43 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

FPS Bioshock, Possibly the succesor to SShock2...

obefiend
post Aug 24 2007, 11:37 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 24 2007, 08:53 PM)
yes, widescreen will be cropped. instaed of full widescreen support, you're stuck with something that looks liek a failed indy movie. Black Bars. URGH!
nope. some cheeky chappy from widescreengaming posted a WS hack for the game. get it at widescreen gaming. only on the PC folks. those consoles bggers are still stuck with a cropped 4:3. meaning the bottom and top FOV got chopped to get a faux WS.

how come you gusy got the demo so quick? i've been DLing for 2 days.. 7 hours to go.......BAH! cant wait to try it... faster streamyx... ARRIBA ARRIBAAAA
SpikeTwo
post Aug 25 2007, 12:32 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

meh. i've blacklisted 2k games like those EA dumbarse.
i wonder how it could get rated 10/10 over some sites. 100% overrated and hyped. maybe the gameplay scores, but this minor thought for PC users arent there, and should cut some marks off. or maybe the high rating is for consoles, and people who refused to move on (widescreen).

*moved attention to other more interesting & user friendly games.
kmarc
post Aug 25 2007, 12:39 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

You guys seen this? http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/biosho...mance/page7.asp

The link is the conclusion. You all should read from the first page.... smile.gif

Not very encouraging for owners of DX10 cards..... sad.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 25 2007, 12:39 AM
obefiend
post Aug 25 2007, 12:42 AM

863 posts

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum...p=108586#108586

Wide Screem hack.. get it here.................it even support 4:1 ratio.. insane!

This post has been edited by obefiend: Aug 25 2007, 12:45 AM
Polaris
post Aug 25 2007, 07:44 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Noob question here, I just got the bioshock demo from gamershell but it's this weird notepad-like 1.84 GB file called fhx.pl.

What do I do with it?
obefiend
post Aug 25 2007, 08:02 AM

863 posts

dunno about that i got mine from torrent in a neat zip file. just finished playing it and you know what?

Blergh? i was hoping the gfx textures to be higher res than that. or is it just the demo? i cranked everything to max.the gameplay is nice wih plenty of scary moments. its like Doom3 with more lights.

and i learn a new lesson today. knobbing someone on the head with a monkey wrench is thereupatic!
ZomgWtfHax
post Aug 25 2007, 09:28 AM

38 posts

Just finished downloading the demo, played the first 10 minutes then have to come to work! The water, the fire.. the mood everything so well blended together. And i think the code is efficient, i cranked everything to max and I still get a pretty smooth framerate on my crappy computer. Going to try to force 16x AA / AF and see what happens.
cusx
post Aug 25 2007, 09:43 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(ZomgWtfHax @ Aug 25 2007, 09:28 AM)
Just finished downloading the demo, played the first 10 minutes then have to come to work! The water, the fire.. the mood everything so well blended together. And i think the code is efficient, i cranked everything to max and I still get a pretty smooth framerate on my crappy computer. Going to try to force 16x AA / AF and see what happens.
mind to explain what does AA/ AF means, i always see people using these terms, dont quite understand

between BioShock has 2 problems right now right ?

1) CD key problems

2) Widescreen problems
obefiend
post Aug 25 2007, 09:55 AM

863 posts

AA - anti aliasing - removing jaggies

Af - anistrophic filtering - makes textures looks sharper - wel me thinks

problems? CD key.. no prob if u buy ori. but u can only install twice due to hardware binding

WS? i posted the link to enable WS. dont you people read anymore?
Araes
post Aug 25 2007, 11:00 AM

The game activation will be removed once the game's hype and popularity fades.

Given the internets and what they are -- with their tubes and all -- I want to sort of talk about the concerns people have. We take the concerns people have very seriously. There's been some concern like, "What happens if it's three years from now, or ten years from now, when I want to play this game. And, you know, Irrational Games has been hit by a meteor?" We will unset the online activation at some point in the future -- we're not talking about when. If people have concern about that they shouldn't be worried about that. This activation is for the early period of the game when it's really hot and there are people really trying to find ways to play the game without buying it. Of course, there are a lot of people who are legitimately trying to play it. We're not trying to be Draconian, we're trying to find a balance.

Source: Joystiq

And the Bioshock activation will be increased from 2 to 5 times.

We have been reading and listening to your frustrations over SecuROM, PC activation problems, and technical support issues since BioShock launched on Tuesday, and we've devised a plan to help.

