137 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

Blofeld
post Jul 20 2014, 12:35 PM

4,700 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 12:27 PM)
How do you define a church?
I would like to know too
sonido
post Jul 20 2014, 02:11 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Jul 20 2014, 09:16 AM)
Ok i see your point because i exactly like yours before, before moving to other church.

I also has a lot of confusion in the past because people interpret bible "suka-suka-dia"... meaning whatever the preacher / gurus claim he got from God / Jesus Christ, they just preach 1 way, and did not want to hear my response nor answering my questions. Forget about challenge him, because he the ones holding the mics. Sometimes i got change to discuss usually if the preacher is not busy. either by lunch / dinner or just simply casual talks... at the end either i have something new, or i feel closer to hell.

The problem is, their version of truth did not help my problem, or at least their truth also did not make me a better person. What i feel, i feel sooooooooooo close to hell instead of soooooooooo close to Jesus.

Then i decided to venture from Churh A, to B, to C to D to really find the church that really meet my need
1. Church must understand that i am a normal human being. take me as is, or leave me alone
2. Church must understand that i sin everyday, due to nature as business man sometimes i have to convince client and give clients comforts, instead of plain truth.
3. Church must be worshiping Jesus Christ, same as i worship Jesus Christ.
4. Church must be open and have attitude to give warmth welcome to newcomers, instead of just simply Praise God and forget new comers.

So today i went to a church that really 50% to 70% meet my expectations. At least the community did not condemn me, and understand me as is... as is meaning take me as what i am. And also, they take care my emotional needs, as a human being, i need pair of ears that i can trust. The definition of trust is:
1. did not call me sinner because i share you A,B,C,D...
2. can keep secret as i just need ur pair of ears.

sound selfish ? you need to trust me this. They are people that want to invest their lives in you. Listening to you, and build you... because they are just people like to do that... there are also church like that... 1st They put Jesus as no 1, and then No 2. they invest their lives in you. The doctrine is just as simple as that. So if you are selfish, these kind of church still will pamper you, because they are looking for selfish people. at least that's their doctrine.

You can try church:
http://www.chc.org.my/

When you attend chc church above, they always announce to all congregation: who is the first comer or second time comer. We would love to know you more and let's have a relationships. This is good. they are deliberately telling you that if you are a first timer or second timer, you are welcomed. All you need to to is raise your hand and minister / ushers / leaders nearby will give you pen and card that you can fill with your name and phone number.

This church as 500 people at 10AM service in the morning, so it's quite packed, but usually only 1% to 5% are new comers. sometimes leaders they approach you, sometimes if not, usually they will call you next days... but perhaps they forgot who knows... people are inperfect anyway

The people are nice, but again... people also have weaknesses... so don't get tempted to just say yes...yes... and open up 100%. Balance it.... trust Jesus, don't be naive... Test first....

When they call you, they ask for a meeting / chit-chat ... well consider as business opportunities. who knows it's benefit, why not give a try.... give them test case. (aka you lie / make up story lahhh.... ) e.g.
telling them i run a business but now business is difficult ya... where is my Jesus ?
telling them i am smart at school, but i need to work so don't have time to study, so i cheat with assignments and exams... what should i do ya ? life difficult lah... no work no money to pay tuition. no degree no career lahhh...

Then slowly you will have a better understanding of live.

now is 9:15 sunday. chc start at 10AM. hope u stay nearby. God Bless
i have visited the chc link and i think it must be very.. ermm engaging. too exciting i think. i am still catholic and conservative and i like to stay at the faaaar back corner of anonymity cuz it suits me. i only go for mass to sing for God but not listen to the yada yadaing sermon of the priest, too monotonous, repititve and quite boring. the songs are gooding though and thats why i attend.

sonido
post Jul 20 2014, 02:17 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 12:07 PM)
All gifts from God are eternal, as you pointed out the greatest of these is love, why is that so because Jesus love His people so much that He is willing to die on the cross for our sins. That is the greatest love of all and God ask you to do the same for Him by laying down your life for Him no matter what is the consequences.

