Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

zeng
post May 16 2015, 08:06 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 10 2015, 01:08 AM)
a bit more:
http://www.mobil.com/UK-English/Lubes/PDS/...Life_0W-40.aspx

http://www.mobil.com/UK-English/Lubes/PDS/...0_XE_5W-30.aspx

3000 looks like old/sub par product.
afaik mobil 1 has always been the top of the line.

US seems to have different product as well:
https://mobiloil.com/en/product-comparison?...369d20131a4c%7d

some old discussions:
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...&Number=2242281
Hmm , in what way is this Super 3000 an old/sub par product against New Life ? sweat.gif

Mind elaborating ? notworthy.gif

zeng
post May 17 2015, 09:27 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 16 2015, 08:53 PM)
The data sheet isn't even complete, and I can't seem to find it being certified (maybe it was,  but lapsed and never renew)

And I was comparing it with Mobil 1 anyways,  which again, is their top of the line Product.
I reckon the Mobil Super 3000 XE 5W30 is a newer product against Mobil 1 New Life 0W40. smile.gif

http://www.mobil.com/UK-English/Lubes/PDS/...0_XE_5W-30.aspx

Super 3000 is a low ash engine oil (of 0.8% sulfated ash ) formulated for newer cars fitted with emission after-treatment systems. It's not meant for older engines , say pre-2000 , that comes without emission after-treatment systems.

Whereas Mobil 1 New Life 0W40 is an older formulation (having a higher sulfated ash content of 1.3%) meant for older engines .

It's not meant for newer engines with the latest emission after-treatment systems.

Thus, I believe Super 3000 is not sub par against New Life .

Maybe somebody can shed some light on their commencement dates of formulation/manufacturing ?? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: May 17 2015, 09:29 PM
zeng
post May 19 2015, 01:06 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2015, 10:57 PM)
look.
my understanding of mobil product line up is that mobil 1 is their top of the line, the best.
http://www.mobil.co.uk/UK-English-LCW/care...s_products.aspx

Every other oil parameters being equal and similar (including API SM SN rating as an assumption), I would agree with you that Super 3000 XE of base stock group 3 is not equal or better than M1 New Life in so far as base stock is concerned . The point remains that Super 3000 XE (of 0.8 % sulfated ash ; 0.08 % phosphorous ) is not an old/sub-par product against M1 New Life (of 1.3 % sulfated ash ; 0.1 % phosphorous ). smile.gif 

They are 2 totally different categories of engine oils meant for different petrol engine types ( i.e with or without emission after-treatment systems such as gasoline catalytic converters ; with or without flat tappet rocker or roller rocker, among other things )

the fact that mobil have their 3000 products having API SM with lesser data sheet details compared to mobil 1 with API SN having more thorough data sheet published, is enough of an indication to avoid nit picking ash/phosphorous details.

Oh nooooooooooo ................. recommending and selecting engine oils of API SN over > SM > SL > SJ (purely and solely base on API ratings ), while totally disregard it's sulfated ash/phosphorous percentage contents  and engine types as describe above is an unforgivable blunder by a lubricant engineer . 

Granted API SN rating is newer and supercedes API SM in this instant , that fact does not make Super 3000 XE an old/sub-par product against M1 New Life.

either way BOTH are NOT under API licensing as i've mentioned which are either lapsed or just haven't license (new product, maybe?) yet which i quote again:
for all i know the 3000 could be just meant for low ash, but having a shittier additive/base stock, where else the mobil 1 new life is a new blend/formulation, having good additive package and base stock that's AIMED FOR older car to make them LIKE NEW (hence the damn product name, don't ask me on why ash or phosphorous would improve an engine, please ask mobil instead)

Super 3000 is just meant for low ash ??

Look at this technical details of Super 3000 X1 5W40 ( 1.1 % sulfated ash and 0.095 % phosphorous ) ------- this Super 3000 is NOT low ash engine oils.

http://www.mobil.co.uk/UK-English-LCW/care...0-x1-5w40.aspx#

Inversely M1 New Life (of 1.3 % sulfated ash ; 0.1 % phosphsrous ) is meant for high ash ??