Starting immediately, we will be upping the activation count to a 5 by 5 plan. We will be raising the maximum amount of computers a user can have BioShock installed on simultaneously from 2 to 5, and allowing a user to reinstall BioShock on each of those computers from 3 times to 5 times. Also, we have in the works a revoke tool which you will be able to run on your machine if you want to free up that key and move it to to another computer (this works very much like Steam or iTunes system). We are also working with SecuROM and 2K customer service, so that when you do need to call in support problems, you get answers to your questions faster, without much waiting or being bounced around. SecuROM has been given much more autonomy to help fix your problems quickly and effectively. I am personally sorry for anyone who got bounced around in the past couple days (I even think I contributed to this problem) and we're going to make sure that does not happen in the future.

Source: CoR

You want to listen to the Bioshock score when you are not playing? You can now download it...
Bioshock Soundtrack

This post has been edited by Araes: Aug 25 2007, 11:03 AM
Phoenixwunin
post Aug 25 2007, 11:29 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ Aug 25 2007, 11:00 AM)
The game activation will be removed once the game's hype and popularity fades.
Source: Joystiq

And the Bioshock activation will be increased from 2 to 5 times.
It will be good if they really manage to stop piracy through this... which I 99% doubt it will. There will be lots of people who will be able to enjoy this game without having to pay at all... its just a simple securom afterall... not that retarded starforce. laugh.gif

By the way... the widescreen hack can only works in XP. But nevermind that as I am dual-booting. But the need for internet for playing is such a letdown... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Phoenixwunin: Aug 25 2007, 11:33 AM
cusx
post Aug 25 2007, 12:02 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Aug 25 2007, 09:55 AM)
AA - anti aliasing - removing jaggies

Af - anistrophic filtering - makes textures looks sharper - wel me thinks

problems? CD key.. no prob if u buy ori. but u can only install twice due to hardware binding

WS? i posted the link to enable WS. dont you people read anymore?
o thx anyway
jasonkwk
post Aug 25 2007, 01:33 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

aikkkksss.. thinking of buying original......

skylinegtr34rule4life
post Aug 25 2007, 01:37 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

now with all the widescreen problem on this game,i guess i better halt my way 2 buy LCD 4 now until this shit is solved
SpikeTwo
post Aug 25 2007, 01:45 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

we shouldnt be hacking the game in order to play in widescreen. at least for what we have paid for a game. hacking for WS is for yesterday games which has no WS support. but nowadays we still need a hack to play in WS is a joke.
Phoenixwunin
post Aug 25 2007, 02:31 PM

841 posts

that's why.. so much for a widescreen support. That 2k fella even go as far as to ensure that "Players will see more in widescreen"... so this is what they mean??

What a joke..
slumberus
post Aug 25 2007, 03:00 PM

130 posts

For those who weren't quite sure what the widescreen hoo-hah was about. Here's the screenie comparison from the widescreen gaming forum.

Red bars denote the areas a 4:3 monitor would see. The widescreen one is cropped in the middle.

2Kgame's argument is that widescreen's view is the intended view of the game, and they added the extra view for 4:3 was becuz they do not want letterbox on them. *shrug*

anyway they're intending to fix that up where you can change the FOVs from their main page site.
(and giving an Nvidia 8800 to the dude who hacked the game to view proper widescreen modes instead of cropping it up as a reward for his diligence, methinks they want to use his code instead of figuring it out themselves. LOLs)

This post has been edited by slumberus: Aug 25 2007, 03:02 PM
munak991
post Aug 25 2007, 03:02 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Aug 25 2007, 03:00 PM)
For those who weren't quite sure what the widescreen hoo-hah was about. Here's the screenie comparison from the widescreen gaming forum.

Red bars denote the areas a 4:3 monitor would see. The widescreen one is cropped in the middle.

2Kgame's argument is that widescreen's view is the intended view of the game, and they added the extra view for 4:3 was becuz they do not want letterbox on them. *shrug*

anyway they're intending to fix that up where you can change the FOVs from their main page site.
(and giving an Nvidia 8800 to the dude who hacked the game to view proper widescreen modes instead of cropping it up as a reward for his diligence, methinks they want to use his code instead of figuring it out themselves. LOLs)
Wow 8800 as a gift!?
but i dont know how to hack tongue.gif

Added on August 25, 2007, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(obefiend @ Aug 25 2007, 12:42 AM)
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum...p=108586#108586

Wide Screem hack.. get it here.................it even support 4:1 ratio.. insane!
wow what monitor can support 4:1?

This post has been edited by munak991: Aug 25 2007, 03:10 PM
Games For Windows
post Aug 25 2007, 03:23 PM

80 posts

Dude... downloaded the demo and am playing it...

One word - beautiful.

The best part, even at maximum settings, the game runs smoothly on my system. I thought I would be getting like 10-15fps at the most. Amazing. The lighting, the shadows, the animation and the eerie feel, dude...this game is just crazy!!

cusx
post Aug 25 2007, 04:40 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Aug 25 2007, 03:00 PM)

thx for these, cleared all stuff out =]

whats FOV ?

43 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:40 PM