156 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread, discuss our setup/overclocking issues

byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 01:01 PM

947 posts

better change to pure power psu be4 u start ocing...

or else ur pc might suffer from insufficient power...

like ur hungry for food loL...XD
normeck
post Apr 26 2007, 01:03 PM

3,158 posts

arghhh!
byfc!!!!

heh....
ok..lets say i just change...then same question again....
is theres any small modification that can go 2.6 to 2.8 Ghz....
zzzzz......
byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 01:05 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Apr 26 2007, 01:03 PM)
arghhh!
byfc!!!!

heh....
zzzzz......
loL jz some advice...

btw u reli nid to read out the how to OC articles...
then u'll even noe how to oc high high...
treason
post Apr 26 2007, 01:35 PM

190 posts

Minor update...official member of the 3.0ghz brisbane group! haha tongue.gif at 1.40 vcore though but seems very stable now...ram timings also abit looser than i'd like..will try to tweak it more when i can...brisbane is great! super pi was done while i was watching a video and all though..so might b a little slower lol tongue.gif

This post has been edited by treason: Apr 26 2007, 01:39 PM
TerryZeroX
post Apr 26 2007, 01:38 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Apr 26 2007, 01:35 PM)
Minor update...official member of the 3.0ghz brisbane group! haha  tongue.gif at 1.40 vcore though but seems very stable now...ram timings also abit looser than i'd like..will try to tweak it more when i can...brisbane is great! super pi was done while i was watching a video and all though..so might b a little slower lol  tongue.gif

wow congrats! smile.gif i wonder if my stepping is same as yours then i can go far with low voltage too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Apr 26 2007, 01:39 PM
byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 01:38 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Apr 26 2007, 01:35 PM)
Minor update...official member of the 3.0ghz brisbane group! haha  tongue.gif at 1.40 vcore though but seems very stable now...ram timings also abit looser than i'd like..will try to tweak it more when i can...brisbane is great! super pi was done while i was watching a video and all though..so might b a little slower lol  tongue.gif

aiyak...let us c the full strength brisbane on PI when u got the most stable settings lar...
XD
treason
post Apr 26 2007, 01:41 PM

190 posts

ok ok..will update the screenshot later and post one with everything else closed.hehe...still need to change ram to get the most out of it though...seems like a shame to not do 1000 ghz with brisbane lol tongue.gif
byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 01:55 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Apr 26 2007, 01:41 PM)
ok ok..will update the screenshot later and post one with everything else closed.hehe...still need to change ram to get the most out of it though...seems like a shame to not do 1000 ghz with brisbane lol tongue.gif
haha...go ahead...
year end i gona get a new rig too...
with barca core?loL

Added on April 26, 2007, 2:01 pmhmm...last weekend i did all those pi calculation on my proc...
bt i didn't printscreen 1 by 1, oni the summary window...
guys plz hav a look whether my results are ok...
thx...

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Apr 26 2007, 02:02 PM
bryanyeo87
post Apr 26 2007, 02:20 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 26 2007, 01:55 PM)
haha...go ahead...
year end i gona get a new rig too...
with barca core?loL

Added on April 26, 2007, 2:01 pmhmm...last weekend i did all those pi calculation on my proc...
bt i didn't printscreen 1 by 1, oni the summary window...

guys plz hav a look whether my results are ok...
thx...
looks good wut rclxms.gif ...but how come ar, my 4200 am2 @2.3ghz takes 43 sec to finish 1m pi calculation....200mhz more makes such a big difference ar?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Apr 26 2007, 02:21 PM
byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 02:28 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Apr 26 2007, 02:20 PM)
looks good wut  rclxms.gif ...but how come ar, my 4200 am2 @2.3ghz takes 43 sec to finish 1m pi calculation....200mhz more makes such a big difference ar?
yea i think it does...
i tried be4...2.4Ghz oso differ quite a couple s...
sempronic
post Apr 26 2007, 04:11 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Apr 26 2007, 01:03 PM)
arghhh!
byfc!!!!

heh....
zzzzz......
there are no modification that u can make with ur hardware to achieve the higher OC...
it all depends on ur rig to.... brows.gif

people cannot know how to set up ur rig coz it is urs...and u know ur rig batter then anyone... nod.gif

p/s: AND BEFORE OC...BETTER CHANGE THE PSU....NOT WORTH DAMAGING UR HARDWARE BCOZ OF THAT.... nod.gif
normeck
post Apr 26 2007, 04:23 PM

