92 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Canon PowerShot S3 IS

alex_8982
post May 14 2007, 03:31 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ May 14 2007, 03:02 PM)
Months ago my previous camera was having image sensor distorted issue, so I brought it to Canon at Subang to get it repaired. I had prepare to spend hundred or two hundreds on the repair since it's already 3 years.
To my surprise, they fix it FOC, claiming that it's the connector problem and I don't have to pay a cent. The connector was shipped all the way from Japan.
If they told me the repair is chargeable, I would have just pay it.
This is what we call great after sales service.
Canon is the best, high above the rest... cool.gif

To me I always feel that Canon is a good brand, but didnt realise that they provide top notch after sales service too... rclxm9.gif

It has change the view of me towards Canon, with more points added to them.. thumbup.gif

Added on May 14, 2007, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 14 2007, 03:04 PM)
the fz50 looks intimidating man.. haha and its out of my budget
well...guess i'll have to play the waiting game.
How much is FZ50? I think RM1600+, well it comes with hot shoe too... But considering the built i still think that Canon has nicer design... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Panasonic... my personal opinion not focus enought, too wide range of products they produces. Hence, might result a drop in R&D / quality... No offence to Pana fans... blink.gif

This post has been edited by alex_8982: May 14 2007, 03:33 PM
kinz_11
post May 14 2007, 04:53 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(alex_8982 @ May 14 2007, 03:31 PM)

How much is FZ50? I think RM1600+, well it comes with hot shoe too... But considering the built i still think that Canon has nicer design...  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Panasonic... my personal opinion not focus enought, too wide range of products they produces. Hence, might result a drop in R&D / quality... No offence to Pana fans...  blink.gif
Wahh RM1600.. I don't think so dude... It's around Rm2500 if I'm not wrong.. Definitely above Rm2200.. I really love that camera, but it was wayyy off from my budget.. So I ended up with a S3.. With no regrets at all man..
SUSitanium
post May 14 2007, 05:49 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

S5is should not be compared to FZ50, different features diff pricepoint. Anyway the S5is wont be available till prolly june/early July.
ymjay
post May 14 2007, 10:54 PM

The Sandman
601 posts

hm.....if its 1600+1899 then i'll buy the s5 and wait
if 1999 then i wont consider it
based on previous launches, any idea?
icon_question.gif
chicaman
post May 14 2007, 11:09 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

newly launch is sure expensive and the normal price is usually below the Representitive price.

Probably wait another 1 or 2 months after it launch then only buy
sherren
post May 14 2007, 11:55 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

its up to you to get s3 or s5,

i got S3 IS rm 1400, rm 110 canon LAH DC20 Lens Adapter/Hood Set,58mm Kenko UV Filter rm 30, Canon Ultrasonic 58mm Lens Cap Rm 30. Total up rm 1570

brows.gif brows.gif
Phoenix Flash[Phoenix D91-BZS 4-Stop Digital Slave ] this one cost rm 310 but its not available localy, im gonna get it soon,waiting for shipment. Its more worth it then getting the Canon slave flash which same price and guide number is only 18 doh.gif blink.gif .

http://www.phoenixcorp.com/Flash/Digital_F...ital_flash.html

Its up to you to spend on the accesories, its depends on ur budget, and yes u can say i can afford a d40 already. but think carefully as im a student, im not earning yet. it sure cost more lah like bag,external flash,more lenses of coz,lens cleaning kit etc etc

This post has been edited by sherren: May 14 2007, 11:57 PM
JET
post May 15 2007, 08:47 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ May 14 2007, 11:55 PM)
i got S3 IS rm 1400, rm 110 canon LAH DC20 Lens Adapter/Hood Set,58mm Kenko UV Filter rm 30, Canon Ultrasonic 58mm Lens Cap Rm 30. Total up rm 1570
woww !!! drool.gif
show us... show us....
show us all yr gadget....

