13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

NUS Admission Application AY2014/15, Welcome to join our big family in Sg!

iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 02:41 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 1 2014, 09:05 PM)
I'm not exactly sure whether there are any Malaysians getting Pharmacy last year using Cambridge A levels(we do have SAT and SG A levels though) but there are a few 2 years ago. You will stand a chance if you obtain good results in your A levels. All the best  smile.gif
Have 4A*s but I left my 'exceptional talents & achievement' section blanked sad.gif kinda worried about it sad.gif really hope to get Pharmacy sad.gif
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 10:11 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 02:41 AM)
Have 4A*s but I left my 'exceptional talents & achievement' section blanked sad.gif kinda worried about it sad.gif really hope to get Pharmacy sad.gif
That is very good !! thumbup.gif There's no need to worry too much since this section only bears some(not much) influence on the outcome decision unless you took part in International Olympiad Competitions or something....and now the application for A-levels is closed, all you have to do is to wait for their reply and hope for the best. Good Job rclxms.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 10:38 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 10:11 AM)
That is very good !! thumbup.gif There's no need to worry too much since this section only bears some(not much) influence on the outcome decision unless you took part in International Olympiad Competitions or something....and now the application for A-levels is closed, all you have to do is to wait for their reply and hope for the best. Good Job  rclxms.gif
Thank you!! You are studying or studied in NUS? Hope that I can be your junior! biggrin.gif
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 12:14 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 10:38 AM)
Thank you!! You are studying or studied in NUS? Hope that I can be your junior! biggrin.gif
Haha you're welcome smile.gif I'm in my first year majoring in Chemistry. Good luck for your application and hope to see you in MSL UFO9 biggrin.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 12:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 12:14 PM)
Haha you're welcome  smile.gif I'm in my first year majoring in Chemistry. Good luck for your application and hope to see you in MSL UFO9  biggrin.gif
Wow you are majoring in Chemistry!! My second choice is Science and I hope to major in Chemistry too because my favourite subjects are Chemistry & Biology! Can I know what is your pre-u qualification? And can I ask why you want to do Chemistry?
I am thinking if I should do Pharmacy in Malaysia or Chemistry in NUS/NTU (since it is very unlikely for me to get Pharmacy so I think I can get Science in NUS or Chemistry & Biological Chemistry in NTU). NUS & NTU are my dream universities and I hope to work in Singapore after I graduated! But my Chemistry lecturer and friends don't encourage me to go for Chemistry as they say Chemistry is not a professional course and they say there is no job for Chemistry graduates sad.gif they say Pharmacy is a professional course so it is better. But I think there is way too many people are doing Pharmacy in Malaysia already and I can't work in Singapore if I study Pharmacy in Malaysia sad.gif so dilemma! Hope to hear your opinion!
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 02:18 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 12:35 PM)
Wow you are majoring in Chemistry!! My second choice is Science and I hope to major in Chemistry too because my favourite subjects are Chemistry & Biology! Can I know what is your pre-u qualification? And can I ask why you want to do Chemistry?
I am thinking if I should do Pharmacy in Malaysia or Chemistry in NUS/NTU (since it is very unlikely for me to get Pharmacy so I think I can get Science in NUS or Chemistry & Biological Chemistry in NTU). NUS & NTU are my dream universities and I hope to work in Singapore after I graduated! But my Chemistry lecturer and friends don't encourage me to go for Chemistry as they say Chemistry is not a professional course and they say there is no job for Chemistry graduates sad.gif they say Pharmacy is a professional course so it is better. But I think there is way too many people are doing Pharmacy in Malaysia already and I can't work in Singapore if I study Pharmacy in Malaysia sad.gif so dilemma! Hope to hear your opinion!
Glad to know that you're so keen on studying in Singapore smile.gif I applied to NUS using my STPM results(I was in the Biology Stream) with Science being my first choice. Well, when I was applying, I did face a dilemma between Chemistry and Pharmacy. In the end I chose chemistry because I wasn't very interested in the medical field(or drugs) and Chemistry fulfills my interests more(i'm more interested in the fundamentals smile.gif).
Non professional degrees doesn't mean there are no jobs for it. In fact, there are a wide range of occupations that require chemistry majors like academia, R&D, pharmaceuticals, petrochemicals, polymer industries, biomedical and many more. Furthering your studies is also an option upon getting your BSc. degree. To me, what's most important is to choose a major which you truly enjoy and not what others want you to do or what kind of jobs you will get in the future(you only live once...so enjoy the most out of it!! smile.gif ). As for in Singapore, a career in Pharmacy is quite good as Singapore requires more pharmacists since its pharmaceutical industry is expanding. To be a qualified pharmacist in singapore, you would need to register with the Singapore Pharmacy Council after 12 months of pre-registration training. You can find out more info in these websites...
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/nusbulleti...mbsc-pharm-hons
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/nusbulleti...ience/chemistry

