230 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

ysun86
post Aug 1 2017, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Jul 31 2017, 08:05 PM)
your diamond has pretty good proportions other than the pavilion angle.
if light leakage then probably your diamond will lack some brilliance because there is some reduce in light return. if the hearts and arrows are beautiful, then this diamond is well cut enough so you have ntg to much to worry about it. at the price you buying, i think it is fair enough. most importantly, you had a great experience at the shop and you are satisfy with your purchase. have you chose your ring setting? mind sharing how much they charge you for that? which WC you visited btw? probably can benefit some other bros here. wink.gif
Yes. So far I am satisfy with the diamond price but I am think the frame is consider expensive. I bundled with the workmanship and "Tiffany" typed 18K white gold frame which cost me RM1k. The mounting looks similar like this: (This is my friend's setting)

my ring is still in production i guess. rclxms.gif

Me from penang so I visited Wah Chan Gurney. The salesperson said, this the only Wah Chan in northern region that is able to choose Loose Diamonds. I had friends who says Wah Chan Gurney Plaza there is abit lansi but for me personally, i am satisfied because he is so patient to handle my many questions. hahahaha

I personally like Hemera 101cut @ poh kong, so blink blink. But i find the price is over my budget. sweat.gif

kambingkoh
post Aug 1 2017, 05:17 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ysun86 @ Aug 1 2017, 04:48 PM)
Yes. So far I am satisfy with the diamond price but I am think the frame is consider expensive. I bundled with the workmanship and "Tiffany" typed 18K white gold frame which cost me RM1k. The mounting looks similar like this: (This is my friend's setting)

my ring is still in production i guess. rclxms.gif

Me from penang so I visited Wah Chan Gurney. The salesperson said, this the only Wah Chan in northern region that is able to choose Loose Diamonds. I had friends who says Wah Chan Gurney Plaza there is abit lansi but for me personally, i am satisfied because he is so patient to handle my many questions. hahahaha

I personally like Hemera 101cut @ poh kong, so blink blink. But i find the price is over my budget.  sweat.gif
Hmm, that is a Tiffany setting? hmm.gif

1K is consider quite okay in my opinion.

Great that you have a satisfying purchase. smile.gif

Hemera 101 is a modified round brilliant, it has much more facets, hence the extra blinks, but the blinks will be smaller compared to the bolder blinks produced by traditional round which has 57 facets. If possible, always ask the salesperson to show you the diamond under normal office light (they surely have a back office), or go out under sun light (maybe not possible depends how far the shop is from the entrance/exit).

Personally, I don't think it is worth to spend extra cash on all these extra facets, but then, each person has his/her own liking. wink.gif

Thanks for sharing bro! flex.gif

Btw, there is a private jeweller who is based in Penang as well - Frou Frou Jewellery. Do check her out if you are interested or your friends need other options. smile.gif

atyt1985
post Aug 2 2017, 11:22 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 1 2017, 05:17 PM)
Hmm, that is a Tiffany setting?  hmm.gif

Hemera 101 is a modified round brilliant, it has much more facets, hence the extra blinks, but the blinks will be smaller compared to the bolder blinks produced by traditional round which has 57 facets. If possible, always ask the salesperson to show you the diamond under normal office light (they surely have a back office), or go out under sun light (maybe not possible depends how far the shop is from the entrance/exit).

Personally, I don't think it is worth to spend extra cash on all these extra facets, but then, each person has his/her own liking. wink.gif

Thanks for sharing bro!  flex.gif

Btw, there is a private jeweller who is based in Penang as well - Frou Frou Jewellery. Do check her out if you are interested or your friends need other options. smile.gif
Hi i would like to say thank you for your advice that you have given me. I have bought myself a diamond below. Paid RM2.6k for it.

https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=5253179025
kambingkoh
post Aug 2 2017, 11:43 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(atyt1985 @ Aug 2 2017, 11:22 PM)
Hi i would like to say thank you for your advice that you have given me. I have bought myself a diamond below. Paid RM2.6k for it.

https://www.gia.edu/report-check?reportno=5253179025
no problem! that diamond has a 35 degree crown angle and it should return an excellent amount of fire! Enchanted cut score rate it 100% while it has a HCA score of 1.6, so it is below 2, which is great. RM 2.6K seems fair for me as far as proportions and specs are concerned. well done!

all the best in your proposal! nod.gif
ysun86
post Aug 3 2017, 11:55 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 1 2017, 05:17 PM)
Hmm, that is a Tiffany setting?  hmm.gif

Thanks for sharing bro!  flex.gif

Ya, according to that WC sales person, he says this type of ring frame is called Tiffany then i oso anggap it is but the holder is beautiful tongue.gif . But whatever name it is, i personally do not like the traditional / standard crown typed ring like this:

You know why i say 1k is expensive a little because my friend got near similar typed of 0.4ct 18K white gold ring frame at only RM800. But at different Wah Chan. LOL.

