in very hilly places are not that much fun so why ride there? Hahaha

But if you are generally riding on level ground at normal speed, provided the 7 speed has nice ratios, you won't have to spend anymore. Then when you want to upgrade, you upgrade the whole bike! Much better value.
Good example would be my Dahon Vitesse newly built from scratch with 105 running gear. This is more than twice the price of the Vybe I think. Is it good value? Yes if you can use all the gears and can appreciate the better quality parts, otherwise why bother?

This post has been edited by desastar: Jan 21 2015, 08:53 PM
wke002
post Jan 21 2015, 10:06 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 21 2015, 08:49 PM)
Yes if you are likely to be riding in very hilly areas all the time, then don't bother with a 7 speed with a view to upgrading......it may not be easy and costly. You'd be better off spending more money as that will be cheaper in the long run. In any case riding in very hilly places are not that much fun so why ride there? Hahaha

But if you are generally riding on level ground at normal speed, provided the 7 speed has nice ratios, you won't have to spend anymore. Then when you want to upgrade, you upgrade the whole bike! Much better value.
Good example would be my Dahon Vitesse newly built from scratch with 105 running gear. This is more than twice the price of the Vybe I think. Is it good value? Yes if you can use all the gears and can appreciate the better quality parts, otherwise why bother?

This would be next project. With currencies against dollar is going to stay for sometime, those thinking to get a bike... Better fast, next batch import would not be cheap given they usually buy in us dollar.
etigge
post Jan 22 2015, 12:18 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(full @ Jan 21 2015, 04:30 PM)
Yes, folding speed is not my concern as well. Currently I'll be eyeing on Vybe, as the top of the list.. Anyway, how do you think on the XDS FA16? Or any other 16" which is good to go with?

Thank you.
Regards,
full
I used to ride with a group where there are 2 teachers who rides the XDS 16 inch. I would say that the bike is quite good , strong frame but the bad point is the gearing. Since it is 16 inches and only 7 speed, you might freewheel when you ride a bit fast. So the riders tend to pedal like mad chasing after others as the smallest cog at the rear is 13 which is not small enough. But I have modded both the XDSes to 8 speed with 11 to 30 cogs and that helps a lot in them catching up with other riders.
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 04:08 AM

Hi dear sifu all.. Newbie here...
I am riding a vigor p9.. And I read through the forum, by adding a chain ring, fd adapter and shifter can I achieve 18 speed?

Went to kimbell today but was told to change the entire crankset as he said it is not possible to change those only and I was recommended a litepro crankset instead..

Is it a good buy or goodbye?
desastar
post Jan 22 2015, 06:02 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(kenc112 @ Jan 22 2015, 04:08 AM)
Hi dear sifu all..  Newbie here...
I am riding a vigor p9.. And I read through the forum,  by adding a chain ring, fd adapter and shifter  can I achieve 18 speed?

Went to kimbell today but was told to change the entire crankset as he said it is not possible to change those only and I was recommended a litepro crankset instead.. 

Is it a good buy or goodbye?
Well, if your existing crank is one piece, you won't be able to mount a second chainring, hence the necessity to put in a new crank. How much? Depends on what brand and it may also involve changing the bottom bracket.... doh.gif

Are you running out of lower gears?? Which gear do you use most?

Sifu E may have something to suit?
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 06:08 AM

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 22 2015, 06:02 AM)
Well, if your existing crank is one piece, you won't be able to mount a second chainring, hence the necessity to put in a new crank. How much? Depends on what brand and it may also involve changing the bottom bracket.... doh.gif

Yes.. I am still suffering from hill climb due to my current existing crank running on its lowest gear, that is why think of doubling my speed now.. I am running on 5-8 speed on flat but if hilly climbs.. It will be the lowest or the first or second gear..

