Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...
titansulcata
Sep 15 2006, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 15 2006, 09:20 PM) hey hey hey!! here is a tortoise turtle terrapin forum, not a 'love probloem forum'! hehe... anyway, i also bujang lah! hehe... oo... here my small starz pic. hehe.... wah the new one also roughly same size btw, your bedding like tak cukup leh...
TSuzairi
Sep 15 2006, 09:26 PM
Same size and different bloodline. Nice. The bedding cukup makan oni ar ?
dai86
Sep 15 2006, 10:35 PM
haiya...actually i planing to put them in my 'sui gong' 'room', then sui gong in bigger 'room', but too buzy cleaning my own room till no time to clean their. hehe... but good mah same size. hehe.. they won't fight, but my 'older' starz (the one on the left in one by one pic) sometimes will merajuk oh, walk here and there hardly... hehe... like it is trying to catch my attention. hehe... but i love two the same. hehe... now planing to get a pair of pancakes.. hehe... ( star got 3 edi, sui gong at lease got 2 partner [hope one of it is a female]) hehe... This post has been edited by dai86: Sep 15 2006, 10:38 PM
EuJax
Sep 15 2006, 10:47 PM

ekiddie, i dont know exactly what is that on your Razorback but i believe it is like what the others said, some sort of algae thing. Did you keep your water circulating ie a filter pump? Water cleanliness is the best key. People, that Impressa is not mine and i have no idea what causes its death but as you know, they are the most difficult tortoise one can take care of. I believe it started with stress and later refuse to eat and during the transport from Cameron, it has developed illness. When it comes to shop, it didnt make it till the end.  Sad yes i am sad. Recently, in one week in fact, i have known two dead Impressa. Not funny. Thanks all for your kind words anyway  Great to be part of this community. Regards
EuJax
Sep 15 2006, 10:50 PM

A simple question, do anyone here prefer Leopard Tortoise over Star Tortoise? It seems like less people are into Leopard Tortoise....why?
Regards
crazymouse_yyh
Sep 15 2006, 10:53 PM
www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
The price I would say... leopard more expensive than star... oh, I wanted a leopard but coz money tak da, get star loh heheeh...
ekiddie
Sep 15 2006, 11:01 PM
bulletin utama show a fella wif porcupine being caught?? ha?? got meH?? actually, in malaysia is there any law saying tat we CAN'T own exotic animals?? eujax... ya, i think de one sticking on my razorback's carapace shud be wat they said... some algae or dirt... will clean it everytime i see it... ei, where can i buy de stinkpot or others musk turtles ar?? i'm very interested... hehe... dai86... nice stars... infact, i luv tortoises too... they are way so cute but then i live in an apartment... i really haf no space for them... moreover they will need direct sunlight... i just can't pet them... i don want to kill them and not helping them to a better life if i pet them over...
crazymouse_yyh
Sep 15 2006, 11:05 PM
Actually, it is illegal to catch wild animals and take them as pets in Malaysia... but our law still a bit slow loh.
Soon, star tortoises may need licence but that was just said, not done yet... I heard it last year summore...
Porcupine and Pangolin, the wild ones in our forest is illegal to keep... if you caught keeping one can kena high fine loh. I dunno bout tortoises and turtles though.... still, we gotta be careful.
crazymouse_yyh
Sep 15 2006, 11:22 PM
Actually, they do catch... just cannot catch everyone of them. Also, the enforces dunno when or where the turtles lay eggs, as in their direct spot, so sometimes it's hard for them to monitor. Also, there are more turtle egg stealers than there are enforces...
TSuzairi
Sep 16 2006, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(EuJax @ Sep 15 2006, 10:50 PM) A simple question, do anyone here prefer Leopard Tortoise over Star Tortoise? It seems like less people are into Leopard Tortoise....why? Regards The price diffference is big, not all can afford it including me. QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 15 2006, 11:05 PM) Actually, it is illegal to catch wild animals and take them as pets in Malaysia... but our law still a bit slow loh. Soon, star tortoises may need licence but that was just said, not done yet... I heard it last year summore... Porcupine and Pangolin, the wild ones in our forest is illegal to keep... if you caught keeping one can kena high fine loh. I dunno bout tortoises and turtles though.... still, we gotta be careful. That's why i never tell anybody what's in my collection.
EuJax
Sep 16 2006, 12:57 AM

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 16 2006, 12:17 AM) The price diffference is big, not all can afford it including me. That's why i never tell anybody what's in my collection. We know what you have  heheh kidding. Anyway thanks for sharing the view about preference of Star to Leopard Tortoise. I am looking forward to get the Leopard...lets see how it goes. Regards
EuJax
Sep 16 2006, 12:59 AM

ekiddie, the razorback is available in Ikano Pet Safari now and the Stinkpot i am not sure, i got it from a normal fish shop. Cant remember its name but its the only pair they have so....am not aware of other place.
Regards
hwa107
Sep 16 2006, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(EuJax @ Sep 16 2006, 12:57 AM) We know what you have  heheh kidding. Anyway thanks for sharing the view about preference of Star to Leopard Tortoise. I am looking forward to get the Leopard...lets see how it goes. Regards who know he got something that's much more rarer than that lol! like like galapagos giant tortoise
ekiddie
Sep 16 2006, 02:29 AM
thx eujax for ur feedback... i've oledi have the razorbacks... i do want a stinkpot or a loggerhead... any musk turtles but not razors... nvm then... thx!
dai86
Sep 16 2006, 08:57 AM
hehe.. another thing bout leopard and star... leopard will grow till so huge but not star. thats is why i like star more. hehe... later all tortoise and turtle need lesence then habislah! hehe... uzairi have to pay for..... $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$! haha...
titansulcata
Sep 16 2006, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(dai86 @ Sep 16 2006, 08:57 AM) hehe.. another thing bout leopard and star... leopard will grow till so huge but not star. thats is why i like star more. hehe... later all tortoise and turtle need lesence then habislah! hehe... uzairi have to pay for..... $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$! haha... The Leopard tortoise (Geochelone pardalis) is a large, grazing species of tortoise that favors semi-arid (not dry), thorny to grassland habitats. On average, they are about 40-45 cm (16-18 inches) long and weigh 18-23 kg (40-50 pounds) (although some reach up to 60 cm (24 inches) and 32 kg (70 lbs)). They generally have a life span of 50 years. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leopard_Tortoiseyalar, leopard can grow big. and when they grow big, their leopard marking won't be that sharp... star is so much cuter  
ekiddie
Sep 16 2006, 11:01 AM
as said all these tortoise lives on dry land... but in de wild... it does rain and heavy downpour mar, rite... so, where all these guys hide?? wat if flooded? will these fellas died? or de habitats of these tortoise won't have downpour and plain sunlight? hehe... know nothing much about tortoises tho...
kamekame8888
Sep 16 2006, 12:10 PM

Leopard looks very nice when they are young, not so when they grow up though  haahaa i wish i can afford. Sad to hear bout the impressa, eujax. Hope it rest in peace. Kamekame.
crazymouse_yyh
Sep 16 2006, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 16 2006, 11:01 AM) as said all these tortoise lives on dry land... but in de wild... it does rain and heavy downpour mar, rite... so, where all these guys hide?? wat if flooded? will these fellas died? or de habitats of these tortoise won't have downpour and plain sunlight? hehe... know nothing much about tortoises tho...  In the wild, well, most of the land tortoises try to stay on the dry areas.... when rain, if a little is ok, they do enjoy a little rain. If say african and indian tortoises... well, they don't get much rain. But when flood, they drown... no choice. But most of the tortoises will go to higher land sometimes...