Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

whateva2k
post Jan 24 2015, 09:32 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 23 2015, 08:24 PM)
Best to save your money and then do the whole upgrade in one go.  Why? all the compatible components are installed at once and the whole thing is then tuned to operate smoothly. 

I don't think the Tiagra 10 speed shifter will work with the Neos 9 speed RD.  Tiagra 10 speed RD short cage will not work with your current cassette.
The reason why I like to do it in stages is more to because I want to upgrade it myself. I am kind of a DIY person. And since I'm new to upgrading bicycles, upgrading in stages presents less challenges.

Also, to save cost and to maximise the usage of the current components, I plan to change and upgrades in stages according to my needs.

Right now, the Neos shifter really sucks! I don't know bicycles terms, so I don't know how to describe it. I can only say that comparing to the stock SRAM 7 speed shifter that came with my Dahon Arc D7, the SRAM is sooooooo much better.

So the Tiagra shifter won't work with the Neos RD, and the Tiagra RD SS won't work with the current 9 speed 11T-32T cassette. Got it. thumbup.gif Thank you! rclxms.gif

So if I want Tiagra RD and shifter, I have to change it together with a 10 speed cassette, and the lowest gear is only 30T, right? That's kind of a bummer, since I also need higher gear ratio for my Vigor P9 now.
outdoorxplorer
post Jan 24 2015, 10:00 AM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,027 posts

Enjoy the ride on any bikes that you own. Leave the upgrading as secondary as the process will never end.

This post has been edited by outdoorxplorer: Jan 24 2015, 10:00 AM
whateva2k
post Jan 24 2015, 10:29 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jan 24 2015, 10:00 AM)
Enjoy the ride on any bikes that you own. Leave the upgrading as secondary as the process will never end.
True. I've been riding my bike for a few months now. The Neos shifter is getting very annoying.
whateva2k
post Jan 24 2015, 10:52 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 23 2015, 09:02 PM)
I can understand the reason for upgrading in stages as I did the same. It is easier to actually get a high spec bike slowly as what I wanted will cost 6k if I choose a Dahon with the specs.
Sadly, you can't upgrade the way you mentioned as Tiagra 10 speed shifters are not compatible with a 9 speed RD. If you want you have to get the whole front modded and then the whole rear modded at once.
So I can suggest going for 9 speed.

That way. You first buy a 9 speed shifter, bear in mind, SRAM and Shimano are not compatible. Also road bikes and mtb has different shifting index length. If you choose Tiagra or 760 shifters, these are road bike flat bar shifters so mtb RDS are not suitable. But if you choose mtb shifters, you can use road bike RDs as long as your cassette don't exceed 30 teeth as roadie RDs has short cage.

So start with say 9 speed Alivio or Accera shifter. That way you can still use the Neos RD and then later change the RD.  Then later add a chain ring to the front. This way if you ride hilly area, just shift the chain manually by hand to the smaller chain ring. Then later the FD and adapter and finally you have 18 speed which is sufficient for Fraser's Hill if you are on mtb set up at the rear. The front is always roadie 53/39 set up.
Wow, these bicycle upgrading can be complicated, at least for me.

I've only been looking at road bike set up as I thought mtb set up would not be suitable for foldie since the RD cage is longer, and also the general gear ratios are higher, won't be suitable for small wheels.

If I would to go with Alivio or Acera shifter, what are the options for RD later?

Also what I've learned from previous post is shifters comes in pairs. With Alivio and Accera, what are the options for FD later?

How about Sora shifters? How is it compared to Alivio and Acera?

And Sora RD? Seems to be able to take my current 32T cassette.

This post has been edited by whateva2k: Jan 24 2015, 10:53 AM
wke002
post Jan 24 2015, 02:36 PM

116 posts

[quote=whateva2k,Jan 24 2015, 10:52 AM]

I've only been looking at road bike set up as I thought mtb set up would not be suitable for foldie since the RD cage is longer, and also the general gear ratios are higher, won't be suitable for small wheels.

If I would to go with Alivio or Acera shifter, what are the options for RD later?

Also what I've learned from previous post is shifters comes in pairs. With Alivio and Accera, what are the options for FD later?

