Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

ralf
post Jul 17 2014, 09:15 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Hi All,

I just got an IPA letter, EP approved but haven't got my EP card.

During this period, I may travel in and out SG quite frequent to seek for accommodation, transportation and etc.
My question is between this period, I just enter SG as a tourist (fill in white card as embarkation and exit disembarkation) right?

This post has been edited by ralf: Jul 17 2014, 09:35 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2014, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jul 17 2014, 09:15 PM)
Hi All,

I just got an IPA letter, EP approved but haven't got my EP card.

During this period, I may travel in and out SG quite frequent to seek for accommodation, transportation and etc.
My question is between this period, I just enter SG as a tourist (fill in white card as embarkation and exit disembarkation) right?
yes, everytime u have to show them the letter

GELANG PATAH (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - The proposed Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee for all foreign vehicles entering Johor Baru will have minimal to no impact on Singaporeans entering the city via the Causeway and Second Link.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong, said that tourist arrivals from across the border would not drop just because of an imposed entry fee and that Singaporeans would still come into Malaysia for cheaper food and cheaper products.

"Even with the proposed fee of RM20 suggested by Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin, it is only around S$7.50 for Singaporeans.

"I do not think there is anything for them to worry about compared to the S$35 VEP charge to be imposed on foreign vehicles entering Singapore starting next month," Dr Wee said at press conference here on Thursday.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/asia/sout...h.hmb3CFfV.dpuf

10 biggest factors towards getting a Singapore PR status under the PTS scheme
BY SATISH BAKHDA
Late last month, Deputy PM Teo Chee Hean stated in the Addendum to the President’s Address that Singapore will continue to improve its age balance and prevent its citizen population from shrinking. It will do so by welcoming new citizens who are committed to Singapore, share its values, and are willing to contribute to society. In return, the government will help them integrate.

As Permanent Residency precedes citizenship, professionals who are keen to make a home in Singapore should consider the following ten factors. Please note that these views are in no way endorsed by or represent to be endorsed by any Singapore Government Agency.

Your age
In light of Singapore’s growing ageing population, you stand a better chance of a successful application when you are young. This is because you will have many more years to actively contribute to society and can help rebalance Singapore’s resident old age support ratio. Furthermore, the younger you are, the greater the chances of socialising with others, and integration.

Your qualifications
As Singapore gets more and more qualified and skilled applicants under the PTS scheme, understandably the bar is going to be set higher. Degrees obtained at Singapore Institutes of Higher Learning are considered additional points in your favour. So is subject matter expertise or extensive knowledge in key/sunrise industries. However, this is not the only criteria considered.

Your job
The higher your position and bigger your responsibility in your company, the higher your chances of a successful PR application. Furthermore, the salary that you draw monthly indicates how well you can support yourself and dependants.This doesn’t mean that younger workers or PMEs (professionals, managers, and executives) don’t stand a good chance of approval. The government takes a holistic approach to reviewing PR applications.

The industry you’re in
According to the EDB, Singapore will increase its focus on knowledge- and innovation-intensive activities. In addition, R&D will become the cornerstone of the country’s economic development. As Singapore works to develop these areas and sunrise sectors, subject matter experts and talent in such industries will be valuable.

How long you've stayed in Singapore
Though you can apply for PR six months after you start your job in Singapore, it is better to wait, depending on the Work Pass you’re holding. P1 Pass holders are advised to wait 2 years, P2 Pass holders - 3 years, and S or Q1 Pass holders - 4 years.

Though this may seem like a long time, this timeframe can be used to assess whether you really want to become a Singapore PR. If you are keen and genuine, your activities during this period will easily reflect that you have been making efforts to assimilate.

Family ties in Singapore
Having your family stay with you in Singapore is definitely a positive factor and shows your genuine interest in maintaining close family ties. The likelihood of your family assimilating may be higher too as your children grow up and be educated in Singapore. In turn, they may grow to see Singapore as their homes and stay on as citizens.

Giving back to society
Volunteering, charitable works, and donations, for example, are important factors. However, please note that a one-off contribution or piecemeal attempt at volunteering does not make huge impact, and can be seen as insincere attempts to boost an application. You should utilise the time in Singapore to actively give back to society before expecting the country to take on the commitment of accepting you as a Permanent Resident.

Letter of recommendation
Based on your positive contributions to the Singapore organisation you’re helping, you may be able to get a letter of recommendation from one of its respected members who knows you well. This will shed light on your achievements from a different angle and recommend you as a valuable member of society. Please remember that a generic letter will cut no ice.

Integrate, integrate, and integrate
Why not learn one of the four local languages and get certified in that? It adds to your portfolio too, as there is a strong demand for multilingual workers and helps you communicate with your fellow neighbours. Also, don’t wait until you get a PR to take part in activities and celebrations organised by your GRC.

