18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

DIY (smart, energy efficient) house building, another house from scratch. DIY style.

ozak
post Jun 21 2014, 08:23 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 17 2014, 10:14 PM)
read below your posts and finally understood when you typed 6w. you corroborate my findings. the AC-DC converter that the LED lights are using have pretty low efficiency. surprising really, because yours are from CREE themselves.
ROI using the default led driver is just too long for me. i never believe electronics will last more than a couple of years, especially switching circuits. 5-6 years is just too long.

tho LEDs have a few important advantages that CFL could never provide. most important for me is:
1) heat dissipation to the backside of the case, which is to the ceiling.
2) can be powered by DC power using backup battery in case power failure.

best setup IMO is to isolate the DC conversion and current limit (led driver). use a high efficiency SMPS to convert to DC, then use a separate current limiter to drive the LED. you could use multiple LED per driver but there's a few downside.
upside:
- should provide higher efficiency as the current limiter is rated for ~97% efficiency, SMPS rating above 85%.
- cheaper maintenance cost since the smps and current limiter is isolated. replace just the problematic item.
- easily retrofitted to run from battery power for backup lights.
downside:
- switches will be handling DC. arching could destroy the switches in the long term.
- multiple equipment to maintain.

another easier setup is as you explained. using multiple LEDs wired in series to a single driver.
upside:
- cheaper initial cost. cheaper to modify existing wiring.
- easier to maintain. driver could be placed in easy to access area and since the LED itself are hard to spoil it's shorter downtime.
downside:
- higher replacement cost. single high power driver will cost more compared to either smps or current limiter.
- most led driver (integrated driver with smps and current limiter) have higher efficiency if nearly fully loaded. so it's gonna be hard to maintain high efficiency throughout the entire house.

have you considered building your own LED downlights?
i can't seem to find any supplier in ebay or aliexpress selling just the LED downlight case/housing. epistar 1w and 0.5w SMD LEDs are selling quite cheaply on the net. it's gonna be easy to hit 100 lumen/DC watt (or more) if we build the LED ourselves.
pair it with some cheap, high efficiency driver and string a couple of them together, it's gonna hit 90 lumens/watt or more on AC.

anyway for my garden lights, wall lights and flood lights, i'm gonna feed them DC directly (with or without current limiter) and build my own LED string. i've already bought the cases for the garden and wall lights so it's do or die.

The plan still at my drawing board. Having a led downlight for the whole house is expensive with the unreliable product. I once ask locally what is the price of the led downlight without the driver. Some show suprise face and some told me no warranty. rclxub.gif

ozak
post Jun 21 2014, 08:36 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 17 2014, 10:16 PM)
mind to explain what is 3P? 91% efficiency is quite high.
It is a 3phase 415vac/240vac SMPS. You can check their SMPS and efficiency at here --> http://www.omron-ap.com.my/products/catego...lies/index.html

SMPS like this Japan product surprising in not expensive. A 24vdc 50watt SMPS efficiency over 80% cost only rm45. Thanks to the crap china product driving their price down. But actual it manufacturing from china also.

For the reliable, 5 yrs is not a problem. Some I see running more than 8yrs. Just don't get their low end product.
ozak
post Jun 21 2014, 08:56 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 20 2014, 10:06 AM)
For the fun and mother nature is really good to use the method you mention. But for pocket and practicality is another story. I doubt it will generate any good ROI.

Have you consider Solar -> Battery and Let the battery power the LED in series. This way you have minimal wastage in conversion, and "free" energy from solar. Than again, you have to spend money investing on Battery. I been researching lithium ion battery after Xiaomi selling a good and cheap Powerbank. It actually don't cost much to buy the similar battery Xiaomi using LGABB41865 (universal 18650), maybe RM 5 / unit for low quantity order. 
If you can get the same or higher mAh batter capacity like Xiaomi powerbank using (2600mAh), you get 9.6watt hour per battery. That enough to power one 9watt Led for 45mins (assuming 75% efficiency).

Long I have not work on the power supply, I maybe wrong but I think the 97% efficiency can't be achieve in real world environment with the heat, and component  quality.
My those outdoor solar light, modify solar decor light are still surprising function well after 2yrs. Some using nicad battery and some is lithium ion. I put it at outdoor with rain and sun abuse. Some run in ON till drain the battery (about 6-7hr) and morning charge again. Some run on motion sensor and morning charge.

But the solar garden light all kong liau. cry.gif the cheapest 1.

