Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

linkin182
post Jan 13 2016, 07:36 AM

283 posts

Hi Guys,

Are there any specific polish that you guys can recommend for black car?

I am using Soft99 and Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax but I still find swirl marks sad.gif (though I'm not sure if its micro scratch marks from the foam pad).

I used a Foam to apply the Polish then buffed it with a micro fibre cloth.

My steps:-
1) Wash & Clay & wash
2) Polish (foam pad), set, buff (micro fibre cloth)
3) Ultimate quik wax, buff (micro fibre cloth)

Still I find swirl marks.
Would a buffing machine give better results?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jan 13 2016, 07:37 AM
linkin182
post Jan 13 2016, 08:57 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Jan 13 2016, 04:35 PM)
I guess you have same situation with me. Soft99 silver tin effectively to hide most of swirlmarks but will all swirl mark will come back again after 1~2 days. Recently I was tried up Turtle wax Renew polishing compound by hand on a test spot, but the results was disappointed. Seem like totally no diff before and after after polishing with foam pad. Maybe I am using wrong technique or what....will try again on coming weekend if I free.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
My friend mentioned that it could be alot of factors in producing a swirl free marks.

I have no problems running Soft99 on my car which is white (no swirl marks). The black car however is my wifes.

My friend suggests to use a different approach to black cars and he recommends the Meguiars Swirl X and the Ultimate Polish.

Not a Meg's fan but apparently thats the product that works on black cars.

For Soft99, I believe it works best on bright colored cars but for darker cars we might have to use a different polish.

I might consider the Meguiars Black Wax if the Ultimate Polish doesnt work on my next pass.

Will update more if I happen to have the chance to do so.

But I am willing to accept any further inputs such as Foam Pads, Microfibre cloths or techniques even to achieve the black glossy finish.
linkin182
post Jan 15 2016, 12:00 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Jan 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
ur fren able to remove swirl, scratches or watermark with meg polish by hand? mind to share more how to do?
That was the suggestion though I dont think that he applied it himself.

An easier way recommended is to go for PPS Coating and maintain throughout with Waxing or Detailing biggrin.gif.

I havent had a time to give this a try yet but will definitely provide updates.

As it stands, here's a result of the swirl marks.
linkin182
post Jan 18 2016, 09:16 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Jan 14 2016, 05:36 PM)
ur fren able to remove swirl, scratches or watermark with meg polish by hand? mind to share more how to do?
Hey eprince,

So I had some time during the weekend and gave it a go again.
Its still the same product but I have then changed to Meguiars Micro Fiber cloth.

This time I payed extra attention to the sponge, cloths and micro fibers.

1) Washed with a wool (or similar) sponge
2) Dried with a separate micro fiber "DRY" cloth
3) Waxed with another separate micro fiber cloth

The results to my surprise, was night and day.

I took this picture after my wash and you will notice the micro swirl marks left by years of neglected care.

Here's the results after applying JUST Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax and using the Meguiars Supreme Shine Micro Fiber cloth.

I was really surprised with the results and I found this forum posting below that it seems Ultimate Quik Wax have some "Filling" capability.
Though I do not think that by just applying the Ultimate Quik Wax have "Corrected" the swirls, I believe the Micro Fiber cloth
may have applied the wax in a much finer manner and also spread the solution across better.

If you're doing by hand, you have to take note of:-
1) Elbow grease needed
2) Correct cloth
3) Correct method (small sections at a time)
- I split my bonnet/door panels by half
- For door panels, I did the top half first to avoid picking up dirt/dusts from the lower panels
- The roof, I split it into quarters 1/4 section

Forum Posting of Ultimate Quik Wax (or Review):-
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/produc...e-quik-wax.html

The correct method of applying any polish or waxes:-
http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...timate-Quik-Wax

I have yet to give Swirl X (ordered, waiting to arrive) a try and properly "Correct" the swirls,
but lets see if the swirls resurfaces after a few wash. Again, I dont think Ultimate Quik Wax have "Corrected" the swirls.

Will try to post more when I have the chance to give Swirl X a go!