Ya not worth to spent extra thats y I go back to normal 57-facets. My GF actually hinted me on interested in Dancing Diamond but in my opinion i think dancing diamond only good to be like necklace.

So thats why the end of my decision is to get such proposal ring. haha. Thanks for your verification sifu. I am now satisfied buy! muahahaha. At the end next, hope she likes the diamond i've chosen thumbup.gif

Yeah, heard of Frou Frou, the owner lady of this jewellery business inherited from his Father is one of my friend's friend. Is a top student and pretty. rclxms.gif
But i find the pricing is quite expensive thou. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ysun86: Aug 3 2017, 11:56 AM
kambingkoh
post Aug 3 2017, 02:00 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ysun86 @ Aug 3 2017, 11:55 AM)
Ya, according to that WC sales person, he says this type of ring frame is called Tiffany then i oso anggap it is but the holder is beautiful  tongue.gif . But whatever name it is, i personally do not like the traditional / standard crown typed ring like this:

You know why i say 1k is expensive a little because my friend got near similar typed of 0.4ct 18K white gold ring frame at only RM800. But at different Wah Chan. LOL.

Ya not worth to spent extra thats y I go back to normal 57-facets. My GF actually hinted me on interested in Dancing Diamond but in my opinion i think dancing diamond only good to be like necklace.

So thats why the end of my decision is to get such proposal ring. haha. Thanks for your verification sifu. I am now satisfied buy! muahahaha. At the end next, hope she likes the diamond i've chosen thumbup.gif

Yeah, heard of Frou Frou, the owner lady of this jewellery business inherited from his Father is one of my friend's friend. Is a top student and pretty.  rclxms.gif
But i find the pricing is quite expensive thou.  laugh.gif
lol. aiyah. near similar is still different design, hence the price different ba. anyway, if you have nego and still rm 1000, then no choice lor.

dancing diamond? from SK? yes, it is more suitable for necklace. you can actually consider to get her one as bridal jewellery. tongue.gif

you have seen the real deal and satisfied with everything, i think that is the most important. i think 99% girls will like what the other half have chosen.

ask you go Frou Frou see the pretty boss, not go look for diamonds. thumbsup.gif
annann91
post Aug 3 2017, 02:09 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(kwbaka @ Jul 18 2017, 12:30 PM)
did anyone bought their proposal ring from tiffany?
Just my 2 cents.

Tiffany is honestly overpriced. My bf and I checked the price and it was 0.15ct for RM7,000++ in April 2017.
I don't know what the other 3Cs were though.

Even so, I think you're better off getting it from other shops rather than Tiffany's. Cos as a lady, nobody will be going around telling their friends where is it from but rather the size and the shiny-ness would be more of a topic of conversation.

That being said, if you can afford it, go ahead smile.gif
Mightypc
post Aug 7 2017, 01:41 PM

200 posts

Hi, anyone has experience with Audrey?

I am looking at this piece of stone, appreciate any comment from sifus here.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I did study the 4c thing, but not sure about those PROPORTIONS thingy...

http://www.audreys.com.my/diamond-detail.h...amond_id=340308

This post has been edited by Mightypc: Aug 7 2017, 01:42 PM
kambingkoh
post Aug 7 2017, 03:49 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Mightypc @ Aug 7 2017, 01:41 PM)
Hi, anyone has experience with Audrey?

I am looking at this piece of stone, appreciate any comment from sifus here..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

I did study the 4c thing, but not sure about those PROPORTIONS thingy...

http://www.audreys.com.my/diamond-detail.h...amond_id=340308
Enchanted Cut Score (works for GIA only)
https://enchanteddiamonds.com/cut-score-cal...d=R36-726864931
96.6%

HCA:

Simplest understanding: The HCA score is way to low. So skip it.

More complex understanding: 35.5 degree is the average crown angle rounded to the nearest 0.5 degree (for GIA). So the real average crown angle could be 35.7 degree, or it could be 35.3 degree. If 35.7 degree, then it is not a diamond that can perform too well.

