122 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

seantang
post Oct 4 2014, 11:23 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 4 2014, 10:17 AM)
Are they looking at Bachelor's degree holders in Accounting or with an ACCA will do to be hired there ? How much does a manager get in your company ? Is your company a MNC or local based Spore company ? Thanks.
100% have a bachelor's degree. 75% also have either a postgraduate degree or professional qualification on top of their bachelors. 50% have all 3 ie. bachelors + masters/MBA + professional qualification. Since there are a lot of foreigners, many actually have 2 professional qualifications ie. their local country qualification plus a more international one like CA, CPA or ACCA.

Managers start at 15K.

US MNC regional HQ in SG.
BravoZeroTwo
post Oct 4 2014, 01:36 PM

1,128 posts

[quote=seantang,Oct 4 2014, 12:23 PM]
100% have a bachelor's degree. 75% also have either a postgraduate degree or professional qualification on top of their bachelors. 50% have all 3 ie. bachelors + masters/MBA + professional qualification. Since there are a lot of foreigners, many actually have 2 professional qualifications ie. their local country qualification plus a more international one like CA, CPA or ACCA.

Managers start at 15K.

US MNC regional HQ in SG.

Thanks Sean for the information. May I ask which industry it is this company ? Meaning they will only hire people with a Bachelor degree and not an ACCA alone ?
seantang
post Oct 4 2014, 02:09 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 4 2014, 01:36 PM)
Thanks Sean for the information. May I ask which industry it is this company? Meaning they will only hire people with a Bachelor degree and not an ACCA alone ?
Chemicals industry.

Firstly, the HR system doesn't recognise ACCA to be an academic qualification. It's recognised as a professional membership. So technically, people with ACCA alone are Form 5 or Form 6/Pre-U highest academic qualification and a professional membership. Since we have 2 salary scales (one for graduates, another for technicians/non-graduates) - the HR system will default ACCA to the technician/non-graduate payscale. Since ACCA holders can find a higher salary elsewhere, our salary offer won't attract them.

Secondly, in Singapore, it's very easy to find graduates who also have a professional qualification. So, we don't bother to look at non-graduate resumes.

BravoZeroTwo
post Oct 4 2014, 03:31 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 4 2014, 03:09 PM)
Chemicals industry.

Firstly, the HR system doesn't recognise ACCA to be an academic qualification. It's recognised as a professional membership. So technically, people with ACCA alone are Form 5 or Form 6/Pre-U highest academic qualification and a professional membership. Since we have 2 salary scales (one for graduates, another for technicians/non-graduates) - the HR system will default ACCA to the technician/non-graduate payscale. Since ACCA holders can find a higher salary elsewhere, our salary offer won't attract them.

Secondly, in Singapore, it's very easy to find graduates who also have a professional qualification. So, we don't bother to look at non-graduate resumes.
Hi Sean, does this system of two salary scales of hiring apply to your company alone or most companies practice that ? Thanks.
seantang
post Oct 4 2014, 07:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 4 2014, 03:31 PM)
Hi Sean, does this system of two salary scales of hiring apply to your company alone or most companies practice that ? Thanks.
No idea about other companies. The HR consultant that does our benchmarking has separate data for graduates and non-graduates. l imagine other peer companies have similar pay differentials between graduates and non-graduates.
SUSrobertchoo
post Oct 5 2014, 11:59 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 4 2014, 03:31 PM)
I think you should worry less about the salary and worry more about actually getting the job and keeping it. Competition is intense esp if you are not pr/singaporean. Singapore is no longer the hub for tier 2 talents like it was before. Today even the very top talents are seriously considering relocating to SG due to its political stability (unlike hk), its world class infra, transparency, efficiency and great living standards.
ViLenG
post Oct 5 2014, 12:23 PM

custom vi leng
1,461 posts

ACCA/CPA sounds like so-so so singaporeans dont really see them like WHOAHHH she got a cpa membership or something... is it ://

instead they value more on working performance. correct me if im wrong lol
ViLenG
post Oct 5 2014, 12:26 PM

custom vi leng
1,461 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Oct 5 2014, 11:59 AM)
I think you should worry less about the salary and worry more about actually getting the job and keeping it. Competition is intense esp if you are not pr/singaporean. Singapore is no longer the hub for tier 2 talents like it was before. Today even the very top talents are seriously considering relocating to SG due to its political stability (unlike hk), its world class infra, transparency, efficiency and great living standards.
So what actually singaporeans firms are expecting a malaysian employee to work in sg to have? ermmm since x salary, more on education/work performance? hmm.gif
SUSGazprom200
post Oct 6 2014, 12:37 AM

