120 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

PlayStation VR™ Community Official Thread | V1, PlayStation VR2™ Revealed!

iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 09:06 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Mar 20 2016, 11:47 PM)
I already disappoint with Samsung Gear VR. Maybe they will release a 4K AMOLED smartphone to solve this issue.
I hope that this Sony Playstation VR screen will be much higher fidelity as well, simply fit in the 4K screen in the VR set, and launch game that can run natively in 4K resolution, provided the PS4 can render the game in full 60fps in 4K will be much appreciated.
Hence the recent rumors that PS4.5 is on the way, a half-gen console mainly for the purposes of VR. That also kinda confirm our concern that existing PS4 is not really up to task for VR, it can't produce 1080p at 60fps while generating 2 screens, unless the graphic complexity like number of polygons, shading and high textures are tuned down just like what they did to make Driveclub run for PSVR. Sony has also warn consumers to tune down their expectation and not compare PSVR to Occulus Rift or others as they are really products of different performance level given the big price difference. PSVR is simply a budget entry price point gaming VR with drawbacks in terms of picture quality (resolution, field of view, fps).
PS4 can't even produce 4k picture for normal gaming, and struggling to maintain steady 60fps/30fps for 1080p on some beautiful game, so expecting 4k output on PSVR which rely on PS4 is totally absurd. Also PSVR spec is only 1080p.

This post has been edited by iGamer: Mar 21 2016, 09:24 AM
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 09:18 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(CuteSniper22 @ Mar 20 2016, 06:16 PM)
Just a minor discussion on these 2 items
We know that PS VR has the advantage on support VR games in which HMZ not able to..
I don't think many of you just only bought it for VR games, maybe for watching movie or non-VR games. Therefore, I would like to compare cinematic mode between these 2 items.. What do you guys think.... kindly discuss & thx~

1. PS VR
- 225 inch virtual screen
- 1080p OLED screen
- much bigger and heavier?
- support only PS4 and (PS3?)
- require cable (hdmi/usb?) (seem like lack of portability)
- cheaper : $399 usd

PSVR definitely won't be supporting PS3 (for VR gaming, cinema mode perhaps?), even PS4 itself is push to its hardware limit to run VR, least to say PS3. The rumor of potential PS4.5 coming out to better support VR saids a lot about the demanding graphical performance on the console. For VR, the console actually needs to produce simultaneous 2 screens (for left and right eyes view at different angle).

This post has been edited by iGamer: Mar 21 2016, 09:51 AM
iguana_dude_619
post Mar 21 2016, 10:09 AM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

can a dual 7870 run at 4k?? also can that puny mobile CPU run dual 7870 without/minimize bottleneck at 4k? hmm.gif
Sony better make it as add on rather than separate new console. coz fcuk you Sony if I can't play & enjoy your latest AAA exclusive games coz I didn't buy it. dry.gif
Its a FCUKING console for godsake, NOT a PC. I buy a console for plug & play.
Alan Yee
post Mar 21 2016, 11:18 AM

1,031 posts

I read back the comment, seems the VR will have very less market share, and may fail like the 3D TV, 3D game case.
It is not related to slow user adoption rate, but rather, the virtual reality stuff viewed on our eye, generated by the headset screen, is not very comfortable to our eye.
The point like cannot use it for long hour is very correct and true, it will hurt our eye in long time usage.

My experience with the smartphone VR is, I only can wear them for a few minute.
The longer I use, the more headache and eye strain I feel, simply feel dizzy and want to faint.
The feeling is much worse than wearing 3D glass for 3D movie watching.

The glass free 3D, seen on Nintendo 3DS, and HTC Evo 3D smartphone, also is distracting to my eye after long watching., I simply turn off the 3D effect to stop eye fatigue.

