122 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

LiangZhuge
post Jul 14 2014, 05:54 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 14 2014, 05:28 PM)
Where got tax, forced savings lah. Buy property can use OA to downpayment and pay housing loan. After 55 give up PR get back all the money, gtfo buy a treehouse back in treepipu land and hunt babi hutan using sumpit.

In the meantime, no PR can't buy HDB, need to buy $1mil+++ condo and pay 18% stamp duty. If u elite enough like Fiona Chin and gnc88 then OK lor, the rest of us either apply PR to buy HDB or rent for 30 years.
indirect tax smile.gif I guess my sarcasm was lost in the mix smile.gif , and I am humble peon who walks to work and can't even afford a tree house in KL biggrin.gif

Well for the uninitiated, your CPF monies will also be used to buy/ force insurance (even if you already have a policy back in MY). New ruling to buy HBO (second hand) is after 3 years being PR.

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 14 2014, 05:40 PM)
Before 55 cannot take all out? Just wondering.
biggrin.gif True... Who knows? Only time will tell.

So far none from my batch and my course working in SG. Mostly KL or Penang. Should I make the wrong decision? biggrin.gif
Not if you are living in peninsular Malaysia, even if you no longer work in Singapore / no longer a PR. Only way is to get the $$$ (before 55) is to emigrate somewhere outside of Malaysia.

Sabahan and Sarawakian can take it out before 55 by stating they will not return to work in Singapore. If they return, they need to repay the $$$ into CPF + interest smile.gif

Caveat emptor !!!
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 06:01 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 14 2014, 05:54 PM)
Not if you are living in peninsular Malaysia, even if you no longer work in Singapore / no longer a PR. Only way is to get the $$$ (before 55) is to emigrate somewhere outside of Malaysia.  

Sabahan and Sarawakian can take it out before 55 by stating they will not return to work in Singapore. If they return, they need to repay the $$$ into CPF + interest smile.gif

Caveat emptor !!!
Q: Can I withdraw my CPF if I am leaving Singapore and West Malaysia permanently? If so, what do I need to do?
A: You may withdraw your CPF in full if you have left Singapore and West Malaysia permanently with no intention of returning to either country for employment or residence.

So if say I take PR and pay CPF till like 35 years old. I withdraw everything and come back to M'sia. Then I can't work in West Malaysia also? Have to work in East Malaysia only? Really? doh.gif

Btw...

Q: I have left Singapore and withdrawn all my CPF monies. Do I need to refund the CPF monies withdrawn if I am coming back to work in Singapore?
A: If you are returning to Singapore to work and taking up Singapore permanent citizenship/residence, you need to refund the CPF you had withdrawn (including interest) previously.

However, if you are returning to Singapore on employment pass or work permit, there is no need to refund the CPF you had withdrawn previously

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 14 2014, 06:07 PM
crazy25kid
post Jul 14 2014, 06:03 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 14 2014, 05:04 PM)
Why is the deal with most of you guys/girls wanting to apply for PR? Don't you all know you kena a 36% indirect tax smile.gif

Getting PR will lower you employability in the eyes of sweatshops companies as well  tongue.gif
how do u even equate 36%
unless your employer pays you the 16% they are supposed to pay to CPF if they hired a sgporean or pr, then where do u get that 16%
sweatshops do not pay u that 16%
make up your mind
LiangZhuge
post Jul 14 2014, 06:10 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 14 2014, 06:01 PM)
Q:  Can I withdraw my CPF if I am leaving Singapore and West Malaysia permanently? If so, what do I need to do?
A:  You may withdraw your CPF in full if you have left Singapore and West Malaysia permanently with no intention of returning to either country for employment or residence.

So if say I take PR and pay CPF till like 35 years old. I withdraw everything and come back to M'sia. Then I can't work in West Malaysia also? Have to work in East Malaysia only? Really? doh.gif
Only way to get the $$$ is to Keluar from Malaysia (if you are peninsular Malaysian AKA Malaya). Go get a Indonesia citizenship, Australia citizenship, Thailand citizenship etc.
Or you balik MY (after renouncing your PR and stop working in SG) and wait long long until 55 and come back to Singapura to get your $$$.

If you Sabahan or Sarawakian, you can balik to Malaysia (east or west) and take the $$$ (renounce PR) but must sumpah you will not come back to Singapore to work. If you come back to Singapura to work again then you will kena sumpahan to repay all the CPF $$$ + interest (of the year you didn't leave the $$$ in CPF) if you are taking PR again.

Ada faham ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by LiangZhuge: Jul 14 2014, 06:12 PM
LiangZhuge
post Jul 14 2014, 06:16 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 14 2014, 06:03 PM)
how do u even equate 36%
unless your employer pays you the 16% they are supposed to pay to CPF if they hired a sgporean or pr, then where do u get that 16%
sweatshops do not pay u that 16%
make up your mind
20% your side (max $1000 monthly - if not mistaken), 16% employer side (can't remember the max +- $1k monthly ?) .. again my sarcasm is lost smile.gif (CPF is your money, so 36% is the "forced savings/ indirect tax")

Some good sweatshops do pay you the 16% even if you are not PR but sadly my sweatshop don't sad.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 14 2014, 06:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 14 2014, 06:10 PM)
Only way to get the $$$ is to Keluar from Malaysia (if you are peninsular Malaysian AKA Malaya). Go get a Indonesia citizenship, Australia citizenship, Thailand citizenship etc.
Or you balik MY (after renouncing your PR and stop working in SG) and wait long long until 55 and come back to Singapura to get your $$$.

