Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

herojack41
post Nov 5 2016, 12:17 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 4 2016, 09:58 PM)
Tbh ,  I didn't  feel  any  increase  in  power  after  switching  to  15w40 from  20w50  ..  The  car  is  still  vibrating  during  cold  start up....
damn brah.....what car you driving? tractor or wad? 15W40 and 20W50 shakehead.gif shakehead.gif why that thick ?

20W in cold start.......u sedang cari pasal with engine kah laugh.gif
herojack41
post Nov 5 2016, 12:21 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Cyril @ Oct 31 2016, 10:43 PM)
I just bought Grantt Stellar 8000 5w40 fully synthetic @ RM 100 only

Any comments for this brand?

So far I know UMW replace OEM oil from Pennzoil to this one.
saw this @ newspaper

UMW promoting it. not sure whos the OEM of this...maybe some sifu will know

5W40 @ rm100 cheap....can use biggrin.gif

even shell helix ultra with pureplus during promotion is about rm139~rm149 depending on varies hypermarket

This post has been edited by herojack41: Nov 5 2016, 12:22 AM
herojack41
post Nov 5 2016, 12:41 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Nov 5 2016, 12:28 AM)
Old  Proton  saga ,  have  been  using  20w50  for  a long  time..  Now  changed  to  15w40,  but  didn't  feel  the  difference ...  But  of gt  improved,  power  delivery  still  the  same...
sign of new car? laugh.gif

herojack41
post Mar 24 2017, 01:35 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:31 PM)
Shell Helix Ultra with PurePlus 5w40
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40
Total Quartz Ineo MC3 5w40

Any thoughts guys? Shell is the cheapest but would it be better to top up a little more for the Mobil?
hmm.gif u should list out the price u got for all this 3 to justify worth or not

they are basically the same in that range.

currently using mobil 1 new life 0w40 and got it on tesco with rm169

and recently i have seen it drop till rm149 and shell helix ultra as low as rm139
herojack41
post Mar 24 2017, 01:48 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Mar 24 2017, 01:40 PM)
Shell Helix Ultra with PurePlus 5w40 = RM135
Mobil 1 Advance 0w40 = RM185
Total Quartz Ineo MC3 5w40 = RM170
quite a big difference in pricing

nid expert explanation laugh.gif

but then...shell rm135 is dirt cheap
herojack41
post Apr 8 2017, 12:29 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2017, 09:40 AM)
enjin give chain noise during vvt operation 4000rpm.
i should put better lube will help ma?
do flush?

odo 140000km
engine giving out chain noise? hmm.gif

get your mech check it out

i dont think it had anything to do with the lube

160k km here and i believe u got the first batch too

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 26 2017, 11:00 PM)
Please dont do flush. Go to better engine oil. Fully Synthetic 5w-40 or 5w-30 will be good.

Ur car?
as i know the first batch is rated for 40 weight oil
herojack41
post Aug 19 2017, 02:46 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Aug 19 2017, 11:26 AM)
Using shell helix 15w-40 hx5

Shell rrp is 96.30, but i saw lazada some selling at 68+/-

Fake oil or shell earning big? Lol.
Using on wira (overhauled 2016)
Monthly mileage 200-300 only mixed city drive.
what i recall was any lubricants that are selling in malaysia with winter rating is dirt cheap. the 15w-40 should be way cheaper than rm96.30 outside of shell RRP
herojack41
post Aug 19 2017, 06:50 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Gamerjim @ Aug 19 2017, 04:20 PM)
I thought every engine oil has winter rating? Every oil also dirt cheap?
I call 0W as no winter rating. For myself

Cooking oil also dirt cheap rm22 for 5L
herojack41
post Dec 27 2017, 11:23 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

Wonder if any1 here got the chance to try out mobil1 annual protection series laugh.gif
herojack41
post Dec 28 2017, 01:31 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 28 2017, 11:20 AM)
Recent EE video? Lol
he reminded me of this video, when some1 actually going to do the "real world test".

Actually way be4 the video from EE, i already eager to try it out....but then this is malaysia whereby we can never or late getting good stuff.

herojack41
post Nov 17 2018, 01:32 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Nov 14 2018, 12:41 PM)
Dear sifu, I just did a major service on tyt SC (200k km)
Previous 3 years was on Synthium 800 10w-40.

Now the Toyota SC I opt for semi 5w-30, their in house EO. they don't have 10w 40

After this is it ok to back with 800 10w-40? For better overall performance and protection for the engine (1NZ-FE)?

So, I get back to pet page, they have a new EO under synthium 800 too which is 5w-30. Actually to my understanding, the W have nothing to do with our country, and the number at the back 40 is thinker than 30 in optimum temperature. Shall I cont with 5w-30 or go to 10w 40 like before?

And anyone used SynGuard by BHP? hows their performance?
And I confuse on their line up too, they have synguard 6000 and 6000 ECO, cant find any diff between them...
old engine with 200k km mileage.

personally, i'll suggest u stick with 40 weight oil.

lighter oil might sip out and u will experience EO burn.

0.0273sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:55 PM