If that is not enough, I was told by Todd Gray from www.niceice.com that 41 degree crown angle has to be paired with 43.3% pavilion depth. A 43.5% pavilion depth is a no go. There will be light leakage.

Proportions are not that hard to understand, what you are looking for is the "middle"/"center"/"bulls-eye" of those triple excellent. It is the safest bet. To start with, try to look for diamonds between 34 - 35 crown angle that pairs with pavilion angle between 40.6 - 40.9 degree.

Audrey's won't be a bad place to buy, it is tied to huge diamond suppliers. Just that, you can't see the diamond physically before you purchase. You can try to ask them for the photos of the diamond, such as the actual diamond photo, Hearts & Arrows image, IdealScope image. Chances are slim though. I would place my bet on WhiteFlash or Brian Gavin if I want to purchase online. If you are interested in either of them, feel free to let me know as I am affiliated to them.

I know that buying online is not everyone's preference. So I would recommend you to visit Wah Chan also. They got a flagship at Section 14 PJ. I think you will find it worthwhile spending hours there, just like some others here.

Feel free to ask me about other options you bumped into. I will try my best to help.

Good luck!
Mightypc
post Aug 7 2017, 04:23 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 7 2017, 03:49 PM)
Enchanted Cut Score (works for GIA only)
https://enchanteddiamonds.com/cut-score-cal...d=R36-726864931
96.6%

HCA:

Simplest understanding: The HCA score is way to low. So skip it.

More complex understanding: 35.5 degree is the average crown angle rounded to the nearest 0.5 degree (for GIA). So the real average crown angle could be 35.7 degree, or it could be 35.3 degree. If 35.7 degree, then it is not a diamond that can perform too well.

If that is not enough, I was told by Todd Gray from www.niceice.com that 41 degree crown angle has to be paired with 43.3% pavilion depth. A 43.5% pavilion depth is a no go. There will be light leakage.

Proportions are not that hard to understand, what you are looking for is the "middle"/"center"/"bulls-eye" of those triple excellent. It is the safest bet. To start with, try to look for diamonds between 34 - 35 crown angle that pairs with pavilion angle between 40.6 - 40.9 degree.

Audrey's won't be a bad place to buy, it is tied to huge diamond suppliers. Just that, you can't see the diamond physically before you purchase. You can try to ask them for the photos of the diamond, such as the actual diamond photo, Hearts & Arrows image, IdealScope image. Chances are slim though. I would place my bet on WhiteFlash or Brian Gavin if I want to purchase online. If you are interested in either of them, feel free to let me know as I am affiliated to them.

I know that buying online is not everyone's preference. So I would recommend you to visit Wah Chan also. They got a flagship at Section 14 PJ. I think you will find it worthwhile spending hours there, just like some others here.

Feel free to ask me about other options you bumped into. I will try my best to help.

Good luck!

Thanks for the explaination! Seems like there is a lot to learn on this stone.
If i were to buy online from WhiteFlash or Brian Gavin, how do I make the ring on Malaysia?

This post has been edited by Mightypc: Aug 7 2017, 04:24 PM
kambingkoh
post Aug 7 2017, 04:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Mightypc @ Aug 7 2017, 04:23 PM)
Thanks for the explaination! Seems like there is a lot to learn on this stone.
If i were to buy online from WhiteFlash or Brian Gavin, how do I make the ring on Malaysia?
1. Memory Jewellery @ Sentul.
2. iDo Jewellery @ Bukit Jalil.
3. Eumayco @ Bangsar South.
4. Suen @ Bangsar.
5. Brick and mortar stores, like Wah Chan as well.

You can find most of them on Facebook.

No harm asking if you visit any of them. Some of them may scare you first telling you that buying online has risk and stuff though. Anyway, it is always good to ask and know more then make you own judgement call.

Mightypc
post Aug 7 2017, 04:41 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 7 2017, 04:32 PM)
1. Memory Jewellery @ Sentul.
2. iDo Jewellery @ Bukit Jalil.
3. Eumayco @ Bangsar South.
4. Suen @ Bangsar.
5. Brick and mortar stores, like Wah Chan as well.

You can find most of them on Facebook.

No harm asking if you visit any of them. Some of them may scare you first telling you that buying online has risk and stuff though. Anyway, it is always good to ask and know more then make you own judgement call.
Thanks againn or the tips.