Am also new to bike. I was looking at changing my mtb brakes and wanted to try diy but later learn its so much cheaper to change the whole groupset. Sure it cost more than my intention but if i put the parts together piece by piece, its going to cost more and it does not help or make a true difference if one to change front or rear derail etc in my personal opinion. Hence, am now savings for my new groupset now.
etigge
post Jan 24 2015, 05:26 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 24 2015, 10:52 AM)

And Sora RD? Seems to be able to take my current 32T cassette.
Sora is a 9 speed roadie components. The max is 30T so if you are operating at 32T, then the cage is at the max already, I did once on a Tern Link P9 using original cassette. I think they are not cheap either, just a few bucks less than the Tiagra. If you use Alivio or Accera shifters, the front FD is possible for 2 speed as well. You just lock the FD and the shifters stop at 2 and can't go further. I install an Accera RD on a Vybe C7s with 34 cogs max. The last is almost touching the tire and ground but at thus setting you are climbing and at low speed so it should be OK.
desastar
post Jan 24 2015, 06:40 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Jan 24 2015, 09:32 AM)
The reason why I like to do it in stages is more to because I want to upgrade it myself. I am kind of a DIY person. And since I'm new to upgrading bicycles, upgrading in stages presents less challenges.

Also, to save cost and to maximise the usage of the current components, I plan to change and upgrades in stages according to my needs.

Right now, the Neos shifter really sucks!  I don't know bicycles terms, so I don't know how to describe it. I can only say that comparing to the stock SRAM 7 speed shifter that came with my Dahon Arc D7, the SRAM is sooooooo much better.

So the Tiagra shifter won't work with the Neos RD, and the Tiagra RD SS won't work with the current 9 speed 11T-32T cassette. Got it.  thumbup.gif  Thank you!  rclxms.gif

So if I want Tiagra RD and shifter, I have to change it together with a 10 speed cassette, and the lowest gear is only 30T, right? That's kind of a bummer, since I also need higher gear ratio for my Vigor P9 now.
I tried the 10sp Tiagra shifter with a 9sp cassette once, but I simply could not get it to work properly, so no choice but to but a 10 sp cassette. If you can't stand the Neos shifter anymore, perhaps you'll have to these together. You can still buy the 9sp version of the Tiagra shifter, that way you won't need the cassette...but you'll have to get the long cage Sora or Tiagra RD. I went the short cage because I figured the second front chain ring will provide all the lower gears I'd need. You'll have to decide how low the gearing must be for you. Very few of us will use say, 53 + 11, or 39 + 34 for long period of time, hence sometimes I think having too many gears are a waste of time ! LOL

frankie chin
post Jan 24 2015, 09:11 PM

Thank you all 4 d advice...shall send my mu back to them only after cny as work shedule r full n hope to "cheong" another bike too....😆

whateva2k
post Jan 25 2015, 02:16 AM

88 posts

Thanks guys for your advice and sharing of your experience. I'm slowly getting the picture now.

I would prefer a short cage RD and realise I don't mind loosing 32T sprocket if I have second chainring.

handsomedog
post Jan 26 2015, 07:24 PM

From the description below, can anybody tell if this is a 406 or a 451 wheelset?

Size: 18 "Shimano cassette 135mm, 20" Shimano cassette 130mm, 20 "Shimano cassette 135mm
Hall: F = 20H / R = 24H
Rim: A-CLASS "EXA" alloy, matte black, single eyelet
Hub: 7075 alloy axle, sealed bearings, matte black
Spoke: stainless steel, black
Race: F = radial / R = L: 2 Cross R: 2 Cross
Weight: <18 "> F = 532g / R = 796g, <20"> F = 622g / R = 860g
OLD: <18 "> (F) 100 × ® 135mm, <20"> (F) 130 × ® 135mm
Spoke length: <18 "> (F) 151 × ® 157 / 160mm, <20"> (F) 175 × ® 182 / 185mm
etigge
post Jan 26 2015, 08:21 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Jan 26 2015, 07:24 PM)
From the description below, can anybody tell if this is a 406 or a 451 wheelset?

