124 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

magika
post Nov 24 2014, 08:35 AM

2,611 posts

Public Bank Step Up FD 3 months 3.70% + 3 months 3.80% + 3 months 3.90%. This is good way to managed current buffer fund for yearly expenses.

okuribito
post Nov 24 2014, 02:51 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 24 2014, 08:35 AM)
Public Bank Step Up FD 3 months 3.70% + 3 months 3.80% + 3 months 3.90%. This is good way to managed current buffer fund for yearly expenses.
when does this end? with the 6+6 3.83%+4.28% step up, they told me that only the principal is rolled over into the 2nd 6mths. I guess it's the same for this 3+3+3?
magika
post Nov 24 2014, 02:55 PM

2,611 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 24 2014, 02:51 PM)
when does this end? with the 6+6 3.83%+4.28% step up, they told me that only the principal is rolled over into the 2nd 6mths. I guess it's the same for this 3+3+3?
Until 28 Feb 2015. Just saw in papers so do not know the details.

cybpsych
post Nov 24 2014, 03:31 PM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 24 2014, 08:35 AM)
QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 24 2014, 02:51 PM)
QUOTE(magika @ Nov 24 2014, 02:55 PM)
Until 28 Feb 2015. Just saw in papers so do not know the details.
PB STEP UP FD

More info: Public Bank | T&Cs

jason_168
post Nov 24 2014, 04:12 PM

15 posts

So for current offer, would RHB 4.15% for 9 Months be the best offer ?
okuribito
post Nov 24 2014, 04:42 PM

1,021 posts

thanks for the info magika & cybpsych

i just called their 1-800 line & confirmed that interest is not rolled over - only principal. Interest will be credited to nominated SA or CA every 3mths for the 3+3+3 deal or every 6 mths for the 6+6 deal ... which also implies that we have to open at least a SA with them lah
bearbear
post Nov 24 2014, 05:49 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(jason_168 @ Nov 24 2014, 04:12 PM)
So for current offer, would RHB 4.15% for 9 Months be the best offer ?
Yes, long term affin 4.38% for 24 months
rafeal
post Nov 24 2014, 07:36 PM

76 posts

Hi Guys,

I am very confused with the amounts of FD to choose from. Can someone help to narrow down my choices. I plan to keep it for 2 years and i do have a savings account with Maybank. So what are my best options?
lionelmessi88
post Nov 24 2014, 08:11 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Nov 21 2014, 02:04 PM)
just receive sms from StanChart - join their priority banking and enjoy first time promo rate 4.5% for 3M FD

edit: found it on their website

https://www.sc.com/my/campaign/fd-jocbundle/
Is StanChart offer better than RHB Promp 4.15%?

For example, RM100k.

20% in Saving Account earning 4%Interest RM800
80% in Fixed Deposit earning 4.50% Interest RM3600

Total Interest: RM4400

Effective Interest Rate: 4.40%

cklimm
post Nov 24 2014, 09:17 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(lionelmessi88 @ Nov 24 2014, 08:11 PM)

For example, RM100k.

20% in Saving Account earning 4%Interest          RM800
80% in Fixed Deposit earning 4.50% Interest    RM3600

SCB's requirement for priority banking is RM250k though.
okuribito
post Nov 24 2014, 10:01 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(lionelmessi88 @ Nov 24 2014, 08:11 PM)

For example, RM100k.

20% in Saving Account earning 4%Interest          RM800
80% in Fixed Deposit earning 4.50% Interest     RM3600

Woweeeeee if SCB is giving 4% on savings account, I'll tell all the other banks to go fly kite with their FD promos & just dump evrything into SCB's savings account in a heartbeat tongue.gif

Update after trying to read SCB's t&c's:

haihhhh I think u need to be a Mensa member to be a customer of SCB. Their promo T&C is so damn difficult to read & full of traps imho...

For example, LM88 assumed 20% in savings account earning 4% ... what it actually says is:

3c) Throughout the entire duration of the 3-month fixed deposit, the customer must maintain a minimum AB equivalent to 20% of the total deposit amount in his JustOne Priority Current Account with the balance 80% to be placed under 3-month Fixed Deposit at the prevailing board rate.

Unless, they pay 4% on current account balances, your 20K earns zilch.