I think can consider using solar with battery for non critical light usage. You won't get back your ROI. But it won't burden you monthly bill.
TSpaskal
post Jun 22 2014, 05:34 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 20 2014, 10:06 AM)
For the fun and mother nature is really good to use the method you mention. But for pocket and practicality is another story. I doubt it will generate any good ROI.

Have you consider Solar -> Battery and Let the battery power the LED in series. This way you have minimal wastage in conversion, and "free" energy from solar. Than again, you have to spend money investing on Battery. I been researching lithium ion battery after Xiaomi selling a good and cheap Powerbank. It actually don't cost much to buy the similar battery Xiaomi using LGABB41865 (universal 18650), maybe RM 5 / unit for low quantity order. 
If you can get the same or higher mAh batter capacity like Xiaomi powerbank using (2600mAh), you get 9.6watt hour per battery. That enough to power one 9watt Led for 45mins (assuming 75% efficiency).

Long I have not work on the power supply, I maybe wrong but I think the 97% efficiency can't be achieve in real world environment with the heat, and component  quality.
you mean this right?
i've bought some for sampling. another project for another day. a viable source of energy pack for embedded systems.
yes i agree they're worth more than what xiaomi is asking for them. so good that i've bought more than i need and given as gifts to family members. biggrin.gif

have considered solar charging. but the costs are not justifiable. as least for me.
got a friend using them tho, with a 1kw panel powering his led downlights.

he's using your normal lead acid battery. a car battery to be exact. and i'm with him on this. lithium ion cells are expensive and require extensive protection circuit. even charging circuit is quite complicated. the advantage is only for size and energy density where lithium cells stores more energy for the size.

it's better to use lead acid in this case as we have no size and weight constraints. it's reliable, have no problem supplying huge amount of current, robust, no problem with heat, less risk, doesn't require complex monitoring circuit, able to work with unstable charging voltage, and it's cheap. and it doesn't have memory effect.
having previously worked with NiCad & NiMH cell, LiOn and lead acid i really think lead acid is the best for this situation.

the reason why i won't implement it is because of the adoption costs.
it should cost about RM10k for a 1kW panel.
and if my memory serves me right, that 1kw panel should give you around 3kW per day average. 4kw at most. i'm realistic so we're gonna go with 3kw.

N70 battery at RM250 a piece. 12v x 75A = 900W per battery. 3 years working life.
say you're using all 3kW to power all the lights inside the house. realistic as it's gonna cost RM0.90 per night, ~RM30/month to power just the lights.

adoption cost at RM10k (panel) + RM750 for the battery + ~RM250 for the charging circuits, wiring, etc etc.
total RM11k, for a saving of RM30 a month for the lights.
that RM11k / RM30 per month saving = 366 month just to break even.

that's 30 years. just to break even.
not worth it IMO.

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 21 2014, 08:36 AM)
It is a 3phase 415vac/240vac SMPS. You can check their SMPS and efficiency at here --> http://www.omron-ap.com.my/products/catego...lies/index.html

SMPS like this Japan product surprising in not expensive. A 24vdc 50watt SMPS efficiency over 80% cost only rm45. Thanks to the crap china product driving their price down. But actual it manufacturing from china also.

For the reliable, 5 yrs is not a problem. Some I see running more than 8yrs. Just don't get their low end product.
thanks for the link. will take a look.

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 21 2014, 08:56 AM)
My those outdoor solar light, modify solar decor light are still surprising function well after 2yrs. Some using nicad battery and some is lithium ion. I put it at outdoor with rain and sun abuse. Some run in ON till drain the battery (about 6-7hr) and morning charge again. Some run on motion sensor and morning charge.

But the solar garden light all kong liau.  cry.gif  the cheapest 1.

I think can consider using solar with battery for non critical light usage. You won't get back your ROI. But it won't burden you monthly bill.
alternatively, can power all the non-essential lights using LED that's gonna be run throughout the night time. it's cheap and won't cost much. and even they burn, they're non-essential and no problem if it takes months to replace. biggrin.gif
TSpaskal
post Jun 22 2014, 06:02 PM

2,801 posts

the backyard area that will be turned to house the outdoor projection system:

yes the area must be cleaned beforehand.

how it looks after 3 layers of soil. it's pretty flat now. raised 2 feet from the water level.

the stream:

will let the soil set for another 3 month before starting construction.
total damage for the land fill?
219 lorry. and the cost per lorry will depend heavily on your area. i got it pretty cheap. biggrin.gif

then again, cheap is pretty relative.
you KL people don't mind paying over 1mil for an apartment so my price is like your leftover coin in your pockets lah. tongue.gif
weikee
post Jun 22 2014, 06:34 PM