Wish you all the best biggrin.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 03:00 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 02:18 PM)
Glad to know that you're so keen on studying in Singapore  smile.gif I applied to NUS using my STPM results(I was in the Biology Stream) with Science being my first choice. Well, when I was applying, I did face a dilemma between Chemistry and Pharmacy. In the end I chose chemistry because I wasn't very interested in the medical field(or drugs)  and Chemistry fulfills my interests more(i'm more interested in the fundamentals smile.gif).
Non professional degrees doesn't mean there are no jobs for it. In fact, there are a wide range of occupations that require chemistry majors like academia, R&D, pharmaceuticals, petrochemicals, polymer industries, biomedical and many more. Furthering your studies is also an option upon getting your BSc. degree. To me, what's most important is to choose a major which you truly enjoy and not what others want you to do or what kind of jobs you will get in the future(you only live once...so enjoy the most out of it!!  smile.gif ). As for in Singapore, a career in Pharmacy is quite good as Singapore requires more pharmacists since its pharmaceutical industry is expanding. To be a qualified pharmacist in singapore, you would need to register with the Singapore Pharmacy Council after 12 months of pre-registration training. You can find out more info in these websites...

Wish you all the best  biggrin.gif
Not really sure if I am interested in drugs but I enjoy to know human biology (its structure, how the kidney/liver/lungs and etc carry out their activities/functions, the blood sugar level (insulin & glucagon) and etc!). Anyway I don't like biotechnology and gene tech, only enjoy human biology! I enjoy Chemistry A Levels syllabus (inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, rate of reaction, NMR and etc!) but I don't like nanotechnology part :/ Chemistry A Levels don't include much syllabus about drugs tho, only very very little, and it is not really important in our exam sad.gif

This post has been edited by iamonlyhuman: Mar 2 2014, 03:04 PM
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 03:27 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 03:00 PM)
Not really sure if I am interested in drugs but I enjoy to know human biology (its structure, how the kidney/liver/lungs and etc carry out their activities/functions, the blood sugar level (insulin & glucagon) and etc!). Anyway I don't like biotechnology and gene tech, only enjoy human biology! I enjoy Chemistry A Levels syllabus (inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, rate of reaction, NMR and etc!) but I don't like nanotechnology part :/ Chemistry A Levels don't include much syllabus about drugs tho, only very very little, and it is not really important in our exam sad.gif
It should be find since you love human biology. From what my pharmacy friends told me, you need to learn a lot about human anatomy and physiology if you're entering pharmacy. Quite some chemistry is also involved in it also.
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 03:48 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 03:27 PM)
It should be find since you love human biology. From what my pharmacy friends told me, you need to learn a lot about human anatomy and physiology if you're entering pharmacy. Quite some chemistry is also involved in it also.
So Chemistry (BSc) doesn't involve any biology? Does it involve DNA and something like that?
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 04:00 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 03:48 PM)
So Chemistry (BSc) doesn't involve any biology? Does it involve DNA and something like that?
For Chemistry major, topics like proteins and DNA will be covered in one of the core modules(Fundamentals of Biochemistry). However, not much biology will be involved throughout the entire course(as biology is more towards life sciences). Majority of topics taught in Chemistry would be physical, inorganic and organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, experiments in chemistry and etc....unless for medicinal chemistry specializations where more biochemistry topics will be taught in year 3 and 4. However, you can take life sciences(biology) modules as electives, minor or even second major.
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 04:10 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 04:00 PM)
For Chemistry major, topics like proteins and DNA will be covered in one of the core modules(Fundamentals of Biochemistry). However, not much biology will be involved throughout the entire course(as biology is more towards life sciences). Majority of topics taught in Chemistry would be physical, inorganic and organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, experiments in chemistry and etc....unless for medicinal chemistry specializations where more biochemistry topics will be taught in year 3 and 4. However, you can take life sciences(biology) modules as electives, minor or even second major.
notworthy.gif wow thank you so much!! smile.gif
In fact that I don't really understand about the minor and second major sweat.gif does it mean I have to attend both chemistry and life science class? So sorry to be so troublesome cry.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 04:37 PM

