156 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

8tvt
post Sep 11 2006, 05:33 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 11 2006, 05:10 PM)
AMD64 Orleans 3000+ | Biostar T-force 6100-am2 | 2x 512mb Apacer DDR2-667 | Stock heatsink | Enlight 420w
Struggling in some oc though....
Not able to break 2500mhz even I raise vcore and running at ddr2-533 divider.

Crash at startup....I guess onboard GPU is culprit or chipset voltage not sufficient. Will try oc later tonight.
NB cooling is pretty ok as I hang an icute fan below the CPU heatsink blowing at NB.  laugh.gif
i also wonder..
i've tried the htt mul below 3 and fsb more than 250, the mobo requires more voltage on dimm.. eventough had reduced the ddr divider.. (by calculation both cpu and ram not oc at all)

that's why i just play with 10 n 9 cpu mul..
is it cpu mul, htt mul, fsb are also related to voltage demand? or the memory controller on the cpu itself? still blur on ddr2..
allenultra
post Sep 11 2006, 05:34 PM

9,027 posts

HT link too high?

I always keep it below 1000......

mzms
post Sep 11 2006, 05:36 PM

220 posts

Hello all,
I'm new to this board and also new to AMD64! Been an AMD fan since the K6-2s. But I've not had any experience with the 64bit cpus until recently I made the plunge and forked out the cash to upgrade! So glad I did! No longer am I waiting for a system which is badly lagging but now everything pops up right away!

Anyway, i've never had much success at all with overclocking so this was a very pleasant surprise for me as I am able to get my AM2 3200+ from stock 2Ghz to 2.6Ghz using only stock cooling. However, I choose to run it at 2.4Ghz as it gives me the best balance of everything (HT, ram etc).

My ddr2 667 kingston value ram also runs stable at 400Mhz according to Cpu-z if I leave it on auto. But I set it to DDR533 so that I can use tighter timings. At 2.4 (240 x 10), idle temp is around 35C and load around 45C. With CnQ on, idle is around 29C.

Anyway, at 2.6Ghz, I have to up the voltage by 0.1 to get it to run stable (prime95 a few hours). The temperature maxes out at around 53C under load and with CnQ on, 31C idle. I have not tried anything higher than 2.6Ghz as I am already highly satisfied for the bang I got for only a few hundred ringgit.

Are these good figures? I'm using the stock HSF and the only thing I changed is the DDR2 speed (from 667 to 533 although it will run stable aset on auto) in bios and the HT from 5x to 4x.

Today I went out and bought another stick of ram and am now happily running in dual channel mode. I am using a budget AM2 board, Biostar GF-6100 and am real happy that it allows for some moderate overcloking since it's so cheap compared to others. It's also very stable.

SuperPi 1M takes about 37 seconds to complete. 32M takes 31+ minutes.

Using the GF6100 onboard graphics, my 3DMark01 scores is in access of 5000 and 3DMark03 is expectedly a low 1000++.

Overall I am so happy with my new system and am glad I went AMD again. Was about to get an Intel E6300 but that was just way out of my budget. My next upgrade will again be another AMD as I think that their price/performance ratio is pretty good and the cpus easy to OC.

My system specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (OC to 2.4Ghz)
Biostar Geforce 6100 AM2
2x512 kingston DDR2 667 ValueRam 4-4-4-12 (set at 300x2=600Mhz)
Maxtor SATA II DiamondMax 10 7200rpm 160GB
Seagate 40GB

I notice that the Maxtor runs much cooler than my sister's brand new 7200rpm Hitachi. Only around 32-34C while the Hitachi feels very warm and hits 40C.

F@NT@sy_G@RRic
post Sep 11 2006, 05:48 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 11 2006, 05:34 PM)
HT link too high?

i pun tak tau la.. bcoz me also noob
my proc max HT link is 1200
TSsoulfly
post Sep 11 2006, 05:48 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(F@NT@sy_G@RRic @ Sep 11 2006, 05:23 PM)
will do it when i get my Gskill BHZ and FSP 600W PSU brows.gif

u want buy my GC tak laugh.gif
tak nak! i still love my galaxy 7300gt and waiting for it to come back from RMA tongue.gif

camedemac
post Sep 11 2006, 07:06 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 11 2006, 05:34 PM)
HT link too high?

have disable AMD Cool N Quiet?? unsure.gif
allenultra
post Sep 11 2006, 07:10 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(camedemac @ Sep 11 2006, 07:06 PM)
have disable AMD Cool N Quiet?? unsure.gif
btw, I'm not new to OC tongue.gif

Yes, I did disabled that. Disabled all the spread spectrum.

