Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

poor_engineer
post Jul 23 2014, 12:58 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Jul 22 2014, 11:53 PM)
wow so fast angry already

Oh wait nevermind you will never earn more than 2500$ anyways useless explain the math to you.

Cheaper healthcare ? LOL

Cheaper education ? what ? Polytechnics are still paid fully by PR and NUS as well

Only singaporeans get the edu save plan

Plus most of us already have a degree before work . Its pointless to work with just a college or diploma. Waste of time because by the time you want to sit a higher level , you still need a degree.
How does SPRship limit the income to $2500?? The education for a PR child is definitely cheaper compare to international student's rate. Degree vs Diploma rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Any difference with or without PR??
poor_engineer
post Aug 27 2014, 11:20 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 27 2014, 08:10 PM)
The prices for food and drink, really must convince myself not to convert them. Else I don't think I'll have mood to eat before I get my first pay doh.gif
Convert your pay as well then you will feel great rclxms.gif
poor_engineer
post Aug 29 2014, 07:54 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(encekpejal @ Aug 28 2014, 08:04 PM)
I'm okay with work permit as long as I can work there. My concern was approval part. Just afraid it might been rejected by MOM due to qualification required for this job.  icon_question.gif
Work permit unable to apply for PR under PTS scheme. And also problem getting phone contract or applying credit card.
poor_engineer
post Sep 4 2014, 10:55 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 4 2014, 09:01 PM)
haha, taking engineering as example, I do realized that engineering is not so great in S'pore compare to in Msia.
For example I went interview today which offered me for 2.3k without OT (degree holder)
It is damn low consider the work load (sometime work 12 hours/midnight)
But again if you save well the SGD convert to MYR still looks nice.

I am currently considering if I should take low pay job in SG and get PR asap, or should I work in Msia for 2 years first so easier to get employed and better pay?
Shouldn't compare chinaman in Sg to mnc in Msia. I don't thk engineering in sg paying lesser.

Also lower pay might be harder to get pr. My batch graduated from Msia uni, starting base pay around $3-4k, took average two years to get the approval.

Anyway, good luck in job hunting!
poor_engineer
post Sep 5 2014, 12:20 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 4 2014, 11:40 PM)
crane rental company, related to construction oso lo.
btw I wanna ask, I feel quite curious with it.
I wonder why S'pore company don't prefer foreigner in higher pay position (>2.8k)
Last time I though was due to pass quota, but I realized that E Pass has no quota.
Then I though about levy, but E Pass holder no nid to pay levy, in fact they no nid to pay for CPF also.
They can pay us with lower salary compare to S'porean and yet getting similar output. So what's the reason?
From my experience, MNCs have no preference over Sgrean or foreigner. But there is difference in pay for different academic background. For engineering, Sg local uni i.e. NTU/NUS grad usually paid $200-300 higher than Msia uni regardless of nationality.

Under the recent policy, any EP job has to be opened for Sgrean first! But the fact for engineering, there is not many Sgrean interested to work in this industry. So eventually will go back to open job market. That policy makes the hiring process longer.

So, YES, foreigner is harder to get job due to the gov policy but not company preference. And NO, that you are not getting lower pay for similar competency.
poor_engineer
post Sep 5 2014, 01:41 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 12:32 AM)
Drawing and some site supervision work, but the qualification required is only diploma.

but still you'll see people post job with Singaporean/PR only despite the job pay up to 3.5k,aka no problem to apply E Pass

Job ads on public sites not necessary opened for foreigner, they could be still under Fair Consideration Framework. Of course there might be other reason e.g. company receiving training grant which only available for citizen/pr. But you should be able to look for jobs that do not specify nationality. I just browsed through jobstreet and there are tons though many of them do not include salary guideline.
poor_engineer
post Sep 5 2014, 12:14 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 09:45 AM)
I applied quite some as well, but I wonder if they feel troublesome to apply EP, or maybe I am really not that good gua... wink.gif
I've been applying for around 2months ad, maybe should find a job in msia and accumulate 1-2 years experiences 1st.
Hmm no harm to start working in Msia first. Just to share my exp, I applied only one MNC in Sg when I started my last semester and then the first phone interview only happened during my final exam. At that time I had gone through 8 jobs interview in Msia offered 6 out of 8. I even signed the the offer from a Penang MNC but still took the opportunity to came down to Sg for the face to face interview. In the end I decided to start my career in Sg considering Sg is actually nearer to my hometown. 3 years gone... I still in the same company. Sometime really feel difficult to return to Msia cry.gif

This post has been edited by poor_engineer: Sep 5 2014, 12:15 PM
poor_engineer
post Sep 5 2014, 12:46 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 12:20 PM)
I considering another option, whereby work 1-2 yrs in Msia 1st, got some experience and it is easier to get a job and get EP too.
Transferring exp from Msia to Sg may not be as straight forward especially for common engineering jobs. A lot people took "pay cut" as for example RM5000 to $3500. This example happens frequently to engineer in mid exp. Some people might think the pay increases looking at the currency but that actually means downgrading from senior to junior pay. This will not happen if you are in critical/unique skill set position such r&d but for most of the time employers will discount the experience from Msia partly due to higher competitive environment in Sg.
poor_engineer
post Sep 6 2014, 10:27 AM

