125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

yok70
post Aug 13 2014, 02:12 AM

12,698 posts

Do you guys put screen protector on your camera's LCD screen? What brand and who to buy it? Or you are using the same as smartphone and go to Pasar malam to stick it?
edpaul
post Aug 13 2014, 04:01 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Aug 13 2014, 01:09 AM)
hey there guys.. is the sel1018 worth the money? or the sel16f28 with UWA converter will come close to it in terms of IQ.. want to justify the significant price gap between them.. huhu
the SEL1018 F4 is a VERY sharp lens. (was very surprised with the result i tested on A6000)

16F2.8 is average sharp lens, like a kitlens sharpness

16F2.8 UWA adapter... terrible iq (no idea why)

16F2.8 FE adapter.... nice and sharp and fun to play with.

surely the price for the 16F2.8(2nd hand) with UWA adapter(new) can easily get for less then 1k compare to the 1018 cost nearly 3k for new. but the 1018 will worth every cent you spend. spending 3k will give u 3k value of sharpness.
yok70
post Aug 13 2014, 04:02 AM

12,698 posts

Anyone used this Sony Semi-Hard LCD Screen Protector for A7 series camera? How's your experience of it? Thanks!
d4rkholeang3l
post Aug 13 2014, 11:39 AM

1,373 posts

Time to feel hungry tongue.gif

Grilled Pork Belly Ramen with Fried Quail Egg by Ray Ng Photography, on Flickr

This post has been edited by d4rkholeang3l: Aug 13 2014, 11:39 AM
gin&tonic
post Aug 13 2014, 01:41 PM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Aug 13 2014, 11:39 AM)
Nice & sharp. rclxms.gif
danielcmugen
post Aug 13 2014, 05:29 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 13 2014, 02:12 AM)
Do you guys put screen protector on your camera's LCD screen? What brand and who to buy it? Or you are using the same as smartphone and go to Pasar malam to stick it?
Ya i simply buy from camrra shop and stick to it. Rm10.
awiekupo
post Aug 13 2014, 06:50 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

Any cropping involve? Mine sharing yr cam setup & lens used for this shot?

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Aug 13 2014, 11:39 AM)
nixonyang
post Aug 13 2014, 07:26 PM

757 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Aug 13 2014, 05:29 PM)
Ya i simply buy from camrra shop and stick to it. Rm10.
got mine 'free'. just cut the screen protector that comes with your phone casing for free. works also

ChinWY
post Aug 13 2014, 07:35 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Aug 13 2014, 06:09 AM)
hey there guys.. is the sel1018 worth the money? or the sel16f28 with UWA converter will come close to it in terms of IQ.. want to justify the significant price gap between them.. huhu
I have both.. started with sel16 with both adapters. In the end find it quite a pain to keep on swapping.. Also the Adapters front element cannot be protected by any filters from getting finger marks. scratch or bumps. Quite a pain if you are in a hurry to change lens.

Got the 1018 in the end and it solve all my problem. Image quality is also a lot better. You will also get a stright horizon but to be fair, the Fish eye adapter is a bit wider coverage. Some people like the curve effect.

I started early on the NEX so 1018 did not exist then and my NEX 5N came with it as 2nd lens.

The only advantage you will have is the sel16 is extremely compact and lite even with adapter.. Not an issue to me but to some it is!

user posted imageaDSC00173 by chin_w_y, on Flickr

SEL16 with Fish Eye.. this type of effect you cannot get on the 1018 but also note the soft edges.

user posted imageaDSC04271bx by chin_w_y, on Flickr

SEL1018 note the straight horizon and much sharper picture esp at the edges.
awiekupo
post Aug 13 2014, 08:10 PM

1,481 posts

nice shot bos..

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 13 2014, 07:35 PM)
I have both.. started with sel16 with both adapters. In the end find it quite a pain to keep on swapping.. Also the Adapters front element cannot be protected by any filters from getting finger marks. scratch or bumps.  Quite a pain if you are in a hurry to change lens. 

Got the 1018 in the end and it solve all my problem.  Image quality is also a lot better.  You will also get a stright horizon but to be fair, the Fish eye adapter is a bit wider coverage.  Some people like the curve effect. 

I started early on the NEX so 1018 did not exist then and my NEX 5N came with it as 2nd lens.

The only advantage you will have is the sel16 is extremely compact and lite even with adapter.. Not an issue to me but to some it is! 