Maybe sifu e can help me as well. notworthy.gif
whateva2k
post Jan 22 2015, 06:09 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 22 2015, 06:02 AM)

Vigor P9 comes with 130 BCD chainring if I'm not mistaken.
whateva2k
post Jan 22 2015, 06:58 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 22 2015, 06:09 AM)
Vigor P9 comes with 130 BCD chainring if I'm not mistaken.
You can just add a 39T chainring right?

https://www.facebook.com/MikeBicycleShop/ph...293713674099785

And then just need to get new FD and shifters?
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 07:05 AM

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 22 2015, 06:58 AM)
You can just add a 39T chainring right?

https://www.facebook.com/MikeBicycleShop/ph...293713674099785

And then just need to get new FD and shifters?
Yea.. Will I be compatible? And just screw on right? Quality wise is this chain ring okay?
desastar
post Jan 22 2015, 08:22 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(kenc112 @ Jan 22 2015, 07:05 AM)
Yea.. Will I be compatible? And just screw on right? Quality wise is this chain ring okay?
Looking at a pic of the Vigor, it does appear you can add on a chain ring (you'll have to replace the fixing bolts too). If this is so, try fitting one and manually move the chain over and see if rides nice. The chainline may need to be moved inwards or outwards by changing the bottom bracket...... If it is acceptable, all good and then spend money adding the front derailleur and shifter!

This post has been edited by desastar: Jan 22 2015, 08:23 AM
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 08:32 AM

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 22 2015, 08:22 AM)
Looking at a pic of the Vigor, it does appear you can add on a chain ring (you'll have to replace the fixing bolts too).  If this is so, try fitting one and manually move the chain over and see if rides nice.  The chainline may need to be moved inwards or outwards by changing the bottom bracket......  If it is acceptable, all good and then spend money adding the front derailleur and shifter!
weeee... good to hear that! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

thanks all sifus for helping!
would like to join u guys for some riding session if u guys do not mind! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
whateva2k
post Jan 22 2015, 09:15 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(kenc112 @ Jan 22 2015, 07:05 AM)
We are in the same boat. I'm thinking of adding 2nd chainring to my Vigor P9 too, same reason as you.

I've only been doing some research online, but didn't have the time to go further.

So I really don't know about the quality of this chainring. Don't know also if it's a good price.

This post has been edited by whateva2k: Jan 22 2015, 09:24 AM
ajoi57
post Jan 22 2015, 09:21 AM

530 posts

QUOTE(boxerawd @ Jan 21 2015, 02:33 PM)
Hi all,

I just bought myself a tern folding bike recently, but it doesn't come with kick stand.
I am now looking for one which is stable and lightweight.
Based on your experience, which kick stand should I install and where
can I get it ? (Preferred available locally)

Thanks in advance.
we have same problem. cry.gif
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 22 2015, 09:15 AM)
We are in the same boat. I'm thinking of adding 2nd chainring to my Vigor P9 too, same reason as you.

I've only been doing some research online, but didn't have the time to go further.

So I really don't know about the quality of this chainring. Don't know also if it's a good price.
hmm.. or maybe considering getting a 105 crankset? i saw some second hand with quite a decent price but was quicly grabbed by others...

Kimbell is selling a 53/39 crankset by litepro but i don't know whether it is reliable or not.. price is 3xx++ inclusive BB
desastar
post Jan 22 2015, 12:02 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(kenc112 @ Jan 22 2015, 10:06 AM)
hmm.. or maybe considering getting a 105 crankset? i saw some second hand with quite a decent price but was quicly grabbed by others...

Kimbell is selling a 53/39 crankset by litepro but i don't know whether it is reliable or not.. price is 3xx++ inclusive BB
If the price is 3xx for a litepro, you might as well go 105.....buy my calculation via Wiggle is about RM370, plus add BB. For the price of the single chainring at RM48, worth trying and see if that's what you want before spending anymore money. Quality should be no worse than the Dahon original stuff I think. I remember the one on my Speed D7, I can bend it if I hit it hard enough hmm.gif
handsomedog
post Jan 22 2015, 01:53 PM

I want to upgrade my tern d16 wheelset. From what i understood so far..my original stock wheels are 20 inch 406 freehub wheels(pls correct me if im wrong). I want to replace it with something with better bearings/spinning capability so i can more speedy but maintaining 406 wheels instead of 451. Any reccomendation of where or what should i be looking for?

Budget max rm500

This post has been edited by handsomedog: Jan 22 2015, 02:00 PM
valkyrie1232
post Jan 22 2015, 02:02 PM

721 posts

Is it really possible to just add a second chainring to an existing single chainring crankset?
I have a driveline single chainring crankset 52T 130mm BCD, and am thinking of adding a second chainring but I kinda remember reading somewhere here someone said it's not possible to just add a second chainring, gotta change the crankset entirely.
Need some enlightenment on this from the sifus! Lol

146 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:13 AM