18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

DIY (smart, energy efficient) house building, another house from scratch. DIY style.

ozak
post Jun 26 2014, 10:20 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Jun 25 2014, 07:07 PM)
to make battery to last, need battery optimizer like hybrid (nvr go below 30% & charge up to 70% nvr full) & automated process top-up dehydrated lead acid

with 10000mAh, usable is 3000-4000mAh

base on NiMH can last abt 18months- charge full n drain 10% (battery power flashlight)

maybe consider this Iron Edison

[attachmentid=4028629]
Walau, so hardcore meh. This single cell battery can cost a bom. sweat.gif think how many battery need in serial to get a 12v? And require space to store.

This setup of course is good. Long life and high amp per battery.
ozak
post Jun 26 2014, 10:22 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 26 2014, 08:40 PM)
nice to see so much technical discussion going on. sorry i can't add much since class is just starting.
i don't mind you guys OOT and continue your discussion.
We hijack your post already. He... tongue.gif
-oc-gassa
post Jul 14 2014, 02:43 PM

967 posts

Nice to see someone that go thoroughly for almost every aspect..please do more R & D since I love R & D but im in Finance field.. cant do much.. how about HT room? any details? any special insulation? BTW I vote for e Post #12 design... Cheers
SUSsupersound
post Jul 14 2014, 09:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Jun 10 2014, 11:34 PM)
In Saudi Arab, they have this kind of aerated clay brick. Very effective.
Even at mid noon can sleep in hotel room on high floor with just fan on.

But not sure if can get locally. Or if local sifus know how to build with this. Much bigger size than our standard brick.
[attachmentid=4008401]
Most middle east countries the humidity are quite low compare to Malaysia, so there will be different. You need to know the heat index first.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 14 2014, 09:40 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 15 2014, 05:00 PM)
remember this small led lights?
supposed to be 9w (3 led) and 12w (4 led), epistar chip.

actual measurements.
9w:

12w:

which makes the efficiency of the 9w at 42.5% and the 12w efficiency at 46.5%
not the led efficacy mind you, but the DC conversion efficiency.

it's freaking low. waste of electricity.
even if the epistar is capable of 100lm/w, the dc conversion efficiency pulled it down. say you get 300 lumen from the 6.56w ac input, the lumen per watt is only 45.73 lm/w.
for the 4 led chip, say you get 400 lumen from 8.64w ac input, the actual output would only be 46.3 lumen/w

lower than even the cheap 11w phillips CFL that i have which is rated for 54 lumen/watt.

install LED to save energy huh?
Energy conversion will result to lost. Especially AC to DC. AC known to be low in efficiency.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 14 2014, 09:42 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 16 2014, 11:43 AM)
you could measure the current draw using a clamp meter or directly tap into the power line.
or use a wattmeter, which is in a way better because it provides the power factor reading.

power factor reading is needed to calculate the actual power usage, but some older tnb meters doesn't consider the power factor in calculating the power usage.
as far as i know, the newer tnb digital meter charges you in actual power usage by calculating the power factor while the older analog meter only calculate VA rating.
to improve the efficiency, we could bypass the led driver like what you did and run them purely on DC using a high efficiency SMPS power supply. that should pump the conversion efficiency to over 80%. downside is there's no current limit and we're limiting the light output that we could extract from the led using this method.

or replace the led driver with better drivers from mean well. they have some pretty high quality drivers which is rated for upwards of 80% efficiency. from experience working with their SMPS, their products are pretty high quality rivalling those expensive unit. and their rated spec is pretty much spot on without any bloated artificial number.
i've opened quite a number of (expensive) equipment and not surprised to see the power supply from mean well in them. downside is that the choices is pretty limited. there's no peculiar current limit like 600mA, 125mA, 480mA and the such.
Not really, the TNB newer digital meter run faster by 25% compare to old school meter.
PJusa
post Jul 14 2014, 10:31 PM