God wants you to lay down your life to spread the Good News of Him, even that means death.
not all people can spend their live spreading the good news. some may get the calling, some not but each has their function in the society.
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 03:54 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Jul 20 2014, 02:17 PM)
not all people can spend their live spreading the good news. some may get the calling, some not but each has their function in the society.
gift of the Holy Spirit come in many forms, one does not simply be a missionary just because they wanted too, but it's an calling, some has the gift on interpreting the words of God, some has the ability to serve as a musician in the church and international level, this is how your spread the Words of God................i am sure you heard of Hilllsong brand before. They has been in the music gospel industry for more than 10 years spreading the love of God through music also producing many talented international artists. This is the work of Holy Spirit. smile.gif
SUSleonhart88
post Jul 20 2014, 03:57 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Jul 20 2014, 02:11 PM)
i have visited the chc link and i think it must be very.. ermm engaging. too exciting i think. i am still catholic and conservative and i like to stay at the faaaar back corner of anonymity cuz it suits me. i only go for mass to sing for God but not listen to the yada yadaing sermon of the priest, too monotonous, repititve and quite boring. the songs are gooding though and thats why i attend.
I have tried different kinds of churches.

1. Since childhood till primary sch.the preach monotonous. The songs are so so.
2. Primary till jc: preach good songs great
3. Jc: preach monoton songs so so but people there are great and friendly
4. Univ: monoton preach good song
5. Working: song boring classic but preach amazing
6. Now: song good preach amazing but I don't hv a friend in my church
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 04:08 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jul 20 2014, 03:57 PM)
I have tried different kinds of churches.

1. Since childhood till primary sch.the preach monotonous. The songs are so so.
2. Primary till jc: preach good songs great
3. Jc: preach monoton songs so so but people there are great and friendly
4. Univ: monoton preach good song
5. Working: song boring classic but preach amazing
6. Now: song good preach amazing but I don't hv a friend in my church
you need to make the first step maybe you canb visit your church pastor to find out which small group is convenient for you to join?
SUSkernan_rio
post Jul 20 2014, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 20 2014, 12:22 PM)
Has anyone attended City Harvest Church?

May I know if it's really a church?
If by church you mean concert and motivational seminar aimed at youths with attention deficit disorder then yes, City Harvest is a church.
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 04:33 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(kernan_rio @ Jul 20 2014, 04:29 PM)
If by church you mean concert and motivational seminar aimed at youths with attention deficit disorder then yes, City Harvest is a church.
ok i just come back from city harvest church earlier today, i must say that city harvest is not really a concert or motivational seminar like what you allegedly has said, the bible said sing to the Lord with joyful praises although i am not fond of the speaking in tongue style otherwise it is ok..............and i wondered if you ever attended their services before or not? just because you are not fond of their way of praise and worship it does not means it was a concert style...........
SUSkernan_rio
post Jul 20 2014, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 04:33 PM)
ok i just come back from city harvest church earlier today, i must say that city harvest is not really a concert or motivational seminar like what you allegedly has said, the bible said sing to the Lord with joyful praises although i am not fond of the speaking in tongue style otherwise it is ok..............and i wondered if you ever attended their services before or not? just because you are not fond of their way of praise and worship it does not means it was a concert style...........
Whatever rocks your boat. There's a reason these churches attract lots of people. smile.gif
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 04:52 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(kernan_rio @ Jul 20 2014, 04:34 PM)
Whatever rocks your boat. There's a reason these churches attract lots of people.  smile.gif
i am not a member there, neither i am interested to be their church member, i am a member of other church and i don't see any harm City Harvest Church bring...............

i have been to many other churches before, and i say city harvest church is just a normal church with a wider vision which many other churches dare not to risk to take.
de1929
post Jul 20 2014, 08:19 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jul 20 2014, 12:22 PM)
Has anyone attended City Harvest Church?

May I know if it's really a church?
I think it's fine.

It's not Catholic church at all imho. It does not display Catholic culture nor misa / service.
It's not Presbyterian / Wesleyan / traditional churches i think.

It's something else... now this is difficult to explain, unless you attend yourself.

At least you can see these videos and my analysis. Allow me to share some youtube videos about "churches" that i have encountered so far. These 5 churches are not in malaysia.

1. Synagoge. It's for jewish but i am not jewish. naturally they just put distance to you, regardless you have Jesus or not imho.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Z_gyc7yG_c

2. Mormon - The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons)
If you see the video below, you can see it looks traditional. But unfortunately, Mormon is not something i endorsed personally, due to doctrine and teaching issues. But this video is just to demonstrate how nice a traditional setting is (despite the teachings), hommy church and far away from concert style / modern setups.

