296 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

chemistry101
post Jun 26 2015, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 25 2015, 08:26 PM)
Hi to all sifu, I'm using MIT diaqueen sp3 ATF oil . Can I noe which other brand selling sp3 spec ATF oil here besides MIT diaqueen n proton sp3?
This

MaxLife DEX/MERC ATF contains a blend of superior base oils and a unique additive package to help extend the life of transmissions with over 75,000 miles. It is formulated to maximize transmission performance, reduce transmission wear, and improve and maintain smooth shifting longer than conventional fluids. MaxLife DEX/MERC ATF is compatible with new and rebuilt transmissions and will not void new car warranties.

Recommended for use where DEXRON, DEXRON II, III and VI, Toyota T-IV and WS, MERCON®, MERCON® SP and LV, Allison TES 389, Nissan Matic-D, Matic-J and Matic-K, Honda Z-1 (except CVT), Mercedes NAG-1, Mitsubishi Diamond SP-II and SP-III and many others are required.

Link: http://www.valvoline.com/products/brands/m...ission-fluid/37
TkTunG
post Jun 26 2015, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2015, 10:27 AM)
Caltex is in the 43 or so already IINM, being semi synthetic somemore.

Proton SP3 is less than half price (rm20-25/liter iinm) of motul ATF 1A, however around 5-10k km need to drain already as shifts feel like shit and the fluid drain out is brown/black ish with heavy burnt smell

ATF 1A so far i haven't drain it, however with 2 cars post 10-20k ish km and shifts are still spot on is a good enough justification for it being worth the price of ~50/liter nod.gif
I used proton n MIT onli b4... Onli difference is proton is heavier than MIT but MIT shifting oso not so smooth for me...tats y asking for other option...btw where can get motul oil?
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 26 2015, 11:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 26 2015, 08:54 PM)
I used proton n MIT onli b4... Onli difference is proton is heavier than MIT but MIT shifting oso not so smooth for me...tats y asking for other option...btw where can get motul oil?
I got mine from Zhapalang Kepong.
Lyn got seller sells it also
TkTunG
post Jun 27 2015, 07:47 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2015, 11:52 PM)
I got mine from Zhapalang Kepong.
Lyn got seller sells it also
Me live in kepong laugh.gif do they sell onli the oil or nid to service there?
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 27 2015, 09:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 27 2015, 07:47 AM)
Me live in kepong laugh.gif  do they sell onli the oil or nid to service there?
Only oil or service there also can .Reasonable price , can mention I intro lol .
TkTunG
post Jun 27 2015, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2015, 09:24 AM)
Only oil or service there also can .Reasonable price , can mention I intro lol .
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif btw do tey sell motul eo oso? Heard motul eo quite pricey but think want to gv it a try biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Is it worth it to use motul eo in a standard stock engine?
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 27 2015, 11:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 27 2015, 10:09 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  btw do tey sell motul eo oso? Heard motul eo quite pricey but think want to gv it a try  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif Is it worth it to use motul eo in a standard stock engine?
yes they do sell motul EO as well as amsoil biggrin.gif

well.

it gave me some hp (from dyno) and the revving is just damn smooth.
i still can't accept my engine having wear using (supposedly) among the best engine oil around lol.

then again, 0w20 with frequent track day usage.
feel free to look up the information (especially UOA, used oil analysis) i've posted on first page and decide yourself smile.gif
TkTunG
post Jun 28 2015, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2015, 11:17 PM)

well.

i still can't accept my engine having wear using (supposedly) among the best engine oil around lol.

feel free to look up the information (especially UOA, used oil analysis) i've posted on first page and decide yourself smile.gif
Thanks alot for ur help thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
zeng
post Jun 28 2015, 11:12 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2015, 11:17 PM)

well.

xW20 plus track/harsh usage (whether at local ambient temperature or otherwise) = increased engine components wear.

Engine oil technology of today cannot help , as yet.
TkTunG
post Jun 28 2015, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 28 2015, 11:12 AM)
xW20 plus track/harsh usage (whether at local ambient temperature or otherwise) = increased engine components wear.

Engine oil technology of today cannot help , as yet.
Will xW-30 eo will do damage greater than xW-40 eo with normal usage? If compare Fs eo...