Look at this M1 ESP 0W40 (of 0.8 % sulfated ash ; 0.08 % phosphorous )

http://www.mobil.co.uk/UK-English-LCW/care...-esp-0w40.aspx#

The point here is : Super 3000 is not an old/sub-par product vis-a-vis M1 New Life. smile.gif

Super 3000 having a shittier additive ??............ which of its additives is shit ?  Or all its additives are shits ??.......  rclxub.gif

Super 3000 having a shittier base stock ?? ....... Heck, this is a synthetics !! And this synthetic is having shit base stock? Omg .......... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

M1 New Life (of 1.3 % sulfated ash/0.1 % phosphorous) is a new blend/formulation vis-a-vis Super 3000 XE's 0.8 % sulfated ash and 0.08 % phosphorous ?????????????

Are you aware sulfated ash and phosphorous had been trending towards lower and lower % from API CF4 to CJ4 ?

And also from ILSAC GF2 to GF5 , IIRC ? ------------------ meaning lower ash is newer formulation !!! sweat.gif

if you're THAT ticked off on the SAPS issue, by all means go with something like http://www.mobil.co.uk/UK-English-LCW/care...il-1-0w20.aspx#
which is 1) low SAPS 2) mobil 1 3) actually showing up on API certification.
personally, NEWER products and still looking back at API SM is NOTHING NEW to me.
You completely miss the point !

The technical point ! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: May 19 2015, 01:10 AM
zeng
post May 19 2015, 07:40 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 19 2015, 03:47 AM)
first off, let me clarify this as annoying as it may be after a few replies already and you just have to have quoted replies where i have to do a lot of manual work:
I am not a lubricant engineer, merely an enthusiast who goes through length that most people would think i am crazy for doing so.
With that said, i believe every human being, including lubricant engineers would make mistakes and as i have made disclaimers NUMEROUS a times in my previous replies which you've blatantly ignored while continued to nitpick me on SAPS. (sulphated ash, phosphorous sulphur, just in case.)

Last clarification:
http://www.gf-5.com/uploads/File/API%20SN%20Discussion.pdf
(and as linked on first page of this thread)
http://www.gf-5.com/uploads/File/ILSAC_GF-...22-09_final.pdf
http://www.gf-5.com/uploads/File/Final-GF5...ent-1-23-08.pdf
only sulphur and phosphorous requirements, i don't see ash in this.
if you have further documentation for ash, by all means please provide them smile.gif

summary:
Phosphorus0.08 or 0.06
Sulphur0.6 or 0.5
again, the oil parameters i see from 3000 are lacking compared to mobil 1.
not to mention, i cannot find NEITHER being certified on API.
heck, API SN itself doesn't have low SAPS requirement, only SN with resource conserving and/or ILSAC GF-5 does.

like i've replied, whatever purpose or categories mobil1 intended them from, it's best to clarify with mobil themselves more so when they have such confusing line up (it sure is giving you one heck of a tough time seeking so much clarification)

from the top of my head i've yet to recall modern EO having separation between flat tappet/roller rocker and so on. Perhaps i'm spoiled with my API standardization/going with reputable boutique brands that don't give me that much of a headache in choosing what oil to get from them.
Like i've mentioned, i'm not anal over low SAPS as posted above documents, if i am going for SN + ILSAC GF5 + resource conserving, i don't know, maybe because i ALREADY HAVE LOW SAPS.
but of course sure, huge blunder by lubricant engineer. (which i'm not btw, not sure how i am perceived as such, but ok.)
i quote myself again:

http://english.stackexchange.com/questions...-for-all-i-know

until mobil1 gives me more info such as more thorough data sheet, MSDS, a VOA and/or UOA, i am answering based on what i have.

so here is what i know:
mobil 1 > mobil 3000 as a general product lineup
info for mobil 1 is more thorough than mobil 3000
majority of mobil 1 products are indeed API certified as opposed to a lesser amount on the 3000

and just so you know, even FULLY SYNTHETICS, there's THREE groups of base stocks. please wiki them if you wish to know more (or heck read the first page already FFS)
now if you're still dissatisfied with my reply, by ALL means, please contact mobil directly to seek further clarification: http://www.mobil.co.uk/UK-English-LCW/cont...?CountryCode=UK
thank you.
if you're a HUGE fan of mobil 3000 over mobil 1, by ALL means, please use mobil 3000 instead.

my last and final input on this matter:
- i personally will never choose either mobil products
- if i am FORCED to choose one, which is the lesser of evils in my case, i would still stick by mobil 1.

unless you have anything new to share, i will no longer reply to you any further pertaining this matter and/or this 2 particular product.

thanks and have a nice day smile.gif
Peace notworthy.gif

Sorry for being technical and subjective in interpretation.