RAM timing set to AUTO.
Not sure if the onboard GPU holding me back, maybe I should raise chipset voltage.

Soulfly, care to attach the graph u made? I can't find it.
The graph where u stated clockspeed vs vcore biggrin.gif
camedemac
post Sep 11 2006, 08:48 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 11 2006, 07:10 PM)
btw, I'm not new to OC tongue.gif

Yes, I did disabled that. Disabled all the spread spectrum.

RAM timing set to AUTO.
Not sure if the onboard GPU holding me back, maybe I should raise chipset voltage.

sweat.gif
i just remember when i just bought my new system, can oc over 2.3Ghz and realize that i forgot to disable this tongue.gif
anyway it just a reminder sweat.gif
wtm0325
post Sep 11 2006, 10:10 PM

1,796 posts

wats the effect if CnQ is enabled when OC? i thought it shold be good? since sometimes BTing no need so geng cpu, yet lazy go back bios adjust tongue.gif
RyuzakiKagezashi
post Sep 11 2006, 10:34 PM

202 posts

if u wanna oc den cnq better set off, if not i heard that it will auto lower down the clock speed just to stay 'cool and quiet'
TSsoulfly
post Sep 12 2006, 12:11 AM

15,903 posts

In certain situation, overclocked cpu with CnQ enabled will lead to instability... since it affects DDR2 speed.

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 11 2006, 07:10 PM)

For different cpu OC potential, just shift the graph further to the right or to the left on the x-axis. The graph curve should be pretty much the same for other AM2 I guess. With some more proper burn-in, I think the graph can do almost very linear.

Can anybody else come up with the same graph to support or confirm my little experiment? biggrin.gif
F@NT@sy_G@RRic
post Sep 12 2006, 03:52 PM

115 posts

yeah.....i already upgrade to Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX laugh.gif laugh.gif

syarat
post Sep 12 2006, 08:47 PM

325 posts

is it legal for me to ask for download link for super pi?
tried the homepage and rapidshare but doesnt to work,maybe i am behind uni's firewall.

allenultra
post Sep 12 2006, 09:35 PM

9,027 posts

soulfly, I try make a graph after I fully burn in the CPU icon_idea.gif

Here what I had. smile.gif

TF6100-am2 overclock best with the first released bios, newer bios sux to max.

lolhalol
post Sep 12 2006, 09:38 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

bro care to explain wat is burn in?will it help oc?
syarat
post Sep 12 2006, 09:48 PM

325 posts

imo, the burn in refers to the OCing itself..
TSsoulfly
post Sep 12 2006, 09:51 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 12 2006, 09:38 PM)
bro care to explain wat is burn in?will it help oc?
it depends on luck... some cpu can overclock higher after a good burn-in process... but some does not give any gain at all.
QUOTE(syarat @ Sep 12 2006, 08:47 PM)
is it legal for me to ask for download link for super pi?
tried the homepage and rapidshare but doesnt to work,maybe i am behind uni's firewall.
SuperPi can be freely distributed

here...

This post has been edited by soulfly: Sep 12 2006, 09:59 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  superpi.zip ( 60.58k ) Number of downloads: 7
pcmoddingmy
post Sep 12 2006, 10:04 PM

498 posts

Just got the Biostar TForce 6100-AM2 today.
Will post OC results next week...(this week play with C2D first) tongue.gif
Anyways, how are you guys with 6100-AM2 board doing? Any nice overclocks yet?
I might get a X2 3800+ soon... anyone wanna sell theirs and upgrade to C2D? tongue.gif
syarat
post Sep 12 2006, 10:10 PM

325 posts

thanks bro soulfly for the link.
now here is mine.i stopped at 2.4G,should gain higher if the i have more time.

have a look!

http://www.geocities.com/spoket2kill/superpi.JPG

This post has been edited by syarat: Sep 12 2006, 10:13 PM
TSsoulfly
post Sep 12 2006, 10:54 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Sep 12 2006, 10:04 PM)
Just got the Biostar TForce 6100-AM2 today.
Will post OC results next week...(this week play with C2D first) tongue.gif
Anyways, how are you guys with 6100-AM2 board doing? Any nice overclocks yet?
I might get a X2 3800+ soon... anyone wanna sell theirs and upgrade to C2D? tongue.gif
bro... do u have any extra SLI bridge laying around?

156 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:41 PM