122 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

sayasebuk
post Sep 15 2006, 11:48 AM

677 posts

waaa just moved to V2 and already 3 pages notworthy.gif

QUOTE(EuJax @ Sep 15 2006, 01:09 AM)
Just to share some of my turtles... smile.gif
Cheers.
p/s dont know what happen, it double posted.
wow seems that you too are in the track of establishing a turtle farm tongue.gif
BTW, i saw some plants in your aquarium. what type of plants are they? floating or planted types?

a question just popped up in my head
for turtles, since they spend most of their time in water, do i need a long uvb fluroscent to cover the whole length of the tank, or just over the basking area?
i was thinking, can the turtles shell benefit from the uvb rays if their in the water?
hemm smile.gif

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Sep 15 2006, 08:28 AM)
i tried google and found some old news

Star tortoise smuggling has declined, authorities claim

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005
http://www.hindu.com/2005/09/28/stories/2005092816810300.htm

P. Oppili

Authorities seized 3,300 of the reptiles till September this year

CHENNAI: While wildlife activists express serious concern over the smuggling of star torrtoises, official statistics show that there has been a decrease in the number of cases of smuggling in the last two years. However, the number of star tortoises seized has gone up, officials claim.

The Wildlife officials have rescued 3,065 star tortoises during 2003 and the number has come down to 1,012 last year. Till September this year, the authorities have seized 3,300 star tortoises from the exit points and those abandoned.

The change is attributed to the increased vigil at the exit points such as airport and seaport.

The Wildlife authorities say that all the security agencies in both these places were well aware of the smuggling.

Hence, the security has been tightened at the exit points, they said.

However, they agreed that adequate protection is needed in the forest areas from where the specimens are collected systematically.

More in Chittoor

It is commonly believed that star tortoises are found abundantly in forests of Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh; from there they are brought to the city and then smuggled to Singapore and Malaysia.

However, the officials say the tortoises are found in Pudukottai and Ramanathapuram districts in Tamil Nadu and also in a few forest areas in Karnataka.

The star tortoises are collected between mid-January and February and from mid-July to November.

Authorities note that most of the seized star tortoises were collected from the wild.

But, one consignment of star tortoises recently seized by them led to the suspicion that the reptiles could have been hand-reared, as their shells were softer than the ones from the wild.

The star tortoises are sought for many reasons - to be used in traditional Chinese medicine, as a delicacy in South East Asian nations or to be reared as pets in the West.

The shells of adult reptiles are also used for making ornamental boxes, the authorities said.

Star tortoise smuggling `kingpin' in custody of wildlife authorities

Friday, Nov 25, 2005
http://www.hindu.com/2005/11/25/stories/2005112515060300.htm

Staff Reporter

Narayanan of Tondiarpet allegedly bought them from Andhra Pradeshshikaris

# Each specimen would fetch about Rs. 300
# `Star tortoises were smuggled mainly to be reared as pets'

CHENNAI: Wildlife department officials in the city have arrested the `kingpin' of the star tortoise smuggling racket to Malaysia in the last couple of years.

The wildlife authorities said Customs officials summoned R. Narayanan (25) of Tiruvalluvar Nagar, Tondiarpet, in connection with a drug smuggling case.

When they found out that he was not involved in the case they were handling, but was involved in the smuggling of star tortoises, they informed the Wildlife authorities, who took custody of Narayanan.

Preliminary investigation by the Wildlife authorities revealed that Narayanan used to buy star tortoises from `shikaris' from Madanapalli in Andhra Pradesh, who collected the reptiles from the wild.

The Wildlife authorities said that each specimen would fetch about Rs 300, and were mainly sent to Malaysia. From Malaysia the reptiles would go to different destinations including Singapore and the U.S. They were smuggled mainly to be reared as pets, Narayanan told the officials.

Last year, he had received a consignment of 650 star tortoises from the shikaris of Andhra Pradesh and this year he received two consignments - 350 and 660. So far, he had purchased 1,660 star from the shikaris, which he then tried to smuggle to Malaysia through the carriers.

However, the consignments were seized at the airport and other places, the wildlife authorities said.