So, 3D, virtual reality stuff still need much more work on the refinement before really able to work comfortably.
Or, they may not even have any bright future, as they post health issue on the usage.
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 11:28 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Mar 21 2016, 11:18 AM)
I read back the comment, seems the VR will have very less market share, and may fail like the 3D TV, 3D game case.
It is not related to slow user adoption rate, but rather, the virtual reality stuff viewed on our eye, generated by the headset screen, is not very comfortable to our eye.
The point like cannot use it for long hour is very correct and true, it will hurt our eye in long time usage.

My experience with the smartphone VR is, I only can wear them for a few minute.
The longer I use, the more headache and eye strain I feel, simply feel dizzy and want to faint.
The feeling is much worse than wearing 3D glass for 3D movie watching.

The glass free 3D, seen on Nintendo 3DS, and HTC Evo 3D smartphone, also is distracting to my eye after long watching., I simply turn off the 3D effect to stop eye fatigue.

So, 3D, virtual reality stuff still need much more work on the refinement before really able to work comfortably.
Or, they may not even have any bright future, as they post health issue on the usage.
That is actually valid concern, my myopia were steady for few years already, then I bought 3d TV and my myopia escalated after a while, I suspect it's due to use of 3d TV. The headache you have with those smartphone VR box could be made worst due to poor quality of the plastic/glass lens used, the pricier VR gogles would use higher precision lens though with less distortion compare to those RM100 VR box.
shinchan^^
post Mar 21 2016, 11:36 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 21 2016, 11:28 AM)
That is actually valid concern, my myopia were steady for few years already, then I bought 3d TV and my myopia escalated after a while, I suspect it's due to use of 3d TV. The headache you have with those smartphone VR box could be made worst due to poor quality of the plastic/glass lens used, the pricier VR gogles would use higher precision lens though with less distortion compare to those RM100 VR box.
the glass used esp in google cardboard is cheap quality la......
cool2.gif
greyshadow
post Mar 21 2016, 11:38 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

http://www.11street.my/product/ProductDeta...&tid=1400016030

now you can pre-order a US/JP set for RM2899

can buy 2 PS4 with that price already doh.gif
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 11:42 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 21 2016, 11:38 AM)
http://www.11street.my/product/ProductDeta...&tid=1400016030

now you can pre-order a US/JP set for RM2899

can buy 2 PS4 with that price already doh.gif
Day light robbery, a USD399 product sold at RM2899, that's equivalent to a forex rate of 7.27. Our ringgit to USD rate today is only 4.04.
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 11:44 AM

1,374 posts

I read somewhere on the web that Sony has acknowledged a package with PSVR and camera (not sure of the move controller) at USD500. That would cost over RM2,000 even at our current forex translation.
greyshadow
post Mar 21 2016, 11:46 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

it came with PS Camera and 2 Move stick and some demo games whistling.gif

for USD500, slap on the shipping & GST, I would say it's around there

Some early adopters don't mind paying such money whistling.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Mar 21 2016, 11:47 AM
SSJBen
post Mar 21 2016, 11:49 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Mar 21 2016, 10:09 AM)
can a dual 7870 run at 4k?? also can that puny mobile CPU run dual 7870 without/minimize bottleneck at 4k? hmm.gif
Sony better make it as add on rather than separate new console. coz fcuk you Sony if I can't play & enjoy your latest AAA exclusive games coz I didn't buy it.  dry.gif
Its a FCUKING console for godsake, NOT a PC. I buy a console for plug & play.
A PS4 is basically a PC in chains. I don't know why you'd be so surprised if Sony were to do this? It's been bound to happen since the PS2 days, I'm actually surprised it takes this long for it to be set in motion. Besides, Sega already did it in the 90s.