3,158 posts

is it ok i just OC using Biostar OC...extreme OC....go to 2.6Ghz...?
with Icute cooler certainly.....
sempronic
post Apr 26 2007, 04:58 PM

986 posts

YEAH...YEAH!!!
bro soulfly....please update my OC result..... icon_rolleyes.gif

now my Windsor can go up to 3.0ghz rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sempronic: Apr 26 2007, 05:13 PM

treason
post Apr 26 2007, 06:57 PM

190 posts

sempronic,

wow! very impressive! welcome to the 3ghz club! lol! laugh.gif how much vcore is that though?
-pWs-
post Apr 26 2007, 07:24 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Apr 26 2007, 04:58 PM)
YEAH...YEAH!!!

Nice result u have there, sempronic rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Really a nice gem...smile.gif

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Apr 26 2007, 07:29 PM
byfc2010
post Apr 26 2007, 08:01 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Apr 26 2007, 04:23 PM)
is it ok i just OC using Biostar OC...extreme OC....go to 2.6Ghz...?
with Icute cooler certainly.....
loL...everyone will definitely advice u to change PSU 1st...
reli not worth to burn ur money...
cauz u u hav harddisk, gc n oso other component tat requires electric energy...
if they r hungry, they'll die faster...
insufficient kills ur hardware slowly n unnoticely...

Added on April 26, 2007, 8:01 pm
YEAH...YEAH!!!

use wad vcore?
i wan join 3 ghz oso liao...XD

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Apr 26 2007, 08:01 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 26 2007, 09:43 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Apr 26 2007, 04:07 AM)
yeah...it is opty ar... hmm.gif
just like opty before for socket 939....
as we know....opty more overclockable then other..... nod.gif
QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 26 2007, 11:03 AM)
now isn't it for quad core?

sumone plz point out for me...biggrin.gif

Added on April 26, 2007, 11:04 amoo get it liao...

quad core server proc...lol
was so steam...
CPU-Z can't recognise the proc la..the proc isn't released yet. Thats why it says opteron. Note that the core name is blank. But you can see 4 cores and L3 cache meaning its definitely a K10 processor.

I've just heard rumours that the screenshot might be faked, but I've yet to find confirmation whether it is or not.

QUOTE(soulfly @ Apr 26 2007, 12:53 PM)
you should watch out the voltage rail on your icute psu... the name might be cute... but getting your rig burnt sure ain't pretty.
It depends, most AM2 rigs don't take up that much power. At 2.4GHz most AM2 rigs only take 150W at most excluding graphic card (which highest is 120-150W for 8800 or 7950GX2 for each card)

YEAH...YEAH!!!

Wei, your vcore damn scary for a 90nm processor..1.6v+... blink.gif
-pWs-
post Apr 26 2007, 10:14 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 26 2007, 09:43 PM)

It depends, most AM2 rigs don't take up that much power. At 2.4GHz most AM2 rigs only take 150W at most excluding graphic card (which highest is 120-150W for 8800 or 7950GX2 for each card)

I think what soulfly meant is the voltage fluatuation.
12v, 3.3v and 5v. Not power needed. smile.gif

Overclocking need those stable of voltage to ensure stability.
Correct if i am wrong

-pWs-
lohwenli
post Apr 26 2007, 10:46 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Apr 26 2007, 10:14 PM)
I think what soulfly meant is the voltage fluatuation.
12v, 3.3v and 5v. Not power needed. smile.gif

Overclocking need those stable of voltage to ensure stability.
Correct if i am wrong
-pWs-
True, though its hard to measure it for such low power consumption. Even icutes don't fluctuate much on DMM readings at that power consumption. Need a osciloscope to check for sure, but I don't have access to one nor can I buy one..can buy a C2D rig with that money..
-pWs-
post Apr 26 2007, 10:52 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 26 2007, 10:46 PM)
True, though its hard to measure it for such low power consumption. Even icutes don't fluctuate much on DMM readings at that power consumption. Need a osciloscope to check for sure, but I don't have access to one nor can I buy one..can buy a C2D rig with that money..
I have ICute PSU before. It really not good in maintaining those voltages.
The voltage for them is too far which are needed.

Let say,
12V --- ICute supplies 11.7x whereas my Acbel 12.03 - 12.06.

This is what i meant.

-pWs-

156 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:47 AM