230 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Jun 29 2017, 02:47 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Jun 29 2017, 12:05 PM)
Appreciated all the input, but she's really into all these 'branded' stuffs, like bags, clothing, heels etc etc. I was thinking this is the one and only time to buy a diamond ring anyway, so don't really mind the price.

But if those ready made rings, where is the best place to get one? Habib? Tomei? Just considering my options....
Where got ladies don't like branded stuff one bro? Especially handbags. But bro, when it comes to diamonds, the ladies like it BIG! The bigger the merrier that kind.

Imagine this lahh and tell yourself which scenario is more preferable.

Scenario 1:

Girlfie: My boyfie got me a diamond engagement ring!
Friend: Congrats wohh, what size the diamond?
Girlfie: It is a 0.3 carat from Tiffany & Co.
Friend: _________

Scenario 2:

Girlfie: It is a 0.8 carat Super Ideal, and he designed the setting himself lehh!

I left the friend's respond blank for better imagination.
duckevo
post Jun 29 2017, 03:25 PM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 29 2017, 02:47 PM)
Where got ladies don't like branded stuff one bro? Especially handbags. But bro, when it comes to diamonds, the ladies like it BIG! The bigger the merrier that kind.

Imagine this lahh and tell yourself which scenario is more preferable.

Scenario 1:

Girlfie: It is a 0.3 carat from Tiffany & Co.

Scenario 2:
Girlfie: It is a 0.8 carat Super Ideal, and he designed the setting himself lehh!

I left the friend's respond blank for better imagination.
hands & legs up for scenario 2..... thumbsup.gif

i educated my soon to be waifu on diamond specs instead of goin for branded diamonds.... brows.gif

and self-designed setting have much more sentimental value and she will value it more since it's your own design thought & heart... nothing beats it even the branded diamond can't matched it... rclxms.gif
bb100
post Jun 29 2017, 06:40 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Jun 29 2017, 03:25 PM)
hands & legs up for scenario 2.....  :thumbsup:

i educated my soon to be waifu on diamond specs instead of goin for branded diamonds....  brows.gif

and self-designed setting have much more sentimental value and she will value it more since it's your own design thought & heart... nothing beats it even the branded diamond can't matched it...  rclxms.gif
Long time no hear from you bro. If I am not wrong, you also started with enquiries on T&Co, Cartier, all this branded stuff right? Glad you made the wiser choice bro. I am sure your soon-to-be waifu loves her engagement ring!

rclxms.gif
duckevo
post Jun 29 2017, 07:57 PM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 29 2017, 06:40 PM)
Long time no hear from you bro. If I am not wrong, you also started with enquiries on T&Co, Cartier, all this branded stuff right? Glad you made the wiser choice bro. I am sure your soon-to-be waifu loves her engagement ring!

rclxms.gif
been busy with the wedding preparation.... rclxub.gif

no la... started with survey at wah chan b4 proceed with other outlets... whistling.gif

only went to T&Co & Degem to cuci mata only...... doh.gif
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 01:34 AM

540 posts

hello folks - so i went ring hunting yesterday, went to a few shops (goldheart, My Diamond, Diamond & Gold, Wa Chan, Diamond & Platinum), and learnt a few things, but 1 thing I cannot understand is why Wa Chan's diamonds are 20-30% cheaper than the others at least, the only difference is wa chan don't carry specific brands (supplier), where their diamonds are just GIA certified. other shops have brands like hemera, lumiere, etc

was hoping if anybody can shed some light on this and help this poor soul out? what should I be looking out for, apart from the 4C & GIA certs.

regards

cuttlefish
post Jun 30 2017, 09:24 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 29 2017, 01:36 PM)
Wah Chan is a good place to start. But it probably lacks the glamour. Unless your other half appreciate all the GIA/AGS cert and 4Cs stuff.
hi
thought of asking u this since you are affiliated to WhiteFlash
how would you compare pricing between JannPaul Super Ideal Cut and WhiteFlash A Cut Above?
I mean, based on your experience, will not hold it against u
icon_rolleyes.gif
kambingkoh
post Jun 30 2017, 10:11 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jun 30 2017, 01:34 AM)
hello folks - so i went ring hunting yesterday, went to a few shops (goldheart, My Diamond, Diamond & Gold, Wa Chan, Diamond & Platinum), and learnt a few things, but 1 thing I cannot understand is why Wa Chan's diamonds are 20-30% cheaper than the others at least, the only difference is wa chan don't carry specific brands (supplier), where their diamonds are just GIA certified. other shops have brands like hemera, lumiere, etc

was hoping if anybody can shed some light on this and help this poor soul out? what should I be looking out for, apart from the 4C & GIA certs.

regards
The most important thing to look at are the proportions of the diamond:
http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot...lliant.html?m=1

Brands do come with a premium for the brand name. Wa Chan diamonds are "just" GIA" certified. Hence, no premium is imposed on any brand because there is none.

