230 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

matrixation
post Jul 3 2017, 10:33 PM

540 posts

Any thoughts on these 3:

1a) https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-3699005.htm

1b) https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-details/LD08404266

2) https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-3784281.htm

3) https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...ond-3855510.htm

1a & 1b seem to be very similar diamonds, but price is so much different (different website though) am I missing anything here?

This post has been edited by matrixation: Jul 3 2017, 10:43 PM
bb100
post Jul 3 2017, 10:56 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jul 3 2017, 10:33 PM)
Any thoughts on these 3:

1a & 1b seem to be very similar diamonds, but price is so much different (different website though) am I missing anything here?
I was just about to say no to Blue Nile but they upgraded their online store with a 360-degree video. Macam not bad.

Proportion wise, need sifu kambingkoh to do the analysis for you. Those with ASET scope I think very straightforward. The more red the merrier.

You got consider James Allen ahh bro? Their True Hearts series quite ok also. Can take a look.
cuttlefish
post Jul 3 2017, 11:15 PM

493 posts

Contacted both Eumayco and Audrey's about bringing own diamond for setting, both mentioned the same thing, resize & polish will be charged
terryfu
post Jul 3 2017, 11:16 PM

514 posts

Hi all. Planning to buy an engagement ring and spotted a 1.5 carat Excellent Cut VVS1 L diamond around RM 40k from Wah Chan.

Is that diamond reasonably price or too expensive? Any other recommendation?

Thanks for any response.
kambingkoh
post Jul 3 2017, 11:38 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jul 3 2017, 10:33 PM)
Any thoughts on these 3:

This is the one I will buy: https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link) -> Diamond 3. The Hearts & Arrows can compete with an ACA. It has its minor flaws, for example, the minor curve tip of the heart at 8 o'clock position and the gap between the heart and the arrow at 10 o'clock position is also nearer compared to other similar gaps. However, personally, I will still take it as a Hearts & Arrows diamond.

This diamond's proportions is great. It all falls within the super ideal range, no wonder Enchanted Cut Score returns a score of 100%!

Look at that idealscope, what do you see? Red? Real red. It indicates great light performance. And damn, have you checked the video? Did you see the amount of fire this darling returns, wait til it move towards the face up position. It is really fiery... so fiery til I need to double check again and again haha. It wins the other 60-pointer ACA I almost posted for you: https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link).

The ASET scope looks great, it may show some very very very slight weaker light below the table, but this is nothing to be worried about. In fact, I won't even consider it as a weaker light because it looks sooo minor. Even some ACAs will exhibit such behaviour... or maybe worse that that, but still qualify as an ACA.

Best of all, this is Premium Select! Meaning you don't have to pay the premium for an ACA! Great! At VS2, it is quite a safe clarity. Although we don't know the position of the feather inclusion, at his price point and clarity. I would say it is a good buy because it is still relatively safe and quite durable.

Diamond 2's idealscope shows more white than the other Whiteflash diamonds. Also, at 36 degrees, this diamond is over-steep. You also see weaker light below the table (green lines) based on the ASET scope. Lastly, it only manages to score 94.1 on Enchanted Cut Score. Hence, I will skip this diamond.

Diamond 1b) Blue Nile does not ship to Malaysia. Also, 33.5 crown angle will return less fire. These 2 points alone made me skip this diamond.

Diamond 1a) G SI1 ACA. At SI1, this diamond shows too much inclusions to my liking. Although its performance may be able to mask the inclusions, but it may still be visible at very very close range. Also, idealscope redness loses to Diamond 3. G colour is also a step down from F colour. In terms of video, the diamond seem to be on par with Diamond 3, but this only means Diamond 3 seems to be a better buy.

So there you have it, my 2 cents. You amazed me because you really dig and dig into Whiteflash's site. Have to thank you for showing me gems hidden within Premium Select. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Jul 4 2017, 11:34 AM
kambingkoh
post Jul 3 2017, 11:42 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Jul 3 2017, 11:16 PM)
Hi all. Planning to buy an engagement ring and spotted a 1.5 carat Excellent Cut VVS1 L diamond around RM 40k from Wah Chan.