849 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Oct 5 2014, 12:26 PM)
So what actually singaporeans firms are expecting a malaysian employee to work in sg to have? ermmm since x salary, more on education/work performance? hmm.gif
Isn't that is a question for you to ask the employers during interview?

This post has been edited by Gazprom200: Oct 6 2014, 12:40 AM
ViLenG
post Oct 6 2014, 11:41 AM

custom vi leng
1,461 posts

QUOTE(Gazprom200 @ Oct 6 2014, 12:37 AM)
Isn't that is a question for you to ask the employers during interview?
Tbh haven't been once to sg for interview before, thats why im wondering. lol
Fiona Chin
post Oct 6 2014, 11:48 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Oct 5 2014, 11:59 AM)
Today even the very top talents are seriously considering relocating to SG due to its political stability (unlike hk), its world class infra, transparency, efficiency and great living standards.
Long live father Singapore notworthy.gif . Yeap, seeing applicants with ivy league degree now, not oxbridge or harvard, but the among the front row, NUS also need to step aside, foresee my retrenchment really soon cry.gif . Previously those people are coming here as expat relocating from their European palace.

That said, Singapore don't prefer only atas Blue Mountain coffee served in 5 stars hotel with gold plated porcelain ware, some still drink their Starbucks, Nespresso, kopitiam, 3-in-1 etc etc. Just find the compatible buyer and you would have a deal. Even coffee from cat poop also highly sought after shocking.gif .

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Oct 6 2014, 11:49 AM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Oct 6 2014, 12:15 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 6 2014, 11:48 AM)
Long live father Singapore  notworthy.gif . Yeap, seeing applicants with ivy league degree now, not oxbridge or harvard, but the among the front row, NUS also need to step aside, foresee my retrenchment really soon  cry.gif . Previously those people are coming here as expat relocating from their European palace.

That said, Singapore don't prefer only atas Blue Mountain coffee served in 5 stars hotel with gold plated porcelain ware, some still drink their Starbucks, Nespresso, kopitiam, 3-in-1 etc etc. Just find the compatible buyer and you would have a deal. Even coffee from cat poop also highly sought after  shocking.gif .
wah lidat meh. cham lo i better find job back in msia.. XD
IwanAGP
post Oct 6 2014, 01:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 6 2014, 11:48 AM)
Long live father Singapore  notworthy.gif . Yeap, seeing applicants with ivy league degree now, not oxbridge or harvard, but the among the front row, NUS also need to step aside, foresee my retrenchment really soon  cry.gif . Previously those people are coming here as expat relocating from their European palace.

That said, Singapore don't prefer only atas Blue Mountain coffee served in 5 stars hotel with gold plated porcelain ware, some still drink their Starbucks, Nespresso, kopitiam, 3-in-1 etc etc. Just find the compatible buyer and you would have a deal. Even coffee from cat poop also highly sought after  shocking.gif .
Talking about Starbucks...

I can only say it's cheap here. Not the case of dollar for dollar. In M'sia, earn erm... for eg. RM3000 pay RM20+- for a starbucks, that's 0.67% of monthly salary. In Singapore, take 10% off the salary, around 2700SGD pay 7SGD+- for a starbucks, that's 0.26%. In short, someone working in SG can buy 1.5 cups more starbucks with the same portion of their salary (in %) tongue.gif Not hard to see why most starbucks in SG is full with people all time. But I do see some starbucks in more hidden areas with much less people. Better environment to have coffee break.

