Microsoft Windows 10

spikey2506
post Jul 31 2015, 11:18 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 31 2015, 11:16 AM)
Same here.

Did you turn on your Anti-virus? I think can try that. Gonna try turn off my anti-virus and upgrade again tonight.
Not AV. 80240020 error is installation files corrupted or missing. And it couldn't be MS servers overloaded coz by time time I got that error I have all the files inside my C drive already

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Jul 31 2015, 11:19 AM
stevensys
post Jul 31 2015, 11:19 AM

114 posts

Same here.

Did you turn on your Anti-virus? I think can try that. Gonna try turn off my anti-virus and upgrade again tonight.
i have the same issue, and finally success yesterday. here what i did for my Win8.1.

1. download the ISO to the PC using the mediacreation tools.
2. Make sure check your windows version is the same as what ISO you're downloading.
3. install and use ISO opener and extract to a folder at your pc.
4. run setup from the folder.
5. if you encounter it ask for Product Key, meaning you downloaded a wrong version.
6. during install it will check for uncompatible software and it will ask you to remove it. for my case i have to uninstall symantec antivirus.

This post has been edited by stevensys: Jul 31 2015, 11:19 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 31 2015, 11:24 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(stevensys @ Jul 31 2015, 11:19 AM)
i have the same issue, and finally success yesterday. here what i did for my Win8.1.

2. Make sure check your windows version is the same as what ISO you're downloading.
5. if you encounter it ask for Product Key, meaning you downloaded a wrong version.
6. during install it will check for uncompatible software and it will ask you to remove it. for my case i have to uninstall symantec antivirus.
See...virus scanner is the culprit! But if no internet security, how? Don't feel safe.
dokidoki
post Jul 31 2015, 11:25 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

Same here.

it's has nothing to do with your anti virus...just stop using windows update method..use the windows download tool method..

i have the same thought like you previously...using windows update for 4-5 times and wasted my 2hours for repeat download and try...afterward...use windows download tool method...upgraded just 1 try.

doing the same to my dell latitude 10 also 1 try success...
Cynox
post Jul 31 2015, 11:27 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Actually for those thinking of fresh install and instead of upgrade in order to get a fresh clean OS hard disk, i think the following will suffice:

1. Install by upgrade method.
2. Choose "Do not keep anything".
3. After successful upgrade, just use the disk cleanup wizard to remove the old windows system file and the temporary installation files.

I did that for my win8.1 pro desktop and the system hard disk seems pretty clean after the whole process. Dun think i will redo a fresh installation.

horns
post Jul 31 2015, 11:27 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(stevensys @ Jul 31 2015, 11:19 AM)

ah that's the possible reason that guy had the product key dialog instead of going directly to upgrade process (because of iso with wrong windows version).

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 31 2015, 11:28 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jul 31 2015, 11:30 AM

4,451 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 31 2015, 11:03 AM)
pls use this method better http://venturebeat.com/2015/07/29/how-to-d...windows-update/ it will tell you what need to uninstall before the upgrade...most likely you have windows media center installed previously~
that method uses the tool i did that didn't work for my case.

my solution for others if ran into update bugs, the easiest method that 100% worked was to just reset factory which basically just reinstalls your current windows os, then the windows update to 10 will work.

this is for win 7/8/8.1 upgrading to windows 10 from a laptop by the way.

HughieRmX
post Jul 31 2015, 11:36 AM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Did anyone manage to upgrade to Windows 10 ? .. unsure.gif
dokidoki
post Jul 31 2015, 11:37 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jul 31 2015, 11:36 AM)
Did anyone manage to upgrade to Windows 10 ? .. unsure.gif
no one~ sad.gif
cjxs
post Jul 31 2015, 11:41 AM

95 posts

Really unfortunate a few of forumers experince the same.

Will try again tonight.

Will change language (location plus administrator), turn off anti virus if any (not sure I have it), turn off fire wall.

Will be using Media Creation Tool Upgrade this PC. For info mine is Win 7 Home 64 bit.

Thanks for sharing and good luck in upgrading.
spikey2506
post Jul 31 2015, 11:47 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(cjxs @ Jul 31 2015, 11:41 AM)
Really unfortunate a few of forumers experince the same.

Will try again tonight.

Will change language (location plus administrator), turn off anti virus if any (not sure I have it), turn off fire wall.

Will be using Media Creation Tool Upgrade this PC. For info mine is Win 7 Home 64 bit.

Thanks for sharing and good luck in upgrading.
Good luck bro. I'd say the upgrade is worth the hassle. I am loving Win 10 so far
HughieRmX
post Jul 31 2015, 11:49 AM

3,394 posts

Will try my best to upgrade as well .. biggrin.gif
yhcyber
post Jul 31 2015, 11:50 AM

482 posts

mine upgraded successfully at 12am this morning~!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

tooks 30 minutes to finish the process, i found that it will download another tools from Windows Update before the upgrade start...

Maybe that the missing file that you all looking for?

Cheers!

HughieRmX
post Jul 31 2015, 11:59 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Jul 31 2015, 11:50 AM)
mine upgraded successfully at 12am this morning~!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

tooks 30 minutes to finish the process, i found that it will download another tools from Windows Update before the upgrade start...

Cheers!
Yea .. agreed.
After updated with that file .. its working now for me .. biggrin.gif
stevensys
post Jul 31 2015, 12:00 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 31 2015, 11:27 AM)
ah that's the possible reason that guy had the product key dialog instead of going directly to upgrade process (because of iso with wrong windows version).
yup, why i know this. first i downloaded Windows 10 Home ISO and try it as i thought my version is Windows 8.1 home. it shows please enter your product key. then google told me i use the wrong version. I check again my win8.1 version and it's actually is 'Windows 8.1 Home Single Language' version. then i redownload the correct ISO and everything when smooth later.
Charizard
post Jul 31 2015, 12:04 PM

373 posts

Am thinking should i uninstall my Mcfee.. maybe windows defender is good enough.. hmm.gif
lolzcalvin
post Jul 31 2015, 12:28 PM

shibe in predicament
1,586 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Jul 31 2015, 11:50 AM)
mine upgraded successfully at 12am this morning~!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Cheers!
Took me 3 hours to finish the installation process yesterday morning. Lol.

QUOTE(Charizard @ Jul 31 2015, 12:04 PM)
Am thinking should i uninstall my Mcfee.. maybe windows defender is good enough.. hmm.gif
Windows defender is good enough for average users. Turn on the real-time protection (should be already toggled on automatically) and you're good to go!

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jul 31 2015, 12:31 PM
Charizard
post Jul 31 2015, 12:49 PM

373 posts

I hope porn is included as part of average users? =p
delsoo
post Jul 31 2015, 12:51 PM

3,187 posts

Is the startup in win10 as fast as win8.1? My asus laptop with win8.1 can boot up within 10secs with HDD btw
JohnLai
post Jul 31 2015, 01:06 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jul 31 2015, 12:51 PM)
Is the startup in win10 as fast as win8.1? My asus laptop with win8.1 can boot up within 10secs with HDD btw
Yes....Fast Boot with UEFI....

127 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:25 PM