137 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

el-mike
post Oct 21 2014, 08:31 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 21 2014, 07:41 PM)
yeah those spiritual gift are gone. but then since this topic is denomination dependent and thread is denomination neutral, I guess it is better not to refute too much here. refute face to face better and more effective imo
Yeah, that's true.

ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 08:44 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 09:22 PM)
The indulgence in lust?

Lol .... I mentioned "may" because the incident has happens in the history of Pentecostal. The real experience of tongue speaking do get people into ecstasy.

At least I need to balance it out to say that some have testified that speaking in tongues stirred something within them to seek after Christ. This is a proper result of tongue-speaking.

But those who become addicted to tongue-speaking care only for their ecstasy. They do not care for sobriety. As a result, there are many cases of fornication among them.

There was a big case in the past in China, where a group of people practices this till they declared that they is no longer male or female. They began to dwell together, which eventually, lead to fornication.

Biblically, I think it was Saul.

"He stripped off his garments, and he too prophesied in Samuel’s presence. He lay naked all that day and all that night. This is why people say, “Is Saul also among the prophets?”

When the Spirit in the Old Testament poured on fallen flesh, there is this kind of experience.

So, those who practice this, need to realize their fallen flesh is still as active as ever.

P.S. IMHO a real spiritual and powerful Christian is one who the Lord has deal with his flesh. This requires the inner life experience of Christ. The outward outpouring of the Spirit is not very helpful without the inward essential Spirit within the believers.
interesting. didn't know this.:-D
de1929
post Oct 21 2014, 08:50 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 08:22 PM)
The indulgence in lust?

Lol .... I mentioned "may" because the incident has happens in the history of Pentecostal. The real experience of tongue speaking do get people into ecstasy.

Bro Pehkayyyyy... smile.gif

Pentecostal has been rebuked and refined by Christ himself through input and complain for their non pentecostal brother.

It should be Pentecostal Version 1, version 2, version 3, version 4, etc... but who keep the track ?

The latest "version" of Pentecostal actually they don't blabber so much... they are more grounded to word of GOD and no so fly-fly high like old schoolers... I found it less flexible but oh well, just follow my leader lahh...

some getting "creative" e.g. DUMC they do prayer before service, and they put highligted that in the prayer session there is speaking in tongue... but normal service no at all.

City Harvest KL... Kevin Loo he say clearly that City Harvest has to be as evangelical as possible but oso as pentecostal as possible... in one of the service he preach about nicene creed...

oso 2 pentecostal church inside can be different point of view... depends on the leader and denomination... AOG (assembly of GOD) is very slow and put a lot filter which i think somehow more strict than evangelical churches...

ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 08:55 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 09:29 PM)
I think it really depends on the purpose why you want to speak in tongues.

It's no point to go babbling without proper understanding. I think we shouldn't do it for the sheer ecstasy,
never actually heard of that even.

Speaking in tongues is speaking to God and to God alone.
That is why the Apostle Paul spoke a lot in tongues. 1 Corinthians 14:18  - I thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you.
just to clarify, speak in tongue = speak in different language right? ie I speak Cantonese. but when I pray, I pray in English. so can I say I pray in tongue (different language)?
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 08:57 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Actually Speaking in tongues is a given gift really.

I don't see how it actually relates to what was said about lust and not pursuing towards Christ?

1 Corinthians 14:2 - For anyone who speaks in a tongue does not speak to people but to God. Indeed, no one understands them; they utter mysteries by the Spirit.

What is the purpose?

1 Corinthians 14:4
Anyone who speaks in a tongue edifies themselves, but the one who prophesies edifies the church.

Romans 8:26
In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 21 2014, 08:59 PM
de1929
post Oct 21 2014, 09:03 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 21 2014, 08:55 PM)
just to clarify, speak in tongue = speak in different language right? ie I speak Cantonese. but when I pray, I pray in English. so can I say I pray in tongue (different language)?
hahaha... imho no lah bro... speaking in tounge similar (i say similar) to people mumbling... but if you ngaisteve1 mumbling is not speaking in tongue... why don't you see this youtube to get better perspective biggrin.gif

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 09:07 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 21 2014, 08:55 PM)
As the Spirit enables. Can in languages can be utterance of wordless groans.
pehkay
post Oct 21 2014, 09:16 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 08:29 PM)
I think it really depends on the purpose why you want to speak in tongues.

