Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

TSGen-X
post Oct 12 2014, 02:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:47 AM)
Captain, go to the banks to place FD after 3.00pm is too risky lah..
All checks deposit in after 4.00pm will make the FD effective date delay for one day, so this
will lose one day interest.

I would say the best time to go is first thing in the morning to make sure can get the FD cert
on the same day..
Bro, unlike you, I don't place FD with non-commercial banks, therefore, I receive the FD cert on the spot (or a piece of useless paper confirming the FD for Statement based accounts) and no need cheque to be cleared tongue.gif Having said this, bbgoat said that not the case for HLB Islamic, but then again Islamic products are not Fixed Deposit. For Deposit Deposit with commercial banks, no need cheque to be cleared if one place it during banking hours.

Bro, talking about FD effective date. HLB, OCBC and UOB can even back date for me FD placements (e.g. my FD mature but I was overseas and requested for new FD Promo rate or else I be stuck at Board Rates) as long as they have HQ approval.
bbgoat
post Oct 12 2014, 08:17 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:40 AM)
Next time can try to do Rentas or bring cash but high risk...
If use Rentas maybe will lose 1 day interest, it is better than to lose 2 days interest

Cannot bring cash after exceeding certain amt lah, riisky !

The only consolation is the extra 0.05% is more than the HL Bank's 3.85% (HL Islamic 3.9%) even if I lose the 2 day's interest. Getting monthly interest payout some more. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:40 AM)
So, this BR FD rates table (Effective 30 September 2014) is not updated..?  hmm.gif
www.bankrakyat.com.my/term-deposit-account-i
Okay.. very steady..  thumbup.gif
To wait for an hour to open a FD account is a bit long, but not too long lah..

As usual, they will be slow in updating the website. The girl over the counter showed me a slip with the new rates. 12 mth 4.1%, 24 mth 4.2%, 5 yr 4.5%. I mentioned these in my earlier posts. They just changed it few days ago. smile.gif

I think, like Uncle Magic, I will still keep some FD there as the 1 yr rate is attractive. But have tone down my numbers there already. smile.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 12 2014, 02:09 AM)
Bro, talking about FD effective date. HLB, OCBC and UOB can even back date for me FD placements (e.g. my FD mature but I was overseas and requested for new FD Promo rate or else I be stuck at Board Rates) as long as they have HQ approval.
Anybody else except Captain ! rclxms.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 12 2014, 08:28 AM
bbgoat
post Oct 12 2014, 08:38 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(netbuzzchin @ Oct 11 2014, 10:58 PM)
Would like gather some information from sifus here..

Recently, I placed the 4% SCB promo. But I have a bad experience as I had to wait for one hour for the opening of FD account although there were not much of customers. On top of that, I need to open CASA to be eligible for the promotion  doh.gif

Based on all sifus experience, is UOB able to open FD account faster than SCB?
The SCB 4.25% 18 mth promo is the best so far. I noted you have placed the 12 mth's 4%. The amt of time spent should not be a key issue to get more bang for the buck.

But SCB is crazy as every time we go there for FD, need to photostat ic again like opening new accounts ! Their process is slow even compared to BR (banker's cheque) and most other banks. Time taken longer ! shakehead.gif

UOB wise I have better experience. But also depends on the time I go there. Have encountered >1 hr in one instance but also another time 15 minutes to get FD cert. All depends on time of day, which day of the week etc. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 12 2014, 08:41 AM
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2014, 01:06 PM

- student of human nature -
26,528 posts

For those familiar with SCB procedure or with experience:

Previously, I already opened a joint FD account with my dad. If I want to deposit a new joint FD account with my dad again, is my dad required to be present?

TQ
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 01:11 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2014, 01:06 PM)
For those familiar with SCB procedure or with experience:

Previously, I already opened a joint FD account with my dad. If I want to deposit a new joint FD account with my dad again, is my dad required to be present?

TQ
Depends if it's 2 to sign or either one I guess.
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2014, 01:14 PM

26,528 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 12 2014, 01:11 PM)
Depends if it's 2 to sign or either one I guess.
either one to sign

(wow you and kampung become mod already, grats!)
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 01:17 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 12 2014, 01:14 PM)
either one to sign

Then should be fine. I can't remember SCB since I don't place much FDs there but UOB and OCBC no issues.

Thanks laugh.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 12 2014, 01:32 PM

2,490 posts

Bro, unlike you, I don't place FD with non-commercial banks, therefore, I receive the FD cert on the spot (or a piece of useless paper confirming the FD for Statement based accounts) and no need cheque to be cleared  tongue.gif Having said this, bbgoat said that not the case for HLB Islamic, but then again Islamic products are not Fixed Deposit. For Deposit Deposit with commercial banks, no need cheque to be cleared if one place it during banking hours.

Thanks Captain... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 12 2014, 08:17 AM)
Cannot bring cash after exceeding certain amt lah, riisky !
The only consolation is the extra 0.05% is more than the HL Bank's 3.85% (HL Islamic 3.9%) even if I lose the 2 day's interest.
Getting monthly interest payout some more.  rclxms.gif

Ya loh, bring cash is too risky especially in Bolehland.. sweat.gif
Yes, sometimes cannot get win-win situation..

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 12 2014, 08:17 AM)
As usual, they will be slow in updating the website. The girl over the counter showed me a slip with the new rates. 12 mth 4.1%, 24 mth 4.2%, 5 yr 4.5%. I mentioned these in my earlier posts. They just changed it few days ago.  smile.gif

I think, like Uncle Magic, I will still keep some FD there as the 1 yr rate is attractive. But have tone down my numbers there already.  smile.gif
BR just updated their website on 30 September, now they needs to update again..
I think the same way, just put some money in BR so that the relationship will not be disconnected..