Is that diamond reasonably price or too expensive? Any other recommendation?

Thanks for any response.
Best if you can share the GIA cert number for us to see the proportions. smile.gif
kambingkoh
post Jul 3 2017, 11:43 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Jul 3 2017, 11:15 PM)

Contacted both Eumayco and Audrey's about bringing own diamond for setting, both mentioned the same thing, resize & polish will be charged
Try iDo Jewellery. It should come with one time free resize. But my advice is that get it right the first time because resizing may make the ring look a bit different.
kambingkoh
post Jul 3 2017, 11:48 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:56 PM)
I was just about to say no to Blue Nile but they upgraded their online store with a 360-degree video. Macam not bad.

Proportion wise, need sifu kambingkoh to do the analysis for you. Those with ASET scope I think very straightforward. The more red the merrier.

You got consider James Allen ahh bro? Their True Hearts series quite ok also. Can take a look.
Blue Nile's site is actually not bad. Besides, for those who doesn't need until a super ideal, they can save some money with Blue Nile as well.
bb100
post Jul 4 2017, 07:32 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 3 2017, 11:48 PM)
Blue Nile's site is actually not bad. Besides, for those who doesn't need until a super ideal, they can save some money with Blue Nile as well.
Now ok. Last time each diamond only has a sample photo and certificate. Not even a picture of the real thing.
kambingkoh
post Jul 4 2017, 10:12 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 4 2017, 07:32 AM)
Now ok. Last time each diamond only has a sample photo and certificate. Not even a picture of the real thing.
Their signature diamonds price varies quite abit, but I noticed that if the diamond shows Hearts & Arrows pattern, then the diamond price will go up.

For example this one:
https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-details/LD08833821

For BlueNile's diamond, if I am picky, I will only say it is a near H&A because the arrows size are not that consistent. But then ultimately, it is up to individual interpretation.

Anyway, Whiteflash has a better colour diamond that is even cheaper than this:
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link)

So I guess for those that need a super ideal, Whiteflash still provide better value, but for those that does not need super ideal, probably they can scale down the price list for cheaper Blue Nile signature diamonds.

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Jul 4 2017, 10:13 AM
matrixation
post Jul 4 2017, 10:48 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Jul 3 2017, 11:15 PM)

oh - different from the guy told me rclxub.gif
matrixation
post Jul 4 2017, 11:44 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 3 2017, 11:38 PM)
So there you have it, my 2 cents. You amazed me because you really dig and dig into Whiteflash's site. Have to thank you for showing me gems hidden within Premium Select.  notworthy.gif
haha, I'm just trying to do as much homework as i can, and not regret on my purchase tongue.gif

matrixation
post Jul 4 2017, 12:00 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:56 PM)

I'm checking out james allen now - seems like their true hearts series are cheaper than WF ACAs. I'm so conflicted now lol...
bb100
post Jul 4 2017, 12:17 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jul 4 2017, 12:00 PM)
I'm checking out james allen now - seems like their true hearts series are cheaper than WF ACAs. I'm so conflicted now lol...
Ohh I didn't know that! Only Idealscope images are available on display. If you need an ASET scope image, you can chat them up and request for one.
kambingkoh
post Jul 4 2017, 12:47 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jul 4 2017, 12:00 PM)
Haha yup. Their True Hearts are cheaper. Did not introduce you because they only ships up to Singapore.
matrixation
post Jul 4 2017, 01:26 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 4 2017, 12:17 PM)
Ohh I didn't know that! Only Idealscope images are available on display. If you need an ASET scope image, you can chat them up and request for one.
oh, ok will do that..

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 4 2017, 12:47 PM)
Haha yup. Their True Hearts are cheaper. Did not introduce you because they only ships up to Singapore.
I read some reviews, 1 guy said their true hearts are Near True Hearts and Arrows, whereas ACA's are true Hearts and arrows; simply because JA is more lenient than WF. but then to the naked eye, and a non-expert, JA true hearts are beautiful enough?

