Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

kenc112
post Jan 21 2015, 03:27 AM

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Jan 20 2015, 10:26 PM)
There were a bunch of cyclists just now when i was driving out from klcc going towards pavillion and bb road. I kept my distance from them but they weaving pass me and cars like rempits. Some without lights and no helmets. Cycling erratically and very fast in congested area ignoring traffic lights and almost hitting a padestrian who were crossing the road. One almost hit my side during a small corner. Mostly were road bikes but theres few foldies. To those who ride at cities at night, please dont ride like mtfkers.
Totally agree with you... I was riding on kesas today.. And these bunch of rb riders act like Road bully yelling at everyone to give way to them and one of them even slowed down and point at a lady cyclist to stay in her lane.. I think it is quite rude... They even zig zag across lane like their father owns the road... Come on.. We are riders and we share the road as well.. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
kenc112
post Jan 21 2015, 03:31 PM

Hi sifu, I am currently riding on a vigor p9 and think of upgrading to 18 or 27 speed.. What are the recommended brands and model for it? Fd, crank, hangar, shifter... Where is the recommended place to install ya?
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 04:08 AM

Hi dear sifu all.. Newbie here...
I am riding a vigor p9.. And I read through the forum, by adding a chain ring, fd adapter and shifter can I achieve 18 speed?

Went to kimbell today but was told to change the entire crankset as he said it is not possible to change those only and I was recommended a litepro crankset instead..

Is it a good buy or goodbye?
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 06:08 AM

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 22 2015, 06:02 AM)
Well, if your existing crank is one piece, you won't be able to mount a second chainring, hence the necessity to put in a new crank. How much? Depends on what brand and it may also involve changing the bottom bracket.... doh.gif

Are you running out of lower gears?? Which gear do you use most?

Sifu E may have something to suit?
Yes.. I am still suffering from hill climb due to my current existing crank running on its lowest gear, that is why think of doubling my speed now.. I am running on 5-8 speed on flat but if hilly climbs.. It will be the lowest or the first or second gear..

Maybe sifu e can help me as well. notworthy.gif
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 07:05 AM

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 22 2015, 06:58 AM)
You can just add a 39T chainring right?

https://www.facebook.com/MikeBicycleShop/ph...293713674099785

And then just need to get new FD and shifters?
Yea.. Will I be compatible? And just screw on right? Quality wise is this chain ring okay?
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 08:32 AM

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 22 2015, 08:22 AM)
Looking at a pic of the Vigor, it does appear you can add on a chain ring (you'll have to replace the fixing bolts too).  If this is so, try fitting one and manually move the chain over and see if rides nice.  The chainline may need to be moved inwards or outwards by changing the bottom bracket......  If it is acceptable, all good and then spend money adding the front derailleur and shifter!
weeee... good to hear that! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

thanks all sifus for helping!
would like to join u guys for some riding session if u guys do not mind! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kenc112
post Jan 22 2015, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 22 2015, 09:15 AM)
We are in the same boat. I'm thinking of adding 2nd chainring to my Vigor P9 too, same reason as you.

I've only been doing some research online, but didn't have the time to go further.

So I really don't know about the quality of this chainring. Don't know also if it's a good price.
hmm.. or maybe considering getting a 105 crankset? i saw some second hand with quite a decent price but was quicly grabbed by others...

Kimbell is selling a 53/39 crankset by litepro but i don't know whether it is reliable or not.. price is 3xx++ inclusive BB
kenc112
post Jan 23 2015, 02:00 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 22 2015, 07:13 PM)
There are 2 ways about it. One is off course add an extra or two chainring and go through the whole FD and adapter process. Other than that, you can also just upgrade straight to 10 speed which gives a 36 cog maximum at the rear.

If you adjust the chain carefully, the cage will be pulled to the front on the 36cog setting so it won't hit the ground. When you do this, you have the advantage of modding to 20 speed later if you still find it insufficient low gear.

Just go to BBS site and hunt for mob parts. I modded a Vybe C7s the other day with a Deore shifter and it was perfect.

PS/another way is get a smaller chainring but at the expense of speed at the highest gear.
Wee... Thanks for the enlighten sifu! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
U do modification as well? Maybe can help me out to upgrade to 20 speed then.. drool.gif drool.gif

0.0429sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:12 PM