72 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> [GUIDE] Postage & Shipping

kyrmian
post Feb 29 2012, 03:56 PM

Ooooh yeahh~
2,309 posts

May I know, if I want to ship an item, will poslaju pack it for me?
electronicfly
post Feb 29 2012, 04:32 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Feb 29 2012, 03:56 PM)
May I know, if I want to ship an item, will poslaju pack it for me?
No. You'll have to pack everything nicely yourself first.
kyrmian
post Feb 29 2012, 04:50 PM

Ooooh yeahh~
2,309 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Feb 29 2012, 05:32 PM)
No. You'll have to pack everything nicely yourself first.
May I know where do I get the packaging stuff? The bubbles and boxes?
electronicfly
post Feb 29 2012, 04:58 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Feb 29 2012, 04:50 PM)
May I know where do I get the packaging stuff? The bubbles and boxes?
Try stationery shops around office areas, Mailboxes Etc outlets confirm got, larger post offices will have boxes you can buy. Art Friend in Gardens has bubblewrap
kyrmian
post Feb 29 2012, 05:05 PM

Ooooh yeahh~
2,309 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Feb 29 2012, 05:58 PM)
Try stationery shops around office areas, Mailboxes Etc outlets confirm got, larger post offices will have boxes you can buy. Art Friend in Gardens has bubblewrap
Mmm, I think I'll go try out stationary shops tonight, need to send the item tomorrow. Thanks a lot ! notworthy.gif
GRexer
post Feb 29 2012, 11:57 PM

3,815 posts

Well.. If you don't really need fancy boxes, I know CarreFour has a spot where they'll put up the boxes(albeit already flattened down) where you can choose whatever size you want. I usually get my packing boxes from there.

As for packing bubble/peanuts, I guess you'll have to purchase if you don't have a source. I have my source to get them for free and I always recycle them from packages I receive, even making my own confetti from used documents and stuff.

For me, packaging is all about re-using, part of my environment awareness thingy.

p/s: It probably sounded like I'm being cheapskate on packaging, but if you could ask my customers, I never skimp on the "handling" part of "shipping & handling" and I do pack my stuff nicely, I'm just merely recommend that we re-use stuff for packaging as much as possible as we could probably afford to use more material and still, well, save the environment wink.gif

This post has been edited by GRexer: Mar 1 2012, 12:15 PM
zhenzo
post Mar 5 2012, 02:55 AM

75 posts

i just want to ask but not about poslaju, its about taiwan/chinese postage.

i was attempt to buy a bag from taiwan, and the seller said they need to use DHL (or other foreign courier and charge me about $70-$80) i complain about this because the shipping price is ridiculous , and i asking about their national courier. They said the national courier can not send item to malaysia, because not on their list..

*this bag brand is MEKKO
*lets say the weight of bag is around 1-3kg ?

is it true about that ?

because i was buy several item from taiwan through ebay and the item just arrived fine.

This post has been edited by zhenzo: Mar 5 2012, 03:00 AM
electronicfly
post Mar 5 2012, 10:11 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(zhenzo @ Mar 5 2012, 02:55 AM)
i just want to ask but not about poslaju, its about taiwan/chinese postage.

i was attempt to buy a bag from taiwan, and the seller said they need to use DHL (or other foreign courier and charge me about $70-$80) i complain about this because the shipping price is ridiculous , and i asking about their national courier. They said the national courier can not send item to malaysia, because not on their list..

*this bag brand is MEKKO
*lets say the weight of bag is around 1-3kg ?

is it true about that ?

because i was buy several item from taiwan through ebay and the item just arrived fine.
I think what they mean by "not on their list" is that the Taiwan national courier is not one of the companies they use (e.g. like some sellers will only use Pos Laju, not registered post)
Starscream666
post Mar 5 2012, 12:47 PM

230 posts

Guys, i really need some help here, its regarding buying stuff from ebay, i couldnt find any substantial info hence im reaching out to whomever has experience, anyway, i plan to buy an musical item worth $160, option a, free shipping no tracking number option b, pay $30 for express service, get tracking number, courier being used? = USPS

now for a peace of mind i think to get it with tracking number would be best option, so total is 190 = rm573(current exchange rate)

now i would like to know will i get taxed? the item is as big as n iphone size, bulky and not so heavy,

*NOTE* the seller says he can mark the price down or something like that which i dont know what he meant

so please my beloved LYN members, u would be doing me a great favour by helping me out here, appreciate it, thank you
zhenzo
post Mar 5 2012, 01:40 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(electronicfly @ Mar 5 2012, 10:11 AM)
I think what they mean by "not on their list" is that the Taiwan national courier is not one of the companies they use (e.g. like some sellers will only use Pos Laju, not registered post)
ooohh. ic ic..
so its their standard shipping procedure., they just move to china in 2009..
you know reliable postage from china ?
i was open china-EMS they only sent item to several country and malaysia is not on their list..

