13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

NUS Admission Application AY2014/15, Welcome to join our big family in Sg!

SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 18 2014, 12:23 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

waaa... so many nus newbies... i am a former student @ nus iss... nice to meet u guys... wanna meet up for a drink? i am currently working in sg...

got question... if u dunno can help ask around for me?

1. can student change from student pass to pr before grad?

2. can student get pregnant and continue studies?

3. can student bring along spouse and live in campus? spouse is working in sg...

4. anyone from business school? have interest in entrepreneurship? pm me... will be good for your resume next time

5. anyone from school of engineering that's good with autocad? and also fmea / materials engineering? i have a few designs in mind.. would want to get grant from singkie gomen to apply patent and sell the design off.. if u help i can give u some funds from the grant if got extra and let u be one of the patent owners (small % la) will be very good for ur resume..
Irzani
post Feb 18 2014, 12:52 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM)
Let me summon another NUS Ph.D student, exquisite_markas.

Yea. Your application will be stronger if you already have a potential supervisor. Some more during the interview, the interviewers will ask u whether you sudah contact you punya supervisor.

Tak payah draft letter panjang2 bro. A few lines to intro yourself and your intentions, a few lines to describe you punya research interests, and finally ask him if he is looking for Ph.D students. Senang je bro. Lepas tu tunggu reply. biggrin.gif
Thanks for the tips brows.gif . Btw, do I need to write official letter - following some format and standard (attached it through email) or just a normal email? sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
bb100
post Feb 18 2014, 01:00 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 18 2014, 12:52 AM)
Thanks for the tips  brows.gif . Btw, do I need to write official letter - following some format and standard (attached it through email) or just a normal email?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
No need official letter wan bro. Like how you write your daily e-mails to your boss lahh.

Dear Prof <insert name>,

Bla bla bla.

Yadda yadda yadda.

Bla bla bla.

Yadda yadda yadda.

I look forward to receiving your reply soon.

Thank you.

Regards,
Irzani

Irzani
post Feb 18 2014, 01:01 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 18 2014, 01:00 AM)
No need official letter wan bro. Like how you write your daily e-mails to your boss lahh.
wohoo. No need official letter. Thank you again for the all the tips notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
bb100
post Feb 18 2014, 01:06 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 18 2014, 01:01 AM)
wohoo. No need official letter. Thank you again for the all the tips  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
No problem bro!

Final tip: pastikan engrand you tu bukan engrand yang you selalu guna kat /k/.

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif icon_idea.gif
Irzani
post Feb 18 2014, 01:22 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 18 2014, 01:06 AM)
No problem bro!

Final tip: pastikan engrand you tu bukan engrand yang you selalu guna kat /k/.

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
but but .. ayam Noted with thanks Master bb100 notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
exquisite_markas
post Feb 18 2014, 03:34 PM

It's edible... I mean editable.
1,344 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 18 2014, 01:22 AM)
but but .. ayam Noted with thanks Master bb100  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Another tips bro, don't forget to point out your research interest, as well as your strong points.

Potential supervisors will not feel too excited to read a "blank" email.

You also have to do some homework first. Google your potential boss' name and see what is he up to recently. One accurate way is to look at his/her recent publications.

thumbup.gif
XterNalz
post Feb 18 2014, 07:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Feb 18 2014, 12:19 AM)
Let me summon another NUS Ph.D student, exquisite_markas.

Yea. Your application will be stronger if you already have a potential supervisor. Some more during the interview, the interviewers will ask u whether you sudah contact you punya supervisor.

Tak payah draft letter panjang2 bro. A few lines to intro yourself and your intentions, a few lines to describe you punya research interests, and finally ask him if he is looking for Ph.D students. Senang je bro. Lepas tu tunggu reply. biggrin.gif
This is not applicable to NUS SOC where PhD students are admitted without pre-assigned supervisors. They will look for supervisors only when they have started their PhD studies. Some professors even require you to do well in some courses (especially those taught by them) before agreeing to supervise you.

The admission committee most probably does not expect you to make contact with the professors but it would not hurt at all to take advantage of this.
XterNalz
post Feb 18 2014, 07:35 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 18 2014, 12:52 AM)
Thanks for the tips  brows.gif . Btw, do I need to write official letter - following some format and standard (attached it through email) or just a normal email?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Just a polite e-mail will do. In some cases, attaching resume and academic transcripts would be very useful.