Is your application easy to understand?
ICA receives a large number of PR applications. To ensure that the ICA officer is able to evaluate your application properly and easily, all key information should be presented clearly and within 2 pages. This will give the officer a bird’s eye view of the application and anything which is unique about you.

Even after accounting for all the factors above, an application may still be rejected due to various circumstances. If you face a rejection, do not despair. See which areas you can improve on and apply again after a few months, with further data.

http://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/commentary/...nder-pts-scheme

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Jul 17 2014, 10:04 PM
hokin
post Jul 18 2014, 12:13 AM

245 posts

It has been a while since I contributed here. I have been busy with work but has started to visit this forum again recently.

I know you guys are currently talking about SPR. I am actually thinking of returning to our beloved 'tanah air'....perhaps to 'berkebun'.

I am wondering if any of you have explored or has actually obtained approval under the Returning Talent Programme of Talent Corp.

It is highly apreciated if you can share your experience and or reasons for not returning after gotten the approval after due consideration. And for those who have returned, your reasons for returning and the joys or setbacks when you first returned home...not sure if there is this category of forumers still reading this forum!

This post has been edited by hokin: Jul 18 2014, 12:15 AM
TSdeodorant
post Jul 18 2014, 08:51 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Jul 18 2014, 12:13 AM)
I am wondering if any of you have explored or has actually obtained approval under the Returning Talent Programme of Talent Corp.

me no qualify cos salary not above rm20,000
Tigerr
post Jul 18 2014, 10:33 AM

3,033 posts

It has been a while since I contributed here. I have been busy with work but has started to visit this forum again recently.

I know you guys are currently talking about SPR. I am actually thinking of returning to our beloved 'tanah air'....perhaps to 'berkebun'.

It is highly apreciated if you can share your experience and or reasons for not returning after gotten the approval after due consideration. And for those who have returned, your reasons for returning and the joys or setbacks when you first returned home...not sure if there is this category of forumers still reading this forum!
My friend got it....he got 2 APs too if not wrong n I know he importing a Land Cruiser to driver...
Fiona Chin
post Jul 18 2014, 11:06 AM

1,172 posts

Quick glance the benefits are short term. They offered much better benefits last time. If gahmen still continue their policy, those benefits will be overcome by the cons you encountered of what make you left MY in the first place soon enough.

Those returned gave me these reasons: family, love their home town and people around them, expensive in SG. Soon after they returned as expat or whatever the gahmen said they are, they become just another rakyat, bugged by gahmen's biased policy.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 18 2014, 08:51 AM)

me no qualify cos salary not above rm20,000
No wonder locals call me foreign trash or admin labourer lo. My pay after convert can't even qualify for MY's talent program. cry.gif
k3lvinNdad
post Jul 18 2014, 11:22 AM

Uulala
511 posts

Hi, I was thinking to work in SG,
my qualification is only certificates which is above SPM below Diploma...
what do u guys think if i move to SG and work?i saw some logistic company position like warehouse assistant do not need high education and offering around 1500sgd to 2500sgd...

Advice and opinion are very much appreciated.
TSdeodorant
post Jul 18 2014, 12:05 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 18 2014, 11:06 AM)
No wonder locals call me foreign trash or admin labourer lo. My pay after convert can't even qualify for MY's talent program. cry.gif
rm20,000 = sgd7,800
less than sgd7.8k can buy $2mil condo and $500k X5?
machiam tak percaya icon_idea.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jul 18 2014, 04:53 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 18 2014, 12:05 PM)
rm20,000 = sgd7,800
less than sgd7.8k can buy $2mil condo and $500k X5?
machiam tak percaya icon_idea.gif
Pancing one gold turtle ma. icon_idea.gif
Work hard guys, create more choices for diggers like us please. wub.gif
MenUnd
post Jul 19 2014, 01:51 PM

31 posts

Hi Guys,

I'm planning to explore my career with banking lines in SG.

I'm currently working with International bank in MY for the pass 5 years. Started as a customer service answering calls and consistently developing to my current roles as client experience and process improvement.

I only have STPM (Pre Diploma) and earning RM 4000+ here (unsure if its looks good)

My question is how SG will accept candidates without Degrees andd if it does, hows the salary like? Will they offer SGD 4000+ also?

Look forward for your opinion.
gnc88
post Jul 19 2014, 02:29 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(MenUnd @ Jul 19 2014, 01:51 PM)
Hi Guys,

I'm planning to explore my career with banking lines in SG.

I'm currently working with International bank in MY for the pass 5 years. Started as a customer service answering calls and consistently developing to my current roles as client experience and process improvement.