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 21 2016, 11:44 AM)
I read somewhere on the web that Sony has acknowledged a package with PSVR and camera (not sure of the move controller) at USD500. That would cost over RM2,000 even at our current forex translation.
That's the US and Canada pre-order only packages. Nothing to do with us, for now. You're still paying much less than a a Vive or Rift setup irregardless and no one said VR will be cheap.

iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 12:03 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 21 2016, 11:49 AM)
That's  the US and Canada pre-order only packages. Nothing to do with us, for now. You're still paying much less than a a Vive or Rift setup irregardless and no one said VR will be cheap.
Actually Sony did try to mislead consumers when they announced their USD399 pricing, to give a false perception that their VR is much cheaper than the other alternatives. They purposely delay the announcement of the USD500 package so that all media would report the USD399 price tags even though that is a very uneven comparison with competitors as the competitors price tags actually contain the full working package (headgear + external camera/unit) required to run the VR. A fair comparison of the price tags is actually PSVR at USD500 compared with USD600 of the Oculus Rift hmm.gif If Sony had announce the USD399 and USD500 package together, all the medias would likely quote the USD500 when making their comparison with other competitors. That is business tactic. cool2.gif
Rei7
post Mar 21 2016, 02:06 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

Definitely getting PSVR, already have the PS Camera and even the PS Move, easy transition tongue.gif
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 02:12 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 21 2016, 02:06 PM)
Definitely getting PSVR, already have the PS Camera and even the PS Move, easy transition tongue.gif
Actually I was interested in playing ps move game, but I don't have a ps3, any of the ps3 move game that can be played on ps4?
Rei7
post Mar 21 2016, 03:04 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 21 2016, 02:12 PM)
Actually I was interested in playing ps move game, but I don't have a ps3, any of the ps3 move game that can be played on ps4?
Now that you remind me about this i'm really sadden by it.. Like no developers is making anymore PS Move games for a while now.
Especially on the PS4, considering it still works with the PS4 with the PS Camera.

I know a few PS Move games for the PS4, like Just Dance, Octodad: Dadliest Catch, the free PS Camera game(if you bought the PS Camera), Sportsfriends and LittleBigPlanet 3.
Others not so sure, hopefully after PSVR is out, the support will be more, cuz developers kinda remembered the PS Move exist tongue.gif
squall_12
post Mar 21 2016, 03:11 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 21 2016, 03:04 PM)
Now that you remind me about this i'm really sadden by it.. Like no developers is making anymore PS Move games for a while now.
Especially on the PS4, considering it still works with the PS4 with the PS Camera.

I know a few PS Move games for the PS4, like Just Dance, Octodad: Dadliest Catch, the free PS Camera game(if you bought the PS Camera), Sportsfriends and LittleBigPlanet 3.
Others not so sure, hopefully after PSVR is out, the support will be more, cuz developers kinda remembered the PS Move exist tongue.gif
just hope sony malaysia got PO for the psvr.
iGamer
post Mar 21 2016, 03:15 PM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 21 2016, 03:04 PM)

eh.... so no Ape escape? shakehead.gif The last playstation I had was the 1st generation ps, the first dual stick game that properly utilizes the dual shock controller was Ape Escape, the dual stick was a feature not utilized by most game back then, just like how the touch pad on DS4 is not utilized nowadays. Sony should have at least remastered or ported the PS3 move game (especially those produced by Sony) over to PS4.
I skipped 2 generation of ps and played Xbox original and Xbox 360 before coming back to Sony for PS4. I'm very dissapointed that many of the PS3 features (ps move, 3d gaming) is no longer supported on PS4 doh.gif
shinchan^^
post Mar 21 2016, 04:18 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 21 2016, 11:46 AM)
it came with PS Camera and 2 Move stick and some demo games whistling.gif

for USD500, slap on the shipping & GST, I would say it's around there

Some early adopters don't mind paying such money whistling.gif
I thought move is optional
can use DS
mousqy
post Mar 21 2016, 05:16 PM

758 posts

pedulik WILL BUY!!!!
ExCrIpT
post Mar 22 2016, 02:04 PM

1,671 posts

If it's something like how I tested using samsung VR device then definitely I won't be getting it. I rather be looking at a HD TV and enjoy nice graphics without straining my eyes over it. Who knows, it might even make my eyes worse.

Thats my opinion anyway, I tried watching movies 3D in the cinema once and I had a major headache after that. Not gonna go thru that again man

120 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:43 PM