Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

wkc5657
post Mar 15 2017, 10:54 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 15 2017, 01:00 AM)
Maybe you can experiment by using the palm oil into your engine then tell us the result?  brows.gif
QUOTE(lowya @ Mar 15 2017, 08:05 AM)
Nice attached article, and i applaud your daring-ness to experiment with palm oil in your drive rclxms.gif

What I can conclude from the research paper is that you can use palm oil ONLY as a last resort. Why i said so is because the research paper wasn't done on an extended use basis, more like a 1 point test kind of research focusing mainly on emissions. There's no data regarding wear rates of component. I have not found any data how palm oil turns out under real high temperature and high pressure conditions during extended driving.

As i commented earlier, palm oil has no additives which gives traditional engine oils the resilience to withstand the daily grind. The vitamins (acting as anti oxidants) in palm oil won't be able to last long. And also, palm oil is inherently hygroscopic, meaning it attracts moisture. Moisture in the crankcase is bad as it can form acids from the sulfurs in combustion residual. Acids are really bad for the bearings and corrosion causes more wear.

If fill with palm oil, make sure the engine isn't driven in traffic jams or lots of stop/start condition, as the engine oil temperature cannot go high enough to evaporate the moisture content in the engine oil. If i remember correctly, 100km of driving equates to almost 1L of water byproduct from combustion.

This post has been edited by wkc5657: Mar 15 2017, 10:56 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Mar 15 2017, 01:44 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Mar 15 2017, 08:05 AM)
Did you use palm oil in your own engine?

And for shit and giggles, any UOA done? laugh.gif
wkc5657
post Mar 16 2017, 09:46 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 15 2017, 01:44 PM)

And for shit and giggles,  any UOA done?  laugh.gif
Wa...this statement/question quite intimidating sia..... sweat.gif
myteam94
post Mar 22 2017, 07:31 PM

438 posts

Noob Q here

What happen when driving a stick and jump gear during upshift (i.e: from 2nd gear to 4th gear)
Same goes to downshift
What will happen?

TSQuazacolt
post Mar 22 2017, 07:52 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Mar 22 2017, 07:31 PM)
Noob Q here

What happen when driving a stick and jump gear during upshift (i.e: from 2nd gear to 4th gear)
Same goes to downshift
What will happen?
If your synchronizers allow, nothing happens.
chemistry
post Mar 22 2017, 10:04 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Mar 22 2017, 07:31 PM)
Noob Q here

Same goes to downshift
What will happen?
I used to shift from 1st gear to 3rd gear on a declining slope. Nothing wrong.
myteam94
post Mar 22 2017, 11:22 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 22 2017, 10:04 PM)
I used to shift from 1st gear to 3rd gear on a declining slope. Nothing wrong.
what about upshift?
chemistry
post Mar 23 2017, 09:51 AM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Mar 22 2017, 11:22 PM)
what about upshift?
Go up slope you mean? Same case, you can downshift from 4th to 2nd, from which to which gear, dependent on situation, choose the right gear.
OKLY
post Mar 24 2017, 01:31 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Shell Helix Ultra with PurePlus 5w40
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40
Total Quartz Ineo MC3 5w40

Any thoughts guys? Shell is the cheapest but would it be better to top up a little more for the Mobil?
herojack41
post Mar 24 2017, 01:35 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:31 PM)
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40

Any thoughts guys? Shell is the cheapest but would it be better to top up a little more for the Mobil?
hmm.gif u should list out the price u got for all this 3 to justify worth or not

they are basically the same in that range.

currently using mobil 1 new life 0w40 and got it on tesco with rm169

and recently i have seen it drop till rm149 and shell helix ultra as low as rm139
OKLY
post Mar 24 2017, 01:40 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Mar 24 2017, 01:35 PM)
hmm.gif u should list out the price u got for all this 3 to justify worth or not

they are basically the same in that range.

currently using mobil 1 new life 0w40 and got it on tesco with rm169

and recently i have seen it drop till rm149 and shell helix ultra as low as rm139
Shell Helix Ultra with PurePlus 5w40 = RM135
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40 = RM185
Total Quartz Ineo MC3 5w40 = RM170
herojack41
post Mar 24 2017, 01:48 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:40 PM)
quite a big difference in pricing

nid expert explanation laugh.gif

but then...shell rm135 is dirt cheap
al_madd
post Mar 24 2017, 02:20 PM

1,382 posts

Anyone here used castrol edge fully syn?

Any review?
6UE5T
post Mar 25 2017, 01:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:31 PM)
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:40 PM)
That Shell is on big promo while the other 2 not so much. Wait until better promo for the other 2 then buy those instead. Mobil 1 was down to around rm 160-170 a few weeks ago (lowest was below rm150 but long time back). Total can be below rm150 if on big promo.
ktek
post Mar 25 2017, 09:40 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

enjin give chain noise during vvt operation 4000rpm.
i should put better lube will help ma?
do flush?

odo 140000km
ayamxxx
post Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM

4,058 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2017, 09:40 AM)
enjin give chain noise during vvt operation 4000rpm.
i should put better lube will help ma?
do flush?

odo 140000km
Please dont do flush. Go to better engine oil. Fully Synthetic 5w-40 or 5w-30 will be good.

Ur car?
ktek
post Mar 27 2017, 01:15 AM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM)
Please dont do flush. Go to better engine oil. Fully Synthetic 5w-40 or 5w-30 will be good.

Ur car?
inova early type
Thrust
post Mar 27 2017, 11:19 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

I've been using Honda Genuine Engine Oil 0W30 fully synthetic (PAO blend). Recently I had to change it at only 7,500 km @ roughly about 6 months as the oil on the dip stick seems to have thicken and has a little bit of foaming.

I drive my car on a daily basis in city traffic and normally get stuck in traffic jams for 1 hour +.

If I were to push the oil to 10,000 km, it may not be good for the engine.
Hexane
post Mar 27 2017, 11:45 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Mar 27 2017, 11:19 AM)
I've been using Honda Genuine Engine Oil 0W30 fully synthetic (PAO blend). Recently I had to change it at only 7,500 km @ roughly about 6 months as the oil on the dip stick seems to have thicken and has a little bit of foaming.

I drive my car on a daily basis in city traffic and normally get stuck in traffic jams for 1 hour +.

If I were to push the oil to 10,000 km, it may not be good for the engine.
From what I practice, its okay to push till that. But also consider your idling times. If you're caught in traffic most of the time, maybe changing at 9,000km is better.

I use Honda Genuine SN 0W-20 and 0W-30 also. Some of those in Honda Insight LYN Group even push up till 11,000km but I think a 10,000km guideline is best.

But as you said, if its already thick and foaming, maybe better to change. Just my 2 cents.
Thrust
post Mar 27 2017, 11:59 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(Hexane @ Mar 27 2017, 11:45 AM)
From what I practice, its okay to push till that. But also consider your idling times. If you're caught in traffic most of the time, maybe changing at 9,000km is better.

I use Honda Genuine SN 0W-20 and 0W-30 also. Some of those in Honda Insight LYN Group even push up till 11,000km but I think a 10,000km guideline is best.

But as you said, if its already thick and foaming, maybe better to change. Just my 2 cents.
Though the odometer indicated 7,500 used mileage, the engine oil actually covered more than that as most of the time I'm stuck in traffic jam.

296 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:51 PM