Ah Goat Ah Sir... this time you are in deep trouble lo.. Ah Flo now is the Moderator. sweat.gif .
Last time you tried to "kacau" her wor.... now how..? biggrin.gif Better don't play play this time.. Ha Ha..

We BIG welcome Ah Flo munkeyflo to be our Moderator and Congratulations to Ah Flo..... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Oct 12 2014, 01:42 PM

2,490 posts

either one to sign

Ah Flo is right.
If either one to sign, then your father does not need to go to SCB.

You can call SCB Hotline to verify: 1 300 888 888
TSGen-X
post Oct 12 2014, 02:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

either one to sign

I was not aware munkeyflo is now Mod. Who kampung?

Congrats munkeyflo, I better be nice to you from now on so that I won't be nuked, hahaha
munkeyflo
post Oct 12 2014, 02:12 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:32 PM)
Thanks Captain...  thumbup.gif
Ya loh, bring cash is too risky especially in Bolehland..  sweat.gif
Yes, sometimes cannot get win-win situation..
BR just updated their website on 30 September, now they needs to update again..
I think the same way, just put some money in BR so that the relationship will not be disconnected..

Ah Goat Ah Sir... this time you are in deep trouble lo.. Ah Flo now is the Moderator.  sweat.gif .
Last time you tried to "kacau" her wor.... now how..?  biggrin.gif  Better don't play play this time.. Ha Ha..

We BIG welcome Ah Flo munkeyflo to be our Moderator and Congratulations to Ah Flo..... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Yea, sometimes we have to pay a little bit or sacrifice a bit for convenience and safety when transferring the funds.

Thank you thank you Ah Cha Cha. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 12 2014, 02:07 PM)

Congrats munkeyflo, I better be nice to you from now on so that I won't be nuked, hahaha
Haha. On probation only.

How can I ever nuke you captain. You're still the captain no matter what. notworthy.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2014, 02:15 PM

26,528 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 12 2014, 02:07 PM)

kampung is a nice chap in kopitiam thread.

nice to have you back...FD scene is very exciting nowadays biggrin.gif
magika
post Oct 12 2014, 02:26 PM

2,612 posts

Oldgoat, i have heard people investment portfolio diversify, FD also got meh.. laugh.gif

Taking cash to deposit FD, basically makes no sense unless small amount. 1 to 2 days lost of interest is better than losing the whole principal, not to mention the physical risk. tongue.gif

For joint fd with either to sign, OCBC and BR need only 1 person for additional placement.

This post has been edited by magika: Oct 12 2014, 02:31 PM
bearbear
post Oct 12 2014, 02:28 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

wah got mod watching full time, u all better take note when side track to leng lui lol

kampung is lyn transport minister
bbgoat
post Oct 12 2014, 02:53 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:32 PM)
Ah Goat Ah Sir... this time you are in deep trouble lo.. Ah Flo now is the Moderator.  sweat.gif .
Last time you tried to "kacau" her wor.... now how..?  biggrin.gif  Better don't play play this time.. Ha Ha..

We BIG welcome Ah Flo munkeyflo to be our Moderator and Congratulations to Ah Flo..... thumbup.gif   thumbup.gif
Ai ya, why you bring out the old history, susah lah ! mad.gif Nanti kena nuke by Top Flo (nickname by you, by the way). tongue.gif

Sorry, Ms Ah Flo, let bygone be bygone. thumbup.gif

Congratulation to Ah Flo !! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Oct 12 2014, 03:36 PM
bbgoat
post Oct 12 2014, 02:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 12 2014, 01:42 PM)
Ah Flo is right.
If either one to sign, then your father does not need to go to SCB.

You can call SCB Hotline to verify: 1 300 888 888
I think better to call SCB. Their procedure is diff. Every new FD still photostat ic. So at least you have to bring ic of the other party to SCB. But for the 4.25% 18 mth promo, better be fast. As I mentioned yesterday, that promo may be ending soon (or ended already). smile.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 12 2014, 03:07 PM

26,528 posts

Guys, another question. If my CIMB saving account is created at branch A, can i go to a different branch to withdraw from saving account and make banker's cheque?

A busy musical chair day for me tomorrow. Have FD maturing at Ambank (1 slip) and UOB (3 slips) and going to add new fund from CIMB. All with different joint account holders rclxub.gif

If UOB allows top-up, then will just take the 4.05% 12m offer and skip SCB altogether.
bbgoat
post Oct 12 2014, 03:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Oct 12 2014, 02:26 PM)
Oldgoat, i have heard people  investment portfolio diversify, FD also got meh.. laugh.gif
Uncle Magic, I said "strategy of spreading out risk among various banks". This is diff from the investment portfolio diversification/risk. biggrin.gif
nomen
post Oct 12 2014, 03:11 PM

163 posts

Bro, unlike you, I don't place FD with non-commercial banks, therefore, I receive the FD cert on the spot (or a piece of useless paper confirming the FD for Statement based accounts) and no need cheque to be cleared  tongue.gif Having said this, bbgoat said that not the case for HLB Islamic, but then again Islamic products are not Fixed Deposit. For Deposit Deposit with commercial banks, no need cheque to be cleared if one place it during banking hours.

Wah! Bro Gen-X, I am full of envy for you for having such a privilege. notworthy.gif
Life is wonderful to be rich like you thumbup.gif
Welcome back frequent flyer!
*BTW, thank you for guiding us with your most up-to-date and comprehensive FD blog.
cheers.gif
nomen
post Oct 12 2014, 03:20 PM

163 posts

Congrats munkeyflo rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

124 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:24 PM