So a TBN of 7.8 is low? But too many factors to consider as I read through all those technicals.
Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids
![]() |
156 posts Joined: Jan 2008 ![]() ![]() |
So a TBN of 7.8 is low? But too many factors to consider as I read through all those technicals.
![]() |
475 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: from da land of dori dori ![]() ![]() |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 10 2014, 05:36 AM) My usual workshop mechanic reckon should try w-50 for bettertop end & can reduced lifter noise..not sure about fc part might be worsen or better... QUOTE(efaceninja @ Aug 10 2014, 08:53 AM) why you want to change to xw-50 oil? is it because want extra protection? or.. you expect that it will give quieter noise? or.. the foreman keep asking you to take xw-50? Heard some owner of 4G93, engine will get better top end power band & lifter noise reduced also..Btw, I saw tesco offered RM139 for Mobil1 5w-50..tempting get 1 ![]() |
![]() |
5,114 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia ![]() ![]() |
QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Aug 10 2014, 11:18 AM) well API SN specified within 6.1-8so 7.8 is just right. also depends on how you drive as well and what OCI you're practicing. QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 10 2014, 02:38 PM) My usual workshop mechanic reckon should try w-50 for better try different brand/model of lubes, not thicker viscosity.top end & can reduced lifter noise..not sure about fc part might be worsen or better... |
![]() |
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 ![]() |
QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 10 2014, 02:46 AM) All the while been using 10w40, 0w40 since I'd got my car. Try Penrite 5W40 HPR or their premium range. Confirm will reduce lifter noise. Don't know how it does it.Engine feedback respond is quite positive since my car engine is 4G93..as you know this engine valve lifter prone to noisy & loud due to different EO grade used. |
![]() |
141 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Cloud 🌨🌥🎈☁🌩✈ ![]() ![]() |
Thanks for the interesting info
![]() Btw, i came across these 2 today. ![]() ![]() Seems cheap. whats the normal price btw? Any owners have any feedback using them on a 4B11 and 1NZ-FE? which is the better of the 2? |
![]() |
172 posts Joined: Nov 2004 ![]() ![]() |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 7 2014, 01:02 PM) I've got 4 cans of 300V on the way to service my Evo and a bottle of Penrite 10Tenths for flush with Liquimoly flushing fluid. Only because I've neglected to service the car for a bit due to being onsite and my housemates driving it around for a bit. 300v 15w50 for your 4B11T?Also doing the 1500km break in service for my BMW. But this time with strong fluid that resists crankcase dilution because the N54 and N55 are very famous engines for utterly destroying even the toughest engine oils due to the ultra high pressure direct injection it uses. This might be a tough one to figure out. For a good 60k kms, I was happy with TorqNM's VM155 15w50 until my friend decided to close his business. Currently running on Synergie 6100 15w50 and not really happy with it. |
![]() |
QUOTE(WinterAngeLs @ Aug 11 2014, 03:22 PM) Thanks for the interesting info no comments on the 1NZ-FE engine as i'm not worthy.![]() Btw, i came across these 2 today. Seems cheap. whats the normal price btw? Any owners have any feedback using them on a 4B11 and 1NZ-FE? which is the better of the 2? for 4B1x, i'd prefer to go xw20 strictly. however if you're ok on xw40, consider this instead thanks to nzh0920 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=69341868 ori price is rm230-240ish. That's the last natural gas pureplus base stock collaborated with Pennzoil. |
![]() |
QUOTE(phobian @ Aug 11 2014, 09:37 PM) 300v 15w50 for your 4B11T? he ran with xw20 on regular roads and xw30 for hard tracking usage iinmFor a good 60k kms, I was happy with TorqNM's VM155 15w50 until my friend decided to close his business. Currently running on Synergie 6100 15w50 and not really happy with it. |
![]() |
475 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: from da land of dori dori ![]() ![]() |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 10 2014, 07:26 PM) How about 30 viscosity? Thinner & lighter?QUOTE(izso @ Aug 11 2014, 11:20 AM) Try Penrite 5W40 HPR or their premium range. Confirm will reduce lifter noise. Don't know how it does it. Thanks for suggesting bro 😊managed bought Mitsubishi Fully Syn 5w-40 from Aeon today RM119 costed slightly more than those forumer selling here.. This post has been edited by Klemann C: Aug 11 2014, 11:21 PM |
![]() |
QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 11 2014, 11:19 PM) assuming the original specification was xw40, sure why not.although even 4g15 was ORIGINALLY specified to be xw30 from Mitsubishi Service manual i dug up some time ago. Proton called xw50 ![]() considering you mentioned Mitsubishi engine... who knows eh lol |
![]() |
156 posts Joined: Jan 2008 ![]() ![]() |
xw-20, I wanna try it long ago for its lighter properties. Just don't know which one therefore have been using 5W-40 all the way. For K20Z2 by the way.
