6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V19, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

AVFAN
post Sep 13 2014, 07:29 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Sep 13 2014, 07:25 PM)
I don't access China sites.

I am a banana.  tongue.gif
ok, thanks, we now know! biggrin.gif

btw, i was banana but no more. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 14 2014, 12:34 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Sep 13 2014, 11:07 PM)
Just installed unifi VIP10 today. Speedtest site shows 10mbps so its all good on that front. However I got some issues:

1. Certain images from certain sites take a long time to load. Two places I know this happens are the Google play app (when you go into an app and the screenshots take a long time to load) and according to my bro, Instagram as well.

2. Quite often notifications on my smartphone don't show. For example I had load the Whatsapp app before I saw that there had been multiple messages. This never happened to me when I was on the old Streamyx 1mbps.

3. Downloads from uploaded.net are no where near 10mbps. They vary from 200kB to 500kB per second. Although this may be UL's problem and not unifi.

Are the issues above common? Any solutions?
unifi had been acting weird last two days, unstable. it's acting up again while I m typing here, internittenly lagging on the keyboard. think some of the peculiarities u just faced are abnormal, do not happen normally.

as for those downloads, VIP 10 gets u max 1mbps only, unifi speed cap alto no gb cap. Vip5 max 0.5mbps. if the seeds or links r weak, u get a fraction of that.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 14 2014, 12:48 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2014, 11:19 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(woeijian @ Sep 15 2014, 10:19 AM)
Guys! i try to called UNIFI CS, there an information regard slow connection browsing China website and they are now rectifiying the issue.
i called them for another problem, my modem died, need them to replace.
had to call 3 times, waited long time before they answer.
dont know how long they will take to come.
looks like they r bombarded by many complaints...

not just china sites...where I m now using public unifi wifi, lyn display is also weird, keyboard lags just the same way as home unifi.
that tells me something screwed up in more than one place...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 15 2014, 11:37 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2014, 01:52 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 15 2014, 11:19 AM)
i called them for another problem, my modem died, need them to replace.
had to call 3 times, waited long time before they answer.
dont know how long they will take to come.

just to update...

my dead modem (3 yrs old) was replaced by unifi technician within 24 hrs of report. kudos!

zero charge as under life warranty, new modem basically just plug n play.

the new modem is bulky, twice the size of the old alcatel one.

everything good, except.... access to some china sites are still either dead or limited... sad.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2014, 02:37 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Sep 15 2014, 02:10 PM)
they need do some setting on modem before it can connect to internet
yes, saw he keyed in something with his laptop, probably a password. That's all.
modem is unifi property, sure they keep it secure.
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2014, 02:40 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Sep 15 2014, 02:18 PM)
Can you share with us what is the make/model of the new modem that TM supplied as replacement?

I got the Huawei HG8240w with the Innatech RG4332 wireless router with my VIP5 installation about a month ago.
new modem Alcatel-Lucent I240GT, made in china.
AVFAN
post Sep 16 2014, 12:22 AM

24,454 posts

this china sites problem, do we hv confirmation maxis fiber, time fiber n streamyx has no such problem?

there is speculation that unifi "cut back bandwidth" (whatever that means) for china sites since 12 sep.

it hope it is not true but due to a true technical problem they r addressing. but how come after 4 days, there is no official news or notice from them?