City Harvest was not build (i mean architecturely build) with this setting. The service room is basicly a huge auditorium, with concert lamps and does not painted white. It does not use church pews so it's just does not look like this youtube at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ia0TcWrKf-E

3. Victory Church of Hattiesburg
Now this is the sample of another church, which i recommend. It's quite loud not quiet type church. so far the teaching is fine. building is basicly a basic traditional church style. painted white, with projector to help display powerpoint. teaching ok2x lah it think

City Harvest Church was using a theather like screen soooo wide i oso surprised and not comfortable in the beginning. at least they manage to put the light no so bright so it's still ok laaahhh....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7CmLjCRcvc

4. Desert Heights Church
This church is what i called contemporary. Look at the preacher wearing jeans. in the beginning i was not okay, cuz usually pastor wears black and white or at least a man suit. oh not to mention he preach using ipad not bible book... oh well i think something just change. this clip is promotional so it has no teaching available. but the clip is good. it's able to communicate to some internet users (like me hehehe...)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JiFiwt3ObbM

5. live church UK
same like no 4. just another clip of contemporary church. I study personally how they represent their church or what i called brand marketing for church awareness.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDbZ2KGCc-U

As you see, things has changed. so does church.
some preserve original style so old people "old schooler" like me comfortable
some goes to contemporary style so newcomers will be comfortable. Not "old schooler" like me.

At the end, just go to the Church that is right.... right for you... because it's for you (and your family if ur married)...

Confused ? just go to city harvest church imho.

This post has been edited by de1929: Jul 20 2014, 08:20 PM
SUSleonhart88
post Jul 20 2014, 09:57 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 04:08 PM)
you need to make the first step maybe you canb visit your church pastor to find out which small group is convenient for you to join?
of course got. but I am way too shy.
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 10:00 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jul 20 2014, 09:57 PM)
of course got. but I am way too shy.
God said Step out in faith, by faith moses was called to service by faith david was called to serve his people, and also many others............so i say to you have courage to move on smile.gif there are many volunteers during the service every weekend you can approach 1 of them for assistance there is even a helpdesk to help you as well smile.gif
SUSleonhart88
post Jul 20 2014, 10:13 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 10:00 PM)
God said Step out in faith, by faith moses was called to service by faith david was called to serve his people, and also many others............so i say to you have courage to move on smile.gif there are many volunteers during the service every weekend you can approach 1 of them for assistance there is even a helpdesk to help you as well smile.gif
I am shy if it is big churches with have member thousands. I am more comfortable with church with 50 members. I like the preach in that big church.
De_Luffy
post Jul 20 2014, 10:15 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jul 20 2014, 10:13 PM)
I am shy if it is big churches with have member thousands. I am more comfortable with church with 50 members. I like the preach in that big church.
ok, which day you attending it? saturday or sunday? i maybe ask my friend help over there to assist you?
pehkay
post Jul 21 2014, 08:57 AM

145 posts

TO BEAR THE CROSS BEING TO SEE THAT WE ARE TERMINATED

What does it mean to bear the cross? To bear the cross means to see that we are finished and ended. As soon as we begin to love someone, the cross will operate in us to kill our love. Can a crucified person still love others by himself? Can someone who is on the cross still be active? Can someone who is on the cross still do something? It is impossible. If we know the cross and bear the cross, we will immediately see that the cross has already terminated us.

We all know that when we light a kerosene lamp, at the beginning it does not smoke, but later, after we twist the wick and raise it, the smoke comes out. Our loving others by ourselves is like lighting a kerosene lamp. When we first love someone, there is no "smoke," but after loving him more, the "smoke" comes out. This is our flesh. Today we may approve of this one and appreciate him, but tomorrow we may disapprove of him and belittle him. Therefore, when someone praises us, we should not be too excited, because later he may be the one who attacks us the most.

If a person has not been dealt with, he may do good things now, but that does not necessarily mean that he will not do bad things later. A person cannot be pure unless he has been dealt with. For this reason, God has a strict requirement on us. He requires us to be delivered not only from evil and from good, but He also requires us to be delivered from our self. Hence, we must have the experience of the cross; we must pass through the cross.