![]() |
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory ![]() |
QUOTE(phobian @ Aug 11 2014, 09:37 PM) 300v 15w50 for your 4B11T? That's 20 weight higher than what Mitsubishi recommends. Unless you're driving Le Mans 24hrs or some form of endurance racing with elevated temperatures with a requirement to maintain very stable oil pressures, that's too heavy and you'll never get the temps high enough for the oil to pass through the squirters and journals at the right rate. For a good 60k kms, I was happy with TorqNM's VM155 15w50 until my friend decided to close his business. Currently running on Synergie 6100 15w50 and not really happy with it. Essentially if you don't drive it hard enough, an oil at that weight will wear your engine faster. Also being a MPFI engine, you won't have problems with dilution, which means your oil weight more or less stays the same. 15W is quite thick upon start up and thus unless there a strong ester or metal "clingy" additive, you will experience more wear upon start up as Mitsubishi recommends a maximum of 5W all year round for summer conditions with 0w for winter. |
![]() |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 12 2014, 06:46 AM) That's 20 weight higher than what Mitsubishi recommends. Unless you're driving Le Mans 24hrs or some form of endurance racing with elevated temperatures with a requirement to maintain very stable oil pressures, that's too heavy and you'll never get the temps high enough for the oil to pass through the squirters and journals at the right rate. and there you have it!Essentially if you don't drive it hard enough, an oil at that weight will wear your engine faster. Also being a MPFI engine, you won't have problems with dilution, which means your oil weight more or less stays the same. 15W is quite thick upon start up and thus unless there a strong ester or metal "clingy" additive, you will experience more wear upon start up as Mitsubishi recommends a maximum of 5W all year round for summer conditions with 0w for winter. ps: AFAIK proton recommends 10w40 for the inspira so... ![]() |
![]() |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 12 2014, 11:18 AM) That's within the range of Mistubishi's recommendation but 10W is as thick as you'd go upon startup if you want acceptable engine wear. That's I usually don't go any higher than 5W. 40 weight is quite heavy but still within the 10+- rule of thumb I use. But going 50 is outside that rule and thus the oil would have a seriously hard time squeezing past those journals and tiny oil passages. Anyways ordering 8 litres of Motul DCTF now. Nearly 200 dollars or 600 ringgit. Need to service the Getrag DCT in the car as well. Filter oso mahal. |
![]() |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 12 2014, 11:54 AM) That's within the range of Mistubishi's recommendation but 10W is as thick as you'd go upon startup if you want acceptable engine wear. That's I usually don't go any higher than 5W. 40 weight is quite heavy but still within the 10+- rule of thumb I use. 4B11T maybe, 4B10/4B11 recommended is 0w20 and it's +20 heavier.But going 50 is outside that rule and thus the oil would have a seriously hard time squeezing past those journals and tiny oil passages. Anyways ordering 8 litres of Motul DCTF now. Nearly 200 dollars or 600 ringgit. Need to service the Getrag DCT in the car as well. Filter oso mahal. it's a NA econ box afterall ![]() hmm 8 liters for rm600 (75/l, somemore things at Australia seems a lot more expensive in comparison) doesn't seem all too bad. i'm paying like rm50/liter for Motul's ATF 1A seem like the way to go if i'm letting go of lubegard platinum additive. That, and my favorite Caltex ATF-J price hike ![]() |
![]() |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 12 2014, 11:59 AM) 4B11T maybe, 4B10/4B11 recommended is 0w20 and it's +20 heavier. I think that's the new recommendation but it isn't due to a technical concern, it is because Mitsubishi had to satisfy the CAFE (Corporate Average Fuel Economy) for most of its cars sold and a lighter oil helps it do that. Proton doesn't need to satisfy CAFE laws in the US. it's a NA econ box afterall ![]() hmm 8 liters for rm600 (75/l, somemore things at Australia seems a lot more expensive in comparison) doesn't seem all too bad. i'm paying like rm50/liter for Motul's ATF 1A seem like the way to go if i'm letting go of lubegard platinum additive. That, and my favorite Caltex ATF-J price hike ![]() The Evos don't have a renewed recommendation because CAFE is sales weighted. Meaning the cars that sell the most are the most affected. Thus I'd try both 0W-30 and 0W-20 and get UOA analysis done on them to determine which is best for what. As you have no turbo to contend with, but your clearances might be more/less due to many factors as the 4B11T uses Mahle's forged hypereutectic pistons in a 2618 alloy. But being within the range you can't go wrong. I usually buy all my DCT lube from the US or Europe. Too mahal here. Motul DCTF is nearly double that price I buy local. If I buy Mitsubishi DiaQueen SSTF-1 (rebranded Castrol Transmax Dual), it is 500 dollars for 8 litres from Mitsubishi. |