The 4% Savings account interest is another promo altogether... the Priority Banking Bonus Savings Welcome Offer 2 to be exact with its own set of bloody complicated T&C

LM88, sorry to burst your bubble.

hahaha SCB says "It’s good when your trusted partner (ie SCB lah) understands your needs" But the trouble is when my "trusted partner" creates deals with T&Cs that I cannot understand, then my "trusted partner" cannot be trusted, yes or not? LOL

This post has been edited by okuribito: Nov 25 2014, 12:14 AM
lionelmessi88
post Nov 25 2014, 12:54 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 24 2014, 10:01 PM)
Woweeeeee if SCB is giving 4% on savings account, I'll tell all the other banks to go fly kite with their FD promos & just dump evrything into SCB's savings account in a heartbeat  tongue.gif

Update after trying to read SCB's t&c's:

haihhhh I think u need to be a Mensa member to be a customer of SCB. Their promo T&C is so damn difficult to read & full of traps imho...

For example, LM88 assumed 20% in savings account earning 4% ... what it actually says is:
Unless, they pay 4% on current account balances, your 20K earns zilch.

The 4% Savings account interest is another promo altogether... the Priority Banking Bonus Savings Welcome Offer 2 to be exact with its own set of bloody complicated T&C

LM88, sorry to burst your bubble.

hahaha SCB says "It’s good when your trusted partner (ie SCB lah) understands your needs" But the trouble is when my "trusted partner" creates deals with T&Cs that I cannot understand, then my "trusted partner" cannot be trusted, yes or not? LOL
Nah, no worry, you won't burst any bubble, i just curious to find out if there's better deal in the market, as we all always do smile.gif
okuribito
post Nov 25 2014, 10:20 AM

1,021 posts

LM88, hahaha when I see scb or hsbc, i always feel uneasy. I did remember the JustOne account being discussed last month so I searched. This was a comment made by our sifu GenX, not about JustOne, but about priority banking in general ...

"Banks to avoid getting PB status if one only has RM300K to recycle (playing FD Promotion musical chair) are HSBC and SCB because they will impose penalty fees once your AUM falls below the required minimum amount. "

Quoted from this post by GenX

It stuck to my sub-conscious & I guess that's why I made that comment about being given gula gula to choose between the devil & the deep blue sea tongue.gif

gsc
post Nov 25 2014, 11:39 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 25 2014, 10:20 AM)
LM88, hahaha when I see scb or hsbc, i always feel uneasy. I did remember the JustOne account being discussed last month so I searched. This was a comment made by our sifu GenX, not about JustOne, but about priority banking in general ...

"Banks to avoid getting PB status if one only has RM300K to recycle (playing FD Promotion musical chair) are HSBC and SCB because they will impose penalty fees once your AUM falls below the required minimum amount. "

It stuck to my sub-conscious & I guess that's why I made that comment about being given gula gula to choose between the devil & the deep blue sea  tongue.gif
I have Std Chart saving account and it was inactive for a year. SC sends a letter that if it is still inactive, a maintenance fee will be charged. Other local banks wont charge if it is inactive for 7 years after which they will revert the money to central bank, if I am not mistaken. I claimed back my Bank Simpanan money after inactive for more than 7 years
imoloq
post Nov 25 2014, 02:20 PM

18 posts

guys. im new here.

just a little confused. why would people put fixed deposit in Singapore when the rates are around 1%+ compared to Malaysia's 3%+?

why dont they convert to MYR and put as fixed deposit here? am i missing something here?

thanks in advance guys.
Mansamune
post Nov 25 2014, 02:51 PM

49 posts

Hey guys,

Looks like the RinggitPlus OCBC FD Promo is up again. It's ending in 2 days omg. 27th November 2014. Better apply fast people!

https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/OC...uper-Deals.html
bearbear
post Nov 25 2014, 03:00 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(imoloq @ Nov 25 2014, 02:20 PM)
guys. im new here.

just a little confused. why would people put fixed deposit in Singapore when the rates are around 1%+ compared to Malaysia's 3%+?

why dont they convert to MYR and put as fixed deposit here? am i missing something here?

thanks in advance guys.
They prefer SGD than MYR, in long term which currency between the two has better prospect?
imoloq
post Nov 25 2014, 03:02 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 25 2014, 03:00 PM)
They prefer SGD than MYR, in long term which currency between the two has better prospect?
Of course SGD. so it is just the currency issue right?
leo_kiatez
post Nov 25 2014, 05:50 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(Mansamune @ Nov 25 2014, 02:51 PM)
Hey guys,

Looks like the RinggitPlus OCBC FD Promo is up again. It's ending in 2 days omg. 27th November 2014. Better apply fast people!

https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/OC...uper-Deals.html
Another additional 200units of air steriliser?
lionelmessi88
post Nov 25 2014, 07:32 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 25 2014, 10:20 AM)

It stuck to my sub-conscious & I guess that's why I made that comment about being given gula gula to choose between the devil & the deep blue sea  tongue.gif
Hahahaha, oh i see...no wonder no people respond to the SCB promo even it having 4.4% effective rate.... flex.gif

124 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:46 PM