HAVING SPIRITUAL EXPERIENCES BY PASSING THROUGH THE CROSS

The genuine experience of a Christian is the experience of the cross. Only those who have passed through the cross will be able to stand the tests, the blows, and the various trials and afflictions. Regrettably, many Christians have been saved for years but still do not have the experience of the cross. It seems that their experiences of their prayers being answered, their preaching of the gospel being effective, and their having fellowship with the saints are all spiritual experiences. But strictly speaking, whoever has not passed through the cross has not had any spiritual experiences. Only those who have passed through the cross have had spiritual experiences. Our being, our self, must first be broken and terminated by the cross. Then Christ can gain some ground in us and come out through us, and His life can also be constituted into us.

Christ is the life, and the cross is the way. Without the cross, we cannot have the experience of Christ’s life. Some saints fervently love the Lord, but eventually they fall, become weak, and even get into trouble. Why? It is because they have never passed through the cross. Someone may be stumbled and may stop coming to the meetings because he was told by an usher to sit in the front row. Another one who was zealous in preaching the gospel may suddenly stop preaching because others looked at him with cold eyes. What kind of experience is this? This shows us that these people have not been dealt with by the cross. If a person has been dealt with by the cross, he will not have these negative feelings. The fact that we can sense whether people welcome us or not proves that the cross has never done the breaking work in us. Only those who have passed through the cross can endure hardship and are real spiritual men.
TSunknown warrior
post Jul 21 2014, 10:12 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Jul 20 2014, 08:31 AM)
i should clarify this to you. what i mean is no orndinary type of work. this is a type of work that even more important than faith that we need to perform before Christ can offer us the gift of everlasting life.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

1 Corinthians 13:13
And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. BUT THE GREATEST OF THESE IS LOVE.

Love cannot be manifested without work. in other words, good deeds are the manifestations of love.

the first and most important commandment is to Love God with all your heart. but since God has everything, He doesn't mean He need us to perform a ritual rote prayer that utters the 'i love u God' a thousand times a day... He had shown us how to love him through our work in Matthew 25:36-40...

I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply,

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Galatians 5:22
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. AGAINST SUCH THINGS THERE IS NO LAW.

religion equates to law. this is why i said religion becomes irrelevant.
QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 08:45 AM)
salvation is not a gift, salvation is once you received Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior which means you are bound in heaven which is eternal
Salvation is a gift.

Ephesians 2:8 (KJV) - For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

sonido
Notice in Galatians 5:22 as you quoted, the word "fruit"? Fruit of the Holy Spirit not effort. Fruit in this context means the result of being already Saved not the condition to be saved.

TSunknown warrior
post Jul 21 2014, 10:19 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sonido @ Jul 20 2014, 08:40 AM)
salvation = your sin is forgiven by Christ. you can still lose this gift of salvation if you do not practice it. only when we are sinless that we can enter heaven. this is why we need Christ in our everyday life to ensure we do not stray from the right path. we strive with our own strength, but we need Christ to lend us the help we need in every situation we face. (correct me if im wrong)
Many Christians like you, started off from this perspective before they're saved and after they accepted Christ, they still carry idea this but it's not the truth.

The key point here as you said "only when we are sinless".

The problem with this doctrine is that your Salvation depends on one self not Christ ("with our own strength").

Any doctrine that negates Christ is not of God but of the Anti-Christ.

A bit difficult to make you understand when you're not a Christian.

sonido
post Jul 21 2014, 10:35 AM

47 posts

i wish we could do somwthing for you sweeties.. sad.gif

sonido
post Jul 21 2014, 07:16 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(De_Luffy @ Jul 20 2014, 03:54 PM)
gift of the Holy Spirit come in many forms, one does not simply be a missionary just because they wanted too, but it's an calling, some has the gift on interpreting the words of God, some has the ability to serve as a musician in the church and international level, this is how your spread the Words of God................i am sure you heard of Hilllsong brand before. They has been in the music gospel industry for more than 10 years spreading the love of God through music also producing many talented international artists. This is the work of Holy Spirit. smile.gif
your answer both are humbling and inspiring to me. the gift of the Holy Spirit... but i dislike to think of a separate entity to Christ. i'm afraid to claim i have what i don't understand. even to say God is on my side is too boastful for me i think. i need God but God may not need me.

i like the song Jesus take the wheel ~ Carrie Underwood. It has a story that i can really connect based on my own exp.

137 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:01 PM