126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today ? - Episode 2, Share what you watch lately...

salimbest83
post Jun 6 2018, 10:07 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 30 2018, 09:16 AM)
just watch pacific rim uprising. I don't find it bad as the review said. Just enjoy the action. now up is tomb raider biggrin.gif
Yup not bad at all.

Just finished tomb rider yesterday. Its good but can be better. The actor too stiff

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 31 2018, 01:13 AM)
while waiting for the better versions of pacific rim uprising and tomb raider, here's one to kill a couple of hours.

hurricane heist - that's what it is - a heist in a hurricane.

the story is pretty much a diehard mould but has some exciting special effects on the hurricane.

the cast is almost unknown, just satisfactory performance.

a box office bomb... but watchable, 2.5/5.

Done it too together with tombrider.
Quite ok to kill time.
longyap
post Jun 7 2018, 03:11 PM

Blyatman jepunis kartun

Attached image(s)
AVFAN
post Jun 10 2018, 11:38 AM

24,468 posts

pacific rim uprising... i find it more kiddish than the first one, no surprise it did not sell too well.

it has become more like kid's ultraman fantasy rather than syfy.

i hope they don't make a 3rd one. 2/5.

2036 origin unknown is a low budget syfy movie.

almost a "one-woman" (katee sackhoff from tv series battlestar galactica) movie, it resembles the 1968 clarke/kubrick classic 2001 a space odyssey.

space, computers/AI, a monolith, intelligence... except in this case, the question... AI= artifical intelligence or alien intelligence?

if u like 2001 a space odyssey or 2010 odyssey 2, u will like this 2036 origin unknown. 3/5.
Andrewtst
post Jun 11 2018, 03:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

I know this thread is about 1080p movie as the thread start at year 2014 but now is already year 2018 and we should move on to latest movies tech offer. smile.gif

Just share some titles that surely Shine your 4K HDR TV. smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif A very well done title that truly amaze the purpose of HDR.

• Blade Runner 2049 - Video Quality 5/5 | Story 5/5
  • Tomb Raider - Video Quality 5/5 | Story 3/5
  • The Shape of Water - Video Quality 4.5/5 | Story 5/5
  • The Greatest Showman - Video Quality 5/5 | Story 4.5/5
  • The Martian - Video Quality 4/5 | Story 4/5
  • Interstellar - Video Quality 4/5 | Story 4/5
  • Kong Skull Island - Video Quality 4.5/5 | Story 4/5
  • Life of PI - Video Quality 4.5/5 | Story 4/5
  • Logan - Video Quality 4.5/5 | Story 4/5
  • Pacific Rim - Video Quality 4.5/5 | Story 4/5
  • The Legend of Demon Cat - Video Quality 4/5 | Story 4/5
  • The Star - Video Quality 4/5 | Story 3.5/5

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 12 2018, 03:15 AM
voncrane
post Jun 12 2018, 10:27 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jun 12 2018, 10:08 PM)

any other movies u watched so far the fee weeks back?
any reco?
Nothing spectacular yet plus little time.. Mostly been catching up on multiple tv series.. If you are a fan of Donnie Yen, a friend recommended watching "Flash Point" and "SPL: Kill Zone". These are from a decade ago but supposedly good.
Mov_freak
post Jun 13 2018, 10:05 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 4 2018, 01:48 AM)
tomb raider 2018 is a reboot of the 2001 lara croft: tomb raider.

i was a little disappointed with it, thought the 2001 version was better.

while it has its good action moments, it hasn't got the wow factor.

the main character is athletic but somehow fails to deliver the "superherione" you might be looking for.

maybe the villain in the show is not much of one.

stars alicia vikander, daniel woo. 2.5/5.

Yeah, she lacks that.... je ne sais quoi (I don't know what).... X-Factor, maybe?? tongue.gif
voncrane
post Jun 13 2018, 11:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 13 2018, 10:05 PM)
Yeah, she lacks that.... je ne sais quoi (I don't know what).... X-Factor, maybe?? tongue.gif
Well.. Young Angelina Jolie's shoes are hard to fill.. biggrin.gif
Lego Warfare
post Jun 17 2018, 03:26 PM

4,676 posts

Lol downloaded and watched the 4K version of Tomb Raider 2018 @ 50+ GB.
Glad I didn’t buy the blu-ray.
voncrane
post Jun 17 2018, 03:51 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jun 17 2018, 03:08 PM)
i think ive watched kill zone back but dun quite rmber the storyline now.
i've watched SPL3 as well, the one with Louis Koo as lead actor!