I beat with the UV filter. shooting the sky will be much more better smile.gif
alex_8982
post May 15 2007, 08:57 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ May 14 2007, 11:55 PM)
its up to you to get s3 or s5,

brows.gif  brows.gif 
Phoenix Flash[Phoenix D91-BZS 4-Stop Digital Slave ] this one cost rm 310 but its not available localy, im gonna get it soon,waiting for shipment. Its more worth it then getting the Canon slave flash which same price and guide number is only 18 doh.gif  blink.gif .

http://www.phoenixcorp.com/Flash/Digital_F...ital_flash.html

Its up to you to spend on the accesories, its depends on ur budget, and yes u can say i can afford a d40 already. but think carefully as im a student, im not earning yet. it sure cost more lah like bag,external flash,more lenses of coz,lens cleaning kit etc etc
Can I know what is the use of the below items? I didnt buy any add-ons before...
- canon LAH DC20 Lens Adapter/Hood Set,
- 58mm Kenko UV Filter
- Canon Ultrasonic 58mm Lens Cap

By the way the price RM1400 for Canon S3 IS, when did you buy it? how long ago? smile.gif

JET
post May 15 2007, 11:26 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(alex_8982 @ May 15 2007, 08:57 AM)
Can I know what is the use of the below items? I didnt buy any add-ons before...
- canon LAH DC20 Lens Adapter/Hood Set,
- 58mm Kenko UV Filter
- Canon Ultrasonic 58mm Lens Cap

By the way the price RM1400 for Canon S3 IS, when did you buy it? how long ago? smile.gif
My dear forum mate,
pls spend a quick time searching this via google.com
you will able to find all this answer.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-LAH-DC20-Adapt...a/dp/B0009O6IXA
http://www.hoyafilter.com/products/hoya/pro1d-03.html
http://www.camerafilters.com/pages/lenscaps.aspx
bloodsucker
post May 15 2007, 02:38 PM

270 posts

To all S3 users, check this out :
Link 1
Link 2

After loading of HDK firmware you can get the following functionality:

Shooting in RAW
Live histogram (RGB, blended, luminance and for each RGB channel)
Zebra mode (blinking highlights and shadows)
DOF-calculator
Battery indicator
Scripts execution (exposure/focus/... bracketing, intervalometer and more)
File browser
Text reader
Calendar
Some fun tools and games smile.gif

chicaman
post May 15 2007, 03:11 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(bloodsucker @ May 15 2007, 02:38 PM)
To all S3 users, check this out :
Link 1
Link 2

After loading of HDK firmware you can get the following functionality:

Shooting in RAW
Live histogram (RGB, blended, luminance and for each RGB channel)
Zebra mode (blinking highlights and shadows)
DOF-calculator
Battery indicator
Scripts execution (exposure/focus/... bracketing, intervalometer and more)
File browser
Text reader
Calendar
Some fun tools and games smile.gif
Yeah, S3IS, A710IS, A620, A610 can shoot raw also.....good firmware....

if anyone dont know how to install, i can teach biggrin.gif
sherren
post May 15 2007, 03:55 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

QUOTE(JET @ May 15 2007, 08:47 AM)
woww !!!  drool.gif
show us... show us....
show us all yr gadget....

I beat with the UV filter. shooting the sky will be much more better smile.gif
i havent got the flash yet but here are some pics with the lens adapter with uv filter and hood.

Lens Adapter + 58mm Uv Filter with 58mm canon Ultrasonic lens cap

Cap taken off

with lens hood

Pictures are taken with Canon A710 IS

This post has been edited by sherren: May 15 2007, 04:02 PM
bloodsucker
post May 15 2007, 04:07 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 15 2007, 03:11 PM)
Yeah, S3IS, A710IS, A620, A610 can shoot raw also.....good firmware....

if anyone dont know how to install, i can teach biggrin.gif

chicaman, you tried already? Mind to share your feedbacks? I just got to know this info, can't wait to go back to try it out biggrin.gif

Edited : By the way, any freeware to recommend to convert RAW photos to other formats such as JPEG?