QUOTE(Starscream666 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:47 PM)
Guys, i really need some help here, its regarding buying stuff from ebay, i couldnt find any substantial info hence im reaching out to whomever has experience, anyway, i plan to buy an musical item worth $160, option a, free shipping no tracking number option b, pay $30 for express service, get tracking number, courier being used? = USPS

now for a peace of mind i think to get it with tracking number would be best option, so total is 190 = rm573(current exchange rate)

now i would like to know will i get taxed? the item is as big as n iphone size, bulky and not so heavy,

*NOTE* the seller says he can mark the price down or something like that which i dont know what he meant

so please my beloved LYN members, u would be doing me a great favour by helping me out here, appreciate it, thank you
i think USPS is good enough, with express service lets say 7-14 working days the item will arrive to your door.

and i think you will not get any tax from kastam, because i several time bought vintage camera the price is more than RM1k, and they never charge me anything..
same as with my friend by iphone & android phone they not taxes us..
electronicfly
post Mar 5 2012, 02:46 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Starscream666 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:47 PM)

$160 is a lot of money, so definitely forget about options with no tracking number (those items have a higher chance of getting lost).
If you're not in a rush, ask the seller which is the cheapest trackable to doorstep option (usually will be USPS, though sometimes Fedex/UPS/etc can give good rates also). This means your parcel can be tracked all the way from when it leaves the sellers hands until it arrives in your place.

Another option is trackable until leave US, but then the parcel will be treated as normal mail when it reaches Malaysia, so that's more dangerous than trackable to doorstep.

Marking down the price is illegal actually, as it means that the seller is undervaluing the item's actual cost (e.g. you buy for $160, he write that item only worth $50), but if the seller is willing to do it, then ok kwa, coz the postal ppl cannot say anything one. But, if you're insuring your parcel and something happens, obviously the max you will get back from the insurance is the marked amount(e.g. $50)
Starscream666
post Mar 5 2012, 04:09 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(zhenzo @ Mar 5 2012, 01:40 PM)
ooohh. ic ic..
so its their standard shipping procedure., they just move to china in 2009..
you know reliable postage from china ?
i was open china-EMS they only sent item to several country and malaysia is not on their list..
i think USPS is good enough, with express service lets say 7-14 working days the item will arrive to your door.

and i think you will not get any tax from kastam, because i several time bought vintage camera the price is more than RM1k, and they never charge me anything..
same as with my friend by iphone & android phone they not taxes us..
QUOTE(electronicfly @ Mar 5 2012, 02:46 PM)
$160 is a lot of money, so definitely forget about options with no tracking number (those items have a higher chance of getting lost).
If you're not in a rush, ask the seller which is the cheapest trackable to doorstep option (usually will be USPS, though sometimes Fedex/UPS/etc can give good rates also). This means your parcel can be tracked all the way from when it leaves the sellers hands until it arrives in your place.

Another option is trackable until leave US, but then the parcel will be treated as normal mail when it reaches Malaysia, so that's more dangerous than trackable to doorstep.

Marking down the price is illegal actually, as it means that the seller is undervaluing the item's actual cost (e.g. you buy for $160, he write that item only worth $50), but if the seller is willing to do it, then ok kwa, coz the postal ppl cannot say anything one. But, if you're insuring your parcel and something happens, obviously the max you will get back from the insurance is the marked amount(e.g. $50)
First of all i cant thank you guys enough for replying cuz seriously im in a real rut

ok this seller is actually is not really giving me any cheaper options, slightly cold person from his replies, cuz he says either express = $30 plus tracking or free thats bout it, there is another USPS option of priority which is $8 but no tracking he might mean no "international" tracking, well i do hope i dont get any tax because after conversion semua item is rm573(around that) kena tax and bla bla might as i buy locally, anyway with this how do they deliever to my door step without me telling them "use pos laju " or any agent of that sort
electronicfly
post Mar 5 2012, 05:18 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Starscream666 @ Mar 5 2012, 04:09 PM)
First of all i cant thank you guys enough for replying cuz seriously im in a real rut

ok this seller is actually is not really giving me any cheaper options, slightly cold person from his replies, cuz he says either express  = $30 plus tracking or free thats bout it, there is another USPS option of priority which is $8 but no tracking he might mean no "international" tracking, well i do hope i dont get any tax because after conversion semua item is rm573(around that) kena tax and bla bla might as i buy locally, anyway with this how do they deliever to my door step without me telling them "use pos laju " or any agent of that sort
Find another seller if you don't like dealing with that seller. Personally I would. Try checking out other sellers who offer at a similar price range, you''ll never know when one will give better shipping rates.

USPS International Priority only has tracking within US, so don't bother IHMO.