I must admit before I started this journey I didn't know diamond is a technical business! haha

oh, I have relatives living in Singapore so shipping there wouldn't be a hassle.
kambingkoh
post Jul 4 2017, 01:43 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(matrixation @ Jul 4 2017, 01:26 PM)
oh, ok will do that..
I read some reviews, 1 guy said their true hearts are Near True Hearts and Arrows, whereas ACA's are true Hearts and arrows; simply because JA is more lenient than WF. but then to the naked eye, and a non-expert, JA true hearts are beautiful enough?

I must admit before I started this journey I didn't know diamond is a technical business! haha

oh, I have relatives living in Singapore so shipping there wouldn't be a hassle.
JA may be more lenient, but there are still some valid Hearts & Arrows diamonds within the category, you will know it when you see it. It is pretty obvious. For ACA, there can be diamonds that can be labeled as near Hearts & Arrows as well. I have seen one before. But to be fair, I have only seen one from JA that is near H&A.

However, I have randomly browse through True Hearts and noticed that the H&A of JA is pretty consistent. Perhaps they have up their game, which is good.

Diamond is always a technical business. One of the main value is carat weight. That's why a lot of cutter will try to maximize the carat. However, some cutters did so by cutting the diamond to a not so good proportion. That is probably why steep crown angle/pavilion angle exists.

If you have relatives there to receive the package for you, then that will be no issue at all. Your options have widen and JA can be a good place to start looking. For any purchase in SG, you have to factor in the 7% VAT.

Looking forward to your final outcome, keep us posted. thumbsup.gif

cuttlefish
post Jul 4 2017, 01:47 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 4 2017, 01:43 PM)
JA may be more lenient, but there are still some valid Hearts & Arrows diamonds within the category, you will know it when you see it. It is pretty obvious. For ACA, there can be diamonds that can be labeled as near Hearts & Arrows as well. I have seen one before. But to be fair, I have only seen one from JA that is near H&A.

However, I have randomly browse through True Hearts and noticed that the H&A of JA is pretty consistent. Perhaps they have up their game, which is good.

Diamond is always a technical business. One of the main value is carat weight. That's why a lot of cutter will try to maximize the carat. However, some cutters did so by cutting the diamond to a not so good proportion. That is probably why steep crown angle/pavilion angle exists.

If you have relatives there to receive the package for you, then that will be no issue at all. Your options have widen and JA can be a good place to start looking. For any purchase in SG, you have to factor in the 7% VAT.

Looking forward to your final outcome, keep us posted.  thumbsup.gif
https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/r...cut-sku-2637230

Is that white ring in the idealscope?

Checking JA now due to the price comment by matrixation...haha
but so far the quality seems not as impressive as WF
matrixation
post Jul 4 2017, 02:17 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 4 2017, 01:43 PM)

Looking forward to your final outcome, keep us posted.  thumbsup.gif
Good to know, will browse JA today. definitely keep you all posted, thanks for the help thus far - it's been very enlightening.
kambingkoh
post Jul 4 2017, 02:24 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(cuttlefish @ Jul 4 2017, 01:47 PM)
https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/r...cut-sku-2637230

Is that white ring in the idealscope?

Checking JA now due to the price comment by matrixation...haha
but so far the quality seems not as impressive as WF
The idealscope has some whitish looks, meaning it has light leakage. This diamond, however, has pretty good proportions. The hearts and arrows have some minor bending tip at the 12 o'clock and 1 o'clock hearts.

Compared to the https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link) you chose earlier, JA's diamond is slightly bigger, but loses in terms of IdealScope.

Hearts & Arrows wise, WF should be better (I can't view it now because WF site seems to have some problem) based on what I last remembered.

Both comes with free delivery, but JA will only ship up to SG, therefore the VAT is 7%, while shipping directly to MY from Whiteflash will have GST 6%.

Lastly, JA is slightly more expensive compared to WF due to its larger size.

Between these 2, WF seems to be a better buy.

Hope this helps. smile.gif

230 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:02 AM