It was for the first time the authorities arrested a person directly involved in the smuggling of star tortoises.

A senior officer said, "With the arrest of one of the kingpins, more and more information about star tortoise smuggling should come to light."
im in a dilemma of morality here.
if i support the smugglers, than im endangering the lives of those poor baby stars (hundereds packed in one box vmad.gif )
but if i dont support the smugglers, by the time i am ready to get a star, the price would sure increase like hell (due to stricter laws) tongue.gif

heheh
TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 12:51 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 15 2006, 04:35 AM)
eujax, i haf a Q ah... my razor's carapace's rear will haf some 'fur' alike kind of things... wat's tat ha?? izzit water dirt or wat? can i just brush it off wif like a soft toothbrush?? currently, i alwiz just rub it away wif my hand everytime i change water... if u don get wat i'm saying... here u go the pic as attached...

as those highlighted... it alwiz stick wif my razors...

wink.gif
That is caused by the water quality. It is recommended to clean it daily or at least once every 2 day to prevent from the algae and dirty stuff to stick to their shell.

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Sep 15 2006, 07:53 AM)
Hm...exo terra bulbs seem to have short lifespans. Both of my 45W and 70W just blew. So for the weekend and today, Tortue won't have any "direct" light for basking. DAMNIT.

Nice work on the V2 thread and chun turtles/tortoise everyone! (I think my colleague caught my turtle fever. She's getting an RES, me thinks!)
Yups, i myself have already change 4 times already. sweat.gif Luckily its not that expensive. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(SoFastSoFurious @ Sep 15 2006, 08:46 AM)
i got it from an aquarium shop ( SIEWEX AQUARIUM)  in Taman Megah. Actually these blue fiber tanks are available at any fish shops. just ask them and they sure got.
Yeah, i know we can get it almost everywhere. Just that i forget to ask u about the price. tongue.gif

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Sep 15 2006, 11:48 AM)
a question just popped up in my head
for turtles, since they spend most of their time in water, do i need a long uvb fluroscent to cover the whole length of the tank, or just over the basking area?
i was thinking, can the turtles shell benefit from the uvb rays if their in the water?
hemm  smile.gif
It is recommended to do so, meaning use a long uvb tube to cover the whole tank and open it 24/7 since it can help giving some UVB to the turtles.
kamekame8888
post Sep 15 2006, 12:52 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(EuJax @ Sep 15 2006, 01:12 AM)
Just to share some of my turtles... smile.gif
Cheers.
Eujax, Great collection!! Very nice turtles you got there! What is that pink colour turtle on the grass?? Cantik ler...very very nice smile.gif Ada lagi? Am drooling....

Kamekame.
titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 02:08 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 12:58 PM)
How about we all try list out what tortoise @ turtle we got.  icon_rolleyes.gif all must adult 1 and ready to make. it i think will bring alot of success to new generation to our turtle and tortoise.  drool.gif  and also can help to stop the smugglers from stolen the wild 1.  vmad.gif poor little fella. dah lah habitat nak pupus, kena dibuat makanan and ubatan pulak tu!!  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
i see urazi has put a post on the ppl active here...
why not add information like

poster:-
0.0.0 tortoise/turtle species
http://image gallery

e.g.

titansulcata:-
0.0.1 - African Sulcata Tortoise (Titan) - DOP: 2006.08.01
0.0.5 - Indian Star Tortoise (Alpha, Beta, Charlie, Delta, Epsilon) - DOP: 2006.09.12
MyTortoise Album

this is one way ppl can know what species we have and also to view the gallery
TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 06:13 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Sep 15 2006, 02:08 PM)
i see urazi has put a post on the ppl active here...
why not add information like

poster:-
0.0.0 tortoise/turtle species
http://image gallery

e.g.

titansulcata:-
0.0.1 - African Sulcata Tortoise (Titan) - DOP: 2006.08.01
0.0.5 - Indian Star Tortoise (Alpha, Beta, Charlie, Delta, Epsilon) - DOP: 2006.09.12
MyTortoise Album
this is one way ppl can know what species we have and also to view the gallery
Its uzairi. blush.gif . Yeah, i plan to include the turtles we got too. But i scare later Jabatan Perhilitan come and take all those exotic ones. cry.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 05:18 PM)
OK my turn now........
UPM Parasite :
0.0.2 Indian Star Tortoise  wub.gif
DOB : dono (but now i think it around 3 month).
DOP : 14/08/06.