12,019 posts

Haha, as to date, I brought 10 units of Xiaomi power bank smile.gif
ozak
post Jun 24 2014, 06:03 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 22 2014, 05:34 PM)
you mean this right?
i've bought some for sampling. another project for another day. a viable source of energy pack for embedded systems.
yes i agree they're worth more than what xiaomi is asking for them. so good that i've bought more than i need and given as gifts to family members. biggrin.gif

have considered solar charging. but the costs are not justifiable. as least for me.
got a friend using them tho, with a 1kw panel powering his led downlights.

he's using your normal lead acid battery. a car battery to be exact. and i'm with him on this. lithium ion cells are expensive and require extensive protection circuit. even charging circuit is quite complicated. the advantage is only for size and energy density where lithium cells stores more energy for the size.

it's better to use lead acid in this case as we have no size and weight constraints. it's reliable, have no problem supplying huge amount of current, robust, no problem with heat, less risk, doesn't require complex monitoring circuit, able to work with unstable charging voltage, and it's cheap. and it doesn't have memory effect.
having previously worked with NiCad & NiMH cell, LiOn and lead acid i really think lead acid is the best for this situation.

the reason why i won't implement it is because of the adoption costs.
it should cost about RM10k for a 1kW panel.
and if my memory serves me right, that 1kw panel should give you around 3kW per day average. 4kw at most. i'm realistic so we're gonna go with 3kw.

N70 battery at RM250 a piece. 12v x 75A = 900W per battery. 3 years working life.
say you're using all 3kW to power all the lights inside the house. realistic as it's gonna cost RM0.90 per night, ~RM30/month to power just the lights.

adoption cost at RM10k (panel) + RM750 for the battery + ~RM250 for the charging circuits, wiring, etc etc.
total RM11k, for a saving of RM30 a month for the lights.
that RM11k / RM30 per month saving = 366 month just to break even.

that's 30 years. just to break even.
not worth it IMO.
Car battery are not mean for solar usage way. It charatistic is to supply high burst amp in short time. But it need to be charge back immediately. It usage cannot be more than 50-60%. Otherwise will be shortlife. Solar do have lead acid battery called deep cycle battery. It design to be use in steady amp supply with more than 50% can be drain. Last 2 yrs asking the GP deep cycle battery price. Cost RM750-850 for a 100A. sweat.gif

Lead acid require maintenance to top up and place outside. Seal lead acid , lithium, NiMH etc don't require maintenance. All this require dedicate charger to maintain the charging. So the battery life can be last longer. Lithium ion is getting popular for solar usage. Probably the price is coming down.

This is the solar battery charger which I brought from state. It have efficiency about 90% more if not mistaken. It program to charge few type battery, maintain and monitoring usage.

ozak
post Jun 24 2014, 06:04 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 22 2014, 06:34 PM)
Haha, as to date, I brought 10 units of Xiaomi power bank smile.gif
Walau, brought so many for what? Pasar malam sell? tongue.gif

But this power bank is only 5V only wor. What you want to do with 5Vdc?
weikee
post Jun 24 2014, 07:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 24 2014, 06:04 PM)
Walau, brought so many for what? Pasar malam sell?  tongue.gif

But this power bank is only 5V only wor. What you want to do with 5Vdc?
Haha, add another 2 more units, just bought today smile.gif

I referring battery inside,, is 3.6v or was it 3.7v exactly good for led light.
ozak
post Jun 25 2014, 09:06 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 24 2014, 07:02 PM)
Haha, add another 2 more units, just bought today smile.gif

I referring battery inside,, is 3.6v or was it 3.7v exactly good for led light.
Depend the length size. The max length can go 3.7v, 3400mah. That can fired up a 1w led for 10hr+.

Those in my solar deco are 3.6v 2200mah. Can run about 6hr+ for a 1w led.

Next to get is solar panel and charger.
weikee
post Jun 25 2014, 09:19 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 25 2014, 09:06 AM)
Depend the length size. The max length can go 3.7v, 3400mah. That can fired up a 1w led for 10hr+.

Those in my solar deco are 3.6v 2200mah. Can run about 6hr+ for a 1w led.