Good day . biggrin.gif

zeng
post May 19 2015, 08:01 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(jeschong @ May 19 2015, 04:14 PM)
hi sifu,
im newbie (just 'escape' from service center) and start learning about engine oil
a shop recommend me ELF fully syn 5w40 (im actually looking for fully syn 5w30). Is this good enough for normal driving habit?
Both oils are suitable for cars with emission after-treatment systems.

For normal driving , of course they are good.

5W30 is supposedly good for fuel economy.

Do take note 5W40 offers better engine protection in terms of viscosity. smile.gif

zeng
post May 19 2015, 09:14 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 19 2015, 08:14 PM)
in modern engine oil, no.

please read first page, and or my UOA samples.
In the absence of further data from ELF, I would make reference to certain oils from Mobil fully synthetic range.

A typical operating viscosity of a 5W40 estimates at about 16.8 cSt against 5W30's typical operating viscosity of 13.1 cSt .

IIRC 5W40 probably offers higher HT/HS viscosity than 5W30.

Thus a 5W40 offers better engine protection than a 5W30 , in terms of viscosity. Other oil parameters such as additive type and

quantity etc being disregarded for this comparison. smile.gif

Note : HT/HS means High Temperature High Shear viscosity.
zeng
post May 20 2015, 12:21 AM

1,810 posts

https://mobiloil.com/en/motor-oils/mobil-1/mobil-1

HTHS Viscosity, mPa•s @ 150ºC (ASTM D4683) of various viscosity grades

Mobil 1 fully syn oil API SN :-

a) 5W-20 = 2.75 ;

b) 5W-30 = 3.10 ;

c) 10W-30 = 3.00 ;

d) 0W -40 = 3.80 ;

e) 5W-50 = 4.40 ; and

f) 15W-50 = 4.50

This post has been edited by zeng: May 20 2015, 12:24 AM
zeng
post May 20 2015, 06:50 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ May 20 2015, 02:14 AM)
I attach PetroCanada data sheet table for public reference here.
Do take note the high flash point and low pour point that most mainstream EO can't compete.

[attachmentid=4454338]
Thanks for sharing , chemistry101 . smile.gif

Yeah , these products offer generally better than 'normal' flash point and pour point.

Considering our minimum ambient temperature of about 24 degrees Celsius and a lousy pour point of a weak SF available locally of

minus 6 degree Celsius , I usually ignore an oil's pour point during selection for local use.

What's your take on this approach ? sweat.gif

zeng
post May 20 2015, 07:49 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(jeschong @ May 20 2015, 11:51 AM)
thanks a lot for the input
besides the 5w30 or 5w40, is ELF good as in additive etc?
ELF appears to not disclose its additive package , which is typical of most oil blenders.

Spec sheets of ELF Evolution Full Tech LSX 5W-40 indicates , among others , that it meets ACEA C3 / API SN / MB 229.51 and claims

to be low SAPs etc.

Its designed and is excellent for post-200x engines with emission after-treatment systems.

However, if your pre-2000 car engine comes with push rod/flat tappet lifter/rocker , I would personally avoid this type of low SAPs

engine oils in the context of valve train protections.

Hope it helps. smile.gif

http://catalog.elf.com/sites/elf/files/pro...0_022014_EN.pdf

zeng
post May 20 2015, 10:45 PM

1,810 posts

On relevance of engine oil HTHS viscosity values (ASTMD4683) to ALL everyday car drivers like you and me :

A) From ASTM website ,

ASTM D4683 - 13

Standard Test Method for Measuring Viscosity of New and Used Engine Oils at High Shear Rate and High Temperature by Tapered Bearing Simulator Viscometer at 150 °C

5.1 Viscosity values at the shear rate and temperature of this test method have been indicated to be related to the viscosity providing hydrodynamic lubrication in automotive and heavy duty engines in severe service.

5.2 The viscosities of engine oils under such high temperatures and shear rates are also related to their effects on fuel efficiency and the importance of high shear rate, high temperature viscosity has been addressed in a number of publications and presentations.

http://www.astm.org/Standards/D4683.htm

B).................So HTHS is related to any engines operating in Severe Service.