* still far far away from my mating program  mad.gif
LOL. U buy them with breeding them in mind ? sweat.gif
prophet007
post Sep 15 2006, 06:30 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 12:40 PM)
  I think the best solutio nis ->now we buy and let our ST mating then their will give birth to many baby ST.  alot of baby  icon_rolleyes.gif ........ then we sell it more cheaper in shop. then the price will drop and the smuggle dont need seludup ST from India there anymore cheers.gif... about in traditional Chinese medicine, we also cant do anything, what we can do just hope the chinese people mind will change n dont use ST in their mediccine anymore in future.    grumble.gif
haha. breed can. but make sure dun produce to much baby. if not inflation happens, later after a few years, RM5 for one star, same price wif RES. lol
titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 07:22 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 15 2006, 06:13 PM)
Its uzairi.  blush.gif . Yeah, i plan to include the turtles we got too. But i scare later Jabatan Perhilitan come and take all those exotic ones.  cry.gif  whistling.gif
sorry notworthy.gif wrong speeeling
If jabatan perhilitan wants to take action, they should start with pet shops... and if want to target end users like us... hard to track leh... need to go through a lot of parties...

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 06:23 PM)
Aiyo u know la Jabtan Perhilitan very lazy de...... dont scared la  whistling.gif
Hehehe yalor, it a long times hobby + investment ma, in future (maybe next year after chinese new year) i will use my ang pao money to buy 1 pair of leapord tortoise...
next year my first year to give ang pow sad.gif rugi

titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 07:25 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 07:21 PM)
tak mungkin la  whistling.gif ....... RM5??? HAHAHA  whistling.gif dont worry la if we produce too much then we sell to china la.....  sweat.gif or export to US  cool.gif
u want to appear in newspaper ah blink.gif
titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 07:49 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 07:28 PM)
Waa so where u live??? hehe  whistling.gif u know what i mean  whistling.gif . i still got far far away to give ang pao, so now need kutip many as i can  cheers.gif
BTW how ur wife 's new rolex???  moneyflies.gif
this weekend will bring her to find her 'rolex' cry.gif

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 07:31 PM)
Aiyo high risk high return ma.....  whistling.gif who know in future we can export to china with ilgal 1 leh???  whistling.gif
use the chocolate tortoise technique biggrin.gif and export out whistling.gif
*first post picture
ekiddie
post Sep 15 2006, 07:55 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 15 2006, 12:51 PM)
That is caused by the water quality. It is recommended to clean it daily or at least once every 2 day to prevent from the algae and dirty stuff to stick to their shell.
thanks uzairi and dai86... i'll clean it everytime i see it... de water dirty ha?? i use tap water wor... else, use mineral water meh?? everytime buy, expensive O... hehe...

wink.gif

TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 07:58 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 06:23 PM)
Aiyo u know la Jabtan Perhilitan very lazy de...... dont scared la  whistling.gif
Hehehe yalor, it a long times hobby + investment ma, in future (maybe next year after chinese new year) i will use my ang pao money to buy 1 pair of leapord tortoise...

Test ur knowledge there

PS: in easy mode and vernacular mode i got 93%, in 80 question i got 74.......  vmad.gif  vmad.gif will try play in hard mode tonite  whistling.gif
Lazy, but if they caught u ? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Sep 15 2006, 06:30 PM)
haha. breed can. but make sure dun produce to much baby. if not inflation happens, later after a few years, RM5 for one star, same price wif RES. lol
That test can be cheated. laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Sep 15 2006, 07:22 PM)
sorry  notworthy.gif  wrong speeeling
If jabatan perhilitan wants to take action, they should start with pet shops... and if want to target end users like us... hard to track leh... need to go through a lot of parties...
next year my first year to give ang pow  sad.gif  rugi
I dunno wor, i saw ppl with porcupine already kena arrested so now i scare edi.
titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 08:05 PM