Size: 18 "Shimano cassette 135mm, 20" Shimano cassette 130mm, 20 "Shimano cassette 135mm
Hall: F = 20H / R = 24H
Rim: A-CLASS "EXA" alloy, matte black, single eyelet
Hub: 7075 alloy axle, sealed bearings, matte black
Spoke: stainless steel, black
Race: F = radial / R = L: 2 Cross R: 2 Cross
Weight: <18 "> F = 532g / R = 796g, <20"> F = 622g / R = 860g
OLD: <18 "> (F) 100 × ® 135mm, <20"> (F) 130 × ® 135mm
Spoke length: <18 "> (F) 151 × ® 157 / 160mm, <20"> (F) 175 × ® 182 / 185mm
I might be wrong but I think the rims are from a model of Birdy bikes which uses 18 inch wheels. So, it is neither 406 nor 451. hmm.gif
handsomedog
post Jan 26 2015, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 26 2015, 08:21 PM)
I might be wrong but I think the rims are from a model of Birdy bikes which uses 18 inch wheels. So, it is neither 406 nor 451.  hmm.gif
Aikss...ok thanks ettige
handsomedog
post Jan 26 2015, 09:59 PM

Sorry another open question. 20 inch 130mm and 20 inch 135mm is it 406 and 451 wheels respectively?
TSH2D
post Jan 26 2015, 10:46 PM

598 posts

135 130 refers to the rear hub length la...

Sifu etig will tell more... biggrin.gif
etigge
post Jan 26 2015, 10:48 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(handsomedog @ Jan 26 2015, 09:59 PM)
Sorry another open question. 20 inch 130mm and 20 inch 135mm is it 406 and 451 wheels respectively?
The 130mm and 135mm refers to the width of the rear hub. It actually can be fitted regardlessly only if your frame is 130mm you can force open the width and if you have 135mm frame, you can tighten the QR tighter to close the gap.
handsomedog
post Jan 26 2015, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Jan 26 2015, 10:46 PM)
135 130 refers to the rear hub length la...

Sifu etig will tell more... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 26 2015, 10:48 PM)
The 130mm and 135mm refers to the width of the rear hub. It actually can be fitted regardlessly only if your frame is 130mm you can force open the width and if you have 135mm frame, you can tighten the QR tighter to close the gap.
Ohh..lol. difficult la to buy wheels. Thanks sifu ettige and h2d
Spitzer
post Jan 26 2015, 11:24 PM

376 posts

Guys.. do you ride when it's sunny out? How's all of your riding schedule looks like? Do you drive to your riding spot?

I've tried starting my ride at 9am (100km+), and i think u can just imagine the suffering and time taken... Never again, and it did my skin a considerable damage

I really can't find time out of my schedule, and most of my available timeslot is on noon... or when the sun's coming up. I can find time to ride at night, but I really fell unsafe since there's lesser cars around... (ie.lesser car, more idiots will think they can get away doing stupid things to you)
bee993
post Jan 26 2015, 11:31 PM

1,178 posts

Hi al sifus here.. i am looking for advice on which folding bike to get...

Juz wan it for doing exercise ..budget around rm1k
handsomedog
post Jan 27 2015, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Jan 26 2015, 11:24 PM)
Guys.. do you ride when it's sunny out? How's all of your riding schedule looks like? Do you drive to your riding spot?

I've tried starting my ride at 9am (100km+), and i think u can just imagine the suffering and time taken... Never again, and it did my skin a considerable damage

I really can't find time out of my schedule, and most of my available timeslot is on noon... or when the sun's coming up. I can find time to ride at night, but I really fell unsafe since there's lesser cars around... (ie.lesser car, more idiots will think they can get away doing stupid things to you)
I tried riding kesas from sri petaling to subang jaya to sri petaling before starting at 11am. 20+km about an hour ride..its bearable but i wont do it again lah. The amount of sweat is like after i came out of swimming pool. Waking up early is difficult for me haha. You can look for cycling groups who goes ride at night. Loads of them.

QUOTE(bee993 @ Jan 26 2015, 11:31 PM)
Hi al sifus here.. i am looking for advice on which folding bike to get...

Juz wan it for doing exercise ..budget around rm1k
Where do you live? Theres a few reputable shops selling folding bikes in klang valley. You need go and look see look see smile.gif

handsomedog
post Jan 27 2015, 12:43 PM

You guys know the dimension of dash x20 when in box?

Been liasing with a dude in japan but likely the box going to be too big to be posted sad.gif(

The price so cheap some more

http://www.stampringstop.com/folding-small...-20speed-nda005

Maximum parcel dimension
http://www.post.japanpost.jp/english/fee/i...al_emssize.html

This post has been edited by handsomedog: Jan 27 2015, 12:45 PM

146 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.1828sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:00 PM