if they don't fix this problem soon, many unifi customers will soon dump unifi n change to others that work.
AVFAN
post Sep 16 2014, 08:10 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(harrie @ Sep 16 2014, 12:40 AM)
this is what i get from other ppl complaint.
Thank you for contacting TM UniFi. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the late reply.
Referring to your e-mail dated 1st June 2013 pertaining on Unifi connection issue to china website,  we apologize for any inconvenience that you are facing currently. Currently we observed increase in traffic flow towards China sites. This might be due to:
- booming of popular games server and content  provider in China
- increasing demand of bandwidth hungry application ie: video/music streaming, iptv, online gaming, p2p
- huge demand of China based traffic for biz purposes
This will result in customers experiencing some degree of service degradation while accessing contents hosted in the China, such as slow internet speed during surfing, downloading, streaming and online gaming. However, traffic to other countries is not affected.
However, please be informed that we will continuously improve our network to deliver the best experience to our customer and not only to china, but to the other destination as well. At the meantime, we really appreciate your kind patience, as we will try our best effort to resolve this problem. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
For further assistance or feedback, kindly e-mail us at unifi@tm.com.my . Alternatively, you can also contact TM UniFi at 1300-88-1221 for "Technical Customer Support" and “General enquiry and Billing”.
We look forward to serving you better.
Regards,
Razana Othman
TM UniFi Centre / Email Team
(Sales)  : 1 300 88 1222 Mon-Fri (9am – 9pm) , Sat (10am-6pm)
(Customer Support) : 1 300 88 1221  (24x7)
E-Mail: unifi@tm.com.my
this response is not encouraging. looks like they had no vision of what happened and currently have no contingency plans to deal with it fast. i read it more as justifying the degradation; take it or leave it.

apparently this is not the first time, happened june 2013. same email response:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2833533/all
post#62-64.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 16 2014, 09:18 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2014, 10:03 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 17 2014, 09:15 AM)
#TMAlerts 1/2 we are experiencing some degradation of data traffic to and from the US due to a fault on the AAG submarine cable system.

#TMAlerts 2/2 repairs are underway to repair a fault on the AAG submarine cable system. We will share updates as they become available

https://twitter.com/TMCorp
think they hv on standby all these messages!

in fact, if u call unifi, there is a standard message something has failed somewhere, experiencing difficulty, etc.

where I'm, it has been not too bad for the last few days. other than slow on iPad sometimes, everything still works. except connection to china sites still no improvement. this doesn't look likely to be resolved anytime soon... real bad news to heavy users of those sites.

AVFAN
post Sep 17 2014, 02:38 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(jssl @ Sep 17 2014, 01:59 PM)
Cheri's Permaisuri received this after make complaint:

RM0.00:Msg frm TM: We regret to inform you that there is a service disruption in your area. Expected recovery on 14/10/2014 07:33 PM. TQ for yr patience.
1 bloody MONTH.... RIP Unifi

Can we all get them to rebate our bill since they fail to provide service?
yes, u can get refund pro-rata for days of no service.
as long as u make the report with right dates of no service.
more so if they already said there is disruption.
call billing dept to make such refund request/report.
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2014, 07:21 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Sep 17 2014, 06:56 PM)
i am using VPN now, works fine with VPN, don't know why.

Quite fast
ya, we know vpn works. it cost money to buy stable reliable vpn.

after a week, no news, no reaction, no commitment from unifi.

implying... they want customers to pay more for vpn's when they r already paying high price for that speed? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 17 2014, 07:22 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 18 2014, 11:42 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(STEVE75 @ Sep 17 2014, 09:00 PM)
I think browsing to China websites are back to normal now. Stream media on China based website also very smooth.
yes!

at the time of yr post, signs of recovery but was limited.

now, it's almost back to normal.
AVFAN
post Sep 19 2014, 02:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ongbenghooi @ Sep 19 2014, 01:43 PM)
If already is VIP10 (RM199), how to change to VIP10 + Megapack (RM199)?
if still on 2 yr contract, unlikely any chance.
if contract over, check my story:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2918894/+880
post#884
AVFAN
post Sep 19 2014, 05:06 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(audiocool @ Sep 19 2014, 04:56 PM)
I'm still in contract VIP10 RM179. A few ago, call unifi center to get Mega pack.. so now have to pay RM199 and contract start all over again.
tq for confirmation.

lends support to something i suspected:

.. vip10 rm179 (some rm169) no pack, only lousy channels -> get mega/sports pack, sign new contract rm199
.. vip10 rm199 with mega or sports pack for all new users, upgraders from vip5 at end of contract
.. existing vip10 rm199 no contract (like me) -> can't get price rm179 or 169 w/o pack
.. existing vip10 rm199, no contract -> call, complain, yell, scream, get mega/sports after 2 months

welcome to the world of "first users get f'ed" n "never ask, never get". laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 19 2014, 05:37 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 19 2014, 10:22 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Sep 19 2014, 09:43 PM)
if your contract expired they will offer you the same as the offers. if not right away let them know u will downgrade/cancel. straight away they have retention pricing for you.
they did not offer me upon expiry.
and i did not threaten to cancel as i did not know they practice that.

so, if a product on discount had label dropped off, it is ok to charge normal price, knowing it is a discounted product?
this is where the biz ethics come in - it says something about unifi's biz code of ethics, imo.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 19 2014, 10:24 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 20 2014, 03:40 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 20 2014, 02:52 PM)
anyone using Astro On The Go? the buffering crap drive me nuts, this is night time. one hour drama became two hour drama
i hv not used aotg on my android since worldcup, just tried a few...

laggy... all hd channels turn up poor, worse than sd.

on the other hand, hypptv everywhere is good, hd channels come up good, of course not as good as with hypptv stb.

think astro has more work to do than unifi when it comes to mobile apps.
AVFAN
post Sep 20 2014, 03:47 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Sep 20 2014, 01:37 PM)
Anyone getting terribly slow speeds when downloading through filesharing sites like Uploaded? Sometimes when this happens I restart the modem and router the speeds are back to normal. So I'm wondering if this is due to the undersea cable or just TM trying to throttle.
unifi is not back to normal... cable thingy...

but by n large, still ok.

i do not know uploaded... what speed were u getting before vip10?

think u mentioned in a previous post u get up to 800kbps? that's pretty good, as i could get max 1mbps on utorrent only.

i may be wrong here, so i asked the question, u may try to check there too:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry70446090

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 20 2014, 03:50 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 20 2014, 05:24 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(bananc @ Sep 20 2014, 05:05 PM)
Hi all,

I installed unifi on 25 Aug. Just received the bill from TM.
Billed me partial for 25/8 till 15/9.
And 1 month prepaid for 16/9 till 15/10.
Is it normal for TM to charge 1 month upfront?
yes.
AVFAN
post Sep 20 2014, 05:30 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Sep 20 2014, 03:55 PM)
I have a premium uploaded account, and if I have 3 or 4 simultaneous downloads I can hit 10Mbps. If I download a single file then it varies... sometimes 200KBps to 10Mbps, average probably about 500KBps. I don't know if this is due to Unifi or UL's servers being slow.

But sometimes even if I have 4 downloads, the total speed I get is like 50KBps... that's when I restart the modem and then the speeds are back to normal.
tq for info. premium/clubs/vpn... ok, i get it.

it may not be unifi as i hv obtained full test speed, full torrent speed, plus, full china sites streaming like i used to hv as always.

then again, it may also be that unifi has some way to throttle/block certain things on their list as and when required like this cable thingy now??

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 20 2014, 05:31 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 20 2014, 06:16 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 20 2014, 06:08 PM)
HyppTV any good content? My HyppTV = ntv7.
hehe... if u have no pack, that's all u get - tv1-9 plus some others i personally dun care.

but... megapack = ruby pack (chinese) + platinum pack (english) is decent. mostly old asian/chinese movies and post season english shows. still, the hd channels are of 480/720 video quality, using the stb.

my stb was in the drawer for 3 yrs as i had no pack. when i got the free megapack finally, i put it to good use. in my mind, megapack+androidtv (incl xbmc) well cover my needs, dun miss astro at all.

come to hypptv thread! biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2918894/+880

sorry... should stick to unifi issues... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 20 2014, 06:21 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:30 PM