349 posts

geli rclxub.gif

http://www.theepochtimes.com/news/6-6-19/42846.html

On December 10, 2001, Mr. Zhang, a factory owner, ordered a dish called "Indian star tortoise stewed with aweto". It was said that he was looking for a cure for his ailment, and Indian star tortoise was said to be effective in treating certain diseases. Indian star tortoise is a nationally protected animal. If it is for sale, it is being sold illegally. Thus it is very rare and expensive. Even the cultivated ones are sold for 12,000 yuan (US$1,498.35) per kilogram. Mr. Zhang had ordered one kilogram, for which our restaurant would charge him over 10,000 yuan (US$1,248.63). We also added on the cost of the precious aweto herbs.

After the Indian star tortoise was sent over, Rong called Mr. Zhang and asked him to come over and check it. Perhaps Mr. Zhang was reluctant to appear to be too picky, he hesitated. Rong urged, "Mr. Zhang, you have to come to give us some directions. Don't be so old-fashioned. Come and direct us." She flattered him as if he were a specialist. He arrived in high spirits. In order to set his mind at ease, Rong even weighed the tortoise while Mr. Zhang watched.

But the tortoise was not killed. Instead, it was sent back to the storeroom. Rong asked me not to leave after work. At 9:00 pm, after all the staff working in the kitchen had left, Rong asked me to lock the door of the kitchen. Then she took something out of the refrigerator and threw it on the floor. The thing was as hard as stone, and it made a loud thud when it hit the floor. I opened the package and found a dead tortoise inside. Rong laughed and said, "Ah Chang, this tortoise can earn you half a year's salary." Thanks to Rong's help, my salary at that time had been raised to 1200 yuan (US$150) a month. Rong then threw the dead tortoise into a basin, turned on the tap and let the water wash over the tortoise. After about an hour the tortoise had softened. When I fished it out of the basin, a bad smell hit me. I asked Rong to come and have a look. She looked at the dead tortoise, smelled it and frowned, "Oh, Mr. Zhang is in bad luck. He has to eat this stinking tortoise now. But who will eat it if he doesn't? Our boss had asked three shops before he could get this 'inferior item'. After exchanging the good tortoise with this one, we will earn at least 7,000 to 8,000 yuan (approximately US$875 to 1000)."

I was a little frightened. This is a business worth more than 10,000 yuan (US$1250). If Mr. Zhang finds out and rejects the tortoise, who will pay for it? Since he has spent so much we shouldn't give him something which would harm his health. I murmured, "Sometimes we need to demonstrate that we have a conscience." Rong looked at me for a while. Then she sighed, "This is not the time to talk about conscience. Our boss asked us to do this, and we must do what he says. We just have to. Ah Chang, it is true that people should have a conscience, but it really depends on the situation. If Mr. Zhang went to other restaurants, he would eat similar kinds of things. Don't those who want to get rich fake things? We've already tried our best. We are at least better than those who sell fake medicine. It won't make much difference to Mr. Zhang's health whether he eats this tortoise or not." I had nothing to say. After all, we are only carrying out our boss's orders. Why should I worry?

I started washing the tortoise. Rong asked me to discard all of the flesh on it. I couldn't believe what I heard. What shall he eat if all the meat is eliminated? Rong laughed at me and said, "The meat has all decayed. We would be really harming him if we let him eat the meat. So we have to get rid of it. The efficacy of the tortoise lies in its shell anyway. The shell is very hard to cook. After 20 to 30 hours of cooking, the shell won't be dissolved. The reason why I asked Mr. Zhang to come and check the tortoise was to gain his trust. The meat of the tortoise won't last that long. After 20 to 30 hours of cooking, the flesh would have dissolved into the soup. So removing the meat will prevent the bad taste in the soup. Otherwise our deception will be discovered." While she was talking, Rong had taken out some meat from an ordinary tortoise from the refrigerator and put it under the tap to wash. She said, "The meat of the ordinary tortoise can make our dish flawless. Mr. Zhang is really lucky this time. He bought only one tortoise but he will eat two! Of course, when I become rich in the future, I would rather die than eat this kind of thing!" She said laughing loudly. After picking all the meat from the shell of the Indian star tortoise, she stir-fried the shell three times with ginger and shallots. After washing it again, she tasted the shell to make sure there was no strange taste left. Then she put it into the pot to cook. After everything was done, she asked Uncle Chen who was on night duty to watch the tortoise soup and add in some water once in a while. It was 1:00 a.m. when we left.