I only have STPM (Pre Diploma) and earning RM 4000+ here (unsure if its looks good)

My question is how SG will accept candidates without Degrees andd if it does, hows the salary like? Will they offer SGD 4000+ also?

Look forward for your opinion.
To be frank, please get a degree. Some MNCs, e.g. mine in the finance industry, only hire ppl with minimim degree unless you want to do admin work. Also, you'll be competing with tonnes of local grads and foreigners who have degrees and willing to work for far less.

We have a process improvement department and they do pay well. The $4K you wanted is definitely achievable but need degree.
saihoe
post Jul 19 2014, 06:19 PM

52 posts

hey guys..i'm malaysian and working in singapore looking to buy a house in johore..do u guys have any area to recommend ?
knwong
post Jul 19 2014, 09:12 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(saihoe @ Jul 19 2014, 06:19 PM)
hey guys..i'm malaysian and working in singapore looking to buy a house in johore..do u guys have any area to recommend ?
Iskandar. The nearer to the High Speed Rail project the better
MenUnd
post Jul 20 2014, 12:51 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Jul 19 2014, 02:29 PM)
To be frank, please get a degree. Some MNCs, e.g. mine in the finance industry, only hire ppl with minimim degree unless you want to do admin work. Also, you'll be competing with tonnes of local grads and foreigners who have degrees and willing to work for far less.

We have a process improvement department and they do pay well. The $4K you wanted is definitely achievable but need degree.
Thank you so much.. really appreciate that . Anyone else wanna give comments?
enlo
post Jul 20 2014, 06:19 PM

23 posts

hi guys I'm looking for banking jobs in singapore, however I only have 1 and half year experience in banking lines, a major in communications degree holder, is it difficult to secure a job there? Thank you guys!
gnc88
post Jul 20 2014, 07:27 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(enlo @ Jul 20 2014, 06:19 PM)
hi guys I'm looking for banking jobs in singapore, however I only have 1 and half year experience in banking lines, a major in communications degree holder, is it difficult to secure a job there? Thank you guys!
All I can say is.. local themselves with the right degree find it hard. What more to say about non-locals..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 20 2014, 11:38 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(saihoe @ Jul 19 2014, 06:19 PM)
hi, your property expert is here laugh.gif ask yourself these questions 1st;

1) is it for investment or own stay?
2) if own stay where do you work?
3) do you drive?

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 19 2014, 09:12 PM)
Iskandar. The nearer to the High Speed Rail project the better
=.=" iskandar is nearly the whole south johor.. except kukup and pangerang side...

it really depends on saihoe's intention..

besides HSR, MRT side would be a great idea too...
Fiona Chin
post Jul 21 2014, 10:35 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 20 2014, 11:38 PM)
hi, your property expert is here  laugh.gif  ask yourself these questions 1st;

1) is it for investment or own stay?
2) if own stay where do you work?
3) do you drive?
=.=" iskandar is nearly the whole south johor.. except kukup and pangerang side...

it really depends on saihoe's intention..

besides HSR, MRT side would be a great idea too...
Detached one with security armed with m16 how much? Working location at Central, drive but don't want pay MY's VEP. Malaysia latest stamp duty how much? Got MY version of ABSD? Can't afford SG anymore have to move North, hope the winter are not coming.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 21 2014, 12:05 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 21 2014, 10:35 AM)
Detached one with security armed with m16 how much? Working location at Central, drive but don't want pay MY's VEP. Malaysia latest stamp duty how much? Got MY version of ABSD? Can't afford SG anymore have to move North, hope the winter are not coming.
hmm.. central which area? tj pgr, raffles, marina side or orchard or city hall/suntec?

msia, for local selling rpgt is high at 30-15% below 5 years... as for buying there's the legal fees + stamp duty on s&p around max 3-4%... other tax/duty only applicable for foreigners.. other fees also negligible

note comparing sg-my... sg always pride themselves for hvng no capital gain but how the gov make $$$ is by charging stamp duty... they say it is a duty on your document not on the transaction... for layman it is the same, if u gotta pay u gotta pay no matter how u label it.. why put it that way? to attract foreigners to invest in sg..

also one big advantage if u r working in sg is u can use sg's bank to finance msian projects.. this works very much in your favor..

fiona jie cannot afford? dont joke ler... but i believe staying in msia offers more value...

for landed i would say go for johor west, not jb.. there's a lot of gated guarded housing estates that area extremely beautiful...

globalatt
post Jul 21 2014, 03:25 PM

i have job offer from SG, 4000SGD, buy my current job in MY is RM6500 per month...so should i accept the SG company?

122 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:57 PM