Heck , what has this 'engines operating in Severe Service' has got to do with you or me ?????????????????????

C)Your car engine is subjected to 'severe service' , if any one of the following parameters applies to you or me in our everyday driving such as , among others :

a)driving at less than 6 km per trip, then shut down engine;

b)multiple engine starts and multiple engine shut-downs in a day;

c)driving under cold weather/raining days;

d) Frequent idling for long periods of time, such as stop-and-go driving in
heavy traffic. Many vehicles are subjected to this condition twice a day
in commuting to major cities...... KL/PJ/JB/Penang/Singapore folks be warned !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

e)  Sustained highway driving in hot weather (sounds familiar ??), such as vacation travel.

f) Towing a boat or trailer, carrying heavy objects/loads on a rooftop rack/car boot.

g) Driving in dusty conditions, such as dirt or gravel roads. Kampung folks jaga jaga !!

h) Driving on steep hills or mountains on a regular basis. Kaki Genting ? Orang Pahang ?

http://www.aftermarketsuppliers.org/Counci...lish/94-1R1.pdf

HTHS viscosity values has everything to do with your everyday driving habit ................... and Nothing to do with motorsports , in a way.

Folks , wanna better protect your car engines durability , check with ASTM/API on HTHS and its importance to your everyday driving.
zeng
post May 22 2015, 06:57 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ May 21 2015, 02:48 PM)
TOTAL QUARTZ INEO MC3 is superb. Not sure how their mineral oils perform.
This MC3 claims low SAPs, SN and I don't know its phosphorous/SA/calcium contents for now. rclxub.gif

Thus , I would be hesitant to select this oil for a Kelisa Kenari. sweat.gif

I would look for SA about 1% or higher with SL or higher specs oils, including mineral oils. smile.gif

Btw, the Mobil M1 New Life mentioned here some days ago would fit this bill.

Note: I guess this Kelisa engine is flat tappet , correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by zeng: May 22 2015, 09:33 PM
zeng
post May 22 2015, 10:35 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(chemistry101 @ May 22 2015, 08:17 PM)
If the oil is SN-licensed, low saps is a must.
How low is it? Perhaps need to ask the HQ in France.
I can understand your points.

At similar value x % SA/phosphorous/sulfur content , A company says it's low SAPs whereas B company says it's mid SAPs. Now

which is which ?

I too am confused at times just like you. rclxub.gif

If you notice carefully , i wrote :

""This MC3 claims low SAPs, SN and I don't know its phosphorous/SA/calcium contents for now."" (Note: I apologise

for missing out the word know previously )

Can you see why I am hesitant to recommend this oil for Kelisa/Kenari ?? sweat.gif

Now,let's look at this Mobil 1 New Life 0W-40 quoted by Quazacolt having specs of SN, sulfated ash 1.3 % and phosphrous 0.1 %

This is the oil specs that I would be comfortable recommending for ck_boon's Kelisa/Kenari. smile.gif

zeng
post May 22 2015, 11:36 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 22 2015, 11:28 PM)
woah don't simply quote me, go query API directory yourself.
Pardon my england.

Correction :

""Now,let's look at this Mobil 1 New Life 0W-40 quoted by Quazacolt which is having specs of SN, sulfated ash 1.3 % and phosphrous 0.1 %''"

Any problem ? cry.gif
zeng
post May 23 2015, 01:34 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 23 2015, 12:13 AM)
You go query api directory yourself
I suspect you need to consult a lawyer/English teacher on the meaning of what I wrote at post # 659 and 661 , before you response

further about API thing !!!!!!! sweat.gif

What has this (what I wrote at post # 659 and 661) got to do with 'query API directory' thing ? rclxub.gif

zeng
post Jun 4 2015, 08:15 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(vanguard @ Jun 4 2015, 04:43 PM)
Listen, listen, listen.

Shell has a plant in Qatar called the Pearl Gas-to-Liquids facility. The only company in the world to begin large-scale production of base oils from natural gas.

Why Qatar?
They have more NG than crude; so there.

Whats a base oil?
All engine oil manufacturers start with a base oil from ExxonMobil. Why? Only Exxon has the scale to be able to supply base oil. So all the tiny  manufacturers buy base oil and then add additives to make their proprietary blend; i.e. Prince, StopOil, etc.
Base oils are made from derivatives of crude oil. Derivatives are cracked and recombined molecularly which is where the word 'synthetic' comes from; as the reconstituted oil bears almost no molecular relation to crude oil.