It's no point to go babbling without proper understanding. I think we shouldn't do it for the sheer ecstasy,
never actually heard of that even.

Speaking in tongues is speaking to God and to God alone.
That is why the Apostle Paul spoke a lot in tongues. 1 Corinthians 14:18  - I thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you.
True. This is why today's tongue speaking is generally not genuine. The real one brings you to be beside yourself (acts 2 - disciples were perceived to be drunk)

It is only perhaps useful for private experience. But, corporately, it is not very profitable. Also, if the goal is not Christ and the church, it is very damaging.

Anyway, that's enough of this from me.
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:26 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(el-mike @ Oct 21 2014, 06:32 PM)
Hello everyone.

This has probably been asked before, but, what are your thoughts on people speaking in tongue? It has always been something that bothered me. Does it make me less of a Christian if I don't believe in it?
Last week i was in a Baptist church and there was this woman who, when during the praise and worship, sang in tongues very loudly and again during prayer by the pastor.'

i thought it was very disturbing and slowly became a nuisance.

No one knew what she was on about. No one could interpret while she on on and on.....Omm oMMmm Ommmmm
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 09:27 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 09:16 PM)
True. This is why today's tongue speaking is generally not genuine. The real one brings you to be beside yourself (acts 2 - disciples were perceived to be drunk)

It is only perhaps useful for private experience. But, corporately, it is not very profitable. Also, if the goal is not Christ and the church, it is very damaging.

I think the Bible is quite clear, speaking in tongues is never for another believers, but between himself and God.
Even in a corporate prayer when everyone prays in tongues it's still between that person and God, not as a corporate whole.

Why I find praying in tongues important because sometime we can pray wrong prayers in our natural language.
We can also pray selfish prayer. But when we pray in tongues, it is God's spirit who pray through our mouth and
The Holy Spirit always know what is the best prayer.

I find that reason alone more edifying more than anything. Shalom Bro.
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:28 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(14-9-2015 @ Oct 21 2014, 06:40 PM)
hello fren,

refer to post #2532 about 4 pages back.

i posted : Nine manifestation gifts are listed in 1st Corinthians 12:7–11:

Word of wisdom
Word of knowledge
Faith
Gifts of healing
Working of miracles
Prophecy
Discerning of spirits
Divers kinds of tongues
Interpretation of tongues

its my understanding tat when u come to Christ, the above gifts r given freely. its like a 'package' thing.

whtr u believe in it or not, it wil not affect ur Salvation in any way. it won't make u less of a Christian. so dun wori  icon_rolleyes.gif .

I dun speak in tongues either, but my parents & sibling do.

correct me if i'm wrong prophetjul
i agree sir......It does not make you a lesser child of God.
de1929
post Oct 21 2014, 09:39 PM

1,920 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 09:16 PM)

Under assumption that you are not speaking in tongue, At least now i know why your "Jacob series" preaching is good but no power / not alive. I didn't say it's ugly no..no.. it's good... english sentence nice, revelation good... but power bro... no power inside it... not alive.

imagine this: You are a good architect with a good drawing on a house. your drawing is good. solid and valid... but i am looking for property because ngaisteve1 property already rented... my family needs a shelter. thanks for the good drawing bro smile.gif

UW messages has power inside it... but to be honest the last message about salvation is actually quite difficult to understand the message but .... there is water that flow out of it... there is something living...

hope you don't get offended bro sweat.gif ... peace smile.gif

prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:40 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 07:42 PM)
Yes.

2 Corinthians 5:19 - that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people's sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.

That is the truth. Why? Because Jesus is our atonement. As long as Jesus is our High Priest, our position in Righteousness does not change.

I keep telling you, repentance is change of mind towards God, that He is for us, not against us. Until you see and understand that, your repentance will not bear fruit.

And the Bible says We reign when we keep on receiving God's abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness.

People can keep on confessing sin until they're are blue in the face, cry at the altar and still will remain the same, unchanged.  You know this the reality in Church. 

17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

18 And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation;

19 To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation.

When are you reconciled to God? When you repent. Therefore when you have repented, God remembers your sin no more.

Howevre when you said

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 05:45 PM)
Correct, even if you do sin, God will not see it.

