296 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

izso
post Oct 27 2015, 08:02 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(cipher3344 @ Oct 26 2015, 09:35 PM)
however, it seem like alot foreman say those ARE
Old oil (mfg 2013-14),
heavy oil (xW40),
maybe fake oil (not from local distributor),
API SM (newest is SN),
etc

any suggestion to hamtam balik...>.<
This has been discussed way too many times.

Think logically - if such a big supermarket chain was caught selling fake oils and someone sued the company, let's say Exxonmobil sued the supermarket brand for selling fake Mobil1, you think Te5co would have a chance? Worlds 2nd largest company that is cash rich suing a supermarket chain supposedly distributing 'fake' Mobil1 world wide, the damage to Te5co would be huge both financially and reputation wise.

These large supermarket chains get their oils from their European counterparts. How do I know? I work for Exxonmobil. Local distributors are quite annoyed that Te5co and all can sell the oils so cheap but if you look at the local packaging it's different and apparently so is the additive package in the oil. So it's up to you to choose Euro blend or Asia blend Mobil1 when buying.

Heavy oil? xW40 is one of the most widely used viscosities in the whole world. It's only just recently (in the last 5 to 10 years) that cars started focusing a lot on efficiency and tighter tolerances that's why you start seeing xW30 and xW20 oils as a base requirement for cars. Don't compare with countries that require the low viscosity to run optimally la, I'm talking about in general.

SM and SN isn't that big a deal breaker. Look at what Quazacolt has shared in the thread (I think the first page).

Old oil is a possibility. I don't know the Te5co purchasing cycle but since they ship their oils from Europe, it's minimally at least 6 months to 1 year old once it's in the stores locally.

dstl1128
post Oct 27 2015, 09:50 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 27 2015, 02:58 AM)
1. no, there is no claim that ester cannot be mixed with conventional mineral oil/group 3 or 4 oils.
otherwise you would have to deal with issues switching to/from ester based oils as you cannot possibly fully drain your engine less you decide to rebuild/de-grease it entirely.

2. you're replying to someone driving a proton, why would he need BMW or Mercedes Benz approvals? let's not get over our heads on manufacturer approvals. and hell, if you want to go with manufacturer, stick to your own car's approvals, and that's API for Proton cars.
1. Ok. Motul 300v used to have big bold 'note' in their pdf tech sheet not to mix.
2. API SN varies across. I'm no oil guy but AFAIK, API SN but formulated for DPF users I believe won't be that suitable for Campro.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Neo-Runner
post Oct 27 2015, 02:37 PM

25 posts

Anyone here heard about Moty's Oil? New Player in the market it seems.

And is it ok to mix viscosity? eg, 5-40 and 5-30
TSQuazacolt
post Oct 28 2015, 12:56 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Oct 27 2015, 09:50 AM)
1. Ok. Motul 300v used to have big bold 'note' in their pdf tech sheet not to mix.
2. API SN varies across. I'm no oil guy but AFAIK, API SN but formulated for DPF users I believe won't be that suitable for Campro.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
1) actually, almost all EO products have note(s) to not mix their oils.
its generally manufacturer's concerns that mixing oils would dilute/reduce the quality of their oils/additives.

if you're concerned about that as well, simple - don't mix.

2) no, DPF is for diesel and that's on API C instead of S specification.
ACEA on the other hand would have more concerns with DPF since there are more diesel passenger vehicles/sedans compared to elsewhere.

that said, even IF it is formulated for DPF, what makes you think it's not suitable for campro? lacking additives/anti wear? do also take note that API SN have pretty strict wear level tests so if wear is compromised in favour of DPF (or generally, cat-con), then it wouldn't pass the wear tests anyways.
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2015, 10:35 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Oct 27 2015, 08:02 AM)
This has been discussed way too many times.

Think logically - if such a big supermarket chain was caught selling fake oils and someone sued the company, let's say Exxonmobil sued the supermarket brand for selling fake Mobil1, you think Te5co would have a chance? Worlds 2nd largest company that is cash rich suing a supermarket chain supposedly distributing 'fake' Mobil1 world wide, the damage to Te5co would be huge both financially and reputation wise.