So Shell Pearl??
Shell is creating synthetic base oil from natural gas derivatives; which is a cleaner fossil fuel with much less contaminants as its a gas. The resultant reconstituted base oil has much lower foreign particles than synthetics from a crude base.

So....
A much cleaner oil than one derived from crude oil.
Forget about UOA. Shell's PurePlus (brand name) engine oils are like distilled vs mineral water. Mineral water tastes great; but distilled water has zero, and I mean zero, suspended solids. Mineral water has around 60-80 ppm solids (0.06-8 g/L) but there is a difference in taste right?

And then....
You just can't beat it; scientifically. PurePlus just launched last week by SHell Malaysia. Pennzoil is owned by Shell so they might bring it in soon. But in the mean time; nothing is gonna beat that stuff.

*I do not work for Shell; I just like scientifically solid arguments wink.gif

P.S Some facts that you might not have heard.
- Back in the day, Formula ONe's 12 teams, 11 supplied by ExxonMobil (even those with other oil companies as sponsor). Each team has a fuel engineer with a 10*12ft spectrometer which can tell the engineer who drove the car after each lap, based on oil analysis. The only company besides Mobil? Shell (you can guess the team).
- So what about F1? True cutting-edge auto tech cuts it teeth in F1. To put it simply, only Castrol, Shell, Exxon have the resources to be able to research their oils from the base oil upwards. Almost all other companies just buy off-the-shelf (Exxon) base oil to blend with additives. smile.gif
Synthetics of X % PAO/Esters >> Synthetics of X % gas-to-liquid base oil >> Synthetics of X % of conventional base oils , no ? blush.gif

Note: whereby X > 50

zeng
post Jun 28 2015, 11:12 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2015, 11:17 PM)
yes they do sell motul EO as well as amsoil biggrin.gif

well.

it gave me some hp (from dyno) and the revving is just damn smooth.
i still can't accept my engine having wear using (supposedly) among the best engine oil around lol.

then again, 0w20 with frequent track day usage.

feel free to look up the information (especially UOA, used oil analysis) i've posted on first page and decide yourself smile.gif
xW20 plus track/harsh usage (whether at local ambient temperature or otherwise) = increased engine components wear.

Engine oil technology of today cannot help , as yet.
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 05:00 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 28 2015, 08:37 PM)
personally, unless you're having extreme usages (eg: frequent track like sepang), i would stick with manufacturer recommendation which is typically 0w20 for a huge majority of modern day engines.

even Proton campros are on xw30 according to the owner manual which even Proton SC don't bother.

more over my circumstance is that the EO is not meant for longer OCI, which i still proceed with the standard 10k km since the car's still under SC care.
for that minor increased in wear, i don't think it's anything too serious (which the lab guys assured accordingly as well although they still recommended shorted OCI)

so tldr/personally, i would ignore what zeng said biggrin.gif
With this illogical logics , the whole automotive industries including component manufacturers , ACEA , API, JASO, ASTM, Universities , oil industries etc across the world are really dumbs of the highest degree , spending tens (or hundreds) of billions of USD (not RM), not one-off in a period but every single year in all the years to come on wear reduction........ sigh ...... rclxub.gif
zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 07:38 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(TkTunG @ Jun 28 2015, 12:59 PM)
Will xW-30 eo will do damage greater than xW-40 eo with normal usage? If compare Fs eo...
TkTunG,

Assuming every other parameters of engine oil being equal ,

Scenario A : operating oil temperature of 9x Celsius (say, at engine rpm 2x00 after more than 30 minutes);

Typical xW30 oil operating viscosity is about 11.x centistokes;

Typical xW40 oil operating viscosity is about 15.0 cSt ;

Scenario B : operating oil temperature of 11x Celsius (say, at engine rpm 4000-6500 on PLUS more than x hours of driving );

Typical xW30 oil operating viscosity is about 7.x cSt;

Typical xW40 oil operating viscosity is about 9.x cSt;

And tentatively referring to my incomplete research as below:-

a) minimum operating viscosity of engine oil pump of about 10-13 cSt;

b) minimum operating viscosity of plain bearings of about 7-10 cSt;

c) ignoring for now, valve train and piston ring/liner etc minimum viscosity requirements ,if any;

Under Scenario A at 9x Celsius operating , xW30 would be sufficient in terms of wear protection, and

Under Scenario B at 11x celsius operating , xW40 would be strongly recommended over xW30 in terms of wear protection and fuel economy , if any, is ignored.