This post has been edited by XterNalz: Feb 18 2014, 07:38 PM
sanwh
post Feb 18 2014, 09:17 PM

14 posts

Hi, I'm applying for universities using my forecast A-Level's results (sitting for A2 exams in June this year) but the NUS page states that SAT is required D: (I also applied for NTU which doesn't require so). Does that put NUS out of my university options? Any light on this?
iamonlyhuman
post Feb 18 2014, 09:30 PM

93 posts

Do we have any Malaysian seniors who studied/is studying Pharmacy in NUS?
Kahsing
post Feb 18 2014, 10:45 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Feb 18 2014, 09:30 PM)
Do we have any Malaysian seniors who studied/is studying Pharmacy in NUS?
Hi there smile.gif . Oh yes, we do have seniors who are Pharmacy majors who come from different backgrounds including Cambridge A-Levels, STPM, SAT and Singapore A-levels.
bb100
post Feb 19 2014, 12:20 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(XterNalz @ Feb 18 2014, 07:33 PM)
This is not applicable to NUS SOC where PhD students are admitted without pre-assigned supervisors. They will look for supervisors only when they have started their PhD studies. Some professors even require you to do well in some courses (especially those taught by them) before agreeing to supervise you.

The admission committee most probably does not expect you to make contact with the professors but it would not hurt at all to take advantage of this.
You doing your PhD in SoC dude?
Irzani
post Feb 19 2014, 03:57 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(XterNalz @ Feb 18 2014, 07:33 PM)

Thanks for the information. How about GRE and TOEFL/IELTS? Is it mandatory?
Irzani
post Feb 19 2014, 04:05 AM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Feb 18 2014, 03:34 PM)
Another tips bro, don't forget to point out your research interest, as well as your strong points.

Potential supervisors will not feel too excited to read a "blank" email.

You also have to do some homework first. Google your potential boss' name and see what is he up to recently. One accurate way is to look at his/her recent publications.

thumbup.gif
The next intake application deadline is in June 2014. I'll spent some time to stalk my future supervisor. Since my research interest is in cyber security, perhaps I should left some interest notes in his personal files or deface it to gain his attention. icon_idea.gif

Thank you for the tips sir notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
exquisite_markas
post Feb 19 2014, 09:38 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 19 2014, 04:05 AM)
The next intake application deadline is in June 2014. I'll spent some time to stalk my future supervisor. Since my research interest is in cyber security, perhaps I should left some interest notes in his personal files or deface it to gain his attention.  icon_idea.gif

Thank you for the tips sir notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Owh, I heard from one of my friends who is doing PhD in Computing, cyber security is quite a hot topic in NUS.

thumbup.gif
Irzani
post Feb 23 2014, 01:16 AM

2,972 posts

I'm wondering if Computer Security related domain is also part of the research focus in Faculty of Engineering? hmm.gif

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

bb100exquisite_markas

TQ

exquisite_markas
post Feb 23 2014, 10:05 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 23 2014, 01:16 AM)
I'm wondering if Computer Security related domain is also part of the research focus in Faculty of Engineering?  hmm.gif

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

bb100exquisite_markas

TQ
I don't think so bro. Reliable sources told me that the word "Computer" in the Dept of ECE means that they are focusing on communication and control systems, and robotics.

They have nothing to do with Computer Science or IT. Perhaps you can check out this website.
http://www.ece.nus.edu.sg/research/

But I am very sure the School of Computing do have Security-related research under Computer Science. Check out this website.
http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/research/
Fiona Chin
post Feb 23 2014, 11:21 PM

1,172 posts

NUS thread~ Hi juniors and freshies. Old time BBA and recent MBA grads here for QnA hehe.
Fiona Chin
post Feb 23 2014, 11:30 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 18 2014, 12:23 AM)
waaa... so many nus newbies... i am a former student @ nus iss... nice to meet u guys... wanna meet up for a drink? i am currently working in sg...

got question... if u dunno can help ask around for me?

1. can student change from student pass to pr before grad?
Yes if ICA approve.

2. can student get pregnant and continue studies?
Yes.

3. can student bring along spouse and live in campus? spouse is working in sg...
Most hostel no. One of the grad hostel yes, but always fully occupied.

4. anyone from business school? have interest in entrepreneurship? pm me... will be good for your resume next time
Me, me~ but if you want to scam the funds, its not legal. You are not the first to think of this. There are fine prints in place for this kind of scam already.

5. anyone from school of engineering that's good with autocad? and also fmea / materials engineering? i have a few designs in mind.. would want to get grant from singkie gomen to apply patent and sell the design off.. if u help i can give u some funds from the grant if got extra and let u be one of the patent owners (small % la) will be very good for ur resume..
Looking for cheap labour? You need to apply through the department. Students signed something not to work without approval.
This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Feb 23 2014, 11:35 PM

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:25 AM