18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

DIY (smart, energy efficient) house building, another house from scratch. DIY style.

TSpaskal
post Apr 28 2014, 06:20 PM, updated 8y ago

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

lets get things straight.
1. i'm not a contractor. i'm not trying to sell you anything.
this is my own house, on my own piece of land. not a documentation on some other fella house/project.
2. respect is warranted. this is not kopitiam.

the initial plan was to acquire this land and build a house at this location:
effective ~10,000 sqft after minus all the road reserve and sea reserve.

imagine opening your door to this, every morning, for the rest of your life.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

and kitchen and deck opens up to this
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

there's a wave breaker as you can see, and even at high tide, the sea level doesn't rise past the barrier. even then there's a drainage system to avoid seawater from going into paddy fields. MADA takes great precaution to avoid such situation from ever happening.

the land deal however, didn't went through. sigh.
proceeding with backup plan.

This post has been edited by paskal: Jun 19 2018, 03:08 PM
TSpaskal
post Apr 28 2014, 06:26 PM

2,801 posts

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
~7000 sqft effective (100ftx70ft).
with a small stream in front of the land. and the soil is naturally good for plants.

not as nice, but i do get ~15km unobstructed view at the back. naturally windy, and safe from tsunami hahaha.

This post has been edited by paskal: Nov 9 2014, 05:25 PM
ShadowR1
post Apr 28 2014, 06:31 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Since you are already doing what I just had in mind, perhaps I can learn a thing or two from here.

koinibler
post Apr 28 2014, 06:53 PM

2,050 posts

Okay, already track this topic. Waiting for further post.
DeanWong118
post Apr 28 2014, 08:07 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 28 2014, 06:26 PM)
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
~7000 sqft effective (100ftx70ft).
with a small stream in front of the land. and the soil is naturally good for plants.

not as nice, but i do get ~15km unobstructed view at the back. naturally windy, and safe from tsunami hahaha.
jokes aside the area posted before did get hit by the previous tsunami. you know the one where some died at batu ferigghi? yes, it hit the area and low area are flooded with some damages done to people houses. some houses are even swept away.
I want see ur further post rolleyes.gif
PangurBan
post Apr 28 2014, 08:38 PM

584 posts

Not scared kena another tsunami ah?
cdspins
post Apr 28 2014, 10:44 PM

2,714 posts

nice piece of land you have there....
TSpaskal
post Apr 29 2014, 08:19 AM

2,801 posts

if you engage an architect, insist that they do a site survey or site study.
it's the only way to check for sun movement and wind direction in the area. simple info that will make your house cooler and properly ventilated.

avoid orientating the largest wall in the house against sunshine as it will heat up the area inside. avoid arranging bedrooms directly facing the evening sun as it'll make your room hot at night.
and change the direction of your window opening to guide wind into your house, rather than deflecting them away.

can't find the complete 3D design since there's so many interation and revisions to the plan. it's in here, somewhere.
but the cheapest i got quoted for this plan is RM260k.
basic house, basic equipment, good build quality (from contractor past build history).

specs agreed for RM260k:
12 feet wall
metal deck (because roof pitch is only 5 degrees x 40 feet)
insulated roof
folding door, folding window
full plaster ceiling, 10 feet high
normal downlight, cfl bulb
normal ceiling fan with regulator
16" tile, entire house
full height tile in bathroom
normal paint, indoor and outdoor
normal bathroom finishing
no outdoor tile
no glass railing as in pic

IIRC 4 bathroom, 5 bedroom, 1 ht room, wet & dry kitchen, separated guest living room & dining area, family area, 2nd floor family area, 2 decks.
~3000 sqft interior floorspace.
translates to ~RM86-something psft

edit: (refer post below for accurate floorspace)

This post has been edited by paskal: May 5 2014, 10:23 AM
jagjag
post Apr 29 2014, 09:15 AM

537 posts

Where is the location..???
TSpaskal
post Apr 29 2014, 09:33 AM

2,801 posts

found the floorplan to the 3D which i've submitted for quotation.
correction it's not 2400 sqft. total interior space is 3143 sqft.
RM260k, which translate to ~RM83 psft.

deck and porch at half of the interior price. total build price not breaching RM300k.
5 bedroom, 1 ht room.
separated wet & dry kitchen.
2 family area at ground floor & 2nd floor.
6 bathroom
indoor store room
separated guest area & dining area

hard to believe?
believe it.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 29 2014, 09:36 AM