Next to get is solar panel and charger.
Yeah, and is cheap if buy in bulk. Saw in Alibaba can go down to less than 1USD each. Imagine buy 200 units biggrin.gif

The killing is the panel and inverter.
ozak
post Jun 25 2014, 10:52 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2014, 09:19 AM)
Yeah, and is cheap if buy in bulk. Saw in Alibaba can go down to less than 1USD each. Imagine buy 200 units biggrin.gif

The killing is the panel and inverter.
Can use or not so cheap? The price is abit suspicious.

I brought this last yrs if not mistaken. Cost RM55/pcs from subang jaya. sweat.gif

The panel (12v/10w) and charger cost less than RM200 from local. Not that expensive anymore nowaday. Maybe even more cheaper from ebay or aliexpress.
weikee
post Jun 25 2014, 11:15 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 25 2014, 10:52 AM)
Can use or not so cheap? The price is abit suspicious.

I brought this last yrs if not mistaken. Cost RM55/pcs from subang jaya. sweat.gif

The panel (12v/10w) and charger cost less than RM200 from local. Not that expensive anymore nowaday. Maybe even more cheaper from ebay or aliexpress.
Lets use Xiaomi Powerbank as a base to calculate, is selling at RM 36 with circuit + 4 battery 2600mah inside. If i take everything as zero cost except the battery, that make it RM 9 per battery. I don't think Xiaomi selling at lost right? Think they maybe getting it at RM 3-4 per unit.
ozak
post Jun 25 2014, 11:43 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2014, 11:15 AM)
Lets use Xiaomi Powerbank as a base to calculate, is selling at RM 36 with circuit + 4 battery 2600mah inside. If i take everything as zero cost except the battery, that make it RM 9 per battery. I don't think Xiaomi selling at lost right? Think they maybe getting it at RM 3-4 per unit.
Xiaomi buying crazy qty stock. We consumer can't get that price. A simple check at Aliexpress already cost over RM10/pcs.

But getting indirectly from Xiaomi also very good price already.
weikee
post Jun 25 2014, 12:13 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 25 2014, 11:43 AM)
Xiaomi buying crazy qty stock. We consumer can't get that price. A simple check at  Aliexpress already cost over RM10/pcs.

But getting indirectly from Xiaomi also very good price already.
Think can get lower, need to buy more lo. Think we are oot already wink.gif
ozak
post Jun 25 2014, 12:44 PM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2014, 12:13 PM)
Think can get lower, need to buy more lo. Think we are oot already wink.gif
You want to power your whole house light with this battery? Sapu habis the xiaomi power bank.
K for Ketamine
post Jun 25 2014, 07:07 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 24 2014, 06:03 PM)
Car battery are not mean for solar usage way. It charatistic is to supply high burst amp in short time. But it need to be charge back immediately. It usage cannot be more than 50-60%. Otherwise will be shortlife.  Solar do have lead acid battery called deep cycle battery. It design to be use in steady amp supply with more than 50% can be drain. Last 2 yrs asking the GP deep cycle battery price. Cost RM750-850 for a 100A.  sweat.gif 

Lead acid require maintenance to top up and place outside. Seal lead acid , lithium, NiMH etc don't require maintenance. All this require dedicate charger to maintain the charging. So the battery life can be last longer. Lithium ion is getting popular for solar usage. Probably the price is coming down.

This is the solar battery charger which I brought from state. It have efficiency about 90% more if not mistaken. It program to charge few type battery, maintain and monitoring usage.

to make battery to last, need battery optimizer like hybrid (nvr go below 30% & charge up to 70% nvr full) & automated process top-up dehydrated lead acid

with 10000mAh, usable is 3000-4000mAh

base on NiMH can last abt 18months- charge full n drain 10% (battery power flashlight)

maybe consider this Iron Edison

This post has been edited by K for Ketamine: Jun 25 2014, 07:07 PM
weikee
post Jun 25 2014, 07:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Jun 25 2014, 07:07 PM)
to make battery to last, need battery optimizer like hybrid (nvr go below 30% & charge up to 70% nvr full) & automated process top-up dehydrated lead acid

with 10000mAh, usable is 3000-4000mAh

base on NiMH can last abt 18months- charge full n drain 10% (battery power flashlight)

maybe consider this Iron Edison

This setup not cheap.
TSpaskal
post Jun 26 2014, 08:40 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2014, 12:13 PM)
Think we are oot already wink.gif
nice to see so much technical discussion going on. sorry i can't add much since class is just starting.
i don't mind you guys OOT and continue your discussion.
Noobl3t
post Jun 26 2014, 09:39 PM

22 posts

I think you would save much more, by investing time and effort into ventilation design. Just my small opinion.

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:11 PM