These large supermarket chains get their oils from their European counterparts. How do I know? I work for Exxonmobil. Local distributors are quite annoyed that Te5co and all can sell the oils so cheap but if you look at the local packaging it's different and apparently so is the additive package in the oil. So it's up to you to choose Euro blend or Asia blend Mobil1 when buying.

Heavy oil? xW40 is one of the most widely used viscosities in the whole world. It's only just recently (in the last 5 to 10 years) that cars started focusing a lot on efficiency and tighter tolerances that's why you start seeing xW30 and xW20 oils as a base requirement for cars. Don't compare with countries that require the low viscosity to run optimally la, I'm talking about in general.

SM and SN isn't that big a deal breaker. Look at what Quazacolt has shared in the thread (I think the first page).

Old oil is a possibility. I don't know the Te5co purchasing cycle but since they ship their oils from Europe, it's minimally at least 6 months to 1 year old once it's in the stores locally.
This forum is lucky to have someone like you who is also still kind enough to keep explaining as well. thumbup.gif
izso
post Oct 29 2015, 08:16 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 28 2015, 10:35 PM)
This forum is lucky to have someone like you who is also still kind enough to keep explaining as well.  thumbup.gif
It's only a matter of time before I become a troll....
TSQuazacolt
post Oct 29 2015, 08:19 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Oct 29 2015, 08:16 AM)
It's only a matter of time before I become a troll....
sad.gif
Post-Je-Ape-Ape
post Oct 30 2015, 01:14 AM

221 posts

Among these, which would you choose!?

Tesco ready stock
-MOBIL1 0-40
-CASTROL EDGE 5-40

Others
-REDLINE 0-40
-AMSOIL SIGNATURE SERIES 0-40

izso
post Oct 30 2015, 07:29 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Post-Je-Ape-Ape @ Oct 30 2015, 01:14 AM)
Among these, which would you choose!?

Tesco ready stock
-MOBIL1 0-40
-CASTROL EDGE 5-40

Others
-REDLINE 0-40
-AMSOIL SIGNATURE SERIES 0-40
If you're just choosing between the four, this is my pick in this specific order :

1. Amsoil Signature
2. Castrol Edge
3. Mobil 1
4. Redline

Post-Je-Ape-Ape
post Oct 30 2015, 03:28 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Oct 30 2015, 07:29 AM)
If you're just choosing between the four, this is my pick in this specific order :

1. Amsoil Signature
2. Castrol Edge
3. Mobil 1
4. Redline
Woah is the Amsoil really that good..? What do you run though..?
tekoo
post Oct 30 2015, 05:40 PM

176 posts

Currently engine running Pennzoil 15w50 extreme mineral (mechanic chged it during last service, usually running Petronas mach 5)...but unsure whether engine eating oil or leaking, it's down to minimum level.
can i top up with petronas mach 5 15w40...? I happened to have one spare.

waja 4g18 engine.
Klemann C
post Oct 31 2015, 04:26 PM

481 posts

Hi guys,

Between this 2, which 1 is better?

1) Repsol Elite Evolution 5w-40 5L RM159
2) Elf Evolution 900SXR 5w-40 5L RM159
3) Shell Helix Ultra Fully 5w-40 4L RM139
izso
post Nov 2 2015, 08:36 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Post-Je-Ape-Ape @ Oct 30 2015, 03:28 PM)
Woah is the Amsoil really that good..? What do you run though..?
It's good la. But how good it is , really it depends on preference. My Wira ran quite well on Amsoil but was quite rough with Mobil 1 Gold. My current Nissan runs very rough with Prince but runs great with Penrite. Right now I'm running on Penrite HPR for all my cars.

QUOTE(tekoo @ Oct 30 2015, 05:40 PM)
Currently engine running Pennzoil 15w50 extreme mineral (mechanic chged it during last service, usually running Petronas mach 5)...but unsure whether engine eating oil or leaking, it's down to minimum level.
can i top up with petronas mach 5 15w40...? I happened to have one spare.

waja 4g18 engine.
Can la. Not gonna kill you if you go with 15W40. Your engine is probably leaking somewhere anyway. Better than running zero oil.

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Oct 31 2015, 04:26 PM)
Hi guys,

Between this 2, which 1 is better?