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 6 2014, 12:15 PM)
wah lidat meh. cham lo i better find job back in msia.. XD
Thinking that way is wrong. You should think... Earn more before kena fire/retrench/replaced by the elites/talents. Kena fire/retrench only find jalan back M'sia biggrin.gif
rawrkun
post Oct 6 2014, 11:32 PM

316 posts

Anyone here knows a good and affordable place to learn mandarin besides community center?
LiangZhuge
post Oct 6 2014, 11:41 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Oct 6 2014, 11:41 AM)
Tbh haven't been once to sg for interview before, thats why im wondering. lol
Singapore motto - Cheaper, Better, Faster - If you checked all 3 requirements, confirm you get the job smile.gif

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 6 2014, 01:47 PM)
Talking about Starbucks...

I can only say it's cheap here. Not the case of dollar for dollar. In M'sia, earn erm... for eg. RM3000 pay RM20+- for a starbucks, that's 0.67% of monthly salary. In Singapore, take 10% off the salary, around 2700SGD pay 7SGD+- for a starbucks, that's 0.26%. In short, someone working in SG can buy 1.5 cups more starbucks with the same portion of their salary (in %) tongue.gif Not hard to see why most starbucks in SG is full with people all time. But I do see some starbucks in more hidden areas with much less people. Better environment to have coffee break.
Thinking that way is wrong. You should think... Earn more before kena fire/retrench/replaced by the elites/talents. Kena fire/retrench only find jalan back M'sia biggrin.gif
Talking about coffee, was it Papa Rich or some Malaysia kedai kopi in Singapore selling dollar to ringgit for a cup of coffee (SGD10 = RM10) shocking.gif

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Oct 6 2014, 11:32 PM)
Anyone here knows a good and affordable place to learn mandarin besides community center?
Didn't know you can learn Mandarin in the community center (you meant the Resident Association (RA)). What other activities ? only for PR / SG citizens only ?
IwanAGP
post Oct 6 2014, 11:51 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Oct 6 2014, 11:41 PM)
Talking about coffee, was it Papa Rich or some Malaysia kedai kopi in Singapore selling dollar to ringgit for a cup of coffee (SGD10 = RM10)  shocking.gif
Old Town White coffee? Can't think of other Malaysia kedai kopi in SG biggrin.gif

Anyway... I still think the Starbucks here is cheap. At least the most expensive one from what I see on the menu when I passes by... is like 7+.

Still I haven't buy any Starbucks yet tongue.gif Hesitant to pay that much for coffee biggrin.gif
seantang
post Oct 7 2014, 12:20 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Oct 5 2014, 12:23 PM)
ACCA/CPA sounds like so-so so singaporeans dont really see them like WHOAHHH she got a cpa membership or something... is it ://

instead they value more on working performance. correct me if im wrong lol
I don't think people go "WHOAHHH" over professional qualifications in this day and age anymore. Nowadays, everybody has one. In SIngapore - 99% have one plus a degree, or 2 degrees. In my experience, only Malaysia still values a professional qualification alone, without degree.

poor_engineer
post Oct 7 2014, 10:36 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 6 2014, 11:51 PM)
Old Town White coffee? Can't think of other Malaysia kedai kopi in SG biggrin.gif

Anyway... I still think the Starbucks here is cheap. At least the most expensive one from what I see on the menu when I passes by... is like 7+.

Still I haven't buy any Starbucks yet tongue.gif Hesitant to pay that much for coffee biggrin.gif
Old town la. Worse is they don't include GST into menu price. A bit misleading when the final price is higher than the menu doh.gif
TSdeodorant
post Oct 7 2014, 10:47 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Oct 7 2014, 10:36 AM)
Old town la. Worse is they don't include GST into menu price. A bit misleading when the final price is higher than the menu  doh.gif

Eh this is standard practice in practically every single restaurant in Singapore, no? Whatever price you see on menu surely need to add 10% service charge and 7% GST hmm.gif
BravoZeroTwo
post Oct 7 2014, 12:03 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 7 2014, 01:20 AM)
I don't think people go "WHOAHHH" over professional qualifications in this day and age anymore. Nowadays, everybody has one. In SIngapore - 99% have one plus a degree, or 2 degrees. In my experience, only Malaysia still values a professional qualification alone, without degree.
Sean,
What do you think of work performance and ethics over university ranking where one graduated from ? Thanks.

122 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0609sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:43 AM