Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post Feb 16 2016, 05:44 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Feb 16 2016, 05:36 PM)
washing machine spinning is too strong and will tear your sponge in no time,.
how do you suggest it cleaned? I've seen articles on cleaning it with brush, cloth and by squeezing.

i get lazy sometimes
g88
post Feb 16 2016, 05:47 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Feb 16 2016, 05:42 PM)
Yeah, I'm kinda interested to know this too.
Currently I just let is soak over night but somehow this works for Polish but not for Wax.
For Wax, I have to squeeze the remainder out and do a quick rinse with washing detergent.

Using normal clothes washing detergent biggrin.gif

Any advice?

your method is good enough, if you have cake up wax, do you bit warm or hot water to melt it down and squeeze rinse it off.

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 16 2016, 05:44 PM)
how do you suggest it cleaned? I've seen articles on cleaning it with brush, cloth and by squeezing.

i get lazy sometimes
Can't help if lazy. Learn from Linkin182 whistling.gif

linkin182
post Feb 16 2016, 06:16 PM

283 posts

You're right, it is the caked wax.
Warm water! nice tip!
Definitely gonna give that a try.
radiancephil
post Feb 16 2016, 09:44 PM

316 posts

When you said liquid detergent, meaning laundry liquid detergent like TOPS or dishwashing liquid detergent?
TSKrisMas
post Feb 17 2016, 09:01 AM

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Feb 16 2016, 05:42 PM)
Yeah, I'm kinda interested to know this too.
Currently I just let is soak over night but somehow this works for Polish but not for Wax.
For Wax, I have to squeeze the remainder out and do a quick rinse with washing detergent.

Using normal clothes washing detergent biggrin.gif

Any advice?
QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 16 2016, 05:44 PM)

i get lazy sometimes
QUOTE(radiancephil @ Feb 16 2016, 09:44 PM)
When you said liquid detergent, meaning laundry liquid detergent like TOPS or dishwashing liquid detergent?
Compounds & polishes are easier to clean. Just mix some dish washing liquid with water inside a sprayer bottle, spray onto the pads, leave it for half an hour or so (just makes sure to keep it damp), massage with hand, rinse under running water while squeezing the residue out. For drying, if you have a rotary polisher you can put the pad on and spin dry it. If you don't have a rotary polisher you can just wring the water out and leave it to dry (under shade). For hand foam applicator pads, the same applies.

Now, waxes and sealants (including glaze & AIO's) will be more stubborn. Best solution I found is to use Dawn Power Dissolver as posted by bro slk, using the same technique as above but with shorter dwelling time...like 15 mins or so. I've tried using All Purpose Cleaner, Degreaser, Dish Washing Liquid, baking soda, distilled vinegar, etc. but nothing was able to do an effective job as DPD. DPD is a bit expensive though, so, best alternative (but not as effective) is to do multiple soaking and cleaning with dish washing liquid.

linkin182
post Feb 17 2016, 09:05 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 17 2016, 09:01 AM)
Now, waxes and sealants (including glaze & AIO's) will be more stubborn. Best solution I found is to use Dawn Power Dissolver as posted by bro slk, using the same technique as above but with shorter dwelling time...like 15 mins or so. I've tried using All Purpose Cleaner, Degreaser, Dish Washing Liquid, baking soda, distilled vinegar, etc. but nothing was able to do an effective job as DPD. DPD is a bit expensive though, so, best alternative (but not as effective) is to do multiple soaking and cleaning with dish washing liquid.
Yup, done this (usually take me 2 - 3 times squeezing the wax out and rinsing them).
Probably will try the warm water trick + TOP.

Else if too much hassle, will get the DPD

This post has been edited by linkin182: Feb 17 2016, 09:06 AM
dwRK
post Feb 17 2016, 09:14 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Feb 17 2016, 09:05 AM)
Yup, done this (usually take me 2 - 3 times squeezing the wax out and rinsing them).
Probably will try the warm water trick + TOP.

Else if too much hassle, will get the DPD
If you have to squeeze the wax out you are using too much...
dwRK
post Feb 17 2016, 09:16 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 15 2016, 07:23 PM)
yo whats up!. alang2 take out the seats and wash the carpet too
Carpet next time lah... laugh.gif
linkin182
post Feb 17 2016, 09:20 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 17 2016, 09:14 AM)
If you have to squeeze the wax out you are using too much...
Rightly so! alot more to learn smile.gif
Definitely to keep note in my next session.
dwRK
post Feb 17 2016, 05:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

Before Attached Image

After Attached Image
dwRK
post Feb 17 2016, 05:15 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

Before Attached Image

After Attached Image

Actually the befores have gone through 2 rounds of cleaning smile.gif
slk
post Feb 17 2016, 05:47 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 17 2016, 05:07 PM)
Before Attached Image

After Attached Image
debadge!
During

After
dwRK
post Feb 17 2016, 06:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 17 2016, 05:47 PM)
debadge!
During

After
Nah...got back "custody"...should not require such cleaning for a long long time. Debadge would be the easiest of course... smile.gif
senscents
post Feb 17 2016, 06:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 16 2016, 04:53 PM)
water based polish = tap water.
oil based polish / wax / sealant = dawn
Where can i buy Dawn PD in Kl or Pj. Can not find it on jusco, tesco or even cold stoarge.
Greatly appreciate if any member can give one or two locations selling this DPD
aori67
post Feb 17 2016, 09:27 PM

QUOTE(senscents @ Feb 17 2016, 06:20 PM)
Where can i buy Dawn PD in Kl or Pj. Can not find it on jusco, tesco or even cold stoarge.
i saw Ace Hardware selling. You can try there
TSKrisMas
post Feb 18 2016, 08:47 AM

QUOTE(senscents @ Feb 17 2016, 06:20 PM)
ACE Hardware outlets should have them.
TSKrisMas
post Feb 18 2016, 08:52 AM

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 16 2016, 04:53 PM)
Small tip for using DPD for cleaning foam pads. Dilute it 1:1 (1 part DPD with 1 part distilled water) in a sprayer bottle. DPD is a little thick/concentrated and quite strong. It's quite effective even at that dilution.
linkin182
post Feb 18 2016, 09:19 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 18 2016, 08:52 AM)
Small tip for using DPD for cleaning foam pads. Dilute it 1:1 (1 part DPD with 1 part distilled water) in a sprayer bottle. DPD is a little thick/concentrated and quite strong. It's quite effective even at that dilution.
Should we use gloves if we plan to use DPD?
TSKrisMas
post Feb 18 2016, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Feb 18 2016, 09:19 AM)
Should we use gloves if we plan to use DPD?
I would strongly suggest, if possible, do use one. Rubber would be fine but nitrile would be ideal. My palm always feels rough and some times even peeling after using it.
senscents
post Feb 18 2016, 10:49 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 18 2016, 08:52 AM)
Thanks,Sifu Krismas any other applications for this DPD other than cleaning pads/mf

138 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:11 AM