1) Repsol Elite Evolution 5w-40 5L RM159
2) Elf Evolution 900SXR 5w-40 5L RM159
3) Shell Helix Ultra Fully 5w-40 4L RM139
My preference would be (Mind you.. personal preference)

1) Shell Helix
2) Elf Evo
3) Repsol

I've used all except the Elite Evo Repsol. I've used the formulate elite or whatever you call it from Repsol, the semi. Wasn't too happy in my Wira. Broke down pretty fast. But just a note, my Wira wasn't stock so the requirements for the car probably was a little more demanding than a stock wira. So perhaps I probably shouldn't have used a semi.

Where did you get your oils from at that price?
TSQuazacolt
post Nov 2 2015, 11:29 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Nov 2 2015, 08:36 AM)
giant was selling the shell helix ultra with pureplus (that natural gas thing lol) for 139, recently tesco followed suite and offering for 139 as well biggrin.gif

i didnt buy from tesco since stocked up 3 bottles *4 liters from giant previously.
this time bought 2 bottles of Repsol moto 4T Racing full synthetic xw40 for my future bike as it's on offer (rm40 instead of 60) as well laugh.gif
Klemann C
post Nov 2 2015, 01:52 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Nov 2 2015, 08:36 AM)
It's good la. But how good it is , really it depends on preference. My Wira ran quite well on Amsoil but was quite rough with Mobil 1 Gold. My current Nissan runs very rough with Prince but runs great with Penrite. Right now I'm running on Penrite HPR for all my cars.
Can la. Not gonna kill you if you go with 15W40. Your engine is probably leaking somewhere anyway. Better than running zero oil.
My preference would be (Mind you.. personal preference)

1) Shell Helix
2) Elf Evo
3) Repsol

I've used all except the Elite Evo Repsol. I've used the formulate elite or whatever you call it from Repsol, the semi. Wasn't too happy in my Wira. Broke down pretty fast. But just a note, my Wira wasn't stock so the requirements for the car probably was a little more demanding than a stock wira. So perhaps I probably shouldn't have used a semi.

Bro Izso,
Thanks for your point of view.
My car is on Mobil 1 Semi Syn 10w-40 now...but there's no promotion for it now.

I prefer Mobil 1 fully syn as I'd used Mobil 1 new life before my car engine runs smoother any other fully syn eo.

Btw, those price from Tesco Puchong outlet (near IOI there).
The price was last Saturday & Sunday.
max_cjs0101
post Nov 2 2015, 02:06 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Shell Helix Ultra that good ah?
The thing now is even if i bring my own engine oil to the shop, the mechanic will charge me RM15 as service charge. sad.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Nov 2 2015, 02:15 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Nov 2 2015, 02:06 PM)
Shell Helix Ultra that good ah?
The thing now is even if i bring my own engine oil to the shop, the mechanic will charge me RM15 as service charge. sad.gif
it's only "good" because it's among the cheaper/(est) reputable full synthetic smile.gif

and yea, oil change these days min also in the 10-15, typically 20ish already, not including your own oil/oil filter.
max_cjs0101
post Nov 2 2015, 03:41 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 2 2015, 02:15 PM)
it's only "good" because it's among the cheaper/(est) reputable full synthetic smile.gif

and yea, oil change these days min also in the 10-15, typically 20ish already, not including your own oil/oil filter.
If i can get it at RM135, i guess its good price but only if i can find that price/close la.
I think you guys said Castrol Magnatec isnt that good as they claim, right?
Btw, whenever im in supermarkets i always see what engine oil they have and i seldom see xW30 oils except for Perodua 3L bottles. Super hard to get these even from those spare parts shops (at a decent price). shakehead.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Nov 2 2015, 04:17 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Nov 2 2015, 03:41 PM)
If i can get it at RM135, i guess its good price but only if i can find that price/close la.
I think you guys said Castrol Magnatec isnt that good as they claim, right?
Btw, whenever im in supermarkets i always see what engine oil they have and i seldom see xW30 oils except for Perodua 3L bottles. Super hard to get these even from those spare parts shops (at a decent price). shakehead.gif
139, tesco (or giant)
no comment on castrol as i never used.

xw40 is the most common viscosity, and Malaysians have a certain phobia with low viscosity.
if they dont buy it, you sell for what? lose money?
max_cjs0101
post Nov 2 2015, 08:34 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

I saw Shell Helix Ultra promotion in Aeon Big for RM159 and Mobil 3000 Fully Syn 5L for RM149.

296 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.1609sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:10 AM