This post has been edited by bloodsucker: May 15 2007, 04:10 PM
julchin_09
post May 15 2007, 04:08 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Whats the price for a 2nd hand S3IS? 1 Yr OLD?
bloodsucker
post May 15 2007, 04:11 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 15 2007, 04:08 PM)
Whats the price for a 2nd hand S3IS? 1 Yr OLD?

hmm.gif Plan to join the darkside?

chicaman
post May 15 2007, 04:33 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(bloodsucker @ May 15 2007, 04:07 PM)
chicaman, you tried already? Mind to share your feedbacks? I just got to know this info, can't wait to go back to try it out  biggrin.gif
This is the result I've tested in my A710IS (before this i posted a 2 already in a few page back)

This is saved in RAW (.crw) format and I save it directly without editing it.

This is the RAW processed with Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

This is saved in JPG in my A710IS which means it is processed by my camera.

So from those Images that I've posted. The RAW format is plain and untouched. Unlike the third picture that is being saved in JPEG, it is processed by my camera and looks slight to orange color.

While the Second Image, I edit it with lightroom and process it according to my taste...

conclusion, with RAW u can achieve the desired outcome according to you needs. It can be either looks like the one proccessed by ur camera or urself. Always save in RAW and edit it accordingly

This post has been edited by chicaman: May 15 2007, 04:42 PM
bloodsucker
post May 15 2007, 04:35 PM

270 posts

chicaman, thanks for the tips, will try it out tonight.
julchin_09
post May 16 2007, 01:31 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(bloodsucker @ May 15 2007, 04:11 PM)
hmm.gif Plan to join the darkside?
Yeah. If you call DSLR the Dark side. tongue.gif Initially thought of keeping the S3IS as a 2nd camera. Wondering what its worth now really?

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 15 2007, 04:33 PM)
This is the result I've tested in my A710IS (before this i posted a 2 already in a few page back)

This is saved in RAW (.crw) format and I save it directly without editing it.
This is the RAW processed with Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.
This is saved in JPG in my A710IS which means it is processed by my camera.
So from those Images that I've posted. The RAW format is plain and untouched. Unlike the third picture that is being saved in JPEG, it is processed by my camera and looks slight to orange color.

While the Second Image, I edit it with lightroom and process it according to my taste...

conclusion, with RAW u can achieve the desired outcome according to you needs. It can be either looks like the one proccessed by ur camera or urself. Always save in RAW and edit it accordingly
Great. So you've updated ur cam with the new RAW Firmware? Good stuff. Main reason I needed to get a DLSR = RAW,besides the obvious better performance at higher ISOs. Its the only way to go for great pics. How big the file size??? unsure.gif

chicaman
post May 16 2007, 03:58 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 16 2007, 01:31 AM)
Yeah. If you call DSLR the Dark side. tongue.gif  Initially thought of keeping the S3IS as a 2nd camera. Wondering what its worth now really?
Great. So you've updated ur cam with the new RAW Firmware? Good stuff. Main reason I needed to get a DLSR = RAW,besides the obvious better performance at higher ISOs. Its the only way to go for great pics. How big the file size??? unsure.gif
The firmware is temporary, it wont harm / replace the original firmware, just that everytime u want to shoot in raw, just start the camera with the hacked firmware. Once u switch it off, it will roll back to the original firmware.

The file size is around 8.5-9.5MB
kelvinyam
post May 16 2007, 09:25 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 16 2007, 03:58 AM)
The firmware is temporary, it wont harm / replace the original firmware, just that everytime u want to shoot in raw, just start the camera with the hacked firmware. Once u switch it off, it will roll back to the original firmware.

The file size is around 8.5-9.5MB
The firm ware will have to be loaded into the SD card. If you have more than a SD card, you will have to copy it to each one. Another disadvantage is that it increase the start up time of the cam.

Added on May 16, 2007, 9:27 am
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 16 2007, 01:31 AM)
Yeah. If you call DSLR the Dark side. tongue.gif  Initially thought of keeping the S3IS as a 2nd camera. Wondering what its worth now really?
I wouldn't agree that it's the only way to get good photos. It's only a way to have more control, that's all. Taking a good photo still depends on lot of factors including composition.

This post has been edited by kelvinyam: May 16 2007, 09:27 AM

92 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0282sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:39 PM