There is a major difference..how come Jesus saw the sin of the the church of Ephesus?
Since they were saved before and in your thinking that God does NOT see sin of the redeemed. YET Jesus call their SIN.
i rest my case

If Jesus Christ has cleansed the believer of all unrighteousness and sin, what does that makes him? Still a sinner?

Try and answer me on that.

What make a sinner, a sinner?

SIN
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:47 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 21 2014, 09:03 PM)
hahaha... imho no lah bro... speaking in tounge similar (i say similar) to people mumbling... but if you ngaisteve1 mumbling is not speaking in tongue... why don't you see this youtube to get better perspective biggrin.gif

"THe key to a Spirit Led Life" is NOT tongues.

The key is obedience to the Holy Spirit and word of God.

3 And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments.

4 He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.

5 But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.

6 He that saith he abideth in him ought himself also so to walk, even as he walked.

7 Brethren, I write no new commandment unto you, but an old commandment which ye had from the beginning. The old commandment is the word which ye have heard from the beginning.

8 Again, a new commandment I write unto you, which thing is true in him and in you: because the darkness is past, and the true light now shineth.
"i will pray with tongues and i will pray with my understandiing"

Maybe Prince missed that

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Oct 21 2014, 09:53 PM
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:50 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 21 2014, 09:39 PM)
Under assumption that you are not speaking in tongue, At least now i know why your "Jacob series" preaching is good but no power / not alive. I didn't say it's ugly no..no.. it's good... english sentence nice, revelation good... but power bro... no power inside it... not alive.

imagine this: You are a good architect with a good drawing on a house. your drawing is good. solid and valid... but i am looking for property because ngaisteve1 property already rented... my family needs a shelter. thanks for the good drawing bro smile.gif

UW messages has power inside it... but to be honest the last message about salvation is actually quite difficult to understand the message but .... there is water that flow out of it... there is something living...

hope you don't get offended bro  sweat.gif  ... peace smile.gif
Define "power".
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 09:52 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2014, 09:40 PM)
When are you reconciled to God?  When you repent.  Therefore when you have repented, God remembers your sin no more.

Howevre when you said
There is a major difference..how come Jesus saw the sin of the the church of Ephesus?
Since they were saved before and in your thinking that God does NOT see sin of the redeemed. YET Jesus call their SIN.
i rest my case
Repentance from what when you are cleansed of all unrighteousness by Christ?
Read my sentence carefully.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2014, 09:40 PM)
What make a sinner, a sinner?

SIN
That's not my question. Listen again.

If Jesus Christ has cleansed the believer of all unrighteousness and sin, what does that makes him? Still a sinner?

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 09:54 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2014, 09:47 PM)
"THe key to a Spirit Led Life" is NOT tongues.

The key is obedience to the Holy Spirit and word of God. 
"i will pray with tongues and i will pray with my understandiing"

Maybe Prince missed that
Have you actually see the video, or you just skip totally and commented above?
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:55 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 09:52 PM)
Repentance from what when you are cleansed of all unrighteousness by Christ?
Read my sentence carefully.
That's not my question. Listen again.

When is a sinner reconciled to God?

What makes a sinner, as sinner? SIN.........yes if he sins, he becomes a sinner. Not hard at all.
prophetjul
post Oct 21 2014, 09:56 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 09:54 PM)
Have you actually see the video, or you just skip totally and commented above?
The whole gist of the title is key to a Spirit led life. Prince points to tongues.

Scriptures points to obedience to God's word

3 And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments.

4 He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.

5 But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.

6 He that saith he abideth in him ought himself also so to walk, even as he walked.

7 Brethren, I write no new commandment unto you, but an old commandment which ye had from the beginning. The old commandment is the word which ye have heard from the beginning.

8 Again, a new commandment I write unto you, which thing is true in him and in you: because the darkness is past, and the true light now shineth.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Oct 21 2014, 09:58 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 21 2014, 10:00 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2014, 09:55 PM)
When is a sinner reconciled to God?

What makes a sinner, as sinner?    SIN.........yes if he sins, he becomes a sinner.  Not hard at all.
So you're saying you got your Salvation by your act of repentance? In other words, it depends on your effort now.

No that's not my question.

Here it is again.

137 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:00 AM