2,025 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 14 2014, 09:42 PM)
Not really, the TNB newer digital meter run faster by 25% compare to old school meter.
where did you get that info from? if the meter runs properly the reading will be (+-) the same.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 15 2014, 03:29 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 14 2014, 10:31 PM)
where did you get that info from? if the meter runs properly the reading will be (+-) the same.
Off everything and only run air cond or washing machine, taking efficiency at 75%.
If the equipment to be test is 1000W(per hour), running it for 1 hour should be using less than 1 unit. But it moves 1 unit before 1 hour.
Not to mention people that complaint on this. Come out in most chinese paper every now and then.
PJusa
post Jul 15 2014, 10:01 AM

2,025 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 15 2014, 03:29 AM)
Off everything and only run air cond or washing machine, taking efficiency at 75%.
If the equipment to be test is 1000W(per hour), running it for 1 hour should be using less than 1 unit. But it moves 1 unit before 1 hour.
Not to mention people that complaint on this. Come out in most chinese paper every now and then.
just by beeing in the newspaper doesnt make it true - more likely previous meter was undercounting.

your test also doesnt work that well if you dont ensure 100% load. if there would be an overcount of 25% surely you can a) get a new meter, b) get a refund from tnb. there is a margin of error in those things but it will be more like +- 1 or 2% - not 25%.
weikee
post Jul 15 2014, 10:28 AM

12,019 posts

My house digital meter measure the same as the analog meter. I actually find it run slower.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 15 2014, 02:43 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 15 2014, 10:01 AM)
just by beeing in the newspaper doesnt make it true - more likely previous meter was undercounting.

your test also doesnt work that well if you dont ensure 100% load. if there would be an overcount of 25% surely you can a) get a new meter, b) get a refund from tnb. there is a margin of error in those things but it will be more like +- 1 or 2% - not 25%.
Yup, you are right on this. Since Chinese are just by comers in Malaysia. What we says carry no weight.
Just tell me, setting 16'C is full load or not? Or even it is not, it will work harder on initial.
And the rated power on the spec is just a short burst, typical power are the right measurement and it won't go to rated power most of the time. So the actual load are even lower.
TSpaskal
post Jul 15 2014, 11:03 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 15 2014, 02:43 PM)
Yup, you are right on this. Since Chinese are just by comers in Malaysia. What we says carry no weight.
Just tell me, setting 16'C is full load or not? Or even it is not, it will work harder on initial.
And the rated power on the spec is just a short burst, typical power are the right measurement and it won't go to rated power most of the time. So the actual load are even lower.
seriously dude, let's not add to the race bigotry. it's bad enough the segregation that we're all so accustomed to.
whatever race you might be, whatever colour of your skin, holds no correlation to the significance of information, and/or truth.

actual power measurement is quite complicated. but if you had any credible proof that the digital meter is overcharging consumers, by all mean sue TNB, report to the consumer tribunal, report to suruhanjaya tenaga, and/or report to KETTHA. if it's too much of a hassle, pass the info to a consumer association and let them proceed with it.

the simplest way to actually measure whether tnb is overcharging is to turn off all the circuit breakers at the fuse box, and use a kill-a-watt meter that could measure the energy used (in relation to time) and check the consumption for a single high power item and validate that to the meter reading.
but even that is still not bulletproof, since the kill-a-watt isn't exactly a precision instrument and it's not calibrated.

to actually be credible enough for a solid proof, you need at least one of these:
user posted imageuser posted image
problem is, it's freaking expensive. a used unit is still going for ~RM5k.
i'm trying to get my hands on one since my mum's house is experiencing some huge voltage sag, causing the power bill to shoot sky high. reported the matter 4 times to tnb this year. without any further action.