At about 9:00 a.m. , the Indian star tortoise soup was sent to Mr. Zhang. Later, the cashier told me that Mr. Zhang was not a fool. He felt the soup was not as good as that served at the Tianshan restaurant. He also had loose bowels after he ate our dish. So he phoned our restaurant to complain, exclaiming that he wanted to be reimbursed 3,000 yuan. Our boss summoned Rong to find out what had happened. She came back looking very unhappy.

Four days later, I didn't see Chef Ah Bing. I asked around and was told that he had been fired the previous evening. It was said that a lot of customers had complained about our soups recently. I knew that the true problem was related to the tortoise soup. The boss didn't know that the soup was actually cooked by Rong and me, nor did Ah Bing know that his dismissal was caused by a pot of soup that he had not cooked. So Ah Bing was a victim of our deviousness. No matter what, the restaurant still made a profit through selling this tortoise soup, even if it was less than expected.

I didn't dare tell anyone what we had done. I felt dreadful for continuing to work with Rong. I might end up being a scapegoat for her in the future. I wanted to get away from her. So I started to keep my distance, and often found faults with her, which Rong noticed.

I was subsequently fired.

titansulcata
post Sep 15 2006, 08:08 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 15 2006, 07:58 PM)
I dunno wor, i saw ppl with porcupine already kena arrested so now i scare edi.
mind to share a bit more info...

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 07:58 PM)
now got 1 good new 1 bad new......

Good new = i wan change my fella to Yin Yin and Yang Yang.... (it stand for yin yang in chinese culture)  drool.gif
Bad new = i just separate with my gf ( that y i chnage my tort name)  cry.gif
never mind, not the end of the road yet mate...
Good news = can buy more tortoises and no girl will stop u
ekiddie
post Sep 15 2006, 08:15 PM

810 posts

hahaaa!! good kind of good news!! laugh.gif

wink.gif

ekiddie
post Sep 15 2006, 08:17 PM

810 posts

so upm... buying more tortoise after tis?? hahaaa!! yeaH!! icon_idea.gif

wink.gif

TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 08:23 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Sep 15 2006, 08:08 PM)
mind to share a bit more info...
never mind, not the end of the road yet mate...
Good news = can buy more tortoises and no girl will stop u
I saw it at Bulletin Utama TV3.

upm, look at the bright side and walk forward. flex.gif U still have ur torts aite ?
TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 08:25 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 15 2006, 08:21 PM)
cant la....... hutang sekeliling pingang, need pay back 1st.... sob  cry.gif  sob  cry.gif tel bill dah kena potong hoi!!!!
see 1st la, my plan is wan 1 pair of sulcata and 1 pair of leopord (so need around RM2K).....  doh.gif
Slowly wei, take those cheap ones first then move to expensive one. U r still are student aite ?
TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 08:28 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Last time when i have a fight with my gf, i always go to my turtles and tortoise to sooth the sadness. laugh.gif Now fight also no feel edi. Hahah.. and thinking about that, im already 3 years plus with her. rclxm9.gif
TSuzairi
post Sep 15 2006, 08:41 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Haha, now in the middle of studies so have to wait until i got a work and savings. Maybe around 3-4 years more. wub.gif
dai86
post Sep 15 2006, 09:20 PM

451 posts

hey hey hey!! here is a tortoise turtle terrapin forum, not a 'love probloem forum'! hehe... anyway, i also bujang lah! hehe...

oo... here my small starz pic. hehe....

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

122 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:10 PM