So far, good movie though, but tony jaa died in a tragic way! >< (*sorry for this spoiler)
Oh, good to know they are good movies.. Will hunt em down.

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Jun 17 2018, 03:11 PM)
agree~~ angelina formed this character out

btw have u guys heard bout her first produced movie -the breadwinner?
it's a cartoon movie based on a best selling novel - the breadwinner

i watched the trailer ytd ~ it reminds me of mulan but tat eastern/egytian- version instead~ ahhahahha
Heard of the movie but didn't pay much interest to it.. Just read the synopsis and it does read like a Mulan story. Scores a high 94% on RT. So definitely not goign to be a bad watch..

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 17 2018, 03:26 PM)
Lol downloaded and watched the 4K version of Tomb Raider 2018 @ 50+ GB.
Glad I didn’t buy the blu-ray.
Guess I don't have to waste my bandwidth then.. Will simply grab 1080p remux and watch.. smile.gif
Lego Warfare
post Jun 17 2018, 04:17 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 17 2018, 03:51 PM)
Guess I don't have to waste my bandwidth then.. Will simply grab 1080p remux and watch..  smile.gif
Ohh it has nothing to do with the 4K quality, more so that as a movie i wouldn’t pay more than RM60 for it. The story and directing was sub par. I didn’t really like Angelina Jolie’s version either but I rather choose hers than this.

voncrane
post Jun 17 2018, 04:22 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 17 2018, 04:17 PM)
Ohh it has nothing to do with the 4K quality, more so that as a movie i wouldn’t pay more than RM60 for it. The story and directing was sub par. I didn’t really like Angelina Jolie’s version either but I rather choose hers than this.
Yeah, I understand. Just I download in UHD, just in case It's good enough to keep.. Since the movie isn't so great so won't be keeping.. might as well save bandwidth and private tracker quota.
Ray Leee
post Jun 17 2018, 05:16 PM

200 posts

who are the 90s kids here?

watching incredibles 2??
hahaha

AVFAN
post Jun 17 2018, 05:59 PM

24,468 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 12 2018, 10:27 PM)
Nothing spectacular yet plus little time.. Mostly been catching up on multiple tv series.. If you are a fan of Donnie Yen, a friend recommended watching "Flash Point" and "SPL: Kill Zone". These are from a decade ago but supposedly good.
flash point is ok.

SPL kill zone = SPL 2005, the best of the trilogy.
SPL2 a time for consequences 2013 is almost as good.
SPL3 paradox 2017 is not as good as the first 2.

recent chinese action blockbusters - operation mekong 2016, wolf warrior2 2017 and operation red sea 2018.

voncrane
post Jun 17 2018, 07:28 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 17 2018, 05:59 PM)
flash point is ok.

SPL kill zone = SPL 2005, the best of the trilogy.
SPL2 a time for consequences 2013 is almost as good.
SPL3 paradox 2017 is not as good as the first 2.

recent chinese action blockbusters - operation mekong 2016, wolf warrior2 2017 and operation red sea 2018.
Thanks. thumbup.gif
Andrewtst
post Jun 18 2018, 06:24 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jun 17 2018, 04:17 PM)
That movie had very great HDR video quality scenes but the story is not good. Like a B class film.

Blu-ray.com give 5/5 - http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Tomb-Raider-.../201547/#Review

AVS forum give 5/5 (100 scores) - https://www.avsforum.com/tomb-raider-ultra-...blu-ray-review/

I agree on both, it is outstanding sample of 4K HDR movie but too bad the movie itself is not good. What a waste.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 18 2018, 06:29 AM
rx330
post Jun 20 2018, 01:25 PM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 13 2018, 11:11 PM)
Well.. Young Angelina Jolie's shoes are hard to fill..  biggrin.gif
i think you meant cup tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
voncrane
post Jun 20 2018, 04:49 PM

Noir et fier!