Other than that, I hope this post helps you for your black car!
linkin182
post Jan 18 2016, 07:28 PM

283 posts

Err I dont mean no offence but are you confident with the rotary buffer?

IMO, I would leave the power tools to the expert and maintain it through out the year with some diligent hand polish/waxing.
linkin182
post Jan 19 2016, 02:03 PM

283 posts

I was at Ace Hardware Mid Valley and saw they're selling this for RM200++
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000077CP...pf_rd_i=desktop

You might want to check it out at your nearest Ace Hardware store.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jan 19 2016, 02:06 PM
linkin182
post Jan 21 2016, 09:15 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:11 AM)
Usually ppl do this..

There is no right or wrong

It can be

wash > clay + detailer > Sealant

wash > clay + detailer > wax

wash > clay + detailer > Sealant > wax

wash > clay + detailer > wax > Sealant
Any sealant recommendation?
linkin182
post Jan 21 2016, 11:48 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:51 AM)
what product do u have now ?
I have
Soft99 Clean & Polish
Megs UQW
Megs White Wax
Megs Black Wax
Megs Swirl X
PG Quick Shine Detailer Set

I believe the wax should be sufficient?

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jan 21 2016, 11:51 AM
linkin182
post Jan 25 2016, 02:03 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Jan 25 2016, 01:55 PM)
Bro, Meg QUW seem great in this case to hide those swirls mark...btw, did u tried on swirlX and polish by hand yet?
I was bought Turtle polishing compound & Turtle spray wax couple weeks ago, but seem like its doesnt improve on swirl marks... doh.gif  doh.gif
I just got the shipment last week and will be testing them out soon!
I tried it yesterday but it rained on me in the evening.

But before the rain came, I had a look at the results we're "ok".
It performed better and corrected some of the swirls (hopefully it'll last).

Now I wouldn't put "Scratches" as it does not handle them much.
I still see some deep "Scratches" after my 2nd application (on bonnet) of Swirl X
but it did its job by Correcting the swirls.

In this case if we're doing by hand, that is only this much we can do.
If we really need to get a swirl/scratch free results, we would have to send it to the professionals.

I managed to did 1/2 the car yesterday with Swirl X plus was going to apply Black Wax after.
Unfortunately the weather wasnt favourable thus I hope I can finish it by today.

I didnt take any pictures of the Before and After.

But after UQW have faded, the swirls definitely came back.
Thus I hope with Swirl X it would have properly corrected if not some of the fine swirls or scratches.

Good luck with your Turtle waxes!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Jan 25 2016, 02:04 PM
linkin182
post Feb 1 2016, 02:06 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Feb 1 2016, 12:30 PM)
From my past experience, Soft99 quite good to hide the scratches & swirl instead of remove.... doh.gif
Hey ePrince!

I can safe to say, the Swirl X have removed the Swirls.
I still have minor scratches but that is fine.

I may be planning for the DA next to take my detailing to the next level.

Detailing 2 cars by hand is absolute killer sad.gif
linkin182
post Feb 1 2016, 07:36 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 1 2016, 04:17 PM)
Yes i agree, by hand is pita, however, for someone like me who decided to polish by da polisher (yesterday was first time handling), my hand hurts like mad today from all the vibration! Soring like nobody's business.

Sometimes if I'm not confident, I inspect by a diluted IPA wipe down, just to make sure swirls are properly polished
I would say it's common, kepoh tengok orang detail near my office and some cars do produce sound. My adaptive theory is the transfer of vibration from the polisher to the metal that produces sound, like how sounds are produced.
That is new, haha perhaps my next endavour I would put that in mind. Thanks for the tip.

QUOTE(eprince @ Feb 1 2016, 04:22 PM)
sound great for me...however, could you share with me how to do?

Did you try ultimate polish before?
I did that by hand. Used a sponge applicator to do it.
Again, small sections at a time and small circular motion.

The most swirls were the bonnet, took me 2 passes to get to a satisfactory level.
I believe there's more to it but there's only so much pressure or "cut" you can apply by hand.
With a DA and proper padding, I believe it'll cut the surface even more getting the gloss free desired results.

I don't have ultimate polish unfortunately biggrin.gif

The Swirl X itself acts as a polish!