Certain brands are cut to different number of facets, like Hemera's 101 facets. These are called modified round brilliants, while traditional well-recognized round brilliants are cut to 57 facets (58 facets if include culet). Modified rounnd brilliants with more facets will make the diamond seems to have more scinitillation, but the sparkles that give out are smaller because total number of light return is the same, but now the light needs to be shared with more "windows"/facets, making each sparkle smaller, while when the same amount of light returns on a traditional round brilliant has lesser "windows"/facets, so the sparkle will be bolder. Whichever is better is up to each individual's preference. But one thing for sure there is a premium on the brand name and usually this cut are propietiary to the brand itself, hence I will still prefer the traditional round brilliant, which is proven with the test of time and easier to learn more about it on the internet.

Lumiere is a traditional 57 facets round brilliant. Their main selling point is Hearts & Arrows, which is also known as Super Ideal. This brand comes with a premium as well. Other Hearts & Arrows brands include Diamond & Platinum's Estrella, Love & Co's LoveMarque, and another famous brand carried by Habib known as Hearts on Fire. Beware that there is a possibility that not all diamonds within some of these brands may actually be Super Ideals. Some may be sub-par standard. Hence, it is important if the seller can show you the actual proof via image, but unfortunately, not many will do that. However, it seems that LoveMarque will show you the certificate with Hearts & Arrows image, so probably you can check them out.

For price comparison, I would highly recommend you to visit Whiteflash and Brian Gavin Diamonds from USA. Then you will see whether the above brands are overcharged. They carry another reputable certs known as AGS, which is comparable to GIA. If you need help with either brands, please let me know as I am affiliated to them. You can also refer to my blog for my experience with Whiteflash.

Now, don't underestimate GIA or AGS, they are an independent party that evaluates a diamond. In fact, it is better to have this than just a brand name.

That's all i have to share for now. Feel free to let me know if you other questions.
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 10:34 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 30 2017, 10:11 AM)
The most important thing to look at are the proportions of the diamond:
http://myengagementringexperience.blogspot...lliant.html?m=1

Brands do come with a premium for the brand name. Wa Chan diamonds are "just" GIA" certified. Hence, no premium is imposed on any brand because there is none.

Certain brands are cut to different number of facets, like Hemera's 101 facets. These are called modified round brilliants, while traditional well-recognized round brilliants are cut to 57 facets (58 facets if include culet). Modified rounnd brilliants with more facets will make the diamond seems to have more scinitillation, but the sparkles that give out are smaller because total number of light return is the same, but now the light needs to be shared with more "windows"/facets, making each sparkle smaller, while when the same amount of light returns on a traditional round brilliant has lesser "windows"/facets, so the sparkle will be bolder. Whichever is better is up to each individual's preference. But one thing for sure there is a premium on the brand name and usually this cut are propietiary to the brand itself, hence I will still prefer the traditional round brilliant, which is proven with the test of time and easier to learn more about it on the internet.

Lumiere is a traditional 57 facets round brilliant. Their main selling point is Hearts & Arrows, which is also known as Super Ideal. This brand comes with a premium as well. Other Hearts & Arrows brands include Diamond & Platinum's Estrella, Love & Co's LoveMarque, and another famous brand carried by Habib known as Hearts on Fire. Beware that there is a possibility that not all diamonds within some of these brands may actually be Super Ideals. Some may be sub-par standard. Hence, it is important if the seller can show you the actual proof via image, but unfortunately, not many will do that. However, it seems that LoveMarque will show you the certificate with Hearts & Arrows image, so probably you can check them out.

For price comparison, I would highly recommend you to visit Whiteflash and Brian Gavin Diamonds from USA. Then you will see whether the above brands are overcharged. They carry another reputable certs known as AGS, which is comparable to GIA. If you need help with either brands, please let me know as I am affiliated to them. You can also refer to my blog for my experience with Whiteflash.

Now, don't underestimate GIA or AGS, they are an independent party that evaluates a diamond. In fact, it is better to have this than just a brand name.