11,554 posts

Building a bungalow you can't avoid west.
Only way is extend the roof by another 2-3 ft
rm86 is dirt cheap already.
With 7000sqft of land, I'll prefer to build single storey rather than double storey. 2400sqft of total build up, if double storey translate to about 30*40ft or 20*60 which will make the land area very big(and hard to maintain if your family are not big).
weikee
post Apr 29 2014, 09:37 AM

12,019 posts

Nice project. The price you got is it including fitting and id? Ready move in (excluding appliances and furniture)

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 29 2014, 09:33 AM)

deck and porch at half of the interior price. total build price not breaching RM300k.
5 bedroom, 1 ht room.
6 bathroom
indoor store room

hard to believe?
believe it.
mx007
post Apr 29 2014, 09:41 AM

153 posts

U sure you are going with metal decking roof next to a beach? better get a properly treated one, and plus, wouldnt you want a roof deck so you can have an outdoor barbecue next to the beach on your house? or probably just a lemonade on your roof?

You can have a flat roof first
TSpaskal
post Apr 29 2014, 09:51 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 29 2014, 09:36 AM)
rm86 is dirt cheap already.
2 friends managed to negotiate with the same contractor and got their houses build for RM75 & RM78 psft. already finished construction in 2013 and moved in.

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 29 2014, 09:36 AM)
With 7000sqft of land, I'll prefer to build single storey rather than double storey. 2400sqft of total build up, if double storey translate to about 30*40ft or 20*60 which will make the land area very big(and hard to maintain if your family are not big).
spot on.
after discussion with friends and relatives owning double storey houses, they advised against proceeding with the plan since there's no constraint with land area.

but but but. double storey looks really nice.
but they suggested that it's a nuisance having to climb up and down the stairs everyday.

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 29 2014, 09:37 AM)
Nice project. The price you got is it including fitting and id? Ready move in (excluding appliances and furniture)
no ID. contractor only gonna include a concrete table top at the wet kitchen.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 29 2014, 09:55 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 29 2014, 09:51 AM)
2 friends managed to negotiate with the same contractor and got their houses build for RM75 & RM78 psft. already finished construction in 2013 and moved in.
spot on.
after discussion with friends and relatives owning double storey houses, they advised against proceeding with the plan since there's no constraint with land area.

but they suggested that it's a nuisance having to climb up and down the stairs everyday.
Listen to old man says.
Actually I prefer bungalow land of 5000-6000sqft, easier to maintain. Now I in the search of such sized land also, sadly, all are >7000sqft and shouting for rm40-50 per sqft doh.gif
toekong
post Apr 29 2014, 10:02 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 29 2014, 09:33 AM)

5 bedroom, 1 ht room.
6 bathroom
indoor store room

hard to believe?
believe it.
1) May i ask why do u have a 6.5' of empty space beside the study? why not extend it all the way there?
2) open staircase concept?? nice...
weikee
post Apr 29 2014, 10:09 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 29 2014, 09:51 AM)
spot on.

Look like need another 300 - 400k on ID depend your taste smile.gif
ShadowR1
post Apr 29 2014, 01:04 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,879 posts

Thanks for sharing guys, can the property build on any type of land or it must be on a residential gazetted land.

SUSsupersound
post Apr 29 2014, 01:37 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Apr 29 2014, 01:04 PM)
Thanks for sharing guys, can the property build on any type of land or it must be on a residential gazetted land.
Must be resident land.
TSpaskal
post Apr 29 2014, 02:06 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(mx007 @ Apr 29 2014, 09:41 AM)
U sure you are going with metal decking roof next to a beach? better get a properly treated one, and plus, wouldnt you want a roof deck so you can have an outdoor barbecue next to the beach on your house? or probably just a lemonade on your roof?

You can have a flat roof first
did considered flat roof, but considering the amount of things that could go wrong with the concrete, i would pass.
also considered a parapet wall, with metal decking to cover. but considering that it'll only welcome fungus growth, also avoided.

anyway i didn't get the seaside land.

QUOTE(toekong @ Apr 29 2014, 10:02 AM)
1) May i ask why do u have a 6.5' of empty space beside the study? why not extend it all the way there?
2) open staircase concept?? nice...
there's an entrance there, family entrance. the space is the walkway.

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 29 2014, 10:09 AM)
Look like need another 300 - 400k on ID depend your taste smile.gif
how did you arrive at that estimation? another couple of hundred thousand just for interior design is a bit too much don't you think?

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Apr 29 2014, 01:04 PM)
if it's an agricultural land, you're entitled to 1 building per each land title. so don't have to change the land type if you're thinking of building.

otherwise you need to change the type to residential or development. changing agricultural type to residential do take time and you need written consent from your local council. they have specific rules on what type of land that cannot be changed so be wary.

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:37 AM