If you Sabahan or Sarawakian, you can balik to Malaysia (east or west) and take the $$$ (renounce PR) but must sumpah you will not come back to Singapore to work. If you come back to Singapura to work again then you will kena sumpahan to repay all the CPF $$$ + interest (of the year you didn't leave the $$$ in CPF) if you are taking PR again.

Ada faham ? smile.gif
Faham... Means I'm still free to work in SG/MY just not SG PR la. biggrin.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 14 2014, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 14 2014, 09:13 AM)
I wish to find it myself and got a good price at a good place from a friendly buddy like you...but i think the company already has appointed agent to do this thing...
thanks for response neway notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 14 2014, 03:13 PM)
Give you house rent got extra service or not? brows.gif
got X X-tra service also i give brows.gif
LiangZhuge
post Jul 15 2014, 12:19 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 14 2014, 06:50 PM)
Faham... Means I'm still free to work in SG/MY just not SG PR la. biggrin.gif
Once you taken PR and renounce it, cabut with the $$$ and sumpah will not come back, later you want to balik work in SG (via EP or WP), what do you think the chance of getting the permit ? biggrin.gif
Tigerr
post Jul 15 2014, 01:26 AM

3,033 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 14 2014, 09:13 AM)
Hahaha...'elite' is too high for me...i guess, it is a right timing for me as just completed the program and has an empty spot there...anyway, thanks bro..
I wish to find it myself and got a good price at a good place from a friendly buddy like you...but i think the company already has appointed agent to do this thing...
He can co broke
gnc88
post Jul 15 2014, 11:10 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 14 2014, 05:40 PM)
So far none from my batch and my course working in SG. Mostly KL or Penang. Should I make the wrong decision? biggrin.gif
Indeed it is fun to have all your friends there with you. But end of the day, why limit your horizon due to friendship? Similarly, if none of your friends wish to pursue further studies, do you also choose not to do so? biggrin.gif

This thought crossed my mind almost a decade ago. But i cared less and headed down south even though I had a job offer in Penang.

Plus once you do well in Singapore, you'll have the last laugh. rclxm9.gif

IwanAGP
post Jul 15 2014, 11:14 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 15 2014, 12:19 AM)
Once you taken PR and renounce it, cabut with the $$$ and sumpah will not come back, later you want to balik work in SG (via EP or WP), what do you think the chance of getting the permit ?  biggrin.gif
laugh.gif No idea. But I understand la...

Still free to work in Malaysia? Or WM company won't hire also? Those Q&A prepared a little contradicting.
LiangZhuge
post Jul 15 2014, 02:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 15 2014, 11:14 AM)
laugh.gif No idea. But I understand la...

Still free to work in Malaysia? Or WM company won't hire also? Those Q&A prepared a little contradicting.
Once you cabut with the $$$, West Malaysia don't care as is not binding to SG laws. If you are really afraid then don't go to SG anymore after than. smile.gif
be_happy
post Jul 15 2014, 02:45 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 15 2014, 11:10 AM)
Indeed it is fun to have all your friends there with you. But end of the day, why limit your horizon due to friendship? Similarly, if none of your friends wish to pursue further studies, do you also choose not to do so?  biggrin.gif

This thought crossed my mind almost a decade ago. But i cared less and headed down south even though I had a job offer in Penang.

Plus once you do well in Singapore, you'll have the last laugh.  rclxm9.gif
Penang lang? I worked in Penang last year and hesitated long enough to move here. I have the last smile. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by be_happy: Jul 15 2014, 02:46 PM
tailtwist
post Jul 15 2014, 02:49 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jul 15 2014, 12:19 AM)
Once you taken PR and renounce it, cabut with the $$$ and sumpah will not come back, later you want to balik work in SG (via EP or WP), what do you think the chance of getting the permit ?  biggrin.gif
my guess is the chances are REALLY LOW!!
gnc88
post Jul 15 2014, 03:56 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jul 15 2014, 02:45 PM)
Penang lang? I worked in Penang last year and hesitated long enough to move here.  I have the last smile.  tongue.gif
Bo la~ Wa si Sarawak kia. When graduated from Uni., due to engineering background, many Penang companies come to recruit us - e.g. Intel, Motorola etc. So got an offer there before I moved down south.

lolipoppers
post Jul 15 2014, 05:58 PM

23 posts

do they still employ ppl from East Malaysia ? The last round MOM is avoiding them like a plague.
IwanAGP
post Jul 15 2014, 06:44 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jul 15 2014, 05:58 PM)
do they still employ ppl from East Malaysia ? The last round MOM is avoiding them like a plague.
You are making me worry.

I got offered last week.
gnc88
post Jul 15 2014, 07:45 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jul 15 2014, 05:58 PM)
I think you're referring to this news sometime back: Singapore Shuns Workers

If you're capable, no reason for SG to discriminate.
lolipoppers
post Jul 15 2014, 07:52 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 15 2014, 07:45 PM)
I think you're referring to this news sometime back: Singapore Shuns Workers

If you're capable, no reason for SG to discriminate.
for everyone that is 'capable' there, there is always someone better elsewhere, amid, with a better attitude.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 15 2014, 08:13 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(lolipoppers @ Jul 15 2014, 07:52 PM)
for everyone that is 'capable' there, there is always someone better elsewhere, amid, with a better attitude.
One mountain got one mountain high. After old age and brain expiry date kicks in gahmen will replace us with younger fts. Look at the problem locals having now... Every countries have their own problems. This is one of the criteria I considered when they invite me for citizenship. Short term looks good, long term still blur. Pr best hidup hidup.

122 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:47 PM