96 posts

Anyone know when a SPR couple buy resale hdb, the 3 years waiting rule applied to both husband and wife or anyone from them has obtained pr more than 3 years is good enough?
poor_engineer
post Sep 12 2014, 07:38 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 11 2014, 10:53 PM)
My idea of coming to work at SG is at least to get the first 1/2 (0.5) bucket of gold ( one bucket normally defined as 100k mah) for better life when I come back to M'sia. At least can begin more easily, no need depend too much on family. Also gain some experience, make the resume nicer a bit. Coz work in SG, the pace of work is quite fast... Everyone going like fast forwarding and also their regulation/management while doing work is quite a lot better. Ppl will want you when you're back to M'sia. *I think biggrin.gif * Just whether you want to earn MYR back in M'sia or continue earn SGD in Singapore.
Imagine you earning $4000 at second or third year, how much pay cut can you take if you decided to come back to Msia? Would you happy with RM5000 by that time? Going back to Msia is always difficult. Quite impossible at least for me cry.gif
poor_engineer
post Sep 12 2014, 11:39 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 12 2014, 11:38 AM)
I think people will only consider back to Msia due to either
1. Cnt stand with Singapore population (packed country, stay in small room of HBD)
2. Family (time to settle down in Msia after earned enough money, or parents old ad)
3. Stress environment
4. Better job scope/rank (maybe the pay is downgraded, but the rank maybe higher)

basically I kinda doubt people will back Msia become of pay la..haha..
1. Agree with this but the housing in KL/Penang/JB not cheap also, in the end still squeeze in small room.
2. Nobody can earn enough money. Your lifestyle change with your income.
3. People work in KL easily more stressful than SG due to the low buying power income.
4. Come back to the point you work for money or rank?

I think normally people who afford to go back are mostly non exec workers. OT to max, earn first bucket of gold then go back to start small business. No way for a factory worker to go back to become manager in Msia, and don't think they like to work similar labour jobs in Msia. Ppl who start with exec level normally get PR after few years, then buy hdb to settle down. You ask them go back while leaving whole bunch of cpf in Sg , earn half to at most 3 quarter of their current pay. Not many can do that lor...
poor_engineer
post Sep 12 2014, 11:51 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 12 2014, 11:44 PM)
For last part...

tongue.gif I s'wak ppl. Want chao then withdraw all CPF sign won't back to SG thingy.

But yeah... I think many will get PR and settle down. Too bad sad.gif Malaysia is such a lovely country *if just live here without working here yet have enough supply of money to stay alive* biggrin.gif
Sarawak is a lovely place. Things not expensive yet. My friend work in Jurong Shipyard, 3rd year bought second landed house already. I think he can go back very soon.
poor_engineer
post Sep 13 2014, 03:24 AM

96 posts

Actually Sg is not bad la. Now I need to decide whether to move to USA but don't think I will do that. Better life quality is state but need to leave family far across the pacific ocean. And I realize working in Sg can save more for retirement due to strong cpf and much lower tax. In my thought, possible to move to any country but not 1-Malay-sia.
poor_engineer
post Sep 18 2014, 01:11 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2014, 12:29 AM)
Did I read that right, stay in SG work in JB? hmm.gif
Finally Msia able to attract talent from Sg thumbup.gif
poor_engineer
post Sep 26 2014, 11:38 PM

96 posts

Don't worry about the tax as long as you continue to work in Sg. For my experience the tax bill didn't come in the second year when my first year was less than 183days. Only on the third year I received the assessment notice for both first year (<183days) and second year (365days) and everything taxed as per resident rate. In fact my first year tax was so low because the income just surpassed $20k little bit due to only few months salary. The non resident tax only applied to people who leave Sg before 183days and IRAS will order HR to withhold the last month salary in order to clear the tax balance.
poor_engineer
post Sep 27 2014, 12:12 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 26 2014, 11:48 PM)
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif This is exactly what I need.
Btw... Take 6 months, 20k. Means when you first started your work already more than 3.3k. I believe it should be less than 6  months so should be 3.5, 4 or even 5k. Omg awesome pay  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Need to factor in AWS and bonus ma... I'm a low paid engineer sad.gif
poor_engineer
post Sep 28 2014, 04:15 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 27 2014, 09:12 AM)
If your company gives you AWS and bonus in your 1st year when u work less than half yrs, consider not bad ma.haha
Pro rated only. Pretty standard practice in most companies.
poor_engineer
post Oct 7 2014, 10:36 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 6 2014, 11:51 PM)
Old Town White coffee? Can't think of other Malaysia kedai kopi in SG biggrin.gif

Anyway... I still think the Starbucks here is cheap. At least the most expensive one from what I see on the menu when I passes by... is like 7+.

Still I haven't buy any Starbucks yet tongue.gif Hesitant to pay that much for coffee biggrin.gif
Old town la. Worse is they don't include GST into menu price. A bit misleading when the final price is higher than the menu doh.gif
poor_engineer
post Oct 10 2014, 12:32 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Oct 9 2014, 11:37 AM)
12k SGD or 12k RM (+- 4.8k SGD) ?

If 4.8K++ should be fairly normal for middle management (60-108K annual)
http://www.hays.com.sg/cs/groups/hays_comm...hays_139198.pdf

If 12K++ SGD then you need to ask the elites here. Mostly all if us here are cheap labour < 5k SGD a month.  sweat.gif
I'm one of the cheap labour here cry.gif

0.0430sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:49 PM