woo but for female like me , berat gak to compare with normal compact camera .
Canon PowerShot S3 IS
May 13 2007, 03:51 PM
129 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Kelana Jaya |
woo but for female like me , berat gak to compare with normal compact camera .
May 13 2007, 04:59 PM
1,298 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang Island |
May 13 2007, 05:03 PM
129 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Kelana Jaya |
owh , i thought both of it weight are equal .
May 13 2007, 05:10 PM
312 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Think I will set my eyes on S3 IS then
DSLR? Hmmm... Maybe I should start being a 'veteran' prosumer before going for those... Haha There are too many reviews out there, I dont even know how to fully understand the specs... Is there any basic photography grossary for newbies? Added on May 13, 2007, 5:13 pmOps... miss out something... How bout taking night scenes... Boleh tak, normal compact cameras sucks in this area... This post has been edited by alex_8982: May 13 2007, 05:13 PM |
May 13 2007, 07:21 PM
601 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Planet Jupiter (PJ) |
hm....s5 will be better i guess.. 2.5 inch lcd screen...8 mp ....hot shoe..etc.
but i wonder if the price will justify it. for night scenes, if it is really that important than you should consider fujifilm's FinePix F31fd and FinePix F30. but s3is performs admirably as well though you might want to avoid using ISO 400 and above for larger prints. but nothing to worry about. still great image quality overall. hope that helps..cheers |
May 13 2007, 08:34 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
im still on s2is le... it is good to run on jpeg..
May 13 2007, 08:39 PM
686 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 13 2007, 10:32 PM
damn...still undecided myself which camera to buy. haha...
love both s3is and fz8.. both with their own good qualities. guess i'll throw a coin to decide! |
May 13 2007, 10:37 PM
241 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 13 2007, 10:32 PM) damn...still undecided myself which camera to buy. haha... Why dont you wait for the new S5. for more info click this linklove both s3is and fz8.. both with their own good qualities. guess i'll throw a coin to decide! http://www.dcresource.com/news/newsitem.php?id=3523 |
May 13 2007, 10:47 PM
=)
i would definitely love to have the s5is.. but the problem is i have to wait till early june and it will definitely be out of my budget. so realistically i only have s3is and fz8 within budget. if they just sell based on exchange rate than i'll definitely buy US 499 = RM 1,694.33 but i doubt it |
May 13 2007, 10:51 PM
Very temping indeed for new S5, price not release yet but estimated $2000+... If S3 and S5 range is more than RM500, I might still get the older model...
New features sounds tempting... Only till the time comes then the PRICE will justify it... |
May 14 2007, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 13 2007, 10:47 PM) =) fz50 i would definitely love to have the s5is.. but the problem is i have to wait till early june and it will definitely be out of my budget. so realistically i only have s3is and fz8 within budget. if they just sell based on exchange rate than i'll definitely buy US 499 = RM 1,694.33 but i doubt it save for awhile now to get a better future This post has been edited by tongyam: May 14 2007, 12:28 AM |
May 14 2007, 07:44 AM
1,766 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 13 2007, 10:47 PM) =) You only need to ask yourself if you really needs those features in S5 like hot shoe. Else you got to make your decision fast since S3 will be obsolete once S5 is in production.i would definitely love to have the s5is.. but the problem is i have to wait till early june and it will definitely be out of my budget. so realistically i only have s3is and fz8 within budget. if they just sell based on exchange rate than i'll definitely buy US 499 = RM 1,694.33 but i doubt it |
May 14 2007, 07:51 AM
762 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kinabalu, Country of North Borneo. |
S1 and now a happy S3 user. The hotshoe on the new S5 helps a lot if you intend to take better night time pictures but unfortunately the S5is does not take pictures in RAW mode. The retail price will definately below the rm2k threshold as all previous out going models have.
Am a fan of Panasonic Lumix series but went with Canon because of their impecable after sales services. Want to know why? try asking existing Canon camera owners. |
May 14 2007, 11:14 AM
man....the latest i can wait is till 10 june and i'll be going for my trip.
kinda sucky if the s5 is not released then cause i need a camera for the trip. this puts me in a dilemma... buy s3? or wait... =) i hope canon in msia will release a notice or statement soon! Added on May 14, 2007, 11:23 amby they way...just called canon no info yet but slated to be here by end of june price slightly higher than s5 but below rm2k mark well... there goes. This post has been edited by ymjay: May 14 2007, 11:23 AM |
May 14 2007, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 14 2007, 11:14 AM) man....the latest i can wait is till 10 june and i'll be going for my trip. I would hope to get the camera by May 25th, else I could just keep waiting... But I think now I will wait and see how is the pricing goes.. kinda sucky if the s5 is not released then cause i need a camera for the trip. this puts me in a dilemma... buy s3? or wait... =) i hope canon in msia will release a notice or statement soon! Added on May 14, 2007, 11:23 amby they way...just called canon no info yet but slated to be here by end of june price slightly higher than s5 but below rm2k mark well... there goes. |
May 14 2007, 12:43 PM
May 14 2007, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(ymjay @ May 14 2007, 11:14 AM) man....the latest i can wait is till 10 june and i'll be going for my trip. serious, s3 better than fz7, quality may same, but about manual setting, s3 win kinda sucky if the s5 is not released then cause i need a camera for the trip. this puts me in a dilemma... buy s3? or wait... =) i hope canon in msia will release a notice or statement soon! Added on May 14, 2007, 11:23 amby they way...just called canon no info yet but slated to be here by end of june price slightly higher than s5 but below rm2k mark well... there goes. mayb the body design of pana give u good feeling but, the s3 black give me "army" and tough feel if u wan to take s5, i suggest u to take fz50 or fz30( if still got stock) with the price range of s5 and hot shoe, it should not compare with fz7 or fz8, it is same level with fz30/fz50 |
May 14 2007, 03:02 PM
1,766 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang Valley |
QUOTE(itanium @ May 14 2007, 07:51 AM) S1 and now a happy S3 user. The hotshoe on the new S5 helps a lot if you intend to take better night time pictures but unfortunately the S5is does not take pictures in RAW mode. The retail price will definately below the rm2k threshold as all previous out going models have. Months ago my previous camera was having image sensor distorted issue, so I brought it to Canon at Subang to get it repaired. I had prepare to spend hundred or two hundreds on the repair since it's already 3 years.Am a fan of Panasonic Lumix series but went with Canon because of their impecable after sales services. Want to know why? try asking existing Canon camera owners. To my surprise, they fix it FOC, claiming that it's the connector problem and I don't have to pay a cent. The connector was shipped all the way from Japan. If they told me the repair is chargeable, I would have just pay it. This is what we call great after sales service. |
May 14 2007, 03:04 PM
the fz50 looks intimidating man.. haha and its out of my budget
well...guess i'll have to play the waiting game. |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:05 PM |