What ever postage is used, there will be a Malaysian agent/partner one. E.g. USPS - Pos Malaysia, DHL US - DHL Malaysia. No worries about that. If your item is taxed, then by right the Malaysian agent/partner will contact you or a notice will be mailed to you and then you can either clear the parcel yourself or appoint the agent/partner to do it for you.
Starscream666
post Mar 5 2012, 05:44 PM

230 posts

i see situations much clearer now thanks alot again, i did a super noob mistake already with the seller currently have to settle that 1st, then might go else where la IF i get off the hook with this 1 sad.gif
chocobo7779
post Mar 8 2012, 12:18 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

When I try to do postage via Pos Laju.... I don't get the tracking number. What should I do?
electronicfly
post Mar 8 2012, 12:38 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:18 PM)
When I try to do postage via Pos Laju....  I don't get the tracking number.  What should I do?
Assuming you're the sender, the tracking number will be on the copy of the form you should have gotten back from the post office. If you left without taking that copy, go back to the post office and see whether they still have it. If not, or if you've lost your copy, then that's it d, cannot get liao.

If you are the recipient, just ask the sender for the tracking number lo
nanakopy87
post Mar 9 2012, 12:13 AM

You were...
1,835 posts

hmm,curious to know if anyone experience pos express lost?
the seller send me the stuff using pos express on tuesday and on wed,it's already reach my area and 'successfully delivered' to me,but in fact i didn't receive it at all.
i asked the seller if the seller got write the address wrongly or not,but the seller said (s)he follow the address i gave to him/her.
i called to pos hotline,the girl who answer my phone call said it's already delivered.ask me to check with my colleague(i asked the seller to send to my office) but no one took it.

usually they will stick the pos express tracking code sticker on the mailbox after they put it into the mailbox but this time don't have sticker on the mailbox.but the pos hotline girl keep on insisting that postman delievered it to me dy.so,do you think i got chance to ask for compensation from them? (at least got back rm3 from the seller tongue.gif )
electronicfly
post Mar 9 2012, 01:05 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Mar 9 2012, 12:13 AM)
hmm,curious to know if anyone experience pos express lost?
the seller send me the stuff using pos express on tuesday and on wed,it's already reach my area and 'successfully delivered' to me,but in fact i didn't receive it at all.
i asked the seller if the seller got write the address wrongly or not,but the seller said (s)he follow the address i gave to him/her.
i called to pos hotline,the girl who answer my phone call said it's already delivered.ask me to check with my colleague(i asked the seller to send to my office) but no one took it.

usually they will stick the pos express tracking code sticker on the mailbox after they put it into the mailbox but this time don't have sticker on the mailbox.but the pos hotline girl keep on insisting that postman delievered it to me dy.so,do you think i got chance to ask for compensation from them? (at least got back rm3 from the seller tongue.gif )
Unfortunately, that happens. Possible scenarios:

1) Delivered to someone at your place, but forgot to tell you
2) Haven't delivered yet, but postman dowan to kena scolding from supervisor, so today put as delivered, but actually tmrw only deliver
3) Wrong address on the envelope
4) Postman made a mistake and delivered to wrong house
5) Envelope got stolen (but since yours is the smallest one that should fit all mailboxes, shouldn't be this case la for you)

There will be no chance that you can get the compensation.
1) you cannot prove you didn't get the envelope
2) Pos Ekspres's guarentee doesn't cover loss, only delayed sending
3) Need the sender to do the claim, and need to go back to the post office (possibly pos laju center now) to do paperwork
4) If you can get a refund, it will not be cash but in form of replacement envelope
pink_hippo
post Mar 11 2012, 12:29 PM

13 posts

I am currently facing some problem with the courier agent. I bought something from asos and they are sending the item using courier service. We are charged for custom duty at about RM300++ with duty and tax of about 30%. We had paid to agent the custom duty and after that they told us some of the items were missing. Asos has fully refunded us for the items, but now the courier service still holding back our parcel and had collected our money? Can anyone advice how to deal with this situation. We have emailed and called but no reply from them. appreciate if any experience buyer could advice us on this situation? I am thinking to lodge the report to consumers affair, will give them a call again next week.
electronicfly
post Mar 11 2012, 01:49 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(pink_hippo @ Mar 11 2012, 12:29 PM)
I am currently facing some problem with the courier agent. I bought something from asos and they are sending the item using courier service. We are charged for custom duty at about RM300++ with duty and tax of about 30%. We had paid to agent the custom duty and after that they told us some of the items were missing. Asos has fully refunded us for the items, but now the courier service still holding back our parcel and had collected our money? Can anyone advice how to deal with this situation. We have emailed and called but no reply from them. appreciate if any experience buyer could advice us on this situation? I am thinking to lodge the report to consumers affair, will give them a call again next week.
Sorry, but am a little confused with your story. Is this correct?

ASOS used a courier company to send parcel to you which was charged import tax.
You paid the courier company for the import tax d.
Courier company says there are items missing (and how would they know you have items missing if they didn't open your parcel? feels dodgy IMO) and still holding your parcel.

I think you should contact the courier service straight, as well as ASOS (though if they have already refunded for your items then they might not help you) to check if since ASOS refunded to you, maybe the courier service will send the items back to ASOS? (if that happens, then the courier company should be refunding what you paid for the import tax, as items didn't get imported in the end)

72 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:00 AM