SEL16 with Fish Eye.. this type of effect you cannot get on the 1018 but also note the soft edges.

user posted imageaDSC04271bx by chin_w_y, on Flickr

SEL1018  note the straight horizon and much sharper picture esp at the edges.
vincentlee90
post Aug 13 2014, 08:58 PM

Alpha E-mount user
723 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 13 2014, 07:35 PM)

the corner softness really horrible sad.gif
ChinWY
post Aug 13 2014, 09:26 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Aug 14 2014, 01:58 AM)
the corner softness really horrible sad.gif
for the fish eye it is quite bad - very soft. Sharpening helps a bit.. I have not tested it on the A6000 yet.. gave the lens away.. will borrow it again and test out.. one day..

For the ultra wide it is excellent and no issues. Seems to work well together.

this one is taken with the UW filter add on.. It allow me to get real close for street shooting without having to worry too much about framing and people getting too highly distorted at the edge..

user posted imageaDSC07863b by chin_w_y, on Flickr

and this one the same combination too.

user posted imageaDSC07587b by chin_w_y, on Flickr
d4rkholeang3l
post Aug 13 2014, 09:27 PM

1,373 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 13 2014, 06:50 PM)
Any cropping involve? Mine sharing yr cam setup & lens used for this shot?
EXIF is attached on the Flickr page. rclxms.gif
awiekupo
post Aug 13 2014, 09:45 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Aug 13 2014, 09:27 PM)
EXIF is attached on the Flickr page.  rclxms.gif
aiyak.. forgot ady,, tx boss.. wink.gif
lwliam
post Aug 14 2014, 11:56 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

NEX 3 (the original grand daddy of NEX) with fisheye...

22Jul2014_0888 copy by william leong, on Flickr

Sony NEX-3
E 16mm F2.8
ƒ/10.0 16.0 mm 1/30 200

22Jul2014_0846 copy by william leong, on Flickr

Sony NEX-3
E 16mm F2.8
ƒ/10.0 16.0 mm 1/100 200

22Jul2014_0832 copy by william leong, on Flickr

Sony NEX-3
E 16mm F2.8
ƒ/5.0 16.0 mm 1/30 1250

This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 14 2014, 12:01 PM
lwliam
post Aug 14 2014, 12:08 PM

6,075 posts

Also see how it exaggerates the foreground subjects, and if used cleverly, there will be no curved horizon.

20120115_0115 by william leong, on Flickr

Sony NEX-3
E 16mm F2.8
ƒ/10.0 16.0 mm 1/40 200

This post has been edited by lwliam: Aug 14 2014, 12:10 PM
nk3371
post Aug 14 2014, 12:34 PM

4 only ah?
536 posts

Waaaaa~ Just when I'm about to sell my SEL16F28 everyone racun with the fisheye adapter pulak..! cry.gif

Wanna ask a bit.

SEL35F18 vs SEL50F18.
Which one is better in terms of IQ?
Main concern is overall sharpness and purple fringing.

My first thought, 35mm is better for me as it's more compact and shorter focal length.
Yes it is a bit pricey compare to the 50mm, but the gap is not that big.

But if the 50mm's IQ is better overall, I'll go for the 50.

Your helps much appreciated.
Thank you. notworthy.gif
lwliam
post Aug 14 2014, 02:25 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Aug 14 2014, 12:34 PM)
Waaaaa~ Just when I'm about to sell my SEL16F28 everyone racun with the fisheye adapter pulak..! cry.gif

Wanna ask a bit.

SEL35F18 vs SEL50F18.

My first thought, 35mm is better for me as it's more compact and shorter focal length.

Thank you. notworthy.gif
I'd advice you to choose base on the focal length instead of sharpness. See which focal length you would prefer first, it plays a more important role.
yok70
post Aug 14 2014, 02:37 PM

12,698 posts

Wanna ask a bit.

SEL35F18 vs SEL50F18.

Thank you. notworthy.gif
I read more good reviews on the 50 than the 35.
I also agree sharpness is not the most important consideration. But the IQ also highly depending on color rendering, contrast etc. That's what they called "Zeiss look" or "Leica look", the "pop up color" they called it. smile.gif
uraki
post Aug 14 2014, 03:15 PM

182 posts

Wanna ask a bit.

SEL35F18 vs SEL50F18.

Thank you. notworthy.gif
Why not consider buying SEL50F18 (RM799, Sony promo) and Sigma E-Mount Art series 30mm f/2.8 DN (around RM550) instead?
Tapao both still cheaper than buying SEL35F18 (RM 1499) alone.

I have SEL50F18 and Sigma 30mm f2.8 EX DN (not art series), both is really good. thumbup.gif

1. SEL50F18
Kentaro by gsuraki, on Flickr

2. Sigma 30mm f2.8 EX DN
Super GT 2013 Race Queens by gsuraki, on Flickr

125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:49 PM