Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

radiancephil
post Nov 29 2014, 03:07 AM

316 posts

I am guessing this might have been answered many times before. But at the moment I am new to car detailing and looking to start taking better care of my cars.

I am looking at getting a machine to help out with the light polishing and waxing process. What should I be getting?

Budget is around rm500. But can plus minus abit

Makita 9227c?
Bosch GPO12?

Bosch Gex125?

I am so lost...
radiancephil
post Nov 29 2015, 12:57 AM

316 posts

Hello sifus,

I am looking to buy the Bosch GEX125AE to do some polishing/waxing on my 1 year old red car. I live in Subang Jaya and I wonder where can I buy pads for the Bosch GEX125AE? Lake Country pads? Rupes? How much are they?

Hopefully you guys can help point me in the right direction.
radiancephil
post Nov 30 2015, 02:13 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(RandyC @ Nov 30 2015, 01:00 AM)
IIRC its originally meant for sanding. but its random orbital motion makes it OK for polishing/waxing but the grip might not be optimum. Best if you can get your hands on one and try before buying
You guys know where can buy Lake Country of Rupes pads?
radiancephil
post Nov 30 2015, 11:47 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 30 2015, 09:26 AM)
I do...I've used VX1, VX1 Pro, VM1 & VS1. What do you want to know? Ask away.....
The Bosch is good enough...good for what it's worth. Better machines are available but it'll cost you over RM500 (excluding pads).
Lake Country pads can get at Osren. Megs pad can get at Megs HQ at USJ or Klang, or their other branches. I also see them selling at ACE Hardware. Only here in LYN also got.
What better machines out there are available for the RM500+ budget that you mentioned?

Does Meguairs make 5.5" pads? Because the Bosch machine is 5", so I am guessing that using 5.5" pads would be ideal? As for LYN here got sell, where ar? I tried looking at Garage sales, but cannot find.
radiancephil
post Dec 1 2015, 11:18 PM

316 posts

I am still torn between spending RM380 for the Bosch GEX125-1 AE or to spend RM1000 on a DA. Any of you guys got any cheap DA to recommend?

I am just a beginner with 1 red 1 year old car.
radiancephil
post Dec 3 2015, 01:49 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 3 2015, 12:47 PM)
Might I suggest another alternative to consider.....Osren's drying cloth 60cm x 180cm. My personal opinion is that it is quite a value-for-money drying cloth. I have a few of them and it works surprisingly well for the price  thumbup.gif

Osren Drying Cloth 60cm x 180cm
How much is it?
radiancephil
post Dec 4 2015, 09:44 AM

316 posts

Wah, thanks for sharing... I think I might need to buy some drying towels too... Currently using chamois which I bought from TaoBao... The chamois tends to be too absorbent and creates a lot of "drag" when I run it across my car which tires me very quickly.

You guys got any Teh Tarik session? I have a lot to learn from you sifus. My problem is I do not know what can or cannot be bought in Malaysia. I read a lot online but not all of them are available. Even if they are available, I do not know where to get them.
radiancephil
post Dec 4 2015, 10:45 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 4 2015, 10:08 AM)
Haven't had one for quite a while now....well...not that I'm aware of Anyway. Maybe you can call for one. I can try to get Osren, Sonax, Dodo Juice, IGreen, or some other reps to come over if you want.... tongue.gif

Hrrrmm....comes to think of it....maybe I can list down links to online shops that sells them in the 1st page....the authorised ones, of course. Wonder whether that would be against the forum rules....
YES! That would definitely help the newbies a lot if you can list down all the online shops and also the normal shops which are recommended and has a variety of products.
radiancephil
post Dec 7 2015, 11:07 AM

316 posts

My 1 year old car is red and due to recent months of downpour and me not being around to wash/clean it, it has quite a lot of watermarks. Any good suggestions on how to remove these watermarks?

My plan is to buy a Bosch GEX125-1AE ROB Sander with a LC 5.5" Orange Pad and Meguair's Watermark Remover.

Any thoughts on this?

radiancephil
post Dec 10 2015, 08:30 AM

316 posts

For claying process, can we use Meguiar's Gold Class™ Car Wash Shampoo & Conditioner + water as lubricant?

Or must we use Meguair's Quik Detailer?
radiancephil
post Feb 16 2016, 02:41 PM

316 posts

Anybody knows what is the best method to clean the those LC polishing/waxing pads? Just use clothes washing powder or dishwashing liquid?
radiancephil
post Feb 16 2016, 09:44 PM

316 posts

When you said liquid detergent, meaning laundry liquid detergent like TOPS or dishwashing liquid detergent?

0.0253sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:22 AM