This post has been edited by TkTunG: Jun 28 2015, 01:00 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 28 2015, 08:37 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 28 2015, 12:59 PM)
Will xW-30 eo will do damage greater than xW-40 eo with normal usage? If compare Fs eo...
personally, unless you're having extreme usages (eg: frequent track like sepang), i would stick with manufacturer recommendation which is typically 0w20 for a huge majority of modern day engines.

even Proton campros are on xw30 according to the owner manual which even Proton SC don't bother.

more over my circumstance is that the EO is not meant for longer OCI, which i still proceed with the standard 10k km since the car's still under SC care.
for that minor increased in wear, i don't think it's anything too serious (which the lab guys assured accordingly as well although they still recommended shorted OCI)

so tldr/personally, i would ignore what zeng said biggrin.gif
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 05:00 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 28 2015, 08:37 PM)
personally, unless you're having extreme usages (eg: frequent track like sepang), i would stick with manufacturer recommendation which is typically 0w20 for a huge majority of modern day engines.

even Proton campros are on xw30 according to the owner manual which even Proton SC don't bother.

more over my circumstance is that the EO is not meant for longer OCI, which i still proceed with the standard 10k km since the car's still under SC care.
for that minor increased in wear, i don't think it's anything too serious (which the lab guys assured accordingly as well although they still recommended shorted OCI)

so tldr/personally, i would ignore what zeng said biggrin.gif
With this illogical logics , the whole automotive industries including component manufacturers , ACEA , API, JASO, ASTM, Universities , oil industries etc across the world are really dumbs of the highest degree , spending tens (or hundreds) of billions of USD (not RM), not one-off in a period but every single year in all the years to come on wear reduction........ sigh ...... rclxub.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2015, 06:40 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 29 2015, 05:00 PM)
With this illogical logics , the whole automotive industries including component manufacturers , ACEA , API, JASO, ASTM, Universities , oil industries etc across the world are really dumbs of the highest degree , spending tens (or hundreds) of billions of USD (not RM), not one-off in a period but every single year in all the years to come on wear reduction........ sigh ...... rclxub.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ya they are probably damn stupid to still go for xw20 or even xw16 direction.

i really hope you'd cease to be selective in information, assuming at almost anything and jumping at it on every chances you get and being overreacting at it.

if it were my younger days/my previous job where i had more spare time to humor you, i would gladly do so.
as it is today, sorry i just no longer had the luxury.
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2015, 06:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

empire23
wei you want to deal with this or not? go entertain him la.

on a serious note, how bad is 80ppm of iron? where is it coming from aside.
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 07:38 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 28 2015, 12:59 PM)
TkTunG,

Assuming every other parameters of engine oil being equal ,

Scenario A : operating oil temperature of 9x Celsius (say, at engine rpm 2x00 after more than 30 minutes);

Typical xW30 oil operating viscosity is about 11.x centistokes;

Typical xW40 oil operating viscosity is about 15.0 cSt ;

Scenario B : operating oil temperature of 11x Celsius (say, at engine rpm 4000-6500 on PLUS more than x hours of driving );

Typical xW30 oil operating viscosity is about 7.x cSt;

Typical xW40 oil operating viscosity is about 9.x cSt;

And tentatively referring to my incomplete research as below:-

a) minimum operating viscosity of engine oil pump of about 10-13 cSt;

b) minimum operating viscosity of plain bearings of about 7-10 cSt;

c) ignoring for now, valve train and piston ring/liner etc minimum viscosity requirements ,if any;

Under Scenario A at 9x Celsius operating , xW30 would be sufficient in terms of wear protection, and

Under Scenario B at 11x celsius operating , xW40 would be strongly recommended over xW30 in terms of wear protection and fuel economy , if any, is ignored.

Just my 2 sen. sweat.gif

zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 07:56 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 29 2015, 06:40 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ya they are probably damn stupid to still go for xw20 or even xw16 direction.

i really hope you'd cease to be selective in information, assuming at almost anything and jumping at it on every chances you get and being overreacting at it.

if it were my younger days/my previous job where i had more spare time to humor you, i would gladly do so.
as it is today, sorry i just no longer had the luxury.
Driven by statutory/California CAFE requirements ? ................. or

Driven by wear reduction/ engineering requirements ?

Any wonder VW recommend xW40 , and not xW20 ??

TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2015, 08:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 29 2015, 07:56 PM)
Driven by statutory/California CAFE requirements ? ................. or

Driven by wear reduction/ engineering requirements ?

Any wonder VW recommend xW40 , and not xW20 ??
google or something:
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...&Number=2921982
http://www.pceo.com/chart.html
http://www.oilspecifications.org/articles/...osity-grade.php

i'm done on this subject with you as well, take it to other people.
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 29 2015, 08:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 29 2015, 07:38 PM)

doh.gif

i sure hope no one buys modern cars now lol
heck, my year 2008+ 4B10 not-so-modern-engine recommends 0w20 so lol.
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 09:05 PM

1,810 posts

Engine Oils - Fuel Economy vs. Wear

Short answers :

--Auto manufacturers, on the other hand, are concerned about fuel economy. The manufacturer faces big fines if the fleet of cars it produces falls short of the Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) requirements imposed upon them by the federal government.

--Thinner oils are being used these days for three reasons: They save fuel in test engines( not necessarily in real life engines -- I quote), the viscosity rules have changed, and manufacturers are recommending thinner grades.

--The test oil’s fuel efficiency is compared to the fuel efficiency of a reference oil in the Sequence VI-B test. To pass, the test oil must improve fuel economy one to two percent, depending on viscosity grade. SAE 5W-20 must produce higher relative fuel efficiency than SAE 5W-30.

It is interesting to note that the reference oil is fully PAO synthetic SAE 5W-30. To qualify for the GF-3 Starburst, ordinary mineral oils had to beat the fuel economy of the full synthetic reference oil. (It seems there is more to fuel economy than a magic base oil.)

--The auto manufacturers now recommend thinner oils for their vehicles than in the past. Years ago, SAE 10W-40 was the most commonly recommended viscosity grade, later migrating to SAE 10W-30. SAE 5W-30 is most popular now, but Ford and Honda recommend SAE 5W-20. It is likely that more widespread adoption of SAE 5W-20 and other thin oils may occur to help comply with CAFE requirements.

--Thinner oils have less drag, and therefore less friction and wear. Right? Perhaps in the test engine or engines that experience normal operation. But somewhat thicker oils may offer more protection for more severe operations such as driving through mountains, pulling a boat, dusty conditions, short trips, high rpm, overloading, overheating and overcooling.

--Ford is bumping up against its CAFE requirements and recommends SAE 5W-20 oil for most of its engines in the United States. It claims SAE 5W-20 is optimal for fuel efficiency and wear.

To determine if SAE 5W-20 oils provide the same level of protection as SAE 5W-30 oils, Dagenham Motors in England, one of the largest Ford dealers in Europe, was consulted. SAE 5W-30 is required for warranty purposes in England, and SAE 5W-20 is not even available. If SAE 5W-20 were better for both fuel economy and wear, why would Ford not recommend it for its same engines in Europe?

--As wear increases, the efficiency of an engine declines. Valve train wear slightly changes valve timing and movement. Ring and liner wear affect compression. The wear hurts fuel efficiency and power output by an imperceptible amount at first, but then the difference in fuel economy between an SAE 10W-30 and SAE 5W-20 is hardly noticeable. Efficiency continues to decline as wear progresses. Perhaps optimizing wear protection is the way to reduce fuel consumption over the life of the engine.

--Every fluid is a compromise. Oils recommended by the auto manufacturers seem to compromise protection from wear under severe conditions to gain fuel economy and catalyst durability. It is important to recognize that to use a product that offers more protection from wear will most likely compromise your warranty. Thicker oils also compromise cold temperature flow, which may be of concern depending upon climate and season.

The best protection against wear is probably a product that is a little thicker (such as SAE 10W-30 or 15W-40) and has more antiwear additives than the oils that support the warranty. The best oil for your vehicle depends on your driving habits, the age of your engine and the climate you drive in, but it is not necessarily the type of oil specified in the owner’s manual or stamped on the dipstick.

Long answer is : http://www.machinerylubrication.com/Read/518/motor-oils

This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 29 2015, 10:01 PM
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 09:11 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 29 2015, 08:03 PM)
In terms of wear protection ,my Cantonese friend told me that :

ILSAC GF x of xW20 will bring my engine to hollan !

No, no ......... I am NOT going to hollannnn................................ sweat.gif

296 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:46 PM