93 posts

Just read through NUS website and found that I can major in Chemistry and minor in Life Science, then I can also study human biology yay! It seems so interesting!
Can I know will it be very stress and hard for me if I take up major in Chem and minor in Life Science?
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 04:58 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 04:10 PM)
notworthy.gif wow thank you so much!! smile.gif
In fact that I don't really understand about the minor and second major  sweat.gif does it mean I have to attend both chemistry and life science class? So sorry to be so troublesome  cry.gif
It's okay, it is perfectly normal to ask lots of questions to better prepare yourself for university smile.gif .
Basically, second major means that you will be taking a certain number of modules which are not of your primary major to further broaden your knowledge beyond that of your primary major. The number of modules taken to fulfill the requirements of a second major(which will be reflected on your graduation transcript) is less than your primary major requirements but still offers a significant depth on the subject you chose as a second major. However, the workload would be rather heavy because you will be taking extra modules aside from your primary major modules every semester so proper time planning is required.
Minor programme is a smaller-scaled version of a second major where you will take even lesser modules required of the subject you chose as a minor.
The restrictions of taking a second major or minor differs depending on your primary major. For example, pharmacy majors are not allowed to take a minor in pharmaceutical sciences while chemistry majors are not allowed to minor in analytical chemistry. Some of the second major or minor programmes require direct application to the related department after enrolling into the university. You can check for more info in these websites:
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/edu/UG/spu...inor-progs.html
http://www.nus.edu.sg/registrar/edu/UG/spu...uble-major.html

Hope that answers your doubts biggrin.gif
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 05:15 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 04:37 PM)
Just read through NUS website and found that I can major in Chemistry and minor in Life Science, then I can also study human biology yay! It seems so interesting!
Can I know will it be very stress and hard for me if I take up major in Chem and minor in Life Science?
It wouldn't be stressful as long as you manage your time effectively smile.gif
iamonlyhuman
post Mar 2 2014, 05:34 PM

93 posts

Thank you so much @Kahsing! Hope to see you in NUS! biggrin.gif
Kahsing
post Mar 2 2014, 09:16 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 05:34 PM)
Thank you so much @Kahsing! Hope to see you in NUS! biggrin.gif
You're welcome smile.gif
Bean17
post Mar 2 2014, 10:42 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Kahsing @ Mar 2 2014, 02:18 PM)
Glad to know that you're so keen on studying in Singapore  smile.gif I applied to NUS using my STPM results(I was in the Biology Stream) with Science being my first choice. Well, when I was applying, I did face a dilemma between Chemistry and Pharmacy. In the end I chose chemistry because I wasn't very interested in the medical field(or drugs)  and Chemistry fulfills my interests more(i'm more interested in the fundamentals smile.gif).
Non professional degrees doesn't mean there are no jobs for it. In fact, there are a wide range of occupations that require chemistry majors like academia, R&D, pharmaceuticals, petrochemicals, polymer industries, biomedical and many more. Furthering your studies is also an option upon getting your BSc. degree. To me, what's most important is to choose a major which you truly enjoy and not what others want you to do or what kind of jobs you will get in the future(you only live once...so enjoy the most out of it!!  smile.gif ). As for in Singapore, a career in Pharmacy is quite good as Singapore requires more pharmacists since its pharmaceutical industry is expanding. To be a qualified pharmacist in singapore, you would need to register with the Singapore Pharmacy Council after 12 months of pre-registration training. You can find out more info in these websites...