I just applied Black Wax after I was done with the Swirl X.

This post has been edited by linkin182: Feb 1 2016, 07:37 PM
linkin182
post Feb 2 2016, 07:10 AM

283 posts

@douglas_tong, any recommendation for a DA polisher?

Meg's DA is selling for 2.5k @ Motormad sad.gif

Otherwise, I was only thinking of going the Meg's DA Power System (the plug to drill setup).
linkin182
post Feb 3 2016, 06:42 AM

283 posts

Dude, thats heck of a job man! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
linkin182
post Feb 3 2016, 06:45 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 2 2016, 10:33 PM)
Guys...i try to hide my scrathes with soft 99...but instead it left a scuff or buff marks????..now what to do???
Never had a good experience with Soft 99. Used it a few times on my white car, it leaves grey-ish/yellow-ish baked stains on the paint.
Its now in my cabinet collecting dust or will use it on other non critical parts of my car biggrin.gif.
linkin182
post Feb 3 2016, 09:52 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 3 2016, 08:19 AM)
Exactly....grey ish...like the paint faded liao..
U manage to fix it..
Yup, I changed my type of polish.
Currently am using Meguiars White Wax.
It cleans/polish/wax altogether.

Just applied it last week, so far its still holding (no baked polish stains)

This post has been edited by linkin182: Feb 3 2016, 09:52 AM
linkin182
post Feb 3 2016, 01:12 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 3 2016, 11:58 AM)
My car's colour is black...so i should use wax is it..
QUOTE(aori67 @ Feb 3 2016, 12:24 PM)
wax is for paint protection and can be used on any color.
Yes indeed, Wax is only for paint protection.
Like I said, white wax acts as cleaner/polish/wax.

If you dont have it, you can go with Polish THEN Waxing.

Perhaps you can post a photo of your car stain?

I also only recently jump onto the car detailing band wagon,
other sifus might advice you on better.

So far, I'm pretty happy with Meguiars products and will be sticking with it for a while.

I have both black & white car thus I'm using Black Wax and White Wax.
linkin182
post Feb 4 2016, 12:19 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 3 2016, 05:38 PM)

Hi James,

Interesting patch. If you run your finger across, does it gets cleaned?
or does it reveal the clear coat? or is it still looks oxidated?

Looks like some liquid got spilled or either oxidation (but cannot be so quick).

Sifus might help biggrin.gif
linkin182
post Feb 5 2016, 06:44 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 4 2016, 02:26 PM)
No is does not get clean...still look oxidated.....any idea make it disappear......everytime i look at it....wanna cry already liao
Well either way I dont think it looks like its caused by soft99. It looks like somebody or someone spilled something on your door panel (passed by dropped a drink maybe?).

Otherwise some DIY liquid might help.
- Car Detailer Spray like Meguiars Ultimate Detailer
- WD-40 (need a washing after as it'll leave stained marks as well in the sun)
- Ethanol + Water spray (some 50/50, some 30 alcohol/70 water)

linkin182
post Feb 5 2016, 11:52 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(jamestc @ Feb 5 2016, 11:24 AM)
WD-40 how to use it??? Just spray it and wipe it off??
Spray on a microfiber cloth, wipe/buff door panel with some elbow grease.

linkin182
post Feb 5 2016, 07:50 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Feb 5 2016, 03:18 PM)

I tried that WD-40 trick before. It hides blemishes on the paintwork after application alright. But when it dries off... heheheh... back to square 1.

But if it's dried birdshit, tree sap etc, WD40 may help remove them. If it's rust, you need to address the cause of the rust.
Yeah, I use it on my white Forte to remove road tar / hard to remove stains.
Thats why usually I will follow up with another wash when I use that.
Wash, clay ocassionally, wd-40, wash again (though my friend have advised the Quick Detailer or the 30/70 alcohol/water solution).

I used to hide blemishes or scratches using Soft99, but after I found that it leaves grey-ish baked stains,
I told myself to stop using it anymore. I also only recently swapped it with Meguiars White Wax.

So, I'll have to wait and see the results if its leaving baked stains. So far its all good.

0.0638sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:32 AM