BTW i forgot to mention I am living in Penang smile.gif
ChipZ
post Aug 7 2017, 08:48 PM

1,330 posts

Anyone got feedback/review from FrouFrou Penang?
kambingkoh
post Aug 7 2017, 08:54 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Mightypc @ Aug 7 2017, 04:41 PM)
Thanks againn or the tips.

BTW i forgot to mention I am living in Penang  smile.gif
No problem.

For Penang, then you can try to look for Frou Frou. She is based both in KL and Penang from what I know.

One of the forumer I introduced actually find her to do the ring setting. If you wish to do the same, it will be best to FB message her to enquire further details. She also sell diamonds too.

Another person I asked before is Jonathan Yun: http://www.jonathanyunjewelry.com/main/. He does do loose stone setting as well.

Of course, you can also visit those brick and mortar stores. It is better to visit them in fact, to gain more insights.

Oh, one more is this: https://www.facebook.com/venessadiamonds/ -> Another forumer bought his diamond ring there.

Good luck in your diamond hunting.

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Aug 7 2017, 08:59 PM
kambingkoh
post Aug 7 2017, 08:57 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Aug 7 2017, 08:48 PM)
Anyone got feedback/review from FrouFrou Penang?
Diamonds not sure, but her signature design looks pretty good from the picture: http://froufrou.my/crest-of-the-maison/

The lady owner also looks gorgeous. wub.gif

Just pay a visit and see her work. Good luck!

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Aug 7 2017, 08:59 PM
bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 07:33 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 7 2017, 08:57 PM)
Diamonds not sure, but her signature design looks pretty good from the picture: http://froufrou.my/crest-of-the-maison/

The lady owner also looks gorgeouswub.gif

Just pay a visit and see her work. Good luck!
Got the 四叶草 Joyce Chu feel.

brows.gif
bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 08:08 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(tatshark @ Aug 7 2017, 09:26 PM)
CODE
[color=gray]When I was looking for a engagement ring, I was recommended to look for one at a pawn shop. It does have a good selection of rings. I know at least two people who have [url=https://pawnbat.ca/jewelry/rings/engagement-rings/][color=gray]engagement rings[/color][/url] from there. My gf didn't really care about how much it costed, and wouldn't have been the one for me if she had that as a priority. [/color]

I remember seeing this post here somewhere... hmm.gif This looks rather suspicious with the gray font and hidden link in your post. Some more Joined: Yesterday, 08:19 PM.

Not many can accept second hand stuff when it comes to jewelleries, let alone an engagement ring. It is like telling your girlfriend that she is as good as a used piece of jewellery, and can be easily traded for cash during times of difficulty. shakehead.gif

Besides, you do not know the history behind a pawned jewellery. The owner might have pawned it cuz s/he really needed the money for whatever reasons, or it might have brought bad luck to the owner. Yea I may sound stupid with my speculations, but you can never be too careful when it comes to things like this.

Ohh, by the way...

This post has been edited by bb100: Aug 8 2017, 08:08 AM
kambingkoh
post Aug 8 2017, 09:28 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Aug 8 2017, 07:33 AM)
Got the 四叶草 Joyce Chu feel.

brows.gif
i tot your gf hotter? devil.gif oh... wait, is your gf's sister. brows.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Aug 8 2017, 09:28 AM
kambingkoh
post Aug 8 2017, 09:38 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Aug 8 2017, 08:08 AM)
I remember seeing this post here somewhere... hmm.gif This looks rather suspicious with the gray font and hidden link in your post. Some more Joined: Yesterday, 08:19 PM.

Not many can accept second hand stuff when it comes to jewelleries, let alone an engagement ring. It is like telling your girlfriend that she is as good as a used piece of jewellery, and can be easily traded for cash during times of difficulty. shakehead.gif

Besides, you do not know the history behind a pawned jewellery. The owner might have pawned it cuz s/he really needed the money for whatever reasons, or it might have brought bad luck to the owner. Yea I may sound stupid with my speculations, but you can never be too careful when it comes to things like this.

Ohh, by the way...

These are probably just bots/scripts creating backlinks to the website to rank up higher in search engine.

You are right, similar post has appeared before, but now no where to be found, probably it has been removed.
bb100
post Aug 8 2017, 09:51 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Aug 8 2017, 09:28 AM)
i tot your gf hotter?  devil.gif oh... wait, is your gf's sister.  brows.gif
Absolutely harom bero!!

By the way bero, fiancée liao.

rclxm9.gif

230 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:18 AM