Wish you all the best  biggrin.gif
Hi KAhsing,
Im a spm graduate currently waiting for my result and im interested to pursue my study with major in engineering in NUS.

Since early you mentioned u entered nus using ur stpm result , so please do not mind if i ask u a few questions here..

First and foremost , not to be rude , but did u get 4.0 for your stpm ?
Also, were u extremely active in CCA ? ( for instance, participated in international olympiad which made you stand out among other competitors.)

On the other hand , if i am to apply entry into nus using my stpm result , do i have to compile my application with other certificates/recognition (such as SAT , TOEFL/IELTS or any other requirements )?

One last question , you have been sponsored by scholarship to study in NUS or self-funded? R u under ASEAN undergrad scholarship?

Looking forward to your reply soon and thank you very much for clearing my doubts. =D

This post has been edited by Bean17: Mar 2 2014, 10:49 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 2 2014, 11:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(iamonlyhuman @ Mar 2 2014, 02:41 AM)
well... should had written something even if it is not relevant..

anyway... just found out this course is super affordable... rclxms.gif friend told me it is cheap because it is new, after that they would increase the fees rclxms.gif recommending it to someone else...

http://mim.nus.edu/admissions/33-programme-fees

Kahsing
post Mar 3 2014, 08:51 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Bean17 @ Mar 2 2014, 10:42 PM)
Hi KAhsing,
Im a spm graduate currently waiting for my result and im interested to pursue my study with major in engineering in NUS.

Since early you mentioned u entered nus using ur stpm result , so please do not mind if i ask u a few questions here..

First and foremost , not to be rude , but did u get 4.0 for your stpm ?
Also, were u extremely active in CCA ? ( for instance, participated in international olympiad which made you stand out among other competitors.)

On the other hand , if i am to apply entry into nus using my stpm result , do i have to compile my application with other certificates/recognition (such as SAT , TOEFL/IELTS or any other requirements )?

One last question , you have been sponsored by scholarship to study in NUS or self-funded? R u under ASEAN undergrad scholarship?

Looking forward to your reply soon and thank you very much for clearing my doubts.  =D
Hi smile.gif It's no problem at all biggrin.gif
1) Yes, I did get 4.0 for my STPM.

2) In secondary school and form 6, I can't say that I am very very active in CCA but I did hold some positions in a few major Uniformed bodies like Voluntary Aid Detachment(treasurer) and Red Crescent Society(Asst. Sect). As for academic competitions, I didn't take part in international olympiad competitions(I'm not that good lol) but I did take part in the UNSW ICAS quiz and the Australian National Chemistry Quiz. (These wouldn't influence much on the admission outcome as they focus on results more...but might make a difference when you're submitting your resume for scholarship application)

3) If you're applying using your STPM result, then you would need your STPM result slip, MUET cert(which will be your Eng. Qualification), Form Six year end report card, SPM cert, E1119 cert, form 5 year end report card, and your CCA certs(must be national level and above, but it doesn't bear much influence unless its international olympiad....)

4) Yes, but I'm under the Singapore Scholarship, not ASEAN.

Hope that clears your doubts. Cheers. biggrin.gif

Fiona Chin
post Mar 3 2014, 10:37 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 2 2014, 12:13 AM)
I don't know PGP now how already. Got two type, aircon room got attached bathroom. Normal room common bath room. To prevent pervert like bunny taking photo of girls showering in the common bath room, only one gender tenants at that floor. If couples staying at the same floor others will complain. There is one block of post grad units, I never went there but heard is like a normal HDB unit.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Mar 3 2014, 10:38 AM

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:02 AM