![]() |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 12 2014, 12:13 PM) I think that's the new recommendation but it isn't due to a technical concern, it is because Mitsubishi had to satisfy the CAFE (Corporate Average Fuel Economy) for most of its cars sold and a lighter oil helps it do that. Proton doesn't need to satisfy CAFE laws in the US. aye that's pretty much my reasoning on sticking with the lightest viscosity within Mitsubishi's range.The Evos don't have a renewed recommendation because CAFE is sales weighted. Meaning the cars that sell the most are the most affected. Thus I'd try both 0W-30 and 0W-20 and get UOA analysis done on them to determine which is best for what. As you have no turbo to contend with, but your clearances might be more/less due to many factors as the 4B11T uses Mahle's forged hypereutectic pistons in a 2618 alloy. But being within the range you can't go wrong. I usually buy all my DCT lube from the US or Europe. Too mahal here. Motul DCTF is nearly double that price I buy local. If I buy Mitsubishi DiaQueen SSTF-1 (rebranded Castrol Transmax Dual), it is 500 dollars for 8 litres from Mitsubishi. My UOA did show a bit high wear despite the additives, but hey who knows if they are the ones causing trouble instead? lol then again the lab guys weren't concern about the wear i'm experience due to the engine being very new and i do trash it very hard. btw once i can confirm on some figures i'll post my latest dyno... it's as you said, the ecu seriously did richen itself insanely despite the richest value on the remapped is 12.8 AFR OBD already shows commanded AFR being 11.5-12 so it definitely due air filter stuck or air starvation... i actually double checked the drop in box to confirm there's no dead rat sitting in there ![]() ah that pricing is not from AUD? then yea it is rather pricey, though being in the limited DCT market, i guess it cant be helped ![]() |
![]() |
172 posts Joined: Nov 2004 ![]() ![]() |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 12 2014, 12:13 PM) I usually buy all my DCT lube from the US or Europe. Too mahal here. Motul DCTF is nearly double that price I buy local. If I buy Mitsubishi DiaQueen SSTF-1 (rebranded Castrol Transmax Dual), it is 500 dollars for 8 litres from Mitsubishi. Cheam@C&R Autocare Glenmarie carries Motul DCTF. Cant recall the exact price, but was told its lesser than RM100 if I recall correctly. If my 20L pack of HKS cannot reach in time, its either Motul DCTF or Millers. Well noted and thanks for the heads up on Mitsubishi's recommended grade of engine oil. |
![]() |
QUOTE(phobian @ Aug 12 2014, 03:51 PM) Cheam@C&R Autocare Glenmarie carries Motul DCTF. Cant recall the exact price, but was told its lesser than RM100 if I recall correctly. If my 20L pack of HKS cannot reach in time, its either Motul DCTF or Millers. btw glad you happen to stumble across this thread also, hopefully i get to see you in action personally during Sepang Well noted and thanks for the heads up on Mitsubishi's recommended grade of engine oil. ![]() bro empire23 is in Australia i believe and his Evo X is now a supermarket car ![]() do give it a go with lower viscosities; You've been missing out a LOT on your 4B11T man ![]() heck i'm a lowly 4B10 and i've been really happy on it's rev happy nature with 0w20 EO's since day 1 ![]() |
![]() |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 12 2014, 12:19 PM) aye that's pretty much my reasoning on sticking with the lightest viscosity within Mitsubishi's range. You'll have high wear for your first UOA and it progressively gets lower as everything fits in. As for your tuning I'd suggest sitting down with a WBO2 sensor and tuning up everything after a few pulls. My UOA did show a bit high wear despite the additives, but hey who knows if they are the ones causing trouble instead? lol then again the lab guys weren't concern about the wear i'm experience due to the engine being very new and i do trash it very hard. btw once i can confirm on some figures i'll post my latest dyno... it's as you said, the ecu seriously did richen itself insanely despite the richest value on the remapped is 12.8 AFR OBD already shows commanded AFR being 11.5-12 so it definitely due air filter stuck or air starvation... i actually double checked the drop in box to confirm there's no dead rat sitting in there ![]() ah that pricing is not from AUD? then yea it is rather pricey, though being in the limited DCT market, i guess it cant be helped ![]() If you're going rich, I'd check the knock value and see if it is the ECU compensating for knock. Also check your ignition time. I believe that investing in a Tactrix OpenPort 2.0 cable for logging while you do your WOT pulls might be a wise investment. QUOTE(phobian @ Aug 12 2014, 03:51 PM) Cheam@C&R Autocare Glenmarie carries Motul DCTF. Cant recall the exact price, but was told its lesser than RM100 if I recall correctly. If my 20L pack of HKS cannot reach in time, its either Motul DCTF or Millers. Motul DCTF is about 25 dollars a bottle over the internet, I'll buy it and it'll probably be here once I get back from site. Hopefully. The filter isn't too hard to find as there's an equivalent Ford part number for it. Well noted and thanks for the heads up on Mitsubishi's recommended grade of engine oil. I just cleaned the Evo today and wiped all the leather down with cleaner and conditioner, Kyrtoxed all the rubber seals and essentially left it in top condition. If I come back in 3 weeks and the car is dirty, somebody's gonna get hurt real bad. |
Change to: | ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Time is now: 1st October 2023 - 04:43 AM |