That's all i have to share for now. Feel free to let me know if you other questions.
thank you for this post sir - where can i see the whiteflash & brian gavin diamonds in KL area? I intend to continue my hunt tomorrow (saturday), and would love to drop by if possible.
bb100
post Jun 30 2017, 10:42 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jun 30 2017, 10:34 AM)
thank you for this post sir - where can i see the whiteflash & brian gavin diamonds in KL area? I intend to continue my hunt tomorrow (saturday), and would love to drop by if possible.
Whiteflash, Brian Gavin and James Allen for that matter are online diamond retailers. No shop in KL.
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 11:16 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 30 2017, 10:42 AM)
Whiteflash, Brian Gavin and James Allen for that matter are online diamond retailers. No shop in KL.
oic, thanks mate
bb100
post Jun 30 2017, 11:29 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jun 30 2017, 11:16 AM)
oic, thanks mate
You might wanna check out private jewellers in KL.
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 11:41 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 30 2017, 11:29 AM)
You might wanna check out private jewellers in KL.
mind pointing me in that direction?
bb100
post Jun 30 2017, 03:37 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jun 30 2017, 11:41 AM)
Eumayco.
Tailored Jewel.
Audrey's.

That's all I know. Sifu kambingkoh might know more.

This post has been edited by bb100: Jun 30 2017, 03:40 PM
cuttlefish
post Jun 30 2017, 06:25 PM

493 posts

This looks awesome

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-3851559.htm

drool.gif
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 08:45 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 30 2017, 03:37 PM)
Eumayco.
Tailored Jewel.
Audrey's.

That's all I know. Sifu kambingkoh might know more.
great! thanks much
kambingkoh
post Jun 30 2017, 08:46 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Jun 30 2017, 06:25 PM)
buy buy buy
cuttlefish
post Jun 30 2017, 08:57 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 30 2017, 08:46 PM)
buy buy buy
what do u think about the diamond? perfect?
or possible reliability issue, need further inspection?

JannPaul seems to charge at a more premium rate than white flash
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
kambingkoh
post Jun 30 2017, 08:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jun 30 2017, 11:41 AM)
iDo Jewellery
Zcova
Caca Gems
Frou Frou

But I still prefer online because of the valuable information provided by the images. Of course you can engage them and ask them to provide GIA cert number for your reference, then you can let us know what is thr number and we can provide some feedback to you. Although this is just based on numbers/proportions of the diamond, but at least it can tell you whether the proportions are good enough. It is safer to buy diamonds with good proportions than diamonds with bad proportions.
matrixation
post Jun 30 2017, 09:08 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jun 30 2017, 08:58 PM)
iDo Jewellery
Zcova
Caca Gems
Frou Frou

But I still prefer online because of the valuable information provided by the images. Of course you can engage them and ask them to provide GIA cert number for your reference, then you can let us know what is thr number and we can provide some feedback to you. Although this is just based on numbers/proportions of the diamond, but at least it can tell you whether the proportions are good enough. It is safer to buy diamonds with good proportions than diamonds with bad proportions.
been spamming the entire day on youtube videos and articles (lost count on the amount of jannpaul video's i've watched so far).

next I'd like to put my new found knowledge to use (planning to go tomorrow), so thought visiting physical stores would be good for me - might learn a few more things too.

Thanks for your offer, I'll be sure to take it up and post/update my progress here for feedback & comments. Cheers!
kambingkoh
post Jun 30 2017, 09:20 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Jun 30 2017, 08:57 PM)
what do u think about the diamond? perfect?
or possible reliability issue, need further inspection?

JannPaul seems to charge at a more premium rate than white flash
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
The diamond looks good. The "backside" of the diamond at the 12 o'clock, 1 o'clock, 5 o'clock, 7 o'clock is slightly imbalance but it is consider very good already because overall it still looks good. Moreover, this is handcraft. The Hearts and Arrows also look very good. There are some darker shades at the bottom of the 2 o'clock position but that is just some very minor imperfection. I noticed that Whiteflash is improving in terms of Hearts and Arrows accuracy recently, which is good.

Idealscope wise? Bloody red. Alot of light return. smile.gif

34.5 degree crown angle? Return quite alot of fire as well.

At VS1 clarity, you have nothing to worry about.

At this price? It seems like a good buy to me after I checked against Brian Gavin Diamonds. Overall, I will always say Brian Gavin has the best cut in general, but I will also factor in price factor as well, and to me, all these little things count because we are talking about MYR vs USD.

Lastly, with a simple 18k white gold 4-prongs solitaire, your price for a complete ring should be below RM 8500. Any upgrade in material, side diamonds, or design may cause the price to go up.

Hope this helps.

230 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:51 AM