Just my 2 sen. sweat.gif

zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 07:56 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 29 2015, 06:40 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
ya they are probably damn stupid to still go for xw20 or even xw16 direction.

i really hope you'd cease to be selective in information, assuming at almost anything and jumping at it on every chances you get and being overreacting at it.

if it were my younger days/my previous job where i had more spare time to humor you, i would gladly do so.
as it is today, sorry i just no longer had the luxury.
Driven by statutory/California CAFE requirements ? ................. or

Driven by wear reduction/ engineering requirements ?

Any wonder VW recommend xW40 , and not xW20 ??

zeng
post Jun 29 2015, 09:05 PM

1,810 posts

Engine Oils - Fuel Economy vs. Wear

Short answers :

--Auto manufacturers, on the other hand, are concerned about fuel economy. The manufacturer faces big fines if the fleet of cars it produces falls short of the Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) requirements imposed upon them by the federal government.

--Thinner oils are being used these days for three reasons: They save fuel in test engines( not necessarily in real life engines -- I quote), the viscosity rules have changed, and manufacturers are recommending thinner grades.

--The test oil’s fuel efficiency is compared to the fuel efficiency of a reference oil in the Sequence VI-B test. To pass, the test oil must improve fuel economy one to two percent, depending on viscosity grade. SAE 5W-20 must produce higher relative fuel efficiency than SAE 5W-30.

It is interesting to note that the reference oil is fully PAO synthetic SAE 5W-30. To qualify for the GF-3 Starburst, ordinary mineral oils had to beat the fuel economy of the full synthetic reference oil. (It seems there is more to fuel economy than a magic base oil.)

--The auto manufacturers now recommend thinner oils for their vehicles than in the past. Years ago, SAE 10W-40 was the most commonly recommended viscosity grade, later migrating to SAE 10W-30. SAE 5W-30 is most popular now, but Ford and Honda recommend SAE 5W-20. It is likely that more widespread adoption of SAE 5W-20 and other thin oils may occur to help comply with CAFE requirements.

--Thinner oils have less drag, and therefore less friction and wear. Right? Perhaps in the test engine or engines that experience normal operation. But somewhat thicker oils may offer more protection for more severe operations such as driving through mountains, pulling a boat, dusty conditions, short trips, high rpm, overloading, overheating and overcooling.

--Ford is bumping up against its CAFE requirements and recommends SAE 5W-20 oil for most of its engines in the United States. It claims SAE 5W-20 is optimal for fuel efficiency and wear.

To determine if SAE 5W-20 oils provide the same level of protection as SAE 5W-30 oils, Dagenham Motors in England, one of the largest Ford dealers in Europe, was consulted. SAE 5W-30 is required for warranty purposes in England, and SAE 5W-20 is not even available. If SAE 5W-20 were better for both fuel economy and wear, why would Ford not recommend it for its same engines in Europe?

--As wear increases, the efficiency of an engine declines. Valve train wear slightly changes valve timing and movement. Ring and liner wear affect compression. The wear hurts fuel efficiency and power output by an imperceptible amount at first, but then the difference in fuel economy between an SAE 10W-30 and SAE 5W-20 is hardly noticeable. Efficiency continues to decline as wear progresses. Perhaps optimizing wear protection is the way to reduce fuel consumption over the life of the engine.

--Every fluid is a compromise. Oils recommended by the auto manufacturers seem to compromise protection from wear under severe conditions to gain fuel economy and catalyst durability. It is important to recognize that to use a product that offers more protection from wear will most likely compromise your warranty. Thicker oils also compromise cold temperature flow, which may be of concern depending upon climate and season.

The best protection against wear is probably a product that is a little thicker (such as SAE 10W-30 or 15W-40) and has more antiwear additives than the oils that support the warranty. The best oil for your vehicle depends on your driving habits, the age of your engine and the climate you drive in, but it is not necessarily the type of oil specified in the owner’s manual or stamped on the dipstick.

Long answer is : http://www.machinerylubrication.com/Read/518/motor-oils

This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 29 2015, 10:01 PM

0.1420sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:45 AM