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 15 2014, 02:43 PM)
it's full load. but power rating will always be different compared to the manufacturer specs printed on the label. usually it'll be within 10%, but it's not unusual for the power usage to within 10%-25% offset compared to the label. thus the reason to carry out actual measurement, rather than relying on the label and extrapolating from it.
K for Ketamine
post Jul 16 2014, 02:07 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 15 2014, 03:29 AM)

tnb meter
analog vs digital

positive
when the bill is lower, this new digital so accurate, all the while the analog i spent XXXX, with digital my bill only XXX. i had been paying all my life, lucky switch to digital.

negative
when the bill is higher, this new digital is bloody sucker, last time i paid only XXX, but this stupid digital my bill now XXXX. i'm stuck for life, tnb cheating me don't allowed my go back analog.

moral of story no one like to pay higher bill charges. imo newspaper nvr explain another side of story.

we don't have much option, either stuck with grid or off the grid (solar,wind,genset)
SUSsupersound
post Jul 17 2014, 11:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 15 2014, 11:03 PM)
seriously dude, let's not add to the race bigotry. it's bad enough the segregation that we're all so accustomed to.
whatever race you might be, whatever colour of your skin, holds no correlation to the significance of information, and/or truth.

actual power measurement is quite complicated. but if you had any credible proof that the digital meter is overcharging consumers, by all mean sue TNB, report to the consumer tribunal, report to suruhanjaya tenaga, and/or report to KETTHA. if it's too much of a hassle, pass the info to a consumer association and let them proceed with it.

the simplest way to actually measure whether tnb is overcharging is to turn off all the circuit breakers at the fuse box, and use a kill-a-watt meter that could measure the energy used (in relation to time) and check the consumption for a single high power item and validate that to the meter reading.
but even that is still not bulletproof, since the kill-a-watt isn't exactly a precision instrument and it's not calibrated.

to actually be credible enough for a solid proof, you need at least one of these:
user posted imageuser posted image
problem is, it's freaking expensive. a used unit is still going for ~RM5k.
i'm trying to get my hands on one since my mum's house is experiencing some huge voltage sag, causing the power bill to shoot sky high. reported the matter 4 times to tnb this year. without any further action.
it's full load. but power rating will always be different compared to the manufacturer specs printed on the label. usually it'll be within 10%, but it's not unusual for the power usage to within 10%-25% offset compared to the label. thus the reason to carry out actual measurement, rather than relying on the label and extrapolating from it.
Well, I like when some jerks like to deny something without doing more research. Tell you what, the English and Malay papers never have a news stating people are complaining about once the meter changed, their bill raise up buy 100-300%. Only Chinese papers has.
So instead of looking at the "rated" spec, I will dig more on typical rated spec at full or low load which is ~50% from it.

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Jul 16 2014, 02:07 AM)
tnb meter
analog vs digital

positive
when the bill is lower, this new digital so accurate, all the while the analog i spent XXXX, with digital my bill only XXX. i had been paying all my life, lucky switch to digital.

negative
when the bill is higher, this new digital is bloody sucker, last time i paid only XXX, but this stupid digital my bill now XXXX. i'm stuck for life, tnb cheating me don't allowed my go back analog.

moral of story no one like to pay higher bill charges. imo newspaper nvr explain another side of story.

we don't have much option, either stuck with grid or off the grid (solar,wind,genset)
Analog meters are using mechanical parts, so wear and tear is there. Still it won't cause a huge spike when changing to new meter. Have to know that, no third party independent party to calibrate those digital meters and it is open secret that TNB asked their contractors to make it run faster than normal.
TSpaskal
post Jul 18 2014, 10:31 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 17 2014, 11:34 AM)
Well, I like when some jerks like to deny something without doing more research. Tell you what, the English and Malay papers never have a news stating people are complaining about once the meter changed, their bill raise up buy 100-300%. Only Chinese papers has.
things is improving dear friend. look at how the community is condemning the malay tudung lady for her racial remarks against the old chinese uncle. she's bashed left and right from the entire community, even muslims alike.

racial tension, racial hatred, racial prejudice is pretty much reduced after the few past elections. even some big issue like the whole JAIS/MAIS raid on the bible association, the usage of 'Allah' by other religions, all of those issue can't stop people from coming together. muslims are now adopting a more moderate stance. which is rarely seen during the reign of you know who.

it might take a while more. but things is definitely improving.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 18 2014, 01:56 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 18 2014, 10:31 AM)
things is improving dear friend. look at how the community is condemning the malay tudung lady for her racial remarks against the old chinese uncle. she's bashed left and right from the entire community, even muslims alike.

racial tension, racial hatred, racial prejudice is pretty much reduced after the few past elections. even some big issue like the whole JAIS/MAIS raid on the bible association, the usage of 'Allah' by other religions, all of those issue can't stop people from coming together. muslims are now adopting a more moderate stance. which is rarely seen during the reign of you know who.

it might take a while more. but things is definitely improving.
That lady deserves a bash from all. If the accident are not serious and repair work > rm300, just lodge a police report, case close.
No need to use object to hit others.

TSpaskal
post Jul 18 2014, 05:17 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 18 2014, 01:56 PM)
That lady deserves a bash from all. If the accident are not serious and repair work > rm300, just lodge a police report, case close.
No need to use object to hit others.
she should be put in jail on the charge of aggression using a weapon. the way she hit the car using the steering lock shows her intention to use the weapon to assault and hurt others.

that kind of people should be put in jail.
PJusa
post Jul 18 2014, 05:42 PM

2,025 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 17 2014, 11:34 AM)
So instead of looking at the "rated" spec, I will dig more on typical rated spec at full or low load which is ~50% from it.
Analog meters are using mechanical parts, so wear and tear is there. Still it won't cause a huge spike when changing to new meter. Have to know that, no third party independent party to calibrate those digital meters and it is open secret that TNB asked their contractors to make it run faster than normal.
i am not dignifying the race card game - this is a fav malaysian pasttime and serves no purpose besides dividing ethnical groups so that incompetent and possible c*** politicians can ab*** power. if you play their game, good for them bad for the country.

first of and again for the record. just because something is printed it doesnt become true (thank god). if i think of all the *** published in "newspapers" like berita hariam i am really thankfull for that.

second: if what you say were true then you can easily and successfully sue TNB for meter tempering which is a crime. since its on a large scale its more serious. demand a couple of millions compensation for kicks.

third: measuring power consumption through a meter can be verified. get your meter tested in a lab if you feel like it.

i am sure you will be able to get a credible finding with a definite answer. your tests just dont hold up to a test environment - sorry.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 18 2014, 05:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jul 18 2014, 05:17 PM)
she should be put in jail on the charge of aggression using a weapon. the way she hit the car using the steering lock shows her intention to use the weapon to assault and hurt others.

that kind of people should be put in jail.
Well, she think she was the princess. Thanks to the Malaysian education.
SUSsupersound
post Jul 18 2014, 06:07 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 18 2014, 05:42 PM)
i am not dignifying the race card game - this is a fav malaysian pasttime and serves no purpose besides dividing ethnical groups so that incompetent and possible c*** politicians can ab*** power. if you play their game, good for them bad for the country.

first of and again for the record. just because something is printed it doesnt become true (thank god). if i think of all the *** published in "newspapers" like berita hariam i am really thankfull for that.

second: if what you say were true then you can easily and successfully sue TNB for meter tempering which is a crime. since its on a large scale its more serious. demand a couple of millions compensation for kicks.

third: measuring power consumption through a meter can be verified. get your meter tested in a lab if you feel like it.

i am sure you will be able to get a credible finding with a definite answer. your tests just dont hold up to a test environment - sorry.
first, everything printed in papers may not be true, but that will be more on political issue. On this, Chinese papers are more fair in some sense.
second, nobody can verify as no third party independent tester can be approved by government.
thirdly, I can use a FLIR camera to measure by comparing temperature between 2 meters. By cut off every electrical appliance and take temperature, the digital meter